2016 Proton Saga – watch the launch live from 2:45pm onwards, exclusively on paultan.org

Another month, another Proton launch. You’ve studied the specifications and read our first impressions report. Now, you can watch the 2016 Proton Saga’s official launch ceremony tomorrow live, streamed exclusively on paultan.org. Join us here from 2:45pm onwards as we bring to you live feed from the launch event and walk you through the new model.

UPDATE: The 2016 Proton Saga is now launched – full specs and gallery in our launch report.

This is the sequel to the Proton Saga BLM from 2008, and it comes into a new world where the Perodua Bezza has proven to be popular with Malaysians looking for an entry-level sedan. Three-box saloons have been Proton’s exclusive territory till Perodua came up with its first ever sedan earlier this year, so the new Saga has to deliver for its maker.

Same platform as before, but there’s a redesigned body and improved chassis. The Saga is solely powered by a 1.3 litre VVT engine with 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Transmission options include a five-speed manual (Standard only) and a revised CVT automatic (Standard, Executive, Premium). The interior has also been redesigned.

Tentative pricing is from from RM37k and RM46k. The top spec Saga gets features such as ESC with hill hold, 15-inch alloys, reverse camera integrated into the rear-view mirror and a double-DIN head unit with steering controls. Front and rear parking sensors are standard across the board, but ABS/EBD/Brake Assist are only available from the Executive onwards. ASEAN NCAP has given the new Saga a four-star rating.

If you haven’t already done so, check out the 2016 Proton Saga specs and our first impressions report. See you tomorrow!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• eric_ocy (Member) on Sep 27, 2016 at 7:44 pm

A quick search on LAZADA shows that the rear view mirror reverse camera cost RM50. Wow, just wow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 25
    • Yourpointpls on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:24 am

So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • that one is attachable type.
      not the one integrated into the back view mirror.
      this integrated back view mirror + camera has been used since exora, why got no noise that time?

anyways you should question the same to to other makes too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Kerja rajin on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:33 am

Work hard and buy actual BMW 3-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Madey Matt on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:45 am

that RM 50 is inclusive installation or not?

• Same L0rr on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:35 am

Proton have bad RV! Same Campro engine & CVT bising Punch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
      • Lim Lee Li on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:39 am

Yeah, because of its Shaking Dashboard, Steering suddenly locked, Airbag not functioning even after banged the road barrier. Even the push start button condemned when I test drove it this morning. You are right uncle sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • uwekkk on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:33 am

Almost vomit my breakfast reading this

• Ugly

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 151
    • orang biasa on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:04 am

Hello, if the so call “better car” vios price like saga or bezza, then you can said that words, if not, you at wrong place. Price are so difference, how to compare? Be common sense

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
    • I can get TWO Sagas for the price of ONE TRD Vios, plus some leftover money for maintenance. Even if one Saga breaks down, I still another one waiting for me. Now Mr Pariah, tell me if you can beat that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • Buyer on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:30 am

Getting 150 units Saga for co. fleet

• azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:33 am

I say Mercedes is way better..so? Better get a Merc instead of vios then?

• Ah Kow on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:36 am

I know Toyota is a good car has good RV and all. But not everyone can afford a vios. Some people are just happy enough to own a car to use. Please give a little respect to those who simply can’t afford a vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:32 pm

They can afford Vios but choose to do away with Bezza or Axia to make better use of their money then eg. investment? Instead of RM80k for car, better go RM37k for car and the rest RM43k for unit trust?

• Mr. X on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Your profile name is Saga, but you’re bad-mouthing on your own name? How’s irony.

• Harith Isk on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Sy sudah Saga. anda bila lg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Saga BLM bro? Campro IAFM engine.. Haha! You make my day..

