Take photos of emergency lane hoggers and send them to JPJ, motorists advised by authorities

weststar ambulance

The recent incident where emergency services were severely obstructed from getting to a crash site due to lane hoggers blocking the emergency lane has prompted calls to take action against the offenders. This can be done via photographic and video evidence.

Kuala Lumpur Fire and Rescue Department assistant director (operations) Azizan Ismail has advised motorists to take pictures of drivers hogging emergency lanes and send them to JPJ, The Sun reports. He said more and more road users were using the lane, especially during peak hours.

“While the public can report to RTD, please also take pictures of the cars as evidence,” he told reporters. He said that these lane hoggers were causing the response time for emergency units to be delayed in cases of accidents. He urged the public to imagine the consequences if their family members were the ones deprived of emergency aid because of such irresponsible behaviour from motorists.

Meanwhile, owners of seven vehicles who blocked the emergency lane along Simpang Ampat, Alor Gajah on May 22 will be taken to court, JPJ director of enforcement Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo said. He said that these vehicles had clearly obstructed an ambulance during an emergency that day. They will be charged under the Road Traffic Regulation 1959, which carries a fine of up to RM2,000 or six months’ jail for first time offenders.

In the incident, a motorcyclist hit a car parked on the emergency lane at Km228 (southbound) of the North-South Expressway at 4.30 pm. The rider landed in the middle of the highway, and a lorry overturned in an attempt to avoid him. The first emergency medical team could have reached the site in about 20 minutes, but took an hour because of the traffic obstruction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why only hoggers? If they drive fast on emergency lane is ok? It should be all cars driving on emergency lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 27, 2016 at 5:24 pm

I am an emergency lane user. I can’t stand road hoggers who cause enormous gaps during rush hours. It saves at least 20 minutes each way (Klang-KL) and many kilos of emissions over time. When BRT project is completed, there won’t be a lot of emergency lanes left anyway. Might as well use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 92
      • nabill (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 5:52 pm

i can imagine the amount of middle fingers directed to u :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • New tomorrow on May 27, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Bagus…. jpj tidur… rakyat buat kerja jpj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • schoolkid on May 27, 2016 at 8:32 pm

These huge gaps are caused by people pressing their smart phone while driving and people accident, they go slow down their car to take picture to post of facebook.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 28, 2016 at 9:32 pm

I am not interested to even acknowledge there’s an accident. I am on the road to get to my destination. When people drive lazily and hog the road, I choose the emergency lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
      • No wonder u drove Alza with topi..sampah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Macamlah ko sorang je guna jalan raya.

• OMG…pls dont implement this. Sometime we force to do that bcos traffic damn jam, mau cari reziki & life very hard now. Furthermore,I always saw Ambulance use speed line, then all cars will give way 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 28, 2016 at 9:28 pm

You are right. Ambulance, Menteris, Black Marias, Sultans etc have sirens and can weave their way through the fast lane. I am forced to use the emergency lane because I can’t handle the stress driving behind lazy drivers. I don’t want to develop back problems and hypertension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
        • Mat2 moto, sila libas side mirror Alza ni, jika ternamapak di laluan kecemasan..

• I’ll photoshop Najib’s car on the emergency lane and send it to JPJ for action.

Obviously, JPJ hasn’t thought this through.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Just fix DVR to d ambulances… then can record all the nonsense retarded ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Bayan on May 27, 2016 at 10:51 am

How to send, any infor?

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 29, 2016 at 7:43 am

Report vehicle and driver infractions to
      [email protected]

Needs photo/video + your phone number + your IC number (to verify that you aren’t lying and also as witness to persecute the offender)

• UMW TOYOTA on May 27, 2016 at 10:54 am

the on board DVR did a good job..not only block ambulance…double line overtake.. red light go thru also send to JPJ to take action..i got alot of video in my SD card

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Should also summon those ambulance speeding without duty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • mr1031 on May 27, 2016 at 5:43 pm

with or without u should give way to them..next time u almost mati, no ambulance padan muka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on May 27, 2016 at 10:59 am

If JPJ offers monetary rewards for submitted photos and videos of traffic offenders, I’m sure they’ll get thousands of submissions daily and be able to generate plenty of revenue from successfully charging those offenders as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • safeuser on May 27, 2016 at 11:14 am

Emergency lane hoggers must be dealt with strictly.Even some big car drivers have small brains, speeding along the emergency lane on the highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • otakudang on May 27, 2016 at 11:18 am

Pasang dashcam kat ambulance n bomba.. bagi depa rekod sepanjang perjalanan ke tempat kejadian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sami value on May 27, 2016 at 11:24 am

am hoping for more severe punishments than 2000rm & 6mths jailed time.bar their driving license for years, do community service,jailed time more than a year etc..

