JPJ will act upon evidence of emergency lane abusers

traffic jam bernama

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has said that it will act upon photographic and video evidence of those caught abusing emergency lanes on highways.

In the report by The Star, JPJ director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo stated that the department was not delaying the move, and have tasked specific officers to handle such complaints online.

He explained that all non-emergency vehicles are barred from using emergency lanes, including motorcycles. “But we want evidence on cars and lorries as these are more dangerous,” he said.

weststar ambulance

So far, the department has received encouraging response from the public after it first announced that it would be accepting photographic and video evidence of emergency lane abusers.

“We find the initiative to be very effective as our enforcement officers cannot be anywhere and everywhere,” he said, adding that 1,300 photographs of vehicles using emergency lanes were sent in from May 22.

The complaints will be channeled to the department’s headquarters where officers will respond to each one. “We are constantly monitoring it and when we have enough evidence, we will bring the offenders to court,” he said.

MEX-Highway-01

However, he stated that only passengers were allowed to snap photos, and drivers were barred from using mobile devices while behind the wheel. So, if you want to nab emergency lane abusers on the highway, a dashcam is your best bet.

The police are also cracking down on the abuse of emergency lanes, especially with the imminent Hari Raya balik kampung rush. Bukit Aman Crime Prevention and Community Safety Department director Comm Datuk Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani said the lanes were meant for emergency purposes.

“Motorists who drive on emergency lanes do not understand that they are obstructing personnel from reaching the (emergency) scene as fast as possible. We will act against anyone caught using emergency lanes with the maximum RM300 fine imposed,’’ he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• How to upload to them?

• Ish ish on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:54 am

JPJ patut kasi dashcam free baru bolih snap…
      dah bazir masa utk snap, hantar, report tapi kiter habuk pon X dapat.

JPJ jgk untung berseh $300…
      tp kiter plak kenna saman pasal pakai handset…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • bangang on Jun 29, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Haish benda bagus pun nk free? Pemalas punya orang.
        Gi mampus lagi elok species ko ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • kuPuteh on Jun 29, 2016 at 2:28 pm

X malas tp nk tido jerrr.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:52 pm

I cruise along emergency lane on the FEDERAL HIGHWAY everyday. But I never use emergency lane on our interstate highways. The situation is desperate. The BRT project will take away the emergency lane anyways right? Might as well use it.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Now because of you people so noisy, JPJ is going to waste money to employ more people to process the summons. Their salary, kursus, pension and gratuity runs to millions per head FYI.

• OMG…wait them take action, will die faster loh…Just like the super dark tinted issue also cannot control…They only got idea how to create more fancy no plat for selling…puihhh

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:00 pm

I wonder if death penalty would solve the problem for another 100 years until toyota flying-condom-car finally can fly over the emergency lane

• See? Our Gov is very efficient

• YB Senator on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Yeah..then what JPJ officers will be doing?
      Sleeping at work, chilling in their Fortuner or enjoying teh tarik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • JPJ should share the fines collected with those sending the pictures or videos of the offenders.

Less motorists will use the emergency lane.

Share the fines collected sent by videos for all other road offends too, road would be more safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • DrBilly on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:28 am

Give $150 rewards to ppl who report…
    then only success.

• ben yap on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:37 am

NATO = No action, talk only

• Andrekua on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:41 am

Please la. Even with 64gb memory card, there’s only so much you can record. By the time you reached your destination, all the records will be refresh with something else.

Is it so hard to set up booths and saman those bastard on the spot?

• Iskandar on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:45 am

Please punish the emergency lane abusers to the fullest extent of the law. This has been going on for far too long. I hope this also include foreign registered cars (Singapore & Thailand).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:27 am

JPJ talk big but this will only be done for a few days. After that, semua sudah lupa. Hello JPJ, why don’t you at the same time sort corruption within your own organisation? Every single level of JPJ is so corrupted. Everything there is all about money.

Your JPJ field officers are the best. Some of them can earn untung bersih RM3000 per day. Just finish SPM also can earn that much, it puts top surgeons to shame.

Do you know why there are so many deaths on the road? It is because there are officially 3 million road users with no license. And this figure has bloated up to this figure because the past 20 years, instead of punishing offenders, JPJ makan suap and duit kopi.

Do you know why every year hundreds die kena langgar lorry hantu? Cause everytime JPJ catches the lorry hantu, the Indon illegal man driving the lorry hantu gives JPJ ang pau.

