ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards 2016 winners listed – Honda gets 10, Toyota 8, Nissan 4, Proton 3, Perodua 2

After the award dinner earlier this week, we now know the full list of winners of the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards 2016. The awards were meant to acknowledge vehicles, companies and individuals in the name of vehicle/road safety.

In this year’s winners list, Honda picked up a total of 10 awards, Toyota won eight, Nissan had four, while Malaysian carmakers received three and two awards respectively. Also, Mazda, Hyundai, Ford and Suzuki each picked up an award as well.

Awards were given for models that achieved the best safety performance, according to vehicle classes. The scores of Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP) are taken into account, with awards given for each category. The model with the best overall scores are also awarded.

Perodua-Bezza-ASEAN-NCAP-1

Here is the list of the safety performance awards recipients, by vehicle type:

Mini car
AOP – Toyota Agya
COP – Toyota Agya

Small family car
AOP – Perodua Bezza
COP – Perodua Bezza

Medium family car
AOP – Honda Civic
COP – Honda Civic

Large family car
AOP – Nissan Teana
COP – Nissan Teana

MPV
AOP – Toyota Sienta
COP – Toyota Innova

SUV
AOP – Suzuki S-Cross
COP – Toyota Rush

Pick-up truck
AOP – Ford Ranger
COP – Toyota Hilux

Best overall car
AOP – Nissan Teana
COP – Nissan Teana

Do note that this is a regional award, not specific to cars sold in Malaysia only, hence the inclusion of models not sold here such as the Toyota Agya. The best overall car, the Nissan Teana, scored a perfect score for AOP, with 88% compliance for COP – highest ever recorded by ASEAN NCAP.

Honda BR-V ASEAN NCAP 1

New to this year are awards for affordable safety, given to the cheapest models in each ASEAN country with a full five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating. The Proton Iriz took the honour for Malaysia, while the Preve won it for the Thai-market. Awards for other markets were all given to Honda models, namely the BR-V (Indonesia), City (Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos), Jazz (Philippines) and HR-V (Brunei and Singapore).

On top of all these, rising star recognition awards were handed out to the Proton Saga for the evolution of the model over the years; the Toyota Corolla for adding seven airbags and electronic stability control as standard fitment; and the Hyundai Elantra over the Global Safety Concept of No Zero Star Car.

Special safety technology awards were also given to companies with specific safety features. For this year, Honda Sensing, Mazda i-ActivSense, Toyota Blind Spot Monitor and Bosch Motorcycle innovative technology each received safety recognitions. Last but not least, our own Jonathan Lee was given a Journalist Appreciation Award this year, to go along with the Media Contribution Award given to paultan.org in 2014.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Congratulation to Nissan for being named “The best overall winner”. the Nissan Teana, scored a perfect score for AOP, with 88% compliance for COP – highest ever recorded by ASEAN NCAP. I must say I’m surprised by the result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota Lost Again on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Why Toyota keep losing to Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Ertiga got COP 2 star only. How is Ertiga going to sell lah like this?

Wah, accident means, habis lah the kids at the back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:22 am

Why u don ask why Suzuki Ertiga got 2 star for COP? use seatbelt or ISOFIX…

• Congratulation to Jonathan from PT team too!

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:36 pm

I cannot understand. Iriz and Preve both scored 5 stars but BOTH cars are big failures for Proton. Why is this so?

Iriz and Preve failed miseraby that even the Iriz is now going to given to Uber drivers as an incentive.

Something must be wrong with Proton cause globally 5 star cars normally sell EXTREMEMLY well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
      • Leonardo on Dec 05, 2016 at 10:00 am

Mr Kunta – Are you working for P2?
        Safety and sales are two different things altogether. Better safety does not automatically means better sales. Axia is not even in the safety list here, but are the best sellers in Malaysia. Why?
        It would seem that Malaysians buy cars based on pricing and affordability while safety is just an ‘added bonus’.
        Another example is Volvo cars. Worldwide this brand is known for its safety innovation and features. Yet it does not automatically translate into huge sales, like your “theory”. In fact, sales is so poor the company now is bought over by a Chinese car company.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Why did Preve win 5 stars in the Thai market and not in its home country Malaysia?

