VIDEO: 2016 Proton Saga improved in NVH stakes

Saga Baharu 1/5

Kabin Saga Baharu sungguh senyap sehingga cincin jatuh pun boleh dengar. Tak percaya? Saksikan video comel ini dan pandu uji sekarang! Anda akan tahu apa yang kami maksudkan!

#SagaBaharu
#AlamiPerubahannya
#ExperienceTheRefinement
#ProtonCars
#SagaBerterusan

Posted by Proton Cars on Sunday, October 2, 2016

Now that the 2016 Proton Saga has been launched, Proton has released a video of the Saga undergoing NVH (noise, vibration and harshness) development work, with a light-hearted twist. The video shows the rigours undertaken with the objective of weeding out errant noises, be they external or mechanical.

In summary, the Proton Saga 1.3 is available as the following: starting at RM36,800 for the manual Standard variant and RM39,800 for the CVT-equipped Standard; next up is the Executive CVT at RM42,800, while the top Premium CVT variant goes for RM45,800.

Just one engine is available for the Proton Saga – the 1.3 litre VVT naturally-aspirated four cylinder engine from the Iriz which produces 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. In terms of headline equipment, the top Premium variant adds stability control and hill-start assist, making it the cheapest sedan in Malaysia with the all-important active safety feature.

Watch our walk-around video tour of the new Proton Saga, here, and check out CarBase.my for a detailed look at the car’s specifications and equipment.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• citizen kane on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:58 am

I test drove this car over the weekend. to be honest and no offense. it looks ugly. out of proportion, the rear trunk is like old Pug 206 sedan and front lights are far too large. test drive all same as old Saga. road noise was there engine vibration all the same. salesman said it is a full FL model. Also the exora steering wheel is too large for it and I still believe the smaller more sporty old steering wheel was more suitable. seriously who selected this? I rather drive my old 2010 Persona which I believe still far more superior than anything proton delivered since 2010 onward. Also FYI showroom was empty and only a few people looking at cars and asking for Free goodies like bags and stuff. typical proton showroom goers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 96
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Instead of making video Proton, why don’t you ask your sales staff in the showroom to do some work? I went to Glenmarie showroom, the Proton salesmen there were fast asleep.

I even had to wake them up to open the Perdana for me to view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 36
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:01 pm

kinda agree with u TBH , i didnt test drove just a general peek through , it doesnt look nice , it has that feeling of seeing all these china cars who are made by brands u never heard of…that too-blingy-grill is a no no , the headlights shuld have been abit smoked ….it looks very third world!
      the overall proportion is alright , its not that bad …
      bt i was constantly thinking if i was looking for car of around 50k range, i wd go for the mid spec persona , as it feels much more upmarket and alot more sophisticated look….the saga is gonna sell well absolutely , it has a good value and a good size…..bt i think the FLX actually is a better looking car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:42 pm

You know what? This is because of Campro VVT engine & CVT clutch bising Punch!
      Change it to dual VVT engine & CVT torque converter gearbox!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
      • karam singh on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Lol Dual VVT & those CVT on the ‘new’ VIOS ?
        lol still got beat up by City in FC & power.
        who want a car higher FC with less power ?

• I’m rooting for Proton to return back to their glory days and success in the new Persona and Saga.

Brilliant video by the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:31 pm

The previous glory days was because rakyat was forced to buy Proton. MITI made sure all other car prices was pushed up at least RM20k more than Proton.

This is why Proton got its Glory days. Don’t be proud of it. Every Proton owner will admit, if they had a choice, they would buy another brand. they bought Proton because is was far cheaper than the other brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 31
      • ohwai on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Meanwhile p2 is cheaper than p1 but you dun say rakyat is forced to buy it, now is p2 glory days…until end.

Oh why.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • lilytan on Oct 04, 2016 at 4:38 pm

During those glory days, proton had mitsu as its technical partner. Spec wise it was sufficient, quality wise it was reliable. But later on starting with gen 2 things started to go bad. The cars were underspecced, quality was terrible. The rest is history. Now proton is a bit better but the cars are still not good enough. Just look at the steering wheel of the saga. Nuff said. Even the Chinese cars are getting it right. The koreans, once the joke of the town have left us behind.

• Salam Sejahtera on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Malaysia satu satunya negara muslim d dunia yg mempunyai kereta sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Apa kau nak lawan on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Malaysia satu2 nya negara Muslim d dunia ni yg mempunyai kereta sendiri

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:28 am

Ha ha ha, Like the video. Don’t marry unless U buy a Saga. Good job P1. U will sell even more IF U can provide a Diamond Ring as a token of appreciation to your new customers. Common P1, U can do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 11:39 am

Frankly speaking, U must NOT change your tires to a bigger & lower profile tires in order to minimize the intrusion of noise from the tires. U can use sound deadening materials in the 4 doors & the front bonnet to lessen the noise.

