2016 Proton Saga four-star ASEAN NCAP body cutout

2016-proton-saga-cutaway-3

At the launch of the 2016 Proton Saga today, the national carmaker displayed a cutout of the new A-segment sedan, highlighting some of the changes done to improve the model’s safety cell.

Enhancements include a 20% increase in torsional rigidity to 12,000 Nm/deg from 10,000 Nm/deg previously, allowing the Saga to achieve a higher crash protection rating compared to the outgoing model. The car also gains a front strut bar that helps to improve the handling as well.

The ASEAN NCAP has awarded the sedan with a four-star safety rating, an improvement over the Saga FLX+, which received three stars back in its day. A higher adult occupant protection score of 13.33 points (from 10.23 points) and 71% compliance in child occupant protection (from 48%) are contributing factors to the higher safety rating.

Standard safety kit on the Saga include two airbags and Isofix child seat anchors (with top tethers). Upper variants will come with more items like ABS (with EBD and brake assist), ESC and hill hold assist.

For more on the new 2016 Proton Saga, check out our walk-around video tour, full launch report and preview test drive report.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• WT Fuchhh on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Very nice. Well done P1

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 172
      • armandd on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Do you even know what is HPF?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • These are certified by the experts and you are only a keyboard warrior whom always condemn any good improvements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • fadlee on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:10 pm

SAGA not using HPF laa thats why its cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • Lee Kum Kee on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Saw Bezza cutout. Can see Milo brand markings inside..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Optimus Prine on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Aiyo brader. Please be sensible la. HPF or other protection technology is developed with the thinking that the car is driven ni proper manner. If you drive like maniac, even the ‘super strong’ carbon fibre will shred to pieces. Remember Mr. Walker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
        • Harry19k on May 21, 2023 at 6:00 pm

Sometimes others drive like maniac, so any extra protection would be welcomed

• As an engineer who actly have seen how they do the hpf at miyazu and as someone who did research on material science…. I can give u my word that it is not bs… U can always google how the property of carbon steel can be change from normal carbon steel to martensite. Of course there are other forms of microstructure of the carbon steel… But for hpf… The target is martensite… I know u dont have any material science book in ur house. So just google it n refer to wikipedia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 2
        • Why would they use martensite?? Thats like the weakest phase of carbon steel and is brittle and highly strained

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
          • Materials Engineer on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Have you heard of tempered martensite??? Martensitic steel when produced is very strong but brittle.Hence,tempered martensite.Get your facts right before simply commenting.

• only dumb engineers/researchers refer to wiki.

• pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Drain brain P2 salesman shows how jelous they are comparing with tin milo tonggek bezaa. They dare to talk bluf . Showroom perot dua empty n booking cancelled…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Return of lier katak on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Wah lau, fake comment from no life guy again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Tun M on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:13 pm

You don’t know nothing about HPF. Better just go back playing your Pokémon Go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • Tun M on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Encik Kunta. You don’t know nothing about HPF. Better just go back playing your Pokémon Go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Mr. K on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:40 am

So the german company also kecing sama you lah? This hpf is not new for the automotive industry.

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:38 am

BMW now is using CFRP @ carbin fibre reinforced plastic. even lighter and stronger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • pak atan on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:02 am

This guy brain is empty. His words untrusted.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Proton structure is stronger than BMW and Volvo. I can jamin this. This is why our Menteri say Proton is better than Volvo and BMW.

You accident in Proton, you will survive. You accident in BMW or Volvo, you masuk ICU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
    • work hard and be smart you get better car. No life you get a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Ah Kow on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:53 am

If you work too hard = No life + no social. How ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Actually no life you get Perodua n Vios.

• Axxx is just bananaless on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:02 pm

u are referring to majority of malaysia drivers. pls beware of the big karmas out there

• Mr_Yaya on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Yayaya~ only you got life :) most of msian no life LOL~~~!

• inb4 PT.org comment are shown in poton launch.

• Waiting on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:32 am

This model will success..

• http://paultan.org/2016/07/26/video-perodua-bezza-asean-ncap-crash-testing/

I just watched the Bezza Asean NCAP video as a comparison. I am no engineer, but looking at the two crashes I would say Perodua out-engineered Proton(where the company and so-called fans claim to make much better, safer cars) for the crash test. Just look at the Bezza, the A-pillar didn’t snap, and the boot didn’t open during the crash. That is what a car is supposed to do isn’t it, avoid spilling content out on the road to endanger other road users.

I bet P2 salesmen will all save the Saga’s crash test video on their phones, for obvious reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • sam12345 on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:02 pm

did u guys watch the ncap video? did u guys saw the middle section on roof? like that still get 4 star rating??? OMFG!

