RM1 million collected in RC fees since November 1

johor causeway jam bernama pix

The Johor state government has revealed that about RM1 million has been collected in Road Charge (RC) fees since the system was implemented on November 1, The Sun reports.

According to state assembly, state public works, rural and regional development committee chairman Datuk Hasni Mohammad, Johor is entitled to receive 25% of the RM20 fee that is levied on Singapore-registered vehicles coming into Malaysia either via the Causeway or the Second Link in Gelang Patah. The RC charge is paid through Touch n’ Go electronic payment at passport checking booths.

Earlier this week, it was reported that the government is expecting to collect as much as RM144 million a year in revenue from the RC, the figure being based on a projected 20,000 foreign-registered private vehicles entering Malaysia every day. Hasni said that based on the estimate, the state is set to get a share of about RM40 million in 2017.

He said that initially, there were less cars coming in from Singapore after the RC was imposed. “There was a 10% drop in Singapore-registered cars coming in during the first week of the month,” he said. The following week saw a return to normal traffic. “It’s back to normal. It could be due to the school holidays in Singapore and the weakening of the Ringgit,” he explained.

Drivers of Singapore-registered cars entering Johor via the two links have to pay a RM20 fee on top of checkpoint toll charges imposed by both Malaysia and Singapore. A RC fee is also set to be imposed on foreign private-registered vehicles coming in from Thailand, starting from the end of 2017. The rate will also be RM20.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Negara Kaya tapi Rakyat Miskin.

• Mikey on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Like someone here said B4, “It is not your mistake when you are born poor but it is your mistake if you die poor”.

• Rakyat miskin dijaga oleh negara

• azrai on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Still not enough to feed those 3 pandas..

• 80% of this 1 mil paid by Malaysian

• RC only applies to foreign plate cars. If MY pipu wanna buy foreign plate cars, then sendri tanggung.

• Ben Yap on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:48 pm

the more i read how much government rake in money, the more skeptical and angry i become.

tomorrow i wanna join the yellow team ady la.

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 18, 2016 at 9:17 pm

And then what? Block the road like those taxi protesters? U r not helping the country, u only made traffic jammed…I hope those bersih people can give much thought about how to help this country and not how to increase kl traffic. I mean why they not protesting at putrajaya. I mean pm is practically live there right?

• Road Cheat on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:51 pm

1st day implementation Nov1. Today is 18th Nov and if the estimate is 20,000 vehicles per day, the total collected should be closer to RM 7.2 Million. Someone has pocketed RM6 million already?

• Susukotak on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:17 pm

should kelantan gov get 25% also.

• transformer on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Rm1Mil, 50% split between State and Central. Rm500K enough to finished up Sg. Seget renovation? or just quietly stash away these Rm500K?

• zzzzzzz on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Only 1 mil collected so far? Something wrong la encik.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:57 pm

But i remember goverment said earlier can helping country make kurang kurang 100 million a year le… boleh sampai tak ??? Tapi kita punya plus tol sudah make billion dy ..!

• Lucky sgd$1 to rm$3.1 now, masih untung for the driver