GALLERY: 2016 Toyota 86 facelift – JDM at the kaikan

2016 Toyota 86 Facelift Japan 26

The 2016 Toyota Technology Media Event for Asian markets might have centred around the company’s safety initiatives and environmental efforts, but the world’s number one carmaker – led by car enthusiast Akio Toyoda – has of late acquired a sporty spirit.

“Fun to drive” has been a catchword over the past few years, and no other model in the range embodies that line better than the Toyota 86. The facelifted hachi-roku went on sale domestically in July after it first surfaced at the New York International Auto Show in March, and a red unit sat proudly at the entrance of the Toyota Kaikan showcase in Toyota City. We obliged.

The RWD coupe looks familiar, but is thoroughly revised, claims its maker. “We overhauled everything – primarily as a result of technological feedback from the 86’s participation in the 24 Hours of Nurburgring – and repeatedly tested the vehicle on roads all over the world as we manufactured every single part,” said chief engineer Tetsuya Tada.

“The new 86 has been perfected to such an extent that, from the moment the steering wheel is gripped and the vehicle accelerates away, every driver will be able to recognize its evolution,” the CE added.

2016 Toyota 86 Facelift Japan 19

The 86 gets a heavily revised front bumper with a lower nose, a wider grille opening and fins on the new fog light bezels. Full-LED headlights are standard-fit on all models – integrating LED indicators that were previously found on the bumper – while LED fog lights can be found on GT and GT Limited trim levels.

On the profile, the faux vents on the wings have been redesigned, with the new 86 badge (boxer piston motif is gone) moved lower down the fender. Also included are new 17-inch machine-finish alloys, new LED tail lights and a revised rear bumper with a wider diffuser insert. You’d also have noticed the new wing, also seen on the refreshed Subaru BRZ.

Inside, the new steering wheel is the most obvious change, with buttons on the GT and GT Limited. Also only available on the top two trim levels is a revised instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch display that shows G force, power/torque curves and a stopwatch, among other info. The tacho has also been reconfigured so that the very top of the meter says 7,000 rpm – where the engine produces max power.

2016 Toyota 86 Facelift Japan 3

Elsewhere, GT and GT Limited cars gain carbon print trim on the power window switch surrounds and AC panel, while the GT Limited – as seen here – gets “Grand Luxe” suede-like trim on the dashboard and door cards, plus Alcantara on the seats.

Under the curvy hood, the 2.0 litre boxer engine gets revisions to the intake and exhaust system, which bring an extra seven PS and seven Nm for 207 PS at 7,000 rpm and 212 Nm of torque between 6,400 and 6,800 rpm. That’s for the six-speed manual cars; the 6AT variant soldiers on with the same figures.

To increase rigidity, the number of spot welding points on the rear pillars have been increased – in concert with the revised springs and dampers, this provides increased steering response and ride comfort, which can be improved further by opting for the optional Sachs dampers.

GALLERY: Toyota 86 GT Limited facelift at Toyota Kaikan

GALLERY: Toyota 86 facelift official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sammy Loo on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:26 pm

one of the most reliable sports car in the world that can be your everyday car with low maintenance

smooth NA engine is the best, no replacement for displacement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Missing something here? I suppose the word between is sports “looking” car

• Missing kunta on Sep 02, 2016 at 12:21 am

Well done, interior looks better. Basher hasnt come here shoot proton yet? Missing already?

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:51 am

Proton staff can only dream. They don’t know how to work hard like the Japs. They know only to look for tongkat, sleep on the job and look for aweks to be No 2, No 3 and No 4

• 86snail on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:54 pm

What so special about this facelift? Only 212Nm at 6400RPM? It is a joke.

Nowadays it should be reached at much lower RPM and yes charged!

• Same L00 on Sep 02, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Thanks to your beloved Proton and its RM1.5bil pocket money, we have to pay sky high for the 86 in Malaysia.

• Sam proton on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Thank you for supporting proton for your son. You shall get him a kimchi.

• The inflated price by UMW is more than enough to negate any benefits from low maintenance. Funny, the first thing most owners would do is getting aftermarket power upgrades because the standard engine is pretty gutless.

• No replacement for displacement? U can only say that when u have 5L v* mustang engine, otherwise anything below 2000cc is puny.

• Albert on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:34 am

Sam Loo
      There is nothing wrong with toyota.They r a worldwide giant.
      The problem is with UMW.
      I called UMW Shah Alam at 4pm lately regards technical failure,on Thursday.
      A male Chinese voice said the lady has gone for prayers.At 4pm,omg. If they want to pray whole day,no problem.We respect that.Get someone else to attend to complaints.
      She only returned call at 5.20pm.
      You see,with this kind of service,you expect SKY HIGH SALES WITH SKY HIGH PRICING?
      No wonder,many diehards have migrated to Honda(also may have after sales problems).People migrate ,cos they r fed up with UMW.
      And mind you,those customer service at Shah Alam are not very helpful.They r just doing firefighting.Not really helping customers get the right solutions.
      Honda may have lots of airbag inflator recalls,but they r attending to them.
      UMW ,u dont buck up….even Mazda will overtake u one day,here in Bolehland.

• Narmi on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:31 pm

I wish they updated the engine to the 2.0 turbo from the Lexus IS. Oh well..

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:34 pm

yeah malaysia overpriced it over 200k

Rather go buy the new bmw 330e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • targa on Sep 02, 2016 at 12:16 am

Love this car, but Toyota Motor Japan has been screwed by UMW Toyota. Wonder if they know…. Sigh….

• Zukifli on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:15 am

Cost below RM80k in 95% of the countries worldwide. But once come to Msia price between mes RM288,888. Thanks to that idiot senile Proton man who started all these mess!!

• Zukifli on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:15 am

Cost below RM80k in 95% of the countries worldwide. But once come to Msia price become RM288,888. Thanks to that idiot senile Proton man who started all these mess!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:50 am

Was hoping that Subaru would add some engine capacity a bit to give the 86/BRZ more go. But i guess it would affect the car’s balance. So they stuck with the same engine though with slightly extra power/torque. The pre-facelift had horrible hard plastics which was not acceptable for a car costing over RM200k in Malaysia. Do hope they’ve rectified that as well.

• passion on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:57 am

PRICE SUCKS!!!

• bro,when u want to / willing to buy a two doors people wont compare it with the four doors..

• How much are used ones going for nowadays in the market? I can get a 2012 GTS model for less AUD25k here in Australia. :o

• modesto.h on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:53 pm

UMW still sells this? they stopped quite some time ago. you can only get recond unit from grey importer.

• ToyotaKarma Soon on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Overpriced yet overhyped car.

Only in Malaysia. Only by UMW…..sucking malaysian money…..