After the award dinner earlier this week, we now know the full list of winners of the ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix Awards 2016. The awards were meant to acknowledge vehicles, companies and individuals in the name of vehicle/road safety.

In this year’s winners list, Honda picked up a total of 10 awards, Toyota won eight, Nissan had four, while Malaysian carmakers received three and two awards respectively. Also, Mazda, Hyundai, Ford and Suzuki each picked up an award as well.

Awards were given for models that achieved the best safety performance, according to vehicle classes. The scores of Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP) are taken into account, with awards given for each category. The model with the best overall scores are also awarded.


Here is the list of the safety performance awards recipients, by vehicle type:

Mini car
AOP – Toyota Agya
COP – Toyota Agya

Small family car
AOP – Perodua Bezza
COP – Perodua Bezza

Medium family car
AOP – Honda Civic
COP – Honda Civic

Large family car
AOP – Nissan Teana
COP – Nissan Teana

AOP – Toyota Sienta
COP – Toyota Innova

AOP – Suzuki S-Cross
COP – Toyota Rush

Pick-up truck
AOP – Ford Ranger
COP – Toyota Hilux

Best overall car
AOP – Nissan Teana
COP – Nissan Teana

Do note that this is a regional award, not specific to cars sold in Malaysia only, hence the inclusion of models not sold here such as the Toyota Agya. The best overall car, the Nissan Teana, scored a perfect score for AOP, with 88% compliance for COP – highest ever recorded by ASEAN NCAP.


New to this year are awards for affordable safety, given to the cheapest models in each ASEAN country with a full five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating. The Proton Iriz took the honour for Malaysia, while the Preve won it for the Thai-market. Awards for other markets were all given to Honda models, namely the BR-V (Indonesia), City (Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos), Jazz (Philippines) and HR-V (Brunei and Singapore).

On top of all these, rising star recognition awards were handed out to the Proton Saga for the evolution of the model over the years; the Toyota Corolla for adding seven airbags and electronic stability control as standard fitment; and the Hyundai Elantra over the Global Safety Concept of No Zero Star Car.

Special safety technology awards were also given to companies with specific safety features. For this year, Honda Sensing, Mazda i-ActivSense, Toyota Blind Spot Monitor and Bosch Motorcycle innovative technology each received safety recognitions. Last but not least, our own Jonathan Lee was given a Journalist Appreciation Award this year, to go along with the Media Contribution Award given to in 2014.