SPYSHOTS: 2017 Hyundai i30 N hot hatch shows face

Hyundai i30 N Spyshots-03

Here’s a latest set of spyshots from Europe, where the Hyundai i30 N hot hatch has been caught testing. This time, the test mule of the Korean Volkswagen Golf GTI rival shows more of its aggressive front end.

Now that we’ve seen official teasers of the next-generation Hyundai i30 that will debut at the 2016 Paris Motor Show in October, one can better visualise the 2017 i30 N’s face seen here. The multi-projector look of the eyes here match that of the standard hatchback, but the LED daytime running lights are horizontal here instead of vertical at the bumper’s edges.

Also clear in these images are details such as the front air intakes, big wheels with blue streaks, big brakes with red brake calipers and two big exhaust pipes, one on each side. The production car should of course add on a sizeable rear wing for full effect.

Hyundai i30 N Spyshots-05

Word is that the i30 N, which will be the Hyundai’s first car under the N performance brand, will debut next year in two versions – the standard N and one with a performance pack, like the Golf GTI. The Korean hot hatch could boast over 260 hp from a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot to take on the likes of the benchmark VW, Ford’s Focus ST and Peugeot’s 308 GTI.

The high-powered engine, which is currently under development, sounds throaty and sporty in the “work in progress” video Hyundai posted up last month. Around 40% of the development i30 N is fresh, with its newly-developed engine, enhanced transmission, suspension, dampers and upgrades in other areas such as wheels, steering and wider fenders.

Born in Namyang, honed at Nurburgring. We look forward to welcoming the Hyundai i30 N in 2017.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• P2godkompeni > hyundai
    P2godkompeni > all

We at 21st century of car making no need test anymore with Biza. Our prototypes r on sale right now.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Aug 18, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Some more i30 n can completed 24H rennen nurburgring racing. :p

• Rizal on Aug 18, 2016 at 7:38 pm

They pitch engineers and designers from big german brands while proton pitch politicians and GLC accountants to concentrate on business model and how much PAT can make.

• Hyundai dun dare to show face against my godlevel awesomely untested Biza. U shud buy it too if u wan early afterlife and with my limited special Road to Nirvana package, u will have peace of mind when rest in peace.

• One of P1 mistakes is not to engage kunta As its turnaround mgr.

• Andrekua on Aug 18, 2016 at 10:10 pm

So where is the Proton supporter that claimed there will be limited units up for sale???

• kumar on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:08 am

good news. more choices.