2013 Ford Fiesta 1.5 Sport hatch and Titanium sedan officially launched in Malaysia – RM86,988 OTR

Ford Fiesta FL launch 15

Well, it turns out there’s an official launch for the 2013 Ford Fiesta facelift after all – both 1.5 Sport hatchback and Titanium sedan variants were formally introduced in Malaysia a while back at Taylor University’s Lakeside Campus, in conjunction with the Hitz.fm Birthday Invasion party.

Since we’ve literally covered every change and revisions to the mid-cycle B299 in our preview drive report from earlier in the week, there’s little point repeating everything again in detail – here’s a recap of the main points.

The sixth-generation facelift – which broke cover at a Go Further event in Amsterdam in September last year – made its ASEAN debut at the Bangkok Motor Show back in March this year; the car made a teaser appearance on press day, which was also when the 1.0 EcoBoost mill was announced as destined for the region.

Ford Fiesta FL launch 16

Both Fiesta bodystyles – which arrived in showrooms last weekend – are equipped with a 1.5 litre Duratec Ti-VCT four-cylinder engine, which has 112 PS at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 rpm for output numbers (the outgoing 1.6 Ti-VCT unit offers 120 PS at 6,000 rpm and 152 Nm at 4,050 rpm, an eight PS and 12 Nm difference in output).

The Sigma-family lump is paired with the familiar Getrag 6DCT250 dry dual-clutch six-speed PowerShift transmission, now with a gearshift-mounted SelectShift manual override. The ratios and final drive remain unchanged from previously.

The facelift arrives with minor exterior revisions, the most noticeable change being with the front – fresh to the car is a large trapezoidal front grille, and the design of both bonnet and halogen CSR headlamps has also been revised, as has that of the rear lamps. The sedan, meanwhile, features a new bumper fascia and heavier use of chrome accents.

Ford Fiesta FL launch 13

Inside, the Sport hatch gets new fabric/leather combination seats, while the Titanium has a primary light grey two-tone cabin with full leather seats. As previously reported, new kit includes Ford SYNC, the brand’s in-car connectivity system that connects mobile devices to the car via Bluetooth or USB,

There’s also full keyless entry and push-button start, automatic headlamps and rain-sensing/auto wipers as well as a single-zone Electronic Automatic Temperature Control (EATC) climate control system. Also on, an EcoMode software application that measures your driving patterns and awards you kudos in the form of leaf-icons displayed on screen.

Both Fiesta bodystyles wear identical 16-inch wheels, in this case a 15-spoke design that is similar in styling to the 15-inch unit seen on the pre-facelift sedan, and the alloys are wrapped with 195/50 series Continental ContiPremiumContact 2s, the same choice of rubber as that seen on the outgoing hatch.

Ford Fiesta FL launch 8

Safety kit continues as before, with Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), traction control, ABS with EBD, emergency brake assist, rear Isofix mounts and hill launch assist (which Ford says has been refined) on the list. Both Fiesta versions are equipped with two airbags.

Five exterior colours are available for the Sport hatch – Chilli Orange, Metropolitan Gray, True Red, Arctic White (which replaces Cool White) and the new signature colour, Celestial Blue, which replaces Aurora Blue in the lineup. The Titanium sedan has four shade options, these being Metropolitan Grey, Highlight Silver, Arctic White and True Red.

The Fiesta 1.5 Sport and Titanium both make their market debut at an introductory price of RM86,988, on-the-road with insurance, and come with a five-year/200,000 km bumper-to-bumper warranty as well as a three-year/60,000 km Ford Extended Service Plan (ESP) maintenance programme, which covers parts and labour free of charge.

Read our comprehensive preview drive report on the facelifted B299 Ford Fiesta here.

[scribd id=170206902 key=key-ep685vysmpjqhky1zo3 mode=scroll]

[scribd id=170205665 key=key-2l64ep34jj9vmjgjcqh4 mode=scroll]

[scribd id=170205657 key=key-2g30ytvz0burtjl5o9an mode=scroll]

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• expensive.

prefer the older model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • Shark Whale?

• stanley on Sep 30, 2013 at 11:15 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 157
      • dugong on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:00 pm

toyota salesman detected

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 3
      • Behtahan on Sep 30, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Yayaya, go buy one. Y bash other brand? Butthurted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • Darth Maul on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:00 am