ASEAN NCAP releases star rating vs price chart – Proton Iriz is the cheapest five-star car on the list

Proton_Iriz_Drive_ 036

The New Car Assessment Programme for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has released a star rating versus price (on-the-road inclusive of insurance) chart, comparing the affordability of each car vis-a-vis their occupant protection.

And, surprise surprise, the cheapest car with a five-star safety rating in Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) is the Proton Iriz – the national B-segment hatchback scored 14.07 points (out of a possible 16) in the frontal offset crash test and is equipped with stability control as standard, even in its most basic RM41,077 1.3 Standard M/T form.

In fact, Proton should be commended for having not one, not two, but three of the cheapest five-star cars in the country, with the RM57,686 Preve Executive M/T and the RM75,749 Suprima S Executive, both with six airbags and stability control. It has to be noted, however, that there’s a cheaper (RM69,120) Suprima S Standard with two airbags and no ESP, which gets its rating bumped down to four stars.

ASEAN-NCAP-Vehicles-Star-Rating-AOP-vs.-Price-Chart

Elsewhere, the RM85,500 Ford Fiesta 1.5 Titanium/Sport, RM86,985 Honda Jazz 1.5 V and RM89,467 Honda City 1.5 V make up the non-national offerings under RM100k. There are class dynamics at play too – a five-star-rated Honda Civic 1.8 S can be had at RM113,198, but you’ll need to spend RM133,715 on a Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V with the Additional Safety Package to get the same rating.

Moving down to four stars, Perodua dominates the cheap end of the scale, with the RM24,437 Axia Standard E M/T, the RM40,862 Myvi Standard G M/T and the RM52,332 Alza SX M/T beating out the RM54,888 Kia Picanto 1.2 M/T in terms of price, although the latter has six airbags, ABS and ESP which the P2 cars don’t have.

Most base model cars without stability control, such as the RM71,774 Jazz 1.5 S, RM74,007 City 1.5 S and the RM113,930 Corolla Altis 1.8E, also fall into this category. Also interesting to see is the difference in ratings between two nearly identical vehicles – the Chevrolet Colorado pick-up gets five stars, but its Isuzu D-Max sibling only receives four stars, despite both being tested with ESP.

ASEAN-NCAP-Vehicles-Star-Rating-COP-vs.-Price-Chart

Also released is the chart for Child Occupant Protection (COP) – here, the Nissan Teana is the only car that has achieved a five-star rating. Most of the other cars on the chart get four stars, with the Axia and Myvi beating the Iriz in terms of price.

Only seven cars (Proton Saga FLX+, Preve and Suprima S, Nissan Almera, Ford Fiesta, Chevrolet Colorado and Subaru XV) get three stars, and only six cars get two stars. Shockingly, half of the latter are seven-seat MPVs and SUVs, cars which are more likely to carry children; these include the Alza, the Toyota Avanza and the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport.

To view the full ASEAN NCAP crash test results on all vehicles tested (and Euro NCAP and ANCAP scores too), visit our sister site CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ProtonGSC on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:47 pm

I will never trust this ASEAN NCAP… the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 145
    • Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Yes, ASEAN NCAP is not as strict as ANCAP or EuroNCAP, but they’re getting there. ASEAN NCAP is still a member of Global NCAP and the other NCAP members have been supporting ASEAN NCAP over the years. One step at a time right ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 9
      • First they say AP cannot be removed, now they want to say Proton is the cheapest? What a bunch of clowns. And when does ANCAP or EuroNCAP release a star rating vs price chart? Only ASEAN NCAP does it! And we know who it’s helping

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 69
        • Fishy on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:32 am

Haha. At least someone is bright enough to see this. Why does ASEAN NCAP cares about the price of the vehicles? NCAP’s main purpose is safety testing, why suddenly compare the price? Something fishy is going on and i smell songlap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 28
          • If truly ASEAN, why only compare Malaysia car prices? Why other countries don’t compare? Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
          • Pinky on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

I was wondering, how come even cars with no ABS can achieve 4 stars in safety rating? How do they rate their safety?

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:17 am

I should not buy saga but Iriz for my son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 21
      • Arrow on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:24 am

Remove the car tax excise duties.