• Not Bad on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:26 pm

One good looking sedan car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Kenny T on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:20 am

Good looking? Yeah it probably would be, if it was the 1990s. This car looks like it has already aged even before launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • Chris Cross on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Why must watch. How will that improve our life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
  • Caring on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:31 pm

I believe this new Proton Saga will sell well among the youth and fresh graduates because is good looking and within budget. Looks very proportionate and neat.
    The bizarre looking Perodua Bezza will sell well among the retired uncles and aunties – because it is more fuel economy but will be pissed off by the youth. Have you tailed behind a Bezza lately? It looks horrible – the butt is so high that you can see the suspension and the floor pan! Youth will feel malu driving one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 9
    • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:35 am

You must be smoking pot. So many Bezza in the univrsities now driven by young people. Not everybody is concern about the looks of its butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • grimmjaw on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:53 pm

physically yes looks so many bezza,but with current situation lately bezza owner the only one knows how such a heartbreaking when this new saga n persona appear..kinda feel regrets maybe.

• Sama L00 on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Only teens and fresh could be conned by proton because they haven’t gone to garage to repair their proton yet. Don’t play play with Proton quality. Once bitten twice shy.

• Ah meng on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:41 pm

U buta ka middle age driver, that bull shit looking bezza u dont care but why u care this saga which is far beter than bezza?botoh la u..most people critic proton bcos of no knowledge and no common sense..like u

• Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Buy junk on your own risk.
    Once bitten twice shy. That’s why Proton sales keep dropping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 75
    • Why you have no confidence in the new Vios until need to come here to badmouth the Saga? Both are in different segments and targetted at different consumer base. P1 screwed your backside, is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • you can clearly see that this is a case of a low IQ person. Hahahaha..

• pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:32 am

LOL …. to that that Tonggek car
      Why you soo sicken people buy Saga. No job yekk… shuu…shuuuu…. go..goo back to ur office. People seldom come in to see Tonggek car any more?
      Some booking also canceled..wright?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Hagert on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:25 am

P2 salesman in panic mode

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Sam anak saga juga on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:02 am

Your son happy so far

• Das Auto on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Good job. Off to the shop, need a new car anyway might as well check it out.

• New Saga on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Finally a Saga that’s may bring back Proton glory days when there was a waiting list to buy a Saga and Wira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Who want my Viva 850cc 2007? Want to buy new Vios dual VVTi 2016..

• Das Auto on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Saga FLX did well in Oz Land. Hope this one too. A common sight in Sydney but for Preve its a once in a blue moon sighting due to negative engine issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • bestbeast on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Just came back from Perth… I saw several sagas… a Preve and couple Persona..and on my way to Albany saw another Persona in smaller town…Mount Baker

• basherlogic on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Let’s start the bashing
    If launch at 12 noon basher says : Why 12 noon? Everyone goes out for lunch

If launch at 2.45 basher says : Why 2.45pm? Everyone is busy working

At the end, all p1 does is wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Next time if P1 change the time for Ertiga launch to 8pm, bashers will still bash why so late and complain at that time busy dinner/dating/doing nothing. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • viosfan on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:17 pm

Want VSC? Go and buy Veeyos, cheap price only 76k. Even student can buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • orang biasa on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:10 am

Veeyos is the worst car ever before but now they change to new engine and gearbox. I also hope the local car maker able to include that safety feature, unfortunately because of car price or maybe lag of knowledge. Some more, the veeyos price are soooo different compare to budget car. How to compare or buy, lu ada problem tak???!

• Student use PTPTN loan to buy vios, then dun wan pay back, then kena CCRIS cannot get bank loans, cannot go travel, then blame ini semua salah BNNajibGov? Yeah, I can see that coming from u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Poo@Loo on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Ya, student use PTPTN loan to buy vios (originally want to buy Sagua, Ahsial or Myvee, but go to UMW Toyotaik showroom and get a vios after given dedak ‘RV’ story and badmouth session of local cars by ToYoTaiK salesperson) then no money pay back, then kena CCRIS cannot get bank loans, cannot go travel, then blame ini semua salah BNaik? Yeah, I can see that lots of youngsters already ‘pokai’ and heading into bankruptcy

• azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Only African students at Sunway use Vios, not local one lorr..

