Only PM, DPM and cabinet ministers are entitled to a one-time, zero-bid special vehicle number plate

KL_Plate

Zero bidding for special registration numbers are only applicable for the prime minister, deputy prime minister and cabinet ministers, said deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi in a report by The Sun. “Cabinet ministers are only entitled to a one time privilege to choose any registration number during their working tenure,” the deputy transport minister told the news daily.

The special registration numbers are given to Cabinet ministers, PM and DPM as they are classified as federal government administrative officials, he said. This was in reference to the registration numbers “V 38” and “V 6.” which were listed as owned by two unnamed “Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan” (government administrative officals), each for a zero-bid sum.

“Even I am not getting the facility,” said Aziz Kaprawi, adding that the Road Transport Department (JPJ) always ensures procedures are adhered to when awarding special registration numbers to individuals.

No civil servant was given the privilege during the recent tender bidding process for new registration numbers of “F 1” to “F 9999” (Putrajaya) and “V 1” to “V 9999” (Kuala Lumpur), he added. The tender process which ran from July 15 – 28 yielded the highest revenue ever for a vehicle registration tender drive; the “V” series registrations gathered a record RM22 million from the auctions.

The highest bid for the “V” series of registration plates once again went to Johor ruler, Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar for the “V 1” plate at RM989,780. The Johor ruler has form with special plates; earlier purchases include the “F 1” plate at RM836,660; “W 1 N” at RM748,000; and “WWW 1” at RM520,000.

As far as individual registration plates go, the highest ever bid recorded for a single registration was for ‘PATRIOT 1’, which was sold to a confidential buyer for RM1,308,000, although the successful bidder was said to have abandoned the deal to take ownership of the special plate.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• kenny fook on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:47 pm

One time only jokes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • What will happen when those rats sell off the special no. plate & pocket the $$$? Got Cukai perolehan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • On what grounds are they entitled to such privileges?
    PM, DPM and Ministers are already entitled to Government Vehicles. Fancy Plate nos are not part of the deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • donno on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:57 pm

What happened to the Putrajaya F number plates?? Why is it stopped at F9999?? Why isn’t it continued??

• pasrah on Sep 20, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Aper lg mereka mahu.
    Kami rakyat miskin tegar dh bagi diorang limosin mewah penjawat awam, polis escort, gaji & elaun lumayan. Maseh X puas puas lg….oh selamatkan la Tanahairku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • PG1 > all special plates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Ben yap on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Why must give these people privileges? They should be treated equally.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:48 pm

They like to “tolong menolong”: u give me, I give u…

• WT Fuchhh on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Why they deserve special treatment from any Malaysian citizen? We should ask MACC to treat it as bribery of highest degree. But i would agree to give the plate number MOL 1 to the pm.

• Reserve number plate “967”, “4967” for them

• Ootai on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Everybody is equal. But some are more equal than others. Sound familiar??

• So tell me.. what if the so-called Anggota pentadbir kerajaan wanted the V1 that Sultan of johor bid? Would he get it or it was based on who was bidding?
    Oh come on… play fair

• Jimmy on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:15 pm

I want to be like Bill Gates or Steve Job, who invented something useful to most people and, in return, got rewarded with meaningful billions.

I don’t want to be like some people who get money through cheating, unethical businesses, makan suaps or stealing money. Shameful.

You don’t pay 100% income tax, you should not be proud of yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Dpillai on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:26 pm

There is so little accountability and transparency in such policies.

• Absolutely essential additional perks to help them serve the rakyat better. Soon they will think of more privileges to have to ease their suffering fighting for the downtrodden masses. The brilliance of law and policy makers knows no bounds. We should rejoice and celebrate.

• orang biasa on Sep 21, 2016 at 1:23 am

Are they not need to pay the special number plate? Why should we need to pay so??? If they have such a special privilege for one times in whole life, we orang biasa also can have this special privilege. Need fair treat. Mana rakyat didahulukan????

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:26 am

orang biasa. That is why its called special privilege. Orang biasa like U & me, NO Privilege.

The worst is they think it is their RIGHT to this special P.

• All our ministers from top to bottom thinks they are the only ones sacrifices for the country.
    Boo hoo!
    When i was small politicians are to lookup to buy now all of them are the lamest selfish joker.
    Rakyat tidak bersetuju dengan keistimewaan ini.
    You dont sacrifice shit for the country

• So, the successful bidder of the PATRIOT1 is a cabinet minister. MACC should investigate how a government servant can amass such wealth that he/she can spend RM1.3 million on a reg plate. I know it won’t be difficult if MACC really exercise all the powers they possesses.

MACC, can’t you be more proactive in investigations instead of waiting for reports to come in? Do you really need us to tell you who to investigate when its clear as day that some officials are involved in corruption? Don’t be a laughing stock of the world anymore with your powerlessness and ‘kowtow’ attitude to so-called national leaders.

• “The special registration numbers are given to Cabinet ministers, PM and DPM as they are classified as federal government administrative officials, he said. This was in reference to the registration numbers “V 38” and “V 6.” which were listed as owned by two unnamed “Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan” (government administrative officals), each for a zero-bid sum.”

“No civil servant was given the privilege during the recent tender bidding process for new registration numbers of “F 1” to “F 9999” (Putrajaya) and “V 1” to “V 9999” (Kuala Lumpur), he added”

Maybe my English is not so good, but the above sound like a contradiction. Were the V38 and V6 plates for Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan given out free or not?

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:12 am

Basically what Aziz Kaprawi is telling us is the Federal gov can do anything they want to. If don’t like, can fly kites la.

• TheDean on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:37 am

In Singapore, the PM takes the MRT. In England, the PM made without escorts and experienced the jam everyone had. In Malaysia, priveleges this, priveleges that. It should be Rakyat first, shouldn’t it? Not ‘ministers get free this and that, rakyat pays taxes fir this and that’.

• CiskekNotSedap on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Welcome to the Capitalist Democracy World where majority are being herd by the elected minorities like a sheep. Entitlement needs to be earn not awarded. The same goes for respect and power. Ciskek