DRIVEN: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door tested in the UK

SONY DSC

Ah, the original Mini. We all know Alec Issigonis’ landmark 1959 design – ADO 15 was the first car with a transversely-mounted engine (powering the front wheels), allowing as much as 60% of the car’s length to be designated for passengers. The result was a car that barely crested the three-metre mark in length, at 3,054 mm, but could fit four fully-grown adults and their luggage.

Of course, since BMW restyled MINI as a marque, space efficiency has virtually fallen off the USP list. The first “new” MINI, launched in 2001, was infamous for having a cabin that was smaller than its predecessor’s, despite being significantly larger. While subsequent models have addressed that issue somewhat by growing bigger and bigger, the words “excellent packaging” and “MINI” are still rarely seen together.

Which brings us to the new F55 MINI 5 Door, the company’s most determined stab yet at creating a more practical MINI through the addition of a pair of doors and copious amounts of metal, even though the current F56 hatch is the largest one yet. Of course, we’ve seen the Countryman before, but this is the first time that the regular hatch has ever spawned a more-door variant, classic or otherwise.

So, does this new model – which will arrive here before the end of the year – have enough substance to justify opening its new doors (literally and figuratively) to new customers, or is it just a MINI too far? We sample the Cooper S variant in the rolling hills of Oxfordshire in the UK to find out.

DRIVEN: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door tested in the UK

Let’s get one thing clear – the MINI 5 Door is not a small car, at least not by traditional supermini standards. The wheelbase has grown by 72 mm to 2,567 mm, and the car is also now taller by 11 mm, sitting at 1,425 mm. But by far the biggest increase is in the overall length, which has shot up a considerable 161 mm to 3,952 mm.

That’s in regular Cooper guise – the Cooper S (as tested) and SD are 4,005 mm long thanks to their protruding bumpers, making them one of the few B-segment hatchbacks to break the four-metre mark. Specified as such, the 5 Door is a whole 51 mm longer than its nearest competitor, the Audi A1 Sportback.

A consequence of this is a car that looks a little big to be wearing a MINI badge. That characteristic “bulldog” wheel-at-each-corner stance that has characterised the brand has been rather watered down, although the longer rear overhang does serve to balance out the new generation’s prominent proboscis. To make it look less like an estate, the designers have raked the rear windscreen slightly and enlarged the rump, which does give the car’s styling a hint of the old Austin Maxi about it.

As with the three-door, some details such as the grille, the head- and tail lights and especially the Cooper S’ chin-like lower front air dam have been supersized to an almost comical degree to mask the new car’s not-so-diminutive proportions. Predictably, they work better on the larger 5 Door, but they also make the design a little overwrought, particularly compared to its minimalist predecessors.

Less aesthetically pleasing than before it may be, but the latest MINIs are still highly fashionable items in their own right. The optional LED head- and tail lights – the former with large light rings around them – the complex grille assembly and the subtle creases all around give the new cars an air of sophistication that those before it somewhat lacked.

Stepping inside (noting the lack of frameless windows this time around), you’ll find that the dashboard of the 5 Door is identical to the three-door, which has been stripped of some of its flash and ergonomic quirks to improve usability, another one of MINI’s biggest bugbears.

Gone, for instance, is the enormous dinner plate central speedometer, replaced by a smaller motorcycle-style pod that sits on top of the steering column alongside the rev counter. With its tiny size, narrow typefaces and cramped dial, it is still hardly the last word in legibility, but at least you can set the multi-infomation display (or the optional head-up display) to show the current speed in nice, big numbers.

Residing in place of the old speedo is an LED ring that retains some functionality, showing things like engine and road speed, the next direction from the optional navigation system, distance warnings from the optional parking sensors and even the current colour of the optional ambient lighting package. It’s all a little frivolous, but hey, it looks cool. The new flip-up upper glovebox on the passenger’s side is a neat addition, too.

DRIVEN: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door tested in the UKDRIVEN: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door tested in the UK
Above: F56 MINI Cooper Hatch, below: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door

As usual, there’s an infotainment display in the middle of the central circle, which can now be specified to measure a full 8.8 inches. The screen displays the usual audio and navigation functions, but can also be set up to show a Rolls-Royce-esque power gauge and even a fun (and rather distracting) Minimalism Analyser with a fish that gets more water in its bowl to swim in the more economical you drive.

Elsewhere, there are hints of BMW starting to exert its influence over the British brand. The central air vents are businesslike rectangular, rather than circular in shape, the usual vertical spars connecting the upper dashboard and the transmission tunnel are gone and a suspiciously iDrive-like MINI Controller has sprouted behind the gear lever that (yes, like on newer BMWs) can be upgraded to a touch-sensitive unit.

