KL-Singapore High Speed Rail garnering strong interest; 14 companies short-listed to win project bid

Hitachi Super Express

The KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project has garnered a lot of interest according to Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar. In a report by The Star, he revealed that the commission received more than 220 enquiries during the project’s request for information (RFI) stage.

During the recent China High Speed Railway symposium at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, 14 companies were invited by officials from Malaysia and Singapore so they could present their detailed views on the project.

“Ninety-eight firms made written submissions of their ideas on how the project should be implemented. And we invited 14 companies to give in-depth views in person,” said Syed Hamid. The interviews were conducted by SPAD and Singapore’s Land Transport Authority.

He added that the Transport Oriented Development, which is a mixed-use residential and commercial area aimed at maximising access to public transport – would also be put in place along the HSR line. “I believe the HSR project will transform the landscape of transportation and will bring long-term economic social benefit to Malaysia and Singapore,” he claimed.

hitachi bullet train

Syed Hamid also praised the China Railway Corporation, one of the 14 companies short-listed for the HSR project. The company was responsible in organising the recent symposium. “China has not only shown the interest but showed they are keen to win the bid. This is something that we can say about the Chinese companies,” he said.

He continued, “now we have the track from Kuala Lumpur right up to Sungai Besar, all using rolling stocks from China. Now even our LRT is going to use rolling stocks from Chinese companies,” stating that China had a strong part in Malaysia’s transport industry, supplying more than 80% of the rolling stocks in the country.

In addition, China had vowed to work with SPAD Academy in reviewing its module and curriculum to upgrade the skills of its members. Malaysia is expected to spend RM160 billion in railway projects that include the MRT Line, the LRT line extension, as well as double tracking and electrification of KTM tracks.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• NoOneCareAboutMyName on Dec 15, 2015 at 11:29 am

Plz choose any firm other than China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 15, 2015 at 11:34 am

I gonna sure this project Encik Najix & Rosman will pocket their own account for few Bil. Did i say Billion??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Let’s we see how many bil is “donated” to private account this time.

• shawal on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Taxi, erl, check in, security checkpoints, walk to gate, fly, security checkpoints, take luggage n now ur in singapore….. (now imagine going thru that with ur little tots dat u wish to bring to universal)

d HSR may not necessarily be cheaper as it is more convenient and faster than the tedious processes mentioned above in visiting our small neighbors in the south…..

and in Singapore u hv alot more options of airlines to other countries and those might be cheaper….

To me (cuz i live in desa pandan haha) HSR makes alot of sense…..

• 2 years after the project completion,we can then expect the charges to have doubled from the initial cost just like any other public transport services in Malaysia. Then, you can hear our politicians tell us how they are so prihatin about the rakyat & understand what malaysians are going through…

• be optimistic on Dec 15, 2015 at 3:35 pm

tonns of negative comments!! you guys just ignored the core which is the fact that we will have a decent high speed rail move us at the top with first class countries and just bla bla about how much they gonna steal … i don’t deny that surely they will steal something but lets pray it wont be much :D and let’s get optimistic about our new high speed rail !! yayyyy

• ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 15, 2015 at 3:56 pm

I’m optimistic about our new high speed rail. But I’m pessimistic about the ticket price. ERL from KL Sentral to KLIA is already going to increase to RM55! Imagine the ticket price from KL to Singapore.

• lilytan on Dec 15, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Seriously? Sungai besar or padang besar??