• Camrysai on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:34 pm

76k very expensive, 40k Saga exe already hv vsc

• TongHoi on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Good choice for 2nd car usage…fetching kids around? Already on hold purchase for 2nd car almost a year. Already go through all the A & B segment cars…still undecided. Almost buy Jazzy for my wife but last min cancel bsc want to see proton new model… persona and saga. Any suggestion?

• think smart on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:57 pm

TongHoi, I suggest u buy bezza instead of Proton for nw As bezza offer Value for money for the spec given, worry free in reliability…n good engine. If u really want buy Proton u shud wait till…the GDI engine come out n certified as EEV 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
      • pak atan on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:40 am

Tonggek car will drain your pockets. Start stop make ur battery, alternator and starter life shorter due to rapid usage. Tech can bring disastor to tropical country. Some more, soo many booking of Tonggek car cancelled due to its looks and cheaps plastic interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • ya, not to mention spark plug that will need to be replaced early due to excessive cranking. at one time it will take several crank to start. can you imagine at every traffic lights people at you back will honk you for mistaken that you did not pay attention on the green lights, while the engine still keep on cranking?

yayaya, some will off the function, than this feature only a gimmic by P2.

• Viosfan on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:30 am

Buy vios better, it has VSC with only 76k price. Very very cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • Suggestion is, whats ur budget?
      If 47k, get Persona2 Std or Premium (got 6 Airbags).

• Somehow this din come out right. I meant:

If 47k, get Persona2 Std or Premium (got 6 Airbags)

• Arrgh! comments section have problems with emoticons! Lets try again.

If less than 47k, then get Saga3 Premium (ESC). If more than 47k, get Persona2 Std or Premium (6 airbags)

• Tonghoi on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Im only got 60k budget. Of course VSC is a must. I prefer no installment. Persona look good deal got 3 yrs free service.

• No installment? U buy car with cash only? Make sure ur taxes r in order.
          Anyways at 60k, go for Persona2 premium with 6 airbags. Ur famili life worth more than high RV. The Rm10k balance put into investment will return higher than any jepunis RV.

• pineapple pen on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:05 am

Get persona..protect ur wife protect ur kids..u want worry free in reliability or worry free in safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Fadzli Oii on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Go for proton cars. Value for money. Upgraded safety features. Comfortable and stylish oso. If got extra money can do many other things or give alms. May God bless u

• Missing kunta katak? on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:23 pm

well done, looking forward to see it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Look nice like its siblings persona. Persona affordable too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Emak membeli on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:45 am

Proton saga is a very makan minyan car. Long term will cost you a lot of petrol money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • Aikon on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:36 am

Which Saga you referring to? You don’t even know what engine powers this new one… Please don’t generalise lah.

• are you referring to 1985 saga, or BLM, FLX? this one VVT similar to iriz with fine tune CVT. even though not as good as bezza, but cannot be that makan minyak. for the price (compare to vios for example), you can use the saving to support the fuel for many years to come. while vios have to use additional money from your pocket.

• orang biasa on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:29 am

You are right. Makan minyak tak makan minyak is part of related to car engine design, but most related is driver! How the driver behavior to drive the car. If the driver is follow traffic rules and well follow maintenance schedule, then it will save the fuel consumption. If the driver so called mat driver, give you hybrid car, also cannot save fuel consumption. I believe is related to driver then engine.

• then no need to buy eev car la..just buy any car and drive like uncle2 you’ll save petrol money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Same journey comparison, my 1.6 Gen2 CPS has better FC than 1.3 Myvi. So which do u think makan minyak more?

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:59 am

If you are single, can consider both either saga or bezza. They are equally good. Bezza advantage on paper is timing chain and dual VVTi. But we don’t change timing belt every year right. Only once every 100k that’s about 4-5 years.

