No decrease in traffic from Singapore despite RC fees – gov’t expects to collect RM144 million annually

johor causeway jam bernama pix

There has been no drop in the number of Singaporean-registered vehicles entering Malaysia despite the implementation of the road charge RC system on November 1, Bernama reports.

Deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said the government expects to collect as much as RM144 million a year in revenue, the figure being based on the projected 20,000 foreign-registered private vehicles entering Malaysia every day. Last week, it was reported that the government had collected RM300,000 in RC fees from Singaporean vehicles since the start of the programme.

Ab Aziz, replying to questions during a Dewan Rakyat sitting yesterday, also added that the record system for Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) is also set to be implemented early next year. The VEP, together with the RC, will help authorities monitor all foreign vehicles entering and leaving the country, he explained.

The RC for Singaporean vehicles began on November 1. Drivers of Singapore-registered cars entering Johor either via the Causeway or the Second Link have to pay a RM20 fee on top of checkpoint toll charges imposed by both Malaysia and Singapore. With the new charge, a round trip for a Singapore-registered car entering Johor now incurs over S$19 (RM57) in fees.

A RC fee is also set to be imposed on foreign private-registered vehicles coming in from Thailand, starting from the end of 2017. The rate will also be RM20.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• $300,000 per week. how to add up to $144 mils?

• 20k cars a day * 365 days * RM20… but 20k cars a day dunno immi and custom can cope or not…. 833 cars an hour or 14 cars per minutes….

• kzm (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:20 pm

RC just start 1st Nov dude.. RM144M is just estimation for a year

• More people will start staying in Singapore instead travelling back and forth

• huh? you don’t read? The title alone shows Sg people don’t care about the fare. They still want come to My. BTW seem like even Sg people would like to stay out of Sg.

• Those are not Singapore people la, they are Malaysian PR driving Singapore registered car. Most i heard they’re starting to find place to stay instead driving back and forth.

• Kastam on Nov 17, 2016 at 8:50 am

malaysia kastam don’t give the s**t about the data, they only know collect $$$$ la

• kzm (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:22 pm

oni applicable to Singapore registered vehicles..not Boleh registered vehicle so not a problem for boleh pipu.

• most Singapore registered car in and out everyday are PR Malaysian

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:54 am

That is why our Gomen is bodoh. Charge only RM20. RM20 for the Singaporean is like RM1 for us. Small kacang puteh.

An intelligent gomen would charge the Singaporean more and make some money. After all, the Singapore car nicely fills up petrol in Malaysia. If the gomen says our petrol is still having little subsidy, that means, the Singaporean is nicely enjoying our cheap petrol.

To all the pondans who come here and say Sing cars cannot fill up petrol, get real lah. So many stations in JB still close one eye and filling up Singapore cars.

We should charge Singaporeans more cause they are increasing food prices and cost of living for Johor people. Do you know cost of living in Johor is far higher than KL?

• Tiger on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Can’t c immediate impact u have to wait n c at leasts 6months to 1yr bez it depends on peak n off peak seasons

• Dear Minister, problem is not with the Singapore side because they are rich enough to pay for it. The bigger problem is with the Malaysian who needs to go down to Singapore to work will have to fork out additional money so basically you are killing your own citizen just to get some quick buck.

• The fare is for Sg reg car who enter My. You know what is the article all about or no?

• u dont know 80% of Singapore registered car in and out everyday driven by Malaysian?

• Daylight Robbery, no, 24/7 robbery. Talking about revenue somemore..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:45 pm

charge those kiasu more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • john is otak batu on Nov 16, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Hey dumbo! U think their Kiasu gomen will keep quiet? They will retaliate by charging M’sian more on SGD including goods supply vehicles. .. no value minded at all!

• So what? They charge more goods supply vehicles when enter Sg, its their goods that become expensive. More Sg will come My. More fare collected by My.

• Tax the rich so no poblemo.

• Charge the foreign overlords! Oh wait, cant upset them foreign overlords and the dedakers here. Nanti potong kepla, tau!

• Causeway Chiongster on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:58 pm

What is RM20 to us? We are unstoppable, your cheap ringgit makes it affordable for everyone to shop and pump in Mudlaysia. Maybe you start to toll us RM150 on entry and exit then we may reconsider our little cheap excursion into mudland.

• azrai on Nov 16, 2016 at 3:24 pm

O yess..RM144million collected from Singaporean, RM152million for Panda. Malaysia Boleh!

• Bodoh Liow on Nov 16, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Bodoh… sekarang baru charge. Sg car will keep coming. It cost nothing to them…the charge is too low.

• Mikey on Nov 16, 2016 at 4:32 pm

For RM57, this S’porean will offset it by shopping more in M’sia where the goods are much cheaper too. This may turn out to be a blessing in disguise for M’sian.

• Disgrunted on Nov 17, 2016 at 8:34 am

Get real guys. The ones impacted the most are Malaysians who purchased SG-registered car plates and do daily commute JB-SG to work. They have a house and a family in JB; they don’t have a choice but to pay up that RM20.