Drive carefully, do not misuse emergency lane: Najib

traffic jam bernama

Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak has advised motorists to drive carefully and obey road regulations, as they return to the capital following the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations.

“Many will begin or on the way back to the federal capital and workplace today after celebrating Hari Raya in the village last week. Drive with caution, respect the road regulations and don’t misuse the emergency lane. I pray for a smooth and safe journey, Insya-Allah,” he said in his posting on his Facebook and Twitter accounts today.

JPJ will act upon evidence of motorists abusing the emergency lane, and the department has tasked specific officers to handle such complaints online, said JPJ director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo.

“Motorists who drive on emergency lanes do not understand that they are obstructing personnel from reaching the (emergency) scene as fast as possible. We will act against anyone caught using emergency lanes with the maximum RM300 fine imposed,” said Bukit Aman Crime Prevention and Community Safety Department director Comm Datuk Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani.

In a May 22 incident, a motorcyclist hit a car parked on the emergency lane at KM228 (southbound) of the North-South Expressway at 4.30pm. The rider landed in the middle of the highway, and a lorry overturned in an attempt to avoid him. The first emergency medical team could have reached the site in about 20 minutes, but took an hour because of the traffic obstruction.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:17 pm

I agree with you on this Najib. Also, I’m taking this chance to urge the government to govern carefully, do not misuse public funds.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
    • I support what my boss said. As for the funds, he can use whenever he likes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
      • So many dislikes, must be those who jelly of Najib’s donation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
        • WT Fuchh on Jul 11, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Jam is caused by not enough road. Go get more donations, built more highway and we shall call it Aabar Highway. Thank you Aabar.

• Dokgo on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Spend carefully, do not misuse our money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Abuse power on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Do not use OUTRIDERS too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • hailthepurist on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:20 pm

its the attitude dude..

• meejawa on Jul 11, 2016 at 1:37 pm

““Many will begin or on the way back to the federal capital and workplace today after celebrating Hari Raya in the village last week.”

I think “the village” is used too literally here..sounds hilarious :)

• Did he just asked us not to MISUSE ….?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Jul 11, 2016 at 2:47 pm

malaysia’s kiki version for honda “drive or i’ll bring out my steering lock”.

• ben yap on Jul 11, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Manage our country carefully, do not misuse our funds: Ben Yap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • LimAhLek on Jul 11, 2016 at 2:49 pm

if u think carefully, traffic jam is the root cause of motorists occupying the emergency lane, everyone has their own ’emergency’ to occupy the lane that coincidentally called the emergency lane. Solve the root cause, nobody would bother using the lane as it’s no longer emergency due to smooth traffic condition. Upgrade MRT kaw kaw, restrict no.of cars on the road, promote home-office concept, ultimately control birth rate kaw kaw. In the meantime, use medic-helicopter for emergency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Driver A+ on Jul 11, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Thank you for the wishes..but it’s a bit late..

• Henry on Jul 11, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Be careful, do not simply accept donations from strangers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Jul 11, 2016 at 3:52 pm

man the hypocrisy is strong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • And u too pm.. dont use siren blinkers.. pls queue like normal citizens..

• go there not come here... on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:07 am

Fly carefully. Do not misuse private plane and rakyat money Najib. -“Rakyat”

• isuzuki on Jul 12, 2016 at 8:40 am

Likewise… U first.. Do not misuse

• Devaju Malaysia on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:09 pm

This Najib is double standard lah. Rakayat cannot misused, while he, rosie and the gangs of ministers can misused and abuses…using police to open road for them, wasted public fund for no reasons, etc….WTF…

Super hypocrit this guy???

• TonyT on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:04 pm

You even need to be more careful. Don’t you ever misuse state funds.