There is nice use of soft-touch materials and high end materials everywhere you look, and the cabin atmosphere is decidedly Teutonic. It remains to be seen if build quality will stand up to years of family use, however – the Cooper three-door model that we had for a few days (you may have seen it in Episode 2 of the 2014 season of the Driven Web Series) developed a nasty rattle deep in the driver’s door, despite its relatively newness.

SONY DSC

The only real difference between the three- and five-door models, of course, is at the back, where that entire 72 mm increase in wheelbase resides. The result is a space that is now entirely useable by adults, though quite how MINI made a car this long that is still a little cramped by modern standards escapes me. There is, however, more head- and elbow room on offer here, despite width staying the same at 1,727 mm.

Ingress and egress to the hindquarters remain poor, though, no thanks to the surprisingly narrow aperture of the rear doors. The MINI 5 Door can technically seat five, although those in the middle will have to straddle the awkward centre cupholder that sits on top of a tall transmission tunnel. Still, it’s better than four-people-or-a-Countryman, no?

Boot space is another area where the MINI 5 Door has improved significantly over the three-door, up 67 litres to 278 litres thanks to an 89 mm increase in rear overhang. The company claims it’s now the largest in its segment, but we’re not so sure. Yes, it’s a paltry eight litres more than the A1, but it’s also two litres less than the VW Polo, 33 litres less than the Peugeot 208 and an astonishing 85 litres less than the Honda Jazz.

You do get a decent 943 litres with the 60:40 split rear bench folded, however, and the new false boot floor can be moved up to fit flush with the folded seats. As with the three-door, the boot aperture is wide, but the sill is fairly tall, making the loading of heavier items a slight pain in the back.

Making its debut alongside the MINI 5 Door is the MINI Yours programme, designed to give buyers more unique colour and trim options (with authentic materials) compared to the standard range. On the outside, there is a new Lapisluxury Blue – a deep solid blue hue – as well as 18-inch two-tone Vanity Spoke alloys that are said to have been inspired by luxury chronographs.

But it’s the interior trim choices that stand out, starting with new Lounge Carbon Black leather upholstery with contrasting seams and a neat Union Jack pattern at the back of the headrests. There’s also a MINI Yours sports steering wheel wrapped in Nappa leather and stitched in contrasting silver, as well as three new trim pieces – glossy Off White, unpolished Dark Cottonwood and my personal favourite, Fibre Alloy.

Nestled below the expansive clamshell bonnet of the Cooper S variant we tested is BMW’s new B48 2.0 litre direct-injected TwinPower Turbo petrol four pot that develops 192 hp from 4,700 to 6,000 rpm and a generous 280 Nm (300 Nm on overboost) from 1,250 to 4,750 rpm.

Lower down in the range, there’s the One’s 102 hp/180Nm 1.2 litre and the Cooper’s 136 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder petrol turbos. On the diesel side sits the One D’s 70 hp/220 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbodiesel, the Cooper D’s 116 hp/270 Nm version of the same engine and the new Cooper SD’s 170 hp/360 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel that makes its debut on the 5 Door.

Standard fit across all variants is a six-speed manual, but the Cooper S we drove was specced with a six-speed sports automatic with paddle shifters that is also available on the Cooper SD. One, Cooper and Cooper D models, on the other hand, are only offered with the option of a regular six-speed auto ‘box instead, with no paddles.

Automatic models equipped with navigation benefit from the Rolls-Royce Wraith-like Predictive Drivetrain which uses GPS data to pick out the right gear to suit what’s ahead, reducing unnecessary shifting through corners, roundabouts or highway exits.

Under the skin is BMW’s new modular Unter Klasse (UKL) platform shared with the equally front-drive 2 Series Active Tourer, yet another area that hints of closer integration with Munich. Like the F56, the F55 5 Door is suspended by MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link setup at the rear.

Driving one of the latest F55/F56 MINI models is a bit of an oddity. The high beltline of the newest generation makes the interior feel slightly claustrophobic, but the wide windscreen and upright A-pillars afford a decent view out, with visibility only spoiled by the thick C- and D-pillars.

SONY DSC

Off the blocks, there’s no denying that the F55 Cooper S is a rapid car, even with the larger dimensions and an extra 65 kg (1,315 kg kerb weight) on board. It sprints from rest to 100 km/h in 6.8 seconds – barely 0.1 seconds slower than the F56 – on its way to a top speed just three kilometres per hour lower at 230 km/h.

The figures only tell part of the story – the B48 is a zingy motor that belies its relatively large displacement, flinging itself up to its 6,500 rpm redline with absolute glee. Don’t think for a second that this engine is all about top-end histrionics, however, as there’s a decent spread of torque that begins from low down in the rev range, with nary a moment of turbo lag to speak of.