Sort your corruption first. It is causing more deaths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Sori but ur ‘ini semua salah voters tak vote team aku’ excuse dah tak laku lagi. At least Semi-value still have some value.

• mr1031 on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:51 pm

wow, exaggerated facts you have there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Mr Fakta on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Please punish those motorbike riding on right lane, This has been going on for far too long. I hope this also include foreign registered people (indon, bangla). Ckp lanchow

• Where's the link? on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:54 am

JPJ should post a link (anonymous posting or otherwise) where we can submit the evidence.

Oh we are going to have a field day. It’s payback time for all you emergency lane using donkey’s arse driver.

• vincent on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:07 am

I suggest JPJ to pay $30 per photo/videos to the informant.

• saladin on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:23 am

They are not afraid of rm300 fine. U think these people drvng bmw, merc , audi care about rm300. Public service is a better punishment. 100 hours of pickup rubbish, cuci longkang. If not comply jail term 6 month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • On people asking where the link is:
    ” JPJ has since asked the public to record image”s of emergency lane offenders and send it to [email protected]

• john is otak batu on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:39 am

Tow & “Lelong” abuser’s car.
    If can’t sell, at least get scrap metal value outta it!

• live like hero on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:15 pm

i dont mind to submit pic for free, asalkan tak ada lagi mahkluk2 emergency lane ni. *suggestion*, please put higher fine instead of just rm300.

• geekster129 on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:55 pm

The problem is JPJ will get your personal information to validate you are a legit complainant. Problem is we can’t be sure how our identity be protected and many will end up choosing not to report due to possibilities of repercussion.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 1:22 pm

OMG, who cares about jpj… They hav been opening their mouth for ages n nothing has happened… Its like a small ant scaring a big fat elephant…

• Bernard on Jun 29, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Msians will be msians. No amount of fine will deter them.

Just like car prices………..no matter how high, msians will buy.

• fine kaw kaw on Jun 29, 2016 at 2:46 pm

raise the fine to RM3000 instead of RM300

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:16 pm

talk only…rich datuks fly in their supercars like nobody business.any action taken? no

• lee cheng san on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Please make sure all evidence submitted are act upon, regardless of reg no. type/make or markings! And results published, no hush hush right?

• Where on Jun 29, 2016 at 5:50 pm

This is good!! Where should I sent all those photos? Which website should I uploaded it to? Anyone knows? I am going to standby my DSLR on passengers side for balik raya to Johor. Will upload all the raya left lone photo to JPJ. Let me know pls.

• Gerard Gomez on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:28 pm

The fines are no deterrent at all. These irresponsible buggers need to be hit hard in the wallet. For a start, 200% loading compared to normal insurance policy and 3 months driving ban. Those caught flouting the ban, licence suspended for a further year and banned from having motor vehicle insurance. Still breaking the law, give them free nasi lemak in jail for a year. The laws are there and have been all this while. It’s the enforcement that’s a joke or is it b’cos there’s also dedak cases in JPJ.

• Mr Fakta on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:20 pm

“The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has said that it will act upon photographic and video evidence of those caught abusing emergency lanes on highways.” Just like they say they’ll act on illegal car plate, which you can see straightaway, no need evidence.

• Andrekua on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I think only in Malaysia where the enforcement didnt set up anything to catch the offenders but instead asked the public take the responsibility instead.

• Aaron Rexx on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:09 am

Yayy! A new Malaysian hobby !

• Jim carey on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:34 am

The emergency lane user all stupid expensive car owner with super dark tinted & stupid Singaporean driver , how to controls

• Jpj pls show your commitment about this never ending issue , don’t waste tax payer money everyday pay Gst 6 percent to see Jpj dare to tangkap mat rempit only

• kenny_lim on Jul 11, 2016 at 2:02 pm

the funny thing is, we love to use the emergency lane while most of the time we saw most of the time, the ambulance prefers to use the right lane instead.

• 1 RM300 Summons per driver is not enough.
    First, summons should raised to RM1000
    Then, JPJ should share 20% of summons to the reporter.
    Third, instead of giving 1 summons per driver, try 1 summon per reports toward drivers. This means a driver could receive more than 20 summons in just 1 day (seriously large numbers ooh…)
    After that, baru this project will be successful.

You’re welcome, JPJ.