Hyundai’s eight-speed, wet dual-clutch transmission ready, could find its way into N Performance models

hyundai-rn30-concept-3

According to Hyundai‘s head of vehicle test and high performance development, Albert Biermann, development work on the company’s eight-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission has been completed.

Speaking to CarAdvice, Biermann said the transmission will find its way into front-wheel drive vehicles, but could also feature in Hyundai’s N Performance range, which will see six models released by 2019. The i30 N will likely be the first model from the high-performance sub-brand, due to be launched next year.

“(It’s) eight-speed, wet, and considered a very nice ‘box, and I wish someday, although not confirmed yet, that this transmission will exist because it could also go into other Hyundai cars,” said Biermann. “We have a plan to, or an idea when we would install it, but it’s not confirmed (yet). As soon as this thing is confirmed, we will.”

While his words don’t explicitly say that the i30 N will benefit from the new transmission, he did confirm that it will easily handle up to 394 PS/450 Nm of power, which is close to the output of the 2.0 litre, four-cylinder turbocharged engine found on the all-wheel drive RN30 Concept.

Coincidentally enough, the RN30 Concept features a dual-clutch gearbox, although it isn’t stated if this was the new eight-speed unit mentioned by Biermann. “Even if it was to be something as high as 290 kW (394 PS), 450 Nm, it is still within the bands that the transmission could handle,” Biermann said.

GALLERY: Hyundai RN30 Concept

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Wow, Hyundai got 8 speed dual wet clutch. How can Hyundai be so far ahead of Proton when Hyundai only started 10 years earlier than Proton?

And besides technological advancement, Hyundai sells 9 million cars worldwide. Proton still sells 70,000 cars ONLY in Malaysia. And that also 90% ordered by the Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • to encik kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:20 pm

have you been to s.korea?
      how long has s.korea gov support Hyundai, Samsung, LG?
      how long has the people support local product?

answer these question first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Fine. Both were government initiated and still government supported. But which attained world-class quality. If you deny the quality part, why is it Kia and Hyundai able to go toe to toe with Japanese, European and American makes in the US and Europe and many other parts of the world winning over more punters every year? It’s the difference in culture, history and those also the politics in these countries. Granted nobody’s perfect but the local situation encourages policies that are detrimental in the long run. We don’t work as hard, are not as principled, not as focused on performance, choose to get mucked up in religion and culture, refuse to let go of govt teats, refuse to sacrifice a bit of each other’s monopoly on different economic, social and political areas and afraid of upsetting the gravy train. So this is what we reap. This is where we will be for a long time until mindsets of ALL parties concerned change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Bash Basher on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:07 am

2017 Car of The Year Nominees
          6 Korean Cars vs 5 Japanese cars
          6 Korean Cars vs 4 Germans

Hyundai/Kia 5 vs Toyota 1
          Hyundai/Kia 5 vs Honda 1

Although it is only nominated but this shows how far the Koreans have improved and where they stand in the automotive world.

• Why u wanna layan this basher? He wallows in mud, so why join him?

• Yes.Right! However... on Oct 08, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Agree with you.
        S.Korean gov is still supporting them. But you should know S.Korea is more clear in law and justice. It means it’s hard to support illegally. In legal boundary, supporting own national company is biasa in the world. Even US very clearly support Apple.

And you misunderstood. Korean hadn’t been royal supporter of Korean car makers. However Korean felt driving foreign cars were shame in Korean society at least before yr 2000. So most of rich people and politicians also drove Korean cars. This is based on patriotism and characteristic action of mono culture society. It’s different from people’s supporting.

However now it was changed. Samsung, Hyundai… are becoming global company. Means their wealth is not so much related with Korean. Even job opportunity is less and less in Korea. If you visit Seoul now. You can see lots of foreign cars. But still Korean makers sell a lot their cars in Korea.

Proton’s trouble is not only Proton. But also local parts maker companies. I feel it’s hard to survive Proton and local 3rd parties by tax supporting. Look Thailand parts maker companies have more quality competition than Malaysia’s.

I feel comparing Proton with S.Korean makers are not suitable. But it should compare with Thailand parts makers. Malaysia is better than Thailand in economic power. But why the parts makers are weaker than Thailand’s?

• pak atan on Oct 08, 2016 at 7:12 am

The slave brain is here. His brain washed by his master Toyo Tak japonis to basher rival in any means. If he dont do this, he cannot get RM50 ringgit for his food.

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Looks like Hyundai’s N Performance Car is challenging for a piece of the lucrative performance market.

With a look like this & a performance to boot, This N division car will give AMG & BMW M-Power a run for the money.

• Jeffrey Ng on Oct 08, 2016 at 9:07 am

They may be able to challenge the established performance badges on some specifications but commercially, maybe not.

Money facilitates the acquisition or development of technology but brand prestige and/or racing pedigree only comes with time and success.

• freedom on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:53 pm

I have drive alot of different type of German, Japan and Korean car. What is Korean car always missing with the other brand is the engine and the transmission. I think biermann is their key for the future.

• karam singh on Oct 06, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Hyundai sales is not there anymore. Toyota still the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • horrayooi on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Hyundai 8 speed dual clutsh . Korean way ahead in transmission. They are generous in this department. Something to do with their Korean work culture, intelligent, creativity, inovation and productivity which is lacking in Malaysia. Our local brand even have to source engines from United Kingdom for future needs. What happened? Something is not right in our education system, work ethics,diversity and management.

Nissan Almera 4 speed conventional auto which is 100% less. Perodua Bezza , Axia, Alza, Nissan Livina, Suzuki Swift and others also 4 speed auto. Daihatsu JDM cars all used CVT. They ( Japan )always don’t give the latest to Malaysia.

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 07, 2016 at 7:50 am

Drive a car with 6 speed or 8 speed auto in KL for 1 week on normal daily routine basis and then drive a vios with 4 speed auto.

You will find the FC has no difference at all.
      The 6 speed or 8 speed will make driving experience worse because there will be a lot of gear hunting.

• Archknight on Jan 03, 2017 at 4:23 am

It may just replace the 7 speed unit in their current models, which hasn’t been well received. That way they can further separate themselves from KIA, also allowing KIA to further develop the 7 speed DCT for their own applications. If it makes it way into the main lineup along with the 8 speed torque converter unit, they’ll be able to seriously challenge all the other mainstream brands and give premium/luxury marques reasons to think twice.

• hazamiey on Oct 07, 2016 at 12:10 am

Yeah. Bring in the DCT if coming to Malaysia. No need manual.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 09, 2016 at 7:42 am

Great news for scrap metal dealers. 1 year on the road, the next trip will be to scrapping yard