JPJ is developing an app for the public to upload photos of emergency/fast lane abusers, other offences

traffic jam bernama

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is developing an app for the public to upload photos of errant motorists, The Star reports. According to JPJ enforcement director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo, the move is to make it easier for the public to help the department, which can’t be everywhere, to nab culprits.

Valluvan added that the photos submitted by the public should not be limited to just motorists who misused emergency and fast lanes, but also for other offences such as heavily-tinted windows or modified vehicles. “We want to encourage more people to snap photos and send us the evidence,” he told The Star.

However, those who are taking photos should ensure that they themselves are not breaking the law. For instance, those who are driving should not use their phones to snap photos of others talking on the phones, and should let other passengers in the vehicle perform the task instead.

JPJ_EMERGENCY_LANE1

Valluvan also pointed out that the department will take action taken against its own if caught breaking the law, citing a recent viral photo which showed an officer talking on the phone while driving a JPJ vehicle. The officer has since been fined, transferred to another section, and referred to the disciplinary board.

Before the app is launched however, the public can still send photos of errant motorists by e-mailing them to [email protected], along with the necessary details (time, location and vehicle plate number).

Valluvan said a majority (70%) of information about those who misuse the emergency lane came from the public, and the department had taken action against these motorists. The number of emergency lane abusers have reduced due to stricter enforcement, with 2,280 motorists caught for the offence so far.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I support this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Can we kindly be given a app to report CORRUPT JPJ OFFICERS taking bribes ?
      But ,when we take the photos ,we also salah while driving,betul tak ?
      Anyway…JPJ u r SHIFTING YOUR DUTY to tax laden rakyat. What r the cameras for ?
      The rakyat pay u to do your job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Can use to report motorcycle also?

• safety 1st on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:52 am

agreed. he mentioned that since the photo taken from public the number of offenders reduced. it just show that with proper enforcement by local authorities everything will be in order not just traffic offenders but cleanliness, road condition due to overlaod lories or under spec road building, accident in construction sites. stop blaming the people if a place is full of litters or malaysian had a bad driving attitude.. start blaming the enforcers… for instant singaporean are very discipline on their road but once they cross their borders they drive like mad.. why? becos of enforcement is lacking that made people attitude changed.same goes to cleanliness. in uk every friday nite litters all over the place coz they are partying some even pee on the road site.. liquor bottles shattered all over places…but come morning time all has been clean up

• Bijan on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Apa bribes?? donation la

• WT Fuchhh on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Jpj is not addressing the core problem. Nobody wants to drive on shoulder. Cure the traffic jam problem and you will solve the shoulder driving totally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • You cant “cure” traffic jams, it is an inevitable problem that will happen everywhere at any time.

• Some people drive on shoulder, while others can drive properly in line. That also JPJ/authorities false and blame the traffic jam? wow.. You must be one of the ‘some people’. Anywhere there is traffic jam and not everywhere drivers drive like jalan bapak dia.

• ariff on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:59 am

Try to give us a solution on how to reduce traffic jam?

• citizen vigilante on Sep 22, 2016 at 9:09 am

i second it! but will jpj reduce its corrupt bloodsucking manpower thereby relieving the rakyat from paying high taxes?

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 22, 2016 at 8:24 pm

If you knew somebody who is corrupt, report at SPRM la.. Why at PT? You think they will read your comment at then take an action ke? Don’t be stupid la.. I have tell this many times before, you knew someone is corrupt, report them.. If you don’t, you are accountable as their accomplice

• pikachu on Sep 22, 2016 at 3:19 pm

JPJ can mimic Pokémon Go. Gotcha!

• OMG…so can saman the Audi R8…

• What? So all your traffic officers just sit in the office makan nasi lemak and wait for photos? Come out and control the traffic la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • Sarjan on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:50 pm

JPJ officers kept so busy nowadays.
      Deliver free Fancy car plate no. to VVIP

• Most traffic officers are an urban myth in malaysia for decades, how does this change anything?
      If this gets to fine the morons who use the emergency lanes I say good enough for me. About time the citizens get to do something about it.

• david on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:55 pm

It will create more accident and more traffic jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Tinted windows photos? Aiyo just go to those tinted shops and saman them whoever selling dark dark film la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • venven81 on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:29 pm

exactly so! dark tint la…those super bright blinding HID or whatever lights la…deafening exhaust la…you name it. just go to the root of the problem and nip it in the bud! why are all these being allowed to be sold (or imported in the first place) at those accessories shops? malaysia is memang boleh la. everything under the sky is boleh one

• JPJ must reward the public.
    Upload photos use up lots of phone data & valuable time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • The Star rewards RM50 to their Photo-of-the-Week. Maybe the JPJ can do the same: Most Heinous Traffic Offense caught will get RM50? Yeah, yeah. I know what you’re thinking. But RM50/photo is not feasible.

• Yokohama24 on Sep 22, 2016 at 4:34 pm

The more traffic offenders we catch, more discount for our roadtax maybe?