Sure, the engine note may sound a little flat next to the three-pot rumble of the Cooper, but there’s still a lot of character to be had, especially with the exhaust pops on upshifts and on the overrun that come when you flick the rotary switch at the base of the gear lever to select Sport mode. This mode, by the way, also sharpens the gearbox and throttle response to provide lightning-fast shifts and near-instantaneous kickdown.

P90161737_highRes

On the other hand, thumb the switch the other way and you’ll find yourself in Green mode, which dulls these parameters down to NyQuil levels and decouples the engine and gearbox when coasting to save fuel. Boring this may sound, but this mode finds other ways to fill your interest, including the aforementioned Minimalism Analyser and a readout in the multi-infomation display that shows how much further you can go on a tank driving in this mode.

Claimed combined fuel consumption figures are between 5.4 to 5.5 litres per 100 km depending on the tyres, nominally poorer than the three-door (5.2 to 5.4 litres per 100 km). We were getting figures closer to 8.0 litres per 100 km, still an impressive result considering the large stretches of spirited driving during our stint.

The car we tested was fitted with optional Electronic Damper Control (EDC) that differs from the conventional fixed dampers we get over here. As such, the ride in Normal and Green mode is a lot smoother than it is on the regular local-spec Cooper three-door model we drove, but even in the hard-edged Sport mode there’s a hint of extra pliancy over rutted UK roads, presumably due to the longer wheelbase.

Don’t get me wrong, though – cosseting the 5 Door definitely still isn’t. Tyre roar is also a bit of an issue – particularly on the coarse motorways we drove on – while there is some wind noise around the upright windscreen at higher speeds. That said, refinement levels are still better than many cars in the B-segment.

But what every MINI really needs to excel at is in the corners, and we’re pleased to note that, despite the added length and weight, the 5 Door does its job well. The company has tuned the suspension and steering to retain as much of the three-door’s agility as possible, and the result is a car that is a near-facsimile of the F56 to drive.

The speed-sensitive electromechanical power steering is quick, direct and accurate, if a little short on feel (and just a touch too heavy in Sport mode). This is backed up by a chassis that, once you get past the initial built-in understeer, is keen enough to follow every flick on the steering wheel.

SONY DSC

Grip levels are excellent, too, enough that you’ll struggle to break traction in the dry, while excess body movements are effectively reigned in. There is a hint of slack in the 5 Door’s responses in extremis compared to the three-door, but you’ll be hard-pressed to know the difference in regular driving.

All this begs the question, however – how does the new 5 Door stack up against the F56 three-door? Certainly, the longer model loses some of the characteristic MINI pert styling, so if your purchase centres on looks and looks only, then the smaller car is still the obvious choice.

That said, if you have always hankered for a MINI but balked at the regular hatch’s minuscule cabin, limited rear seat access and four-seat-only accommodation, then this may just be the car for you. The F55 MINI 5 Door is exactly what it says on the tin – simply a more practical entry into the MINI experience. And that will suit many people just fine.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• PootieTang on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:25 am

nice car

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:29 am

You have no idea this has definitely made my day!

I am actually looking at getting a 5 door personally, as I did have a Countryman S for a while but the main thing which I didn’t like about it was the power train and the build quality was not there, considering it was more expensive than the 1 series and the A class, but I always loved MINIs and wanted to have one for a longer time.

The 5 door makes sense for me, as I don’t have to carry passengers always, and if I do, it would only be at most two in the rear. The even better news is that it will be launching in Malaysia by year end! Brilliant, just brilliant!

Though this time I think I’d be looking at the Cooper instead of the S, since I heard the 1.5 turbo is actually surprisingly good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • How is the reliability like for Mini? Read on the review all over the world that it is not a reliable car.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:55 am

The Countryman I had was reliable in the time I had it, but I have heard of horror stories with the engine, ironically the day I went to pick it up, it was parked next to a Cooper S with a check engine light.

• turboman on Oct 12, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Is your countryman a ckd model or cbu? If im not mistaken, some of the countrymen in malaysia are ckd.

Hence the poor built quality.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 10:56 am

It was an early CKD unit, one of the first few with the word “COUNTRYMAN” all over the back.

I have sat in the CBU too, slightly better quality in that but the main issue is the materials.

• Sad rakyat on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:21 pm

At least its an interesting post bout cars after those sad budgeting stories. Phew… At last something to cheer me up for today.

• A great alternative to the fans of Mini with family, as 2-door Cooper is rather troublesome to get in and out on daily basis. Look-wise definitely better compared to the bulkier Countryman.
    Still I can’t get myself to pay close to 200k for a hatch like this…

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Close to RM200k? Nope…this will be above RM200k…the new 3 door Cooper already starts at RM179k w/o insurance and that’s the kosong spec version!