But if you often carry more than 2 adults around, its best to avoid bezza with its 90° angle back seat. You would not last for 10 minutes. Wait for saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • John L on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:22 am

Don’t forget the Iriz. A lot of complains about the lag but personally as an owner I don’t mind it. The 5 star safety is more important to me. Yes… I am disappointed that the Premium Saga cannot get 5 stars. Visually it looks good though. It’s like Perodua purposely left Proton some breathing room by designing the Boxza so ugly.

• Australian on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:39 am

Each time I read comments here which are for proton I laugh as its obvious they are written by proton own staff hired to do this. Also how can they compare proton to Toyota? I mean Toyota ? The worlds largest car empire with billions dollars of sales per month all around the world?!!!. The Company that sells hybrid tech to BMW to be used in i8 and so much more? What proton has? What they can bring to table? Nothing but campro engine and a failed cvt and the epic failure Frazer and Nash hybrid tech under Tun M . It’s good to compare but can’t compare a grass leaf to a full grown tree. Be reasonable people. We all know proton could be a successful company if it was not for politics and cronies and terrible management they had and still have. I have followed their history since 2000 and can see how they lost their crown. Ego and too much dependency on useless companies brought in by their bosses. Proton is mainly to sell cars locally and now they have two B segment cars compete with each other saga and persona. This is wrong business move. The best for proton is to be sold fully to a proper OEM and being revamped with new staff and management bot useless incompetent managers under drb they have now. FYI I tested their new persona and it was simply an iriz with trunk and was not impressed specially when salesman was sooooo much pushing me to take it. As for perdana forget about that useless led car. Saga I will test but I can say since it was done by dream edge under Tun M it will not be a good car. Dream edge can’t design cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 51
    • basher=biatch on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:45 am

So you want us to believe that you are not hired too? And from where you pick up that non-supporters are proton staff? From sky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • facto on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:50 am

Since when Saga is in B segment? Now it is in A segment. Get your fact right.

• MusTanG on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:07 am

Saga done by dream edge?

What’s a dream edge? Is it Tun M company?

You saying Proton didn’t design this new SAGA?

• TLDR: I wrote a bunch of crap so that bashers can go blind reading what I spew. Thanks for sapot toyota yo!

• Might your own Australia business on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Why need to bash here and pretend you are Australian.

• Dream EDGE on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:39 pm

i am Dream EDGE, the puzzle man

• Fanta Oren Masam on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:21 am

buy this proton as your own risk…..
    Enjoy the big fire when the car is on the road side….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Rozi Abdul Majid on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:07 am

Either you like Bezza or Saga is up to you, your money and don’t care about others. I’m going to booked Axia and Saga very soon to my son and wife.

• Rozi Abdul Majid on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:16 am

Jangan cakap proton guna minyak kuat, 1.3 car want to speed only below 90km? Even I drive my kancil 850 speed 120km. Nak jimat minyak pakai motosikal.

• Low Budget on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:20 am

Judging by the many comments in favor of the Proton Saga, seems like P1 is going to have a bumper year pretty soon or is this just an illusion created by the some Proton supporters in this Paul Tan site?

• Gobuk on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:37 am

#janjibukantonggek

• Kenny T on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:18 am

2.45PM? Lol clearly these guys can’t wake up early in the morning to get a launch done. Proton people are used to minum kopi and makan roti. Always taking it easy. Just like those menteri. Wake up late, then get escort to guide you through traffic. Typical Malaysian company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • John Dee on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:30 am

how come all the comments are disabled to be given a mark? another DRB instruction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • azhar on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:16 pm

only worth if buy exec spec and up..the standard spec dont even have ABS!!!

• Std spec is a misnomer. Its actually basic spec for teksi & driving skool.

• azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:38 pm

What can I say is hipster rules Proton today!! :-)

• Welcome saga…. Bye bye Bezza….