Is Proton selling higher quality cars for export and dump lower quality cars for Malaysians?

This was the case for the past 20 years. Export Protons were much higher quality. I drove a Satria in the UK and I can tell you, it drove like a BMW. It had higher spec than the Malaysian Satria. Many airbags and so many safety spec

the same with VSC. Long before our Protons had any VSC also, UK Protons had VSC and many airbags.

Come on Prootn, charity begins at home. Sell a safe car to your rakyat first before worshipping the Mat Salleh and giving him higher safety spec Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 28
      • Silthice on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:03 pm

If you cannot understand that’s mean you have to go to English reading classes. “New to this year are awards for affordable safety, given to the cheapest models in each ASEAN country with a full five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating.”
        Preve isn’t the cheapest 5-star in Malaysia but Iriz is. Meanwhile Preve is the cheapest 5-star rated car in Thailand .
        Now you understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • haha P2? people buy P2 because they are poor so they have no choice to choose better car so tell me why P2 on the list?

• Mikey on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Congratulation to P2 for winning the Small family car(Bezza) in the AOP & COP catagory.

• Mikey on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:52 pm

john, eat your heart out for Toyota have won the MPV in the
    AOP – Toyota Sienta & COP – Toyota Innova.

• And exactly how many sales ur expecting from these models as compared to the rest of ur junks?

• karam singh on Dec 02, 2016 at 9:26 pm

The problem here, there is no test on Kia Sedona & Honda Odyssey. If both of them there , Sienta & Innova gonna go down easy.
      Honda Odyssey being most safety in the world for many years, just this year Kia Sedona beat Odyssey in IIHS TSP+ for some additional safety equipment.

• karam singh on Dec 02, 2016 at 9:38 pm

waiting the score for AOP for Sienta, hope it get more than the BR-V

• Mikey on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:54 pm

I’m truly disappointed that P1 did not win any. john, maybe U can fill in why P1 didn’t win any

• P1 spend too much time bringing out new models and bringing in new sales. So no time to win awards. Bagi chance kali ini. Thats what they said.

• Mikey on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:55 pm

That’s D Best reply/response given that i must say. I tot U will reply by saying P1 won the “subsidiary” title for affordable safety, given to the cheapest models in each ASEAN country.

U have done well this time 4 not mentioning the minor title. I hope U are not ashamed to mention it though !

• Nope. Nothing to be ashamed/proud of, since this the cold hard facts.
          When P1 goes for awards, u will say win award but still no sales so it is loser.
          When P1 focus on sales, u will say P1 only win minor awards so it is loser.

All I say is, P1 shudnt gip a F to what u say and just steady the course to improve the company and cars.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Congrats jonathan lee…so which one AOP or COP…

• tokmoh. on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Good guy Volvo give chance to others, meanwhile they go clean sweep Euro NCAP, IIHS, etc.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Congrats Jonathan.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Very interesting how the cheapest 5-star ASEAN NCAP car in Thailand is still the Proton Prevé. It goes to show that many of the smaller cars in Thailand still lack good safety. (same story here)

The Iriz seems to be the cheapest 5-star ASEAN NCAP car in the entire ASEAN region as well. And correct me if I’m wrong, but Proton has been selling the Iriz in Brunei since 2015 at least, and yet the HR-V won the Brunei award ? Hmm…

Also, congrats to Jonathan Lee on his award too !

• Ironic that bashers claim they cannot get cheap safe jepunis cars is due to P1, meanwhile in tomyam, the cheapest safe car IS a P1! Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Boboy on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Congrats Jonathan Lee!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Where are the kimchis?