APM enters joint venture with Delta Kogyo for Kulim production of Mazda seating components by 2017

Mazda_CX-5_Diesel_Ext-3

A new joint venture has just been signed between Auto Parts Holdings Sdn Bhd (APM) and Delta Koygo Co., Ltd for the production of seating componentry for the locally assembled Mazda CX-5. Signatories for this agreement were Low Seng Chee, CEO of APM, and Hitoshi Fujita, president and CEO of Delta Kogyo.

This agreement will see a new Malaysian company formed under the proposed name, APM Delta Seating Systems Sdn Bhd with an authorised capital of RM25 million, while the issued and paid-up capital of RM23 million will see APM and Delta each holding 60% and 40% equity share respectively.

This joint venture is intended to supply seats, seat frames and components for export to ASEAN countries, while also supplying components for Mazda vehicles assembled in Malaysia which will be exported to other ASEAN countries.

apm-delta-kogyo-jv-signing

The production plant for the manufacture of the seating systems will be a 12,856 sq m facility estimated to be complete by February 2017, as part of a programme initiated between Mazda and the Malaysia Automotive Institute in 2012.

Japan-based Delta Kogyo Co., Ltd manufactures seat assemblies, slide adjusters, recliners, height adjusters, shifters, sun visors and door checkers. It also has operations in China, Thailand, Myanmar North America and Mexico.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hamizi Masduki on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

How about the percent of capital?

• APM better make in tomyam instead. MY make no quality one, deswai we alwiz bash local products. Somemore MY pipu now hi keras, dun wan 3D jobs anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Other people recognize MY expertise. Only MY pipu condemn their own expertise.

• Mikey on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:52 pm

APM is a reputable automotive parts manufacturer that make components like leaf springs & bus seats. When Mazda choose APM to form a company specially to make seats for its CX-5, it simply means APM have gain the confidence of the Japanese in terms of quality & expertise. This is a win win partnership for APM & Delta Koygo Co.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 6:19 pm

no , it simply means they get better cost , there is no such thing as quality and APM in one sentence…

• Mikey on Oct 30, 2016 at 12:39 pm

nabill, can you share what APM made parts that you have used have failed in the quality department ?! Please share for the benefits of our readers here.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 8:23 pm

APM is crony company

• It belongs to Tan Chong…

• Shh.. don’t say that. Opss.. 2nd tot, you can say that because it is not DRB/Proton. So people will not question the cronyism.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 6:16 pm

i have never ever bought anything from crappy APM that either was of good quality or lasted reasonable amount of time…

• Mikey on Oct 30, 2016 at 12:54 pm

nabill, I have used Performax shock absorber for most of my cars. They perform up to expectation. It lasted from 5 to 10 years B4 my machanic ask me to replace it.

For a guy who have NEVER bought anything from APM, you sure “KNOW” alot about APM.

• Mikey on Oct 30, 2016 at 12:57 pm

nabill, I have used Performax shock absorber for most of my cars. They perform up to expectation. It lasted from 5 to 10 years B4 my machanic ask me to replace it.

Can you tell what is your main reason or parts that have failed you ?!

• maXref (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Hope more foreign investments and more local plants open up. Our economy is dying and will be dead very soon otherwise :(

• Jijoi on Oct 28, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Please ckd cx3 and priced below 120k

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2016 at 1:27 pm

uncomfortable seats

• Madani on Oct 29, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Testament of MAI leading the local Auto industry into golden era.

• Rebel on Oct 31, 2016 at 8:33 am

APM is vendor for CKD Toyota, Nissan n Perodua. There is any is problem from that vehicle?

• MY pipu claimed MY parts no quality one, especially when out into MY car; double no quality one.