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Dear JPJ Team , please do not transfer part of your duty public members . While I do agree for Emergency Lane abuse , but to report car with tint , modified car is your duty to scout around . If JPJ really wish public to report such those offences , I suggest we start with heavy vehicle first.I hope heavy vehicle with almost invisible tail light and travelling at 40 km/h on highway can be reported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • The rakyat demands to use emergency lane for their “emergency” cuz they pay taxes. So JPJ godai. Pipu power rulez!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Shashi on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:11 pm

How about Gov vehicle park or do wrong offence like cut in double line, not stop at red light, park at disiable park. Can we send photo for summons

• It’s good to have extra eyes on the road besides the authorities. People usually behave when they are being watched. Next we should target the buses and heavy vehicles which still run without regard for others’ safety. But those taking photos should do so as discreetly as possible lest they become victims of road-rage. Having a dash-cam could also be helpful.

• venven81 on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:25 pm

i always hope that heavy vehicles are prohibited from using the road during rush hours just like in jakarta. there are far too many cases where these heavy machines broke down on the road due to whatever reasons and causing massive jam especially at these hours. jpj, please take proactive measures and do something more meaningful to help with our pretty bad traffic situation, boleh tak?!

• Wong Mun Keong on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:23 pm

they need a specialized app for this?
    why not leverage on existing portals like FB, YouTube, etc with admin access to accept or block postings after vetting?

• Jpj encourage us to use handphoe while driving

• Jpj encourage use to use handphone while driving

• crash on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:38 pm

JPJ, can we mail you pictures of bas kilang which produce bucket loads of black smoke just like how Counter Strike’s flashbang effect is ?

• hamtaro on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Surely, this Apps is developed by some cronies….
    So, JPJ, how many millions RM were (over)spent developing this gimmicky Apps???

Before end of the year, the Apps will become white elephant (yet again, as usual)

All these are car-cari-makan only, while the bulk of their responsibility are pushed to the rakyat.

• teelim on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Sure, we do their job for them. Then they catch us for using our phones while driving. Double Win for them

• Professor on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:53 pm

I got a better idea, why don’t the relevant authorities INSTALL CAMERAS of their own instead of telling us to do the hard work? Even if there was an app, how do I know they will actually take action?? Remember the police telling us the same thing before…”Oh just snap a picture!”

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:10 pm

My suggestions;
    1) App to be camera like where it is to be mounted on the windscreen, so driver can focus on driving and only need to press a wired earphone’s controller/ Bluetooth controller to snap a photo.
    2) App automatically sends the photo with time stamp and GPS location, this is so the driver does not need to handle the phone while driving.
    3) Expect the app to be used by the driver, reality is most drivers is distracted so it’s advisable to design from the perspective that it’s meant for the driver to use in a safe and least distracting method as possible.

• *a driver takes out their phone to take photo of traffic offender*

*another driver from another car takes photo of the other person who were taking photo of a traffic offender*

• CiskekNotSedap on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:48 pm

Brother, you do not waste resources to develope new app. Simply use the famously free available social media platform. Assign two or three of your possibly free/redundant officers to interact with mass. Settled. Please be more resourceful dear people above. Move about more actively within limited expenditure. Do not simply reward yourselves with unnecesary priviledges (like no summons etc) for a trivial effort. Please do not waste. We are on the same boat here. If Malaysia fails, some people will probably jump ship but your sons and grandsons future will not very bright if this attitude carries on. Aiyaa. Ciskek!

• bullcraps on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:36 pm

so they encourage to take picture while driving ?
    don’t get me wrong, i support their move against those lane abuser but in a more appropriate way of taking action against them. increase officer patrol unit etc…

• Yokohama24 on Sep 22, 2016 at 8:22 am

Well at least this can scare those who go against the law.

However it seems like we are paying JPJ officers (our precious tax money) and doing the job for them while they sit in office syok syok goyang kaki.

Can’t they go out there and do something?

• -BigBalls- on Sep 22, 2016 at 9:16 am

Good effort, every developed in this nation has authorities working with public

To take this step further, JPJ should have more surveillance team roaming around the streets catching offenders while public provides additional support.

Another suggestion is to reward the public for doing this, i.e. RM 10 for each offender successfully summonsed by JPJ/court. Cap the reward at 5 pictures per month, RM 50 as token of appreciation. The $ can be used to pay summons, or transferred to Touch n Go etc. Anymore is a gesture to JPJ with no monetary reward. Otherwise some jokers will take this as a full time job.

-BigBalls-

• Pls chk first Mr JPJ whether this “evidence” submitted to JPJ website considered a “primary” evidence or a “secondary” evidence ? without amendment to JPJ Act , you cant simply saman people based on some third party peoples photo and evidence.

• Ahmad on Sep 22, 2016 at 4:45 pm

I personally wouldnt waste my phone’s storage for such app. I would rather JPJ create a platform online(mobile friendly too of course) for us public to upload videos or picture via that platform.

Like this drivers with dashcam in their car can upload as well.

My suggestion to JPJ… apart from traffic offenders, let us public upload pics of potholes on the road as well.

• amogh on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:26 pm

i should upload it