Facelifted MINI range launched with MINI Connected

We’re back from the launch of the facelifted MINI range at Auto Bavaria Jalan Tun Razak. Besides new looks to differentiate itself from the pre-facelift R56 MINI, the Malaysian market will get options such as a Glass Roof package and MINI Connected. BMW released the facelifted MINI worldwide in July this year, so they’re here pretty quick.

Exterior wise, the facelifted MINI gets new front and rear bumpers. This is more apparent in Cooper S and John Cooper Works variants, thanks to new chrome intakes on the front bumper next to the fog lamps. They’re supposed to provide better brake cooling.

The rear foglamp and reverse lamp combo mimics the front design – single piece for the Cooper and one on each side for the Cooper S/JCW. The side indicator surrounds (where the fender meets the door) and their glass covers are also newly designed. The tail lamps are now lit up via LED lighting.

Facelifted MINI range launched with MINI ConnectedInside, the range gets revised trim colours and new controls for the stereo and air con. The JCW variant gets black sports seats with red stitching (or white if you want), piano black trim and Antracite coloured dials. New features include auto dimming electrochromatic side mirrors.

The new colours are Eclipse Grey, Spice Orange, White Silver and British Racing Green for the Cooper and Cooper S. For the JCW, Chili Red is now available exclusively as the contrast colour for the roof and door caps. Its 17-inch Cross Spoke Challenge alloys can be had in black for a mean look.

It’s pretty much unchanged under the skin. BMW has managed to make Valvetronic, direct injection and turbo work together since early this year in the MINI, so all models get the fully variable valve management system. The Cooper’s 1.6 Prince engine makes 120 hp/160 Nm and is capable of 0-100 km/h in 10.4 seconds on to a 197 km/h top speed.

The Cooper S with twin scroll turbo (N14B16 engine) makes 184 hp and 240 Nm of torque, or 260 Nm on overboost. This pocket rocket does 0-100 in 7.2 seconds and has a top whack of 223 km/h. If you want the ultimate MINI, the 211 hp/260 Nm (280 Nm on overboost) JCW will outsprint a Golf GTI with a 0-100 time of 6.5 seconds. Top speed is 238 km/h.

Now to the options, which can be added to all variants. The Glass Roof package offers one-touch operation and can be opened via the key fob. It’s yours for RM9,988. For RM14,988 extra, you get MINI Connected, which was developed to integrate the capabilities of the iPhone to the MINI (other phone users, sorry). Opt for this and you get a 6.5-inch LCD screen in the central meter, specific controls (joystick and two buttons) in the centre tunnel and a Harmon Kardon 480W stereo with 10 speakers.

MINI Connected works when you plug in your iPhone (with the free MINI Connected App). Navigating the functions can then be done with the joystick. One can listen to thousands of web radio stations from around the world or catch up with RSS news feeds and Twitter via the LCD screen, good to pass the time in traffic jams.

The new MINI range starts at RM195,888 for the Cooper, RM239,888 for the Cooper S and RM275,888 for the JCW. Prices are on the road without insurance, but with MINI Tender Loving Care service package.

Official images and photos from the launch are after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1711]
MINI Cooper
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1253]
MINI Cooper S
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1249]
MINI Cooper JCW
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1252]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JaguarXJ on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:09 pm

My god.so expensive.can get a GTi with abt tuned.or a Subaru imprezza ver 10.

• comrade on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm

the black one looks cool… really fast pocket rocket

• Farid on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Nice but way too expensive for me…-_-

• jameslee on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

is that a weighing machine at the middle of the dashboard? ;)

• zaff1984 on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm

wow the ipod/iphone integration is very cool…

• Spencer on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:24 pm

WTH!!?? it’s like a wall hanging clock on the dashboard!! =_=”

• nabill on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

i buy the gti anytime of the day….mini might be good , bt not 200k good…..no way……specially when u get AP or recond around 130k ONLY….

• grizzyejoy on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm

man!…that centre meter…remind me like pasar punyer timbang la…XD

• Lappy on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

VW Golf GTI is better and more practical. If u want a life style car then Sirocco looks better too.
    Too expensive…..

• harry on Nov 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm

nice small car..but damn expensive..

• Lan74 on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:17 pm

whoaa…wayyy to expensive for a pocket-sized car…
    better go for a new scirocco that looks wayyyyy better or a 2nd hand 330ci…

by the way, that speedometer is too big… looks like a wall clock…

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:17 pm

a renault megane 250RS sounds like a better buy than these. At that kind of price you might as well consider a BMW

• wud rather go for the latest Renault 250 cup.. until and unless RM200k is loose change for u!

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:24 pm

only stupid rich people will pay 200k for this small size car!

• zaff1984 on Nov 19, 2010 at 6:51 pm

i think it’s okay for rich ppl to buy this Mini, because they can afford it…

• JohnDeep on Nov 20, 2010 at 9:44 am

Nobody will believe that rich people is stupid, otherwise how can they get rich? If they buy Myvi, every second the car passing by, but this one may be once a day, that make it special and this is how the rich people comfort their ego.

• nebula87 on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:25 pm

like dat dangerous lor..driver will play wif those thing n didnt c the road already…

• firdausprudential on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm

the orange mini color like Myvi SE

• firdausprudential on Nov 19, 2010 at 3:46 pm

the black mini color scheme is nice. can apply to previous mini also.

• lchan on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Prices of Mini really gila babi sometimes!

• dexter on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm

the center LCD looks really good. but not RM14k good :p

• mr_3m on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Back in 2006, Jeremy Clarkson prefers a Swift Sport rather than a new MINI Cooper…

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/driving/jeremy_clarkson/article664487.ece

enough said.

• mr_3m on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:09 pm

oh.. oh.. and there’s a mention about Dyson vacuum cleaner, Malaysia in the same review… haha

• tokmoh on Nov 20, 2010 at 12:26 am

Haha, Jezza seriously thought we Malaysians are proud of ourselves.

Wait until he read about what we say to our ‘beloved’ Proton and govt, he might have a change of thought hehe :)

• can’t say much but saw a mini with front boot opened near a junction, maybe something gone wrong,yes the engine is powerful but is it practically good enough? worth the money is you can afford it , good luck

• droll on Nov 19, 2010 at 5:59 pm

this car is just being priced waaaaaaaaaaaay above a premium scale.

• not sure why im actually not impressed by this facelift…>.<

• wtf911 on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

wow.. price’s really affordable. consider buying two tommorrow. one for my girl, and another for my mum~

• Lim Kopi on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:11 am

Another overrated and overpriced car …. BMW Malaysia should realise that their market share is not as big as before …esp now with VW around …

• ……haha gonna by one! ……..10 years later

• jong84 on Nov 21, 2010 at 8:00 pm

The Rims look damn nice.. wonder what it will be if fit to my myvi..