Japan to step up intent for KL-Singapore HSR project

Hitachi Super Express

Japan has continued to signal its interest in the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) link, with the project set to be one of the main discussion points during prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s visit to Japan, the New Straits Times reports. The PM is slated to meet his Japanese counterpart Shinzo Abe tomorrow.

Japan, which is competing with China, South Korea and several European countries for the project, will be pitching its Shinkansen (bullet train) system for the HSR programme. Najib has already paid tribute to the iconic train service, saying it had a strong international reputation and an excellent track record.

“As we proceed with the high-speed rail service between Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, I am sure the Shinkansen will be one of the leading contenders in the public tender for the project,” he said in a response to a written interview by Asahi Shimbun.

In July, both Malaysia and Singapore signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to facilitate the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) project. The definitive bilateral agreement to pave the way for the HSR project will be signed on December 5. Construction of the high-speed rail link is set to begin in 2018, with completion in 2025. This will be followed by field testing and commissioning, with operations scheduled to begin sometime in 2026.

The 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which is in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) will have eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur. Trains on the service are projected to run at average speeds of 300 km/h, bringing the rail travel time between KL and Singapore down to 90 minutes, excluding clearance at customs, immigration and quarantine.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:38 am

Sorry Japan, looks like China has already got the deal

• Albert on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:04 pm

East coast bullet train and this kl/sing bullet train will shoot up to rm 100 Billion.
      Where got so much money ?
      Print money,lor.
      or get kwsp soft loan,lor
      or jack up income tax and gst,lor.
      Easy,mah…rakyat bear the burden,while we fly to china play ping pong,and panda bears,mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Since it serve the rakyat, so tak kesah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • Albert on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Kurang insaf John
          “Serve the rakyat” ? Serve cronies’ pockets.
          The east coast bullet train….carry who and what? Carry cows,cigarrettes, and dolphins ,kah ?
          Look at the Port Klang Free Zone…14 Billion rm gone down the longkang.
          At rm 55 Billion,it will tax your sons and cucu,when red China says,it is time to pay up.
          You are horrendously pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:33 pm

It’s not your fault is you born poor, but it’s your fault when you die poor – bill gates, stop blaming something when you’re unsuccessful in life and work harder for it..

• I think u got ur rail lines and ur brain mixed up. HSR goes at West Coast, while ECRL goes at East Coast. Thats normal trains, not bullet.

Now go back and ponder ur disastrous mistake while suking ur thumb, cuz ur horrendously pathetic.

• Rinnegan on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:45 am

@Albert, you mentioned “The east coast bullet train”. Has it ever been announced that the ECRL will consist of bullet train type rolling stock? You might want to check this page : http://www.spad.gov.my/land-public-transport/rail/east-coast-rail-line-ecrl-project . Hopefully this will clear your confusion. And oh, try not to accuse others of being a “horrendous pathetic” when your understanding regarding the ECRL is still inadequate.

• Since when the gov said it will be a bullet train for east coast? It will be like the North South ETS right? So the track will also can be use by the cargo train. So yes, it serve the rakyat like what North South ETS do.

• 15minute inside Singapore. That island is higger than i though

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:09 am

in my honest opinion, MAGLEV is a better choice than other electric bullet train. many other choices include from south korea and germany.

• China has the worlds fastest maglev in commercial use right now

• john is otak batu on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:01 am

Better get japan to do instead of china. Japan is a country known for quality engineering. China will be cheaper of course, but quality wise not as good as japan.

• Better get japan to do instead of china. Japan is a country known for quality engineering. China will be cheaper of course, but quality wise not as good as japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:35 pm

China have become one of the economic powerhouse in asia… Maybe it’s time to kiss their ass…

• klata-klata on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:25 am

Shinkansen is largely 1980’s technology. China has leap-froged over Japan into leading-edge new technologies such as supercomputers, telecommunications satellites and space, besides maglev and high-speed trains.

The huge network and large number of high-speed train trips made in China has established a reliable reference record.

• Dedak in the house on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:41 am

U know sgpore mrt bought from china.. so???

• gunblade on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:25 am

I really hope that Japan teechnology will win the bid. Safety and reliability is surely on Japan side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Singa on Nov 15, 2016 at 12:31 pm

It is not Japan best interest building mass transportation like train because It would reduce the car sales in Spore and Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • “As we proceed with the high-speed rail service between Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, I am sure the Shinkansen will be one of the leading contenders in the public tender for the project,” he said in a response to a written interview by Asahi Shimbun.

The leading contender, but not the winning contender. With Bandar Malaysia, the KL hub for the planned HSR, and also half of all rolling start present and future being effectively PRC, I would advice Mr. Abe to honorably give up the HSR bidding as I don’t see how Japan, or any contesting countries, can ever win this, further more Japan being the main rival of China for influence in the region. Political pressure on Putrajaya comes mainly from Beijing now given how our leading members became so buddy buddy with the people in the gongchangdang.

Which is a shame because I would prefer to see N700 or E5 type Shinkansen in buzzing pass Melaka than CRH type. Japan also have the longest history and best reputation in building very fast trains. But Japan wouldn’t go as far to finance the cost of building like the big dragon nor do they have the political influence.