• ATTESA on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Factory strut bar?Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • Amri Iskandar on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:06 pm

which car in this segment scored 5 star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • AkooIm on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:15 pm

P2 Bezza… in case u forgot…

• bezza..it achieve 15.3 points out of 16 in the adult occupant protection. You want 15 or 13?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • 13, cuz I dun have to be a contortionist to get into Saga3 rear, unlike cramp Biza.

• JustSaiyan on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:52 pm

I remember that only the top variant Bezza got 5 star because of the assist thingy, then again those who drive p2 often drive recklessly so they might need it. I’m not saying p1 drivers are the best but based on observation, there are more p2 reckless drivers than p1 reckless drivers. Majority p1’s drivers often drive slow, so slow in fact they forced other road users to be reckless

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 547
      • optionAorB on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:35 am

perodua never lost credibility as proton lost it all. imagine if today proton is succeed, will they show a naked car or do they need??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • pak atan on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:04 am

1000 applous to Axx.. where the hody cutot of Axia,Bezza…where..?

• Aiyo… you some pro at studying structure and how they function ah? look look understand.

if got such pro why still need engineers, research, development, trials, etc. let you think and design can already lah.
        Save 100million :)

showing body structure is just pure marketing. put 3 colors put 5 colors, call it HPF, VeryHPF or SuperHPF you also won’t understand how they work.

what makes you think you one look can say whose structure is better?

• They don’t claim to get 5star ancap….it’s rewarded by ancap

• hmmm
      bezza?

• MusTanG on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:55 am

Bezza achieve 15.3 pts doesn’t mean Bezza is better than Saga that achieved 13 pts.

Bezza is light thus Force is smaller

Remember F=ma?

Try do Head-On collision between Bezza and Saga, you will be surprised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • So Lee Chong Wei was defeated by Chen Long in Olympics Gold Medal match, doesn’t mean Chen Long is better?

• but the results came from test performed under the same method..is not like bezza test differently from saga..just accept the fact..

• Teck hau on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Can see some basic factory soundproofs installed from the cutout. These are a huge advantages over the perodua cars. I doubt the bezza which all besi kosong dare to show the cutout inside.

• policeman on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Is the boot being opened upon impact a new safety feature?

• Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Only a confident company will dare to show that their products are made of good quality materials without hiding beneath the skins(paints). For that, I salute P1.

• Brandon on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Seems like the A pillar not strong enough. Does the A pillar made by HPF?

• Mr KA on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:37 am

with see only,you can know the strengh of the pillar..

your eyes very amazing (with sarcastic tone)

• A for effort. But you need to keep improving in all dept Best of luck Proton.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Perodua, can we see your cut out cars just to prove your cars are not just tin Milo wrapped with thin aluminum foils?

• Proton likes to brag about body rigidity and that…..cut out. Weird af

• hazzif on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:39 pm

nak tanya kenapa yg ada ESP pun cuma 4star NCAP? what’s missing?

• only two airbags i guess

• adult occupancy protection only 13 out of 16 plus child protection only 71%. ..there are safer option with same pricing out there in term of brand new car

• Transmission could have been better rather than just Drive and L. It’s always good to have D3, D2 for overtaking/braking purpose, otherwise the car itself looks nice. Good job.

• The cvt gearbox setting not same like the 4AT gearbox. The L is for hill climbing in case the car not enough power at a very steep road. The gear braking functions was already there at the D mode when u go down hill without pressing the gas pedal. If u need to overtake, just step the gas pedal deeper to bring the rpm above 4k to kicks in the vvt and the car should be fast enough to overtake. Anyway some car like the honda city do have a S mode for overtaking or accelerate faster.

• Mfaz76 on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:33 am

Bezza Asian NCAP, Saga Asean ANCAP ..ejaan pon lain…cuba check beza ancap dgn ncap

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:40 am

no such thing as asian NCAP.

it is either australasian NCAP or ANCAP or Asean NCAP (only for south east asia)

• Budak pening on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Go to google and checkout the different.dont just thinking

• what is the dry kerb weight of the car…i tried to compare it with the bezza but, that info is not available

• The bezza engine specs are more or less better than the saga on fuel efficiency and timing chain techs. But they need to buy a saga, open inside and learn what are the basic soundproof suppose to have in a car as standard. And… copy the design of the rear bumper extend the length to cover the underneath fuel tank to be seen please…The great design of the bezza was spoiled by the high boot rear view really.

• Sharul on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:02 pm

You are right…but don’t Perodua have engineers for such things….hhmmm….ahha…i guess they are just not good enough to design but instead copy…..