• Mugi Bear on May 27, 2016 at 11:30 am

” I don’t use my camera when I’m driving, okay !

• Those who slowdown to watch an accident or brokedown vehicle at the roadside on the highway should also be fined for doing so!

• doubtful on May 27, 2016 at 11:38 am

What is the channel to send?

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 29, 2016 at 7:44 am

[email protected]

Needs photo/video + Your contact details + Your IC number for verification and as witness

• The rakyat says since they pay taxes that built this E lane, they have the right to use it as they please. Gov/BN can go die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • Henryee on May 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Be careful you emergency lane hoggers. We will report you dumb arse!

• Sarjit Singh on May 27, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Only when a mishap taken place action is being taken. As a frequent traveler on the highway many motorist drive on emergency lane whenever traffic is heavy. No on bets an eye.

• Sarjit Singh on May 28, 2016 at 9:21 am

Sorry for my bad English. Only realized the error now.

• nothing is free in this world on May 27, 2016 at 12:53 pm

give me rm5 commission per submission, exclude gst..

• Black Dog on May 27, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Can we take other traffic offences like queue cutting, double parking, etc? JPJ should update us too that they really take action instead of talk only

• In Europe, the driving licence of the offender is suspended and you’re “awarded” with a fine between €5000 and €20000. It seems to work:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02Ak1eIyj3M

• If saman Rm20000, pipu/offenders will rage and oppolitikus will milk this until GE14, cuz 1st person to get saman is PG1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • DonkeyKong on May 28, 2016 at 1:26 am

If saman is RM20k, bloody hell, imagine the number of traffic cops asking for RM1k bribe to close an eye.. Malaysian idiots will keep breaking the law while traffic cops will get richer

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 2:37 pm

while u at it , take pic of those Fxxxxxg VIP convoys who go through a jam packed Sultan Ismail n push everyone by the way side….

• crash on May 27, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Absolutely agree !!! These Fxxxxxg VIP convoys should remember what Tun Abdullah Badawi told the Malaysians to ” Ubah gaya hidup “. Don’t want stuck in traffic jam ,then plan your trip ahead !!!

• Holofanboi on May 27, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Nonsense. I did exactly this since 2007! Stopped bothering to do so around 2012 since i realized emergency lane hoggers at the exact same road were pretty much still rampant.

The fact that jpj never bothetrd to even reply a simple ‘ok’ makes me suspect the department is just ignoring emails anyway.

• Rakyat on May 27, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Since when, ambulance in emergency has become a priority? If ambulance saving lives is so important why it has got no police escort, while the VVIPs are being escort even in the evening home rush, peak traffic jam hours.

As far as i know, ambulance and it’s patients were lefted to fence for themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Ambulance dun have escort cuz they have siren, bub. Ur suppose to give way when u hear the siren, not take ur sweet time to move away from E lane. As opposed to VVIP cars which dun have siren, so thats why they need escort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Andas on May 27, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Even traffic police in SG do not escort emergency vehicles.. want income like sgporean but mentality still low.. paiseh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • crash on May 27, 2016 at 8:43 pm

VVIP = Very Very IDIOTIC PERSON
      Why should we give way to these scums ?? If they in a hurry, take helicopter la…
      Everyone want to travel fast , and nobody likes to be stuck in traffic jam.
      If police escort for ambulance and bomba, i absolutely support. Definitely not for these VVIP scumbags. They’re hired by the rakyat as ministers , so they should suffer the same traffic jam like the rakyat. Why got special treatment ?? If these VVIP want smooth traffic, then build better roads for everyone, not asking other motorist to clear a path for them. Ptuiii !!!

• Yes..but the need for full info on the reporter or the person sending the video is pure bs. Unnecessary risk to the sender, in case info got leaked and getting tracked down by the offender

• Every time you see such posts asking for help. These morons will never provide the so called contact number or whatever contacts. All another SANDIWARA. So that they can sleep and no one can contact them.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 29, 2016 at 7:45 am

[email protected]

Needs photo/video + Your contact details + Your IC number for verification and as witness

• Ah Pek on May 29, 2016 at 11:08 am

U tell me which can jpj charge if u send the photo to them and who want to be in trouble and come to the court or any jpj or police station to give statement which i believe 60% pple ignoring traffic law on road…which means you have to take more than 5 over photo/ car in one day in give statemnet 5 cases perday just example…definitely i am not discourage pple to take photo…the point here, Are these practical or realistic??? Can jpj cope and settle the case if everyone send the picture each day…or you just handle those high profile case only…

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 12:22 pm

take photos of people taking photos of cars on emergency lane and send it to jpj too.

they are not supposed to use their phones while driving.

• Paul, can you recommend JPJ to provide submission facility via WhatsApp or something similar. Location sharing feature via this app is very convenient.