Subaru BRZ GT announced for Japanese market – Sachs dampers, Brembo brakes, from RM134k

sbr16708

Subaru has announced a new range-topping trim level for the BRZ sports coupé, which will go on sale on November 7. Dubbed the Subaru BRZ GT, the new model adds several new performance-oriented additions on top of the S variant.

Similar to the Performance Package found on the BRZ in the United States, the GT gives Japanese buyers mouth-watering goodies including Sachs Performance dampers, Brembo brake callipers clamping larger discs, unique 17-inch black alloy wheels and a pedestal-type rear wing. Inside, you’ll find heated seats dressed in Alcantara-and-leather combination upholstery.

These upgrades go on top of the other additions introduced on the facelift, including a revised front fascia with a more angular U-shaped spoiler, plus LED headlights incorporating LED daytime running lights and indicators. There are also LED fog lights, new faux fender vents, redesigned full-LED tail lights and a revised rear number plate garnish.

sbr16705b

Inside, changes are limited to a new, smaller multifunction steering wheel from its also-revised Toyota 86 twin, as well as hill start assist. The S model bumps it up with a redesigned instrument cluster incorporating a new 4.2-inch colour multifunction display (now with vehicle performance data and a lap timer), plus leather-wrapped dashboard, kneepads and instrument cluster visor and faux carbon fibre interior trim.

As on the facelifted 86, the 2.0 litre D-4S direct-injected, naturally-aspirated flat-four in the BRZ has been tweaked to serve up 205 hp and 214 Nm, up from the current car’s 200 hp and 205 Nm. That’s only in conjunction with the six-speed manual gearbox, however – those with the six-speed auto get the lower figure. The manual’s final drive ratio has also dropped from 4.1 to 4.3:1, improving acceleration.

The suspension has been tweaked with updated springs and dampers as well as a larger rear anti-roll bar for improved responsiveness, stability and comfort. The strut tower braces, transmission crossmember plate and rear wheel housings have also been strengthened to increase rigidity, while the stability control’s thresholds have been raised – enough for Subaru to change the name of the system’s Sport mode to Track mode.

Pricing for the BRZ GT is 3,315,600 yen (RM134,000) with the manual gearbox and 3,375,000 yen (RM136,400) with the automatic, making both models 345,600 yen (RM14,000) more expensive than their equivalent S variants.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• JB_KIA on Oct 19, 2016 at 9:49 am

RM134k….obviously we are earning more than the Japs.

• JP_SAN on Oct 19, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Other than you afford for road tax (min RM1k) and Insurance (RM3k to RM15k), you need a prove of parking space for each of your car(in Tokyo may cost up to RM40k a year) and compulsory inspection every 2 to 3 years(paperwork alone RM5k) with new parts such as brake, tyre, allignment, suspension and anything that affect exhaust emission.

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 9:55 am

How nice if the BRZ really sell for RM 134k in M’sia, Me & many petrol-heads will be heading to a Subaru to pay the booking.

• targa on Oct 19, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Sadly, it was RM234K the last time it was sold here by UMW for the manual…..

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:03 am

Current BRZ is selling from RM 233k. Goodness gracious, that means we are paying additional $$$ in the form of taxes to our poor gov.

Good luck to you guys in Subaru. This is a toy for those who can afford in excess of 200k. With our abysmal economic downtrend, I can’t for-see many BRZ on our road.

• If only it had symmetrical AWD…sigh

• targa on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:11 am

Nice…. but chances are it’s gonna be very very pricey here.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:14 am

Dem affordable. SGD45K only ^^

• Henry on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:46 am

I will cost a quarter million here.

• Come to msia with that price… easily can kill p1 n p2

• thepolygonal on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:51 am

Wow… RM 3k cheaper than Honda Civic 1.5TC-P here.

• this or mx5? which one is better?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 19, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Wow so cheap…no need to buy under market value…

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Willing seller, willing buyer. There is seriously nothing wrong at all, as long as there is no conflict of interest; can your mum sell you a 1-year E-class at rm80k?
      If you think people makan suap, you must prove it. He does not have to prove his innocence.
      Come on, show us the real evidence that there is conflict of interest.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 19, 2016 at 5:38 pm

So, to improve a new-generation Japanese icon, they turned to German shock absorbers and Italian braking systems.

Looks like Tein didn’t make the cut for the absorbers and Akebono is nowhere to be seen for the brakes.

• Bashers says since this is the will of their jepunis overlords, so how can we persoal when they deemed their own shocks and brakes r unworthy? Potong our kepla, u know!