If only they could CKD the 3 door Cooper as well as the Mini One with the 1.2l turbo engine then it will make more sense for people to purchase a Mini as prices will be comparable with the Beetle. At this rate, Mini Malaysia can only expect the elite class to purchase from them.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm

well guys…u basically just drove the next gen 1 series fwd

• zeek (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Not as good looking as the Countryman imo

• Yes Sudonano… 1.5 is just enough power, loving mine. Go and buy, you will definitely love it too.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Did you get a Cooper 1.5 Hardtop?

The only thing I can see causing me to swing to the Cooper S would be the Sport Auto, I like how BMW’s sport automatics shift really fast, but if the standard auto does it, I’d be fine.

• myveee on Oct 12, 2014 at 8:29 pm

I saw mini stranded just before junction with opened bonnet

I just laughed out loud. The drivee where to put face? My old myvi 10x better, even Motorhead agrees..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • HOws the maintanance for mini cars??
    isit high?
    scare buy ald car but no money to maintain car lol

• brown kid on Oct 13, 2014 at 3:13 am

dont buy then…Take 5% of the car price as the monthly cost maintenance. can u afford it?

• Better than Axia and Iriz
    Axia = Underpowered
    Iriz = Kia wannabe

Price it right and i’ll buy this instead of those two

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Who on the earth cross shops Perodua/Proton and a Mini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Rakyat on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Because they are all same segment? It’s the gov’s crazy tax that makes them different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Obviously (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Same size segment, yes.

Same market segment? Think again!

This is a premium B-segment hatch of legendary renown while the Iriz and Axia (it’s from a smaller segment but what the hey) are meant to be mass market B-segment cars, similar to the Honda Jazz and Volkswagen Polo.

Cross shopping like that is akin to comparing the Corolla Altis with a 3-series or C-class.

• samsamlolo on Oct 12, 2014 at 8:31 pm

As long as it’s sushi it’ll have RV much better than conti

• riz (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 4:31 am

even there is no tax,
          The price still very high…
          Its a continental car, a Mini ,
          everyone in the world knew its an expensive small car. RM260k for Mini Clubman,
          still 3x the price of B-segment cars , Swift,City,Jazz,208,Polo,Almera,Vios …
          Without tax this car price still on par of Japanese D-segment price range..

Even without the tax, these Minis still 2x to 3x the price of the B-segment class cars ..

but sadly, Mini clubman and Hatch here priced around 180k-270k only got 2doors …
          most expensive B-segment,

• Rakyat on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Because they are all same segment? It’s the gov’s crazy tax that makes them different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Rakyat on Oct 11, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Because they are all same segment? It’s the G’s crazy tax that makes them different.

• Leonardo on Oct 13, 2014 at 9:59 am

Wow! you are comparing THE Mini with Axiz and Iriz?? So you consider the Axia and Iriz as Mini competitors? Wow!

• cendol (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Small cars going bigger, bigger cars going smaller.
    2 doors car going 4 doors, 4 doors car going 2 doors,
    sedan cars going coupe, coupe cars going sedan
    Whatever it takes to make rakyat take out money from their pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Eyo (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 4:13 am

That’s Business bro :)
      Maybe one day i’ll get to see my dream car . Small foot print , big interior , GTi performance and EEV fuel consumption at a reasonable price :)
      Ehem , and top end mind blowing madafaking safety features ! hehe . Drive safe everyone:)

• riz (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 4:35 am

U are funny …
      even Minis making 4 doors still blaming the government ..
      think more rational bro,
      its more to Minis marketing strategy …

LOL LOL LOL LOL
      even kids figure it out

• cendol (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Of cos I blame government
        If there is no selective protection, everybody will be driving Mini to work

• yourmom on Oct 12, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Compare with USA again? Bolehland can compare to thai / indon only. Still Accord 2.4l is 180k vs 60k in USA

Wake up from dream and work hard, blaming others won’t make you richer

• Eyo (Member) on Oct 13, 2014 at 3:08 am

Even without selective protection i really doubt everybody will be driving Mini to work :)

• nabill (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:19 pm

the thing is , when its here , be it cbu or ckd form , its gonna cost minimum of rm2xxk….and at that price there are so many cars u can get , im refering to the mini’s relative , the bmw 316i , might be slightly less fun to drive but a heap more practical….

• roxas on Oct 12, 2014 at 8:58 pm

look at the door frame..so afterthought and ugly..

• If I had it my way, I’d get the Cooper S and change the ugly sucker fish front bumper to the stock one.

Better yet, change the whole bodykit to make it look like a mini one. It could be quite a sleeper! If a mini could be called a sleeper mind you! :p