Let’s see how fast you lick your own vomit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
      • Asean People on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:56 am

Is this ASEAN NCAP or Malaysia NCAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Justice Bao on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Where is BMW, Merc or Volvo? They are not safe enough ah? This comparison is clearly biased towards Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • ncpau on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 132
      • karam singh on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:33 am

Stability control is what makes a good crash rating cars from 4stars to 5 stars.
        No VSC/VSA, no 5stars.
        P2 Axia can get 5stars if it has Stability control.
        but P2 less rigid Myvi only got 3stars. Even with Stability control, it maybe score 4stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Even Axia equipped ESC still is a rubbish can’t get 5 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
          • Bijan on Jul 08, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Even Myvi can get 4 stars. Only pathetic Saga got 3 stars. Saga is still rubbish upgraded from 1 star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • sagasavvy on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:54 pm

You are outdated . Compare apple to applle lor. Iriz 5 star b segment hatchback with myvk 4 star.

Saga savvy is old and about to eol

• Milotin on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:41 am

Malaysia ape2 pun boleh la… Asean NCAP is bullshit rating la… We live in a corrupted country. If gomen want 100 star oso can… Money talks in here… I rAther hang myself than buy milotin made in Malaysia… Faster close proton n perodua la… Hali2 ckp pun tak mau dengar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
      • Arrow on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:33 am

ANCAP said:
        “Prices were obtained from the best sources”

HA HA HA HA!

Why don’t get Langkawi DUTY-FREE Price list?

HA HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • National Automotive Protection on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Another syiok sendiri comparison by syiok sendiri committee. How much are those cars selling in open market without NAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 60
      • weusedollar on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:41 am

Yes agree. Comparison must be made in USD and according to prices in USA. Because all bolehland people are actually living there and buy cars there. We dun use ringgit!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
    • Alson P on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:04 am

Standards set by each country can be considered as “minimum” requirement in order for cars to be sold in the market. It is true that this “minimum” is not cast in stone but the progress to uplift the legislation standard is rather slow as compared to NCAP requirement which is the best possible current practice. Those cars that are granted to enter the market might be “roadworthy” but not necessarily be “crashworthy” enough. Roadworthy means a car is fit to be used on the open road while crashworthy means how a car perform in the event of road crash to protect the occupant(s). In fact, crashworthiness criteria set in certain countries’ legislation is inferior as compared to NCAP requirement. For information, Malaysia has adopted and enforced car manufacturers to comply with UNECE regulation for frontal collision system (Regulation No. 94; R94).

• Alson P on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:49 am

http://s1.paultan.org/image/2015/04/proton-safety-65.jpg

• What a joke on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Hahahahahaha……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
    • Arrow on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:31 am

Just to support that loss-making jaguh global car brand.

Sudah tidak laku lagi mau syok sendiri.

Better remove car tax or use Langkawi duty-free price.

Pathetic trick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • tinmilo on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:56 pm

When I read that the Axia beat Picanto in the rating, I stopped reading already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 38
    • Penduduk Malaysia on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Axia did not beat Picanto. They have the same rating. The difference is their price because Picanto is pricier than Axia. But, Picanto have more airbags than Axia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • rigid on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:48 am

tinmilo, thats why u r fool enough to think what the arrangement represent.sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Albert on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Protong can score 10 star,it makes no difference to PERCEPTION.
    You can’t change perception overnight just by going for some TESTS.
    Tun admitted in the past Proton only QC test ONE in FORTY CARS that came out of the assembly.
    No wonder Same Loor has been hantaming Proton on its AWESOME BUILD QUALITY.
    TOYOTA,honda and Nissan may score 2-3 stars,people still don’t mind waiting 6 months to get a Honda HRV.
    Perception involves GOOD RESALE VALUES,GOOD AFTER SALES SERVICE,AFFORDABLE AND LASTING PARTS and PRESTIGE AND SUPERB BUILD QUALITY.
    IF GETTING 5 STAR RATING alone can do the job,why is Tun getting Suzuki for collaboration to produce another small car to whack Perodua?
    Why did the IRIZ,Preve,Suprima fail ?
    It boils down to perception that Proton is not a car of superb engineering and quality.THis is a fact Proton fanboys find hard to swallow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 84
    • Albert Sam on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:02 pm

U mentioned those cars with perception all design is boring look, less equipped, auntie’s mentality ownership, n no fun to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • killerairbags on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Yes Takata airbag means superb build quality, what they can ask more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
      • protonpanggang on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Why ASEAN NCAP never do overheat test on Exora? People complain about the car and NCAP never do their job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • What is an overheat test?
          Which EURONCAP u got this requirement from?
          Or did u pull it from ur arse?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • johndumbass on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:41 pm

When you get cremation service from Proton, you will know what is an overheat test

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • naiveavoutancap on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Lol no.wonder toyota p2 buyer dun know VSC. Anyway why not heat test on alza ferrari lambo vios etc. It also got under fire last time

• Penduduk Malaysia on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Yes, you are totally right about Malaysians perception of Proton. Proton still lacks in other aspects about owning a car : services, quality etc.