But than again anything can happen, look how Trump is now president.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Jonn Dol on Nov 15, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Price-wise, it would be quite/very tough to beat the Chinese proposal (provided they passed the Technical Evaluation), but if the Technical has some influence on the decision-making, then you can’t count out the Japanese. But of course there could some other external economic factors as well which could also affect the decision..

• The only bet now is singapore since they make a huge factor on decision making and these trains will ferry their citizens, so safety will be on their priority while ours will probably prioritize how much side income they can generate for that new Rolls Royce. What I heard is that Singaporean is very hard on with the Shinkansen while Malaysia will always almost very 99% confirm on the CRH.

The other downfall of the Shinkansen is that the Japanese are unwilling to transfer technology knowledge to the locals as evident in Taiwan, you can see it in their local ‘joint ventures’. Taiwan initially wanted German ICE, but a fatal accident revert their idea to Shinkansens.

• SG buys China trains for their SMRT as well, so looking at their POV- as long as it meets their tech requirement, proven record in homeland, price is right, SG WILL GO FOR CHINA TRAINS. But of course, we dun bash cuz its southern overlords.

• tokmoh. on Nov 15, 2016 at 3:36 pm

I kinda like CRH380A’s design.

Other than Taiwan’s HSR, I don’t think there’s any Japanese 300km/h HSR elsewhere worldwide.

And what a failure Taiwan’s HSR is, it’s just too expensive.

Sorry Japan, the world doesn’t earn like you to afford like you. Your Shinkansen, while reliable and safe, is too expensive to be feasible outside Japan.

Bijan should just be direct in his current Japan trip, stop giving them false hope. They won’t win.

All hail glorious CRH!

• The N700 and its derivatives on the Tokaido-Sanyo Shinkansen regularly travel at 300kph in most areas between Tokyo and KagoshimA While the Tokaido and Hokkaido Shinkansen, The E5 ‘Hayabusa’ and E6 ‘Komachi’ can hit 320kph during operation. All Shinkansen are rated for faster but aren’t because Shinkansen coming out of tunnels create shockwaves that disrupt the local polulation,its however reduce with the duckbill design and taking a train from Hiroshima to Kyoto…. there’s a damn lots of tunnel.

The Chinese will always beat the Japanese on price. Cheaper and better on paper, and also built on lower labour cost and overall cost in material than what the Japanese can only dream of. But sketchy history on safety and corruption leads to dubious reliability history. But hey history of corruption on the mainland isn’t all that bad, at least those contract signers hook in the project can take in a couple of cash for that new Bentleys, what’s one or two forgettable accidents in the prospect of a new exotics cars.

• tokmoh. on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:51 am

Aside from that single fatal crash in 2011, there hasn’t been another fatal crash in their HSR network. Considering CRH’s network is larger than Japan’s, that’s a respectable safety achievement.

The crash was also the fault on signalling, nothing to do with the rolling stock itself. The rolling stock in any case, were a Bombardier and a Kawasaki unit.

Corruption happens, but it doesn’t change the competency of their HSR tech, nor their packaging.

As you said, Japanese are less likely to transfer technology. CRH, are known to be open to it, as currently, CSR Zuzhou has transferred and local assembled the Komuter, ETS and Ampang line LRT rolling stocks.

That’s more jobs for us, the Japanese simply won’t have an answer.

Unless they can drop a bombshell, going out of character to lowball cost, promise localisation, but knowing how prideful they are, I’m not holding my breath this will happen.

• When jepunis can “invest” in MY, but not China…

• panzer on Nov 15, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Dont waste your time and money,Im sure sure China will get the contract.

• I agree. Its bad enuff one country alredi kena lumpur. Lets not another innocent one get bashed.

• inb4 ini mesti dah dedak ni.

• Ahmadjr on Nov 15, 2016 at 3:18 pm

No need la japan. Our pm had fallen in love with ah beng

• When jepunis invest, its called investment.
      When China invest, its called….

Why likdis?

• Mikey on Nov 15, 2016 at 4:19 pm

We all know this is just another “SendiWara or Wayang Kulit” This HSR project will be given to PRC hands down.

Just ask yourself who is the end financier of this entire HSR project & you will know the answer. Nak tipu siapa ?

If there is a betting, most $$$ will be in PRC winning the bid. Stop posturing Ah MO1.

• icu and smell. on Nov 15, 2016 at 5:10 pm

If me pm; i build highway only for otonomouse electrik vehicle . Gov car,lorry; bus , van end taxi. This highway security and manager .by camera and drone. If u have money better buy samsung. Apple dont buy besi burok.

• Rinnegan on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:00 am

@icu and smell: Judging by your spelling, your grammar and your punctuations, I highly doubt you are PM material. But then again, Trump did become president. Yikes!!!

• Albert on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Made in Japan..got RV
    Made in China..No RV (for scrap yards,order new ones again)

• Made in jepunis got takata & faiya windows.
      Made in china got ipong

• U know, we know.
    Whoever provide most under table win the deal

• honda_seller on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:05 pm

You guys are not the government. So SHUT UP!!!