Lastly, change all rubber bushes that causes vibrations due to wear & tear bcos once the rubber are worn out, its the metal that is rubbing against metal that causes vibrations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • nizam on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:15 pm

lebih gemar pendekatan video macam ni, berbanding style KRU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Orang ramai complain kuat-kuat pasal kualiti, Proton tak dapat dengar. Ni nak puas cari segala bunyi. Kelakar lah proton ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • Sukri on Oct 04, 2016 at 1:12 pm

After so many years of manufacturing and R&D of car, the result is still the same. Don’t you guys in proton feel ashamed? Design look ugly, engine still old engine, still many noise, assesories all still cheap one, build quality very poor and etc etc …nothing has improve….if it;s not for malaysian to support proton, it has gone bankrupt long time ago….try to look at other car maker…they are getting better and better each years….haiizz…speechless …i better get back to work than giving comment that “proton never listen”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
  • P2 salesmen you better join P1 . Stop sending negative feedback here as we know many customers cancelled bookings for Bezza. Saga’s bookings already 10k same goes to Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • 10K booking? Still cannot match with Iriz, before launch already got 17K booking but not many one the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • I just test drive it yesterday at proton kajang. Honestly, the car feels normal. Maybe because the salesman didnt allow me to test on main road. Most of the gadget like reverse cam, etc are not really important. So I dont really car about that. But it is sad to see the safety features are not the same throughout the varient. Full safety features should be a standard on all varient. The thing I really dont like is the gas paddle. Its not linear. But its good for beginner driver.

I was considering this new saga. I was comparing it with city 2013 facelifted priced at rm50k. In terms of driving experience, I prefer the vtec engine. In terms of maintenance, saga, I need to go to proton SC to keep the warranty, and the cost is freaking high. With secondhand city, I can do it on my own. Sparepart is no problem for me since I know where to get some cheap one. And the most let down is the interest rate for local brand is quite high. Around 4.5% (this is what the salesman told me) compare to secondhand city which could get lower than 4%.

I would pick the new saga if the safety feature is the same on standard or executive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • I wud not say P1 servis at center is freaking high, pretty much on par with P2. Of course outside bengkel is cheaper, but u do get covered by 5 year warranty for Saga3. If u worry about reliability, the warranty will cover it

• Hantu galak on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:43 pm

You are serious income and reputation problem thats why got such a high rate from bank

• roslan on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Sound deadening material used extensively cos that’s all they can do.
    At the end of the day the engine still sucks.
    1.3 VVTi is just for namesake.
    Its still the same crappie campro in disguise so don’t expect wonders.
    Coupled with its massive body weight this Saga is similar to its former Saga model so expect the fuel consumption to be on the high side.
    Those factory controlled fuel figures is rubbish.
    Similar to the Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Protonwira on Oct 04, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Parent choice for anak bawak blajar

• think smart on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Anyone know what is the function of the button which located at beside the right side near steering/dashboard there?

• p1 macha on Oct 08, 2016 at 7:14 am

I think supposely for fog lamp button.. If only u buy high spec la.. If not you only get what you see la.

• anutta on Oct 04, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Would like to see Premium MT Proton Saga

• There always a clown “would like to see a MT variant” in Proton.

• I think the button is spare for push start button. If people can’t wait they can go to accessories to install one or proton spare it to pair with petronas engine next year

• i want to buy 46K premium variant
    i am 40 and never owned car
    this will be my first car

why i choose saga

1. nvh low
    2. full safety kit
    3. hpc body

what i hate
    1. high fuel consumption compare to bezza
    2. material used on steering polyurethene sucks
    3. proton service centres service bay and service sucks

• faisal on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:51 am

Saga use cast iron engine. Bezza use aluminium engine. Different fuel consumption, spark plug and lubricant oil. If u like to driving like fraser hill road use saga. If u driving at straight road or town use bezza.

• MyBezza on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:59 pm

I already bring my Bezza 1.3 Advance until to the top hotel in Genting. No issue climb up hill for Bezza climb Fraser hill. Plus, Bezza engine using timing chain.

• Das Auto on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:49 pm

A lot of harsh comment here. But what do you expect when P1 release Saga right after Persona which has better look even though the side looks weirdo. P1 Ugly Duckling story?