About the collaboration with others car manufacturer, this is considered a normal strategy for car company to gain profit and to have access for their counterparts technology. For example : Renault-Nissan, PSA Peugeot-Citroen, Jaguar-Land Rover. And I hope Proton-Suzuki alliance can bear fruits in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • Alson P on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:54 am

Since safety standards may vary in different parts of the world, there is a need to evaluate cars’ occupant protection based on NCAP requirement in the region. Though a car model had been evaluated in other NCAP program in the world and scored a good rating, it will not necessarily mean that the car will perform as good in ASEAN NCAP due to the manufacturing origin and quality. Some car models are developed with minimum safety specifications for certain market due to less demand on best safety performance.

• fahmi on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:45 am

Yes. Perception increases your chance to avoid major injury during crash. Good resale value reduces your hospital bill. and prestige brings back lives taken in the accident.

Dumbass.

• Low Budget on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:05 am

To test 1 in 40 cars is in the past! Now that TDM has got nothing much to do except to ‘kacau’ Ah Jib on 1MDB once a week, he has lots of spare time and he use it for testing all cars that come out of Proton production line personally, so Proton now is in good hands.

• summary on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Hi Jonathan, it would be much better if we place all of them into a table. thanks for the good info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Hey man, the two tables are available here on ASEAN NCAP’s website;

http://www.aseancap.org/affordable-safety-concept-explained-in-latest-star-vs-price-chart-by-asean-ncap/

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:23 am

Apologies, they’ve been added to the post.

• Tun M said liao proton is good but u ppl dun wan listen.when dun like bijan sudden u ppl listen to tun M
    pulak.. .Apa ni???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • nosense on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Why you get shocked?

If p2 rebadge all the way until now no homegrown cars, people say ok

If p1 do rebadge once after building several homegrown cars people go crazy

So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • i just realize his name spell backward is bijan. thanks for making my day lolol

• Minister on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Our cars in Malaysia are the most expensive, of course Iriz is the cheapest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
  • Jobless man on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Safety alone dont sell cars anymore..just look at Volvo..and we all know very well why P1 is “cheaper” than oter models..as for oter non national cars most forced to omit the safety features in base models to keep the sky high prices to be affordable…and we all know what is the reason for the sky high prices oso…so pls all the local car magazines stop fooling the rakyat wit more praises on P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
    • Kia Picanto is much cheaper but safer than some Camry, some Altis and Vios.

Problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
      • Anti-Pati on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:24 am

Kia Picanto cheaper than Myvi but still can be better equipped. Doesn’t make sense really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Teacher on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Cheaper? Kia Picanto(RM54,888) is cheaper than Myvi(RM40,862)? I suggest you go back to school to learn how to bash before showing your stupidity

• Hired man on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Peritkan melayan kebenaran. Just bite the bullet mister. Doesn’t mean if u can’t accept the truth, u just can simply influence others not to disagree. Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • Omg there is cheaper car with better safety quality like kia picanto. Why cannot other brands?

• Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Proton has proven that cheap cars can be very safe too. That’s not something Dacia, Datsun, nor the Chinese and Indian brands can claim.

People can say that Protons are not as reliable or as refined as their Japanese and Korean rivals in ASEAN, but nobody can claim that Proton is a Milo tin producer anymore.

So the Iriz was recently launched in Brunei a couple of weeks ago, what about the other ASEAN members ? Affordable 5-star safety should be a right to all ASEAN citizens, not just Malaysians.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 20
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:12 pm

im having a brain crash filled with blue screen of death , how is axia is rated better than the picanto ???
    good on p1 to offer affordable good safety packaged cars , which in turn forces everyone to follow …good for everyone , meanwhile , p2’s calender is stil stuck at year 2008…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • kennyjay on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Iriz? hahahahahahahaha!

10 stars also useless, nobody gonna buy, will end up like the failed Tiara and Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 53
    • nosalenoquality on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:56 am

Yes any cars have quality ONLY when it’s been best seller.

If not, then it’s bad quality car like ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • dude, think again, not a lot of ppl buying ferrari because they CANNOT afford one. a lot of ppl don’t buy iriz because they know it is NOT GOOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Stupid RV buyers on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Where’s toyota Vios? The almighty godcar? Mana? Mana? Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 25
  • Prejudice beats rational thinking anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Alson P on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:48 am

ASEAN NCAP’s safety rating system is going to become stricter. Beginning this year, R95 side impact compliance is a pre-requisite for a three-star rating (down from the previous four) and from next year, electronic stability control (ESC) and driver and front passenger seat belt reminders will be required for four stars (down from the previous five).

This means that for all vehicles tested from 2015 onwards, if they do not pass the side impact test, they can only be rated two stars at best. And for vehicles tested from 2016 onwards, if they do not have ESC or seat belt reminders, the most they can get is three stars.

By 2017, new rating schemes (not elaborated upon) will come into force for frontal offset, side impact and child protection tests. By 2020, the frontal test will include a fifth-percentile female dummy in a combined score (following Euro NCAP protocol), while the side test will include pole impact and the Advanced European Mobile Deformable Barrier.

• azmin on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:30 am

cheapest? crappiest and worst among the cars. I am very angry at proton when I found out they paid so much money to that lousy kit car company bufori to help them… you need bufori to help you? what tun and drb see in them.. shame on you …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • azmin on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:44 pm

the negative points are either drb or bufori people. I just know that. bufori welcome to crony list of drb and proton. pls proton look at your own rnd team not losers and wanna bes …

• frossonice on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:39 am

Perodua salesmen & Toyota salesmen (Abang Long Perodua) got butt hurt really bad with this story that they came out all gun blazing trying to smear Proton.

Unless your god car and tin milo equip with decent safety instruments, you guys actually don’t have merit to talk bad about Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • orangputih on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:33 pm

proton fanboy syok sendiri, kesian betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • movingcoffin on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:17 pm

P2 toyota syok sendiri as their days are numbered
        Moving coffins mean they are dting slowly

• protong on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:57 pm

P1 days are not only numbered but have arrived
          Burning coffins mean they get cremated instanly

• xoxox on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:45 am

VSC? hmm…it’s only help u to gain a few score…not a requirement to go to 5 star…btw…. well….I bet 90% of the cars on the road in Malaysia don’t even have ABS….so…forget about VSC when don’t even have ABS…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Milotin on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:23 am

Milo tin pun 5 star rating as Asean Ncap la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Nope. where u read the milo tin myvi is 5 stars? It mention onli 4 stars lah!

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:32 am

While I do understand the ASEAN NCAP only takes into account front impact to give crash ratings, unlike the euro or Australialian one there is no account of side impact. Thing is, cars these days are good at absorbing front impact but to separate the best from the rest we need to do a side impact as well as a roof test to ensure the side structure of the vehicle is able to cope.

• Some flaw in this.
    Picanto street price is not Rm54,888.
    It is RM39k net.
    And someone please enlighten me how the hell picanto didn’t ace everything in Price vs Safety segment? Lost to Axia?? Thats a joke….

• C.P. MOHAN on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:32 am

I look at the articles like this – choosing between safety and affordability. My opinion is that safety should never be a choice especially when the technology is available.

• Arrow on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:39 am

Affordability?

Remove the car tax first lah.

Cheapest car konon. BooOOOoooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • old dog on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:44 am

Spend close to RM60K to buy a Iriz? i buy a 2007 C class better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Anti-pati on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:49 pm

And then cry when you have to replace parts…

My cousin bought a 2005 Volvo S40 for 50K, and then grumble when he had to service the aircon. I can only laugh.

• ANCAP Lost Focus on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:41 pm

ANCAP is car safety entity or car company comparing prices?

ANCAP should focus on car safety. Leave the car price to us rakyat to suffer in the name of protection.

If ANCAP really care about car price, better tell MITI to remove the car taxes.

• Sam Loo Jr on Jul 08, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Asean NCAP is corrupt just like jibai. How can potong and p2 get better results than toyota?

• o0odap supporter on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:10 pm

diam diam lah dap supporter,even Proton get good result u say is Proton give asean corruption. when u don’t go aus ncap check the data and see. dap please stop telling lie

• o0odap supporter on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:12 pm

because u want toyota save petrol, do u expect it safety?

• greedyseller on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Dey toyota oversea is much safer lor than its bolehland version. Why why whyyyyyyy?

• moluska on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:51 pm

because people in malaysia care only about resale value, fc and the most important thing is brand. go kampung, show to in law they use imported brand car, in law kaw2 praise kaw2.

• o0odap supporter on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:08 pm

dap supporter very unhappy. example sam Loo Jr. I don’t talk about politic,but unfortunate dap supporter keep complaint.

• Jobless again on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Omg…got people buy the s40 second hand?. Last time remeber selling for rm 188k to rm199k special installment scheme to attract buyers..me got a fren bought one…

• lazyf on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Hmmm
    Suprima S Standard/Basic spec shud have ESC as standard equipment

• Nonama on Jul 12, 2015 at 9:47 am

I will still choose P1.
    Will that be a problem to you?

• rosdi on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Jonathan, how come the first chart shows Iriz got two airbags only? I thought all Iriz comes with 6 airbags?