MINI range gets facelifted – to debut in September!

The entire range of MINIs have been updated, including new looks inside and out as well as new diesel engines that join the previously updated petrol engines. There are new bumpers which include inserts (which apparently channel air to cool the brakes) in the lower air intake that remind me of the facelifted Fiesta actually, LED for the tail lamps, and etc.

The LED tail lamps now feature dynamic brake lights, which vary their flash according to your brake intensity. The Xenon HID lamps when specified now include adaptive lighting that changes the beam angle according to your steering direction.

On the inside, there are newly designed controls for the audio and air conditioning systems for better functionality and ergonomics. There’s also a new selection of seat upholstery, trim elements and Colour Lines. Models equipped with the high-res colour display in the middle of the Center Speedo (never seen this in any R56 MINIs in Malaysia) can play videos from connected iPods. It can even display album cover art for the song playing on your iPod.

The diesel models have been updated – the new MINI One D (66 kW/90 hp) and new MINI Cooper D (82 kW/112 hp) have average fuel consumption of 3.8 litres per 100 kilometres (74.3 mpg imp) in the EU5 test cycle and CO2 emissions of 99 g/km. Other new diesel models include the new MINI One D Clubman and the new MINI Cooper D Convertible, the first ever open-top MINI with a diesel engine.

The new MINI will be launched on the 18th of September this year and if we’re lucky we’ll be able to see it in Malaysia before the end of the year. But our MINI Cooper S has already been updated to the new Valvetronic turbo engine so we’re not losing out in the engine bay department if one buys a pre-facelift MINI right now, as we don’t have diesel MINIs here in Malaysia.

There’s really more photos than text so look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery. I particularly like the facelifted MINI JCW with its black body and red roof, very sinister looking!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1250]

GALLERY: MINI Cooper S Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1249]

GALLERY: MINI Cooper D Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1253]

GALLERY: MINI One D Clubman Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1254]

GALLERY: MINI John Cooper Works Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1252]

GALLERY: MINI Clubman Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1248]

GALLERY: MINI Convertible Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1251]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mini Me on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:54 am

Mini is one marque which re-invents itself over and over again.
    Looking forward to the Mini D however we still in the jurassic Euro2 era.
    Hope that Euro4 will be introduced soon. ( wishful thinking!).
    Wonder how come cars in M’sia never advertise their fuel efficiency as well
    as figures of CO2 emission ?? Maybe its b’cos we are not regulated to provide the
    figures. In some countries if vehicle is economical > 42 mpg and co2 emission is below a certain level – you pay lower road tax + insurance !!
    Its just way to reward its citizen who choses not to pollute the enviroment.

• The Loner on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:41 pm

If incentives or rewards to be given to us for eco-friendly vehicles. The cronies in G will have less income.

• dukenborg on Jun 30, 2010 at 3:24 am

The facelifted MINI does look more modern, but somehow loses its “original” Mini looks. I guess I haven’t gotten used to the idea yet. The fuel-efficient diesels definitely make owning a MINI an attractive preposition.

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jun 30, 2010 at 7:31 am

lawa….

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 30, 2010 at 7:46 am

BMW Better

• police on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:15 am

Hello!! Julian Lee do you know what you writing ?
      BMW owns MINI and what do you mean by better ?

• azrai on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:10 am

In dictionary cute means ugly but adorable. Yes, this new mini still cute as usual.

• vodevil on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:48 am

hmmmm… the MINI or the Audi A1? :p

• longjaafar on Jun 30, 2010 at 10:03 am

In Malaysia, why should I get a Mini when I can get a BM 3 series for the same price?
    It is a marketing coup to sell so may Minis in Malaysia, because spec wise, it is no where near the BM. But then, it is perception and taste. Nothing to do with quality.

• deGonggok on Jun 30, 2010 at 11:32 am

This car is to be sold to people who look and think using their heart, not their head.
      Same thing goes for the 3 series. But owning 3 series is also with a lot of heart but with a bit more of the head.

I guess I sound a bit confusing.

• heeman on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:44 pm

People who think with their hearts and also with deep pockets. I feel it is way overpriced. There are plenty of performance car that costs less like Civic Type R, Golf GTi and even a Renault Clio RS is sub 200k!

• The Loner on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:38 pm

The reason is simple, heavy duties on foreign vehicles, regardless of CKD or CBU.

• sharoncarey on Jun 30, 2010 at 11:08 am

the mini is a great car, very useful during traffic and when parking, nice photos.

• Amiran on Jun 30, 2010 at 11:36 am

Ha ha ha ha ha ho ho ho …. Whata big joke!
    A mini with front EXHAUST (look alike la..). This must be automotive’s first case.

All you need is just to cover the photo from the upper bumper line up, and you’ll get what I mean…

Another failed attempt from Hooydonk? BM, kick him out!

• squawk on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Still equipped with the Peugeot-Citroen engines?

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm

is it just me or do anyone else find the Cooper S posted seems abit dull, like not fierce enough? Could it be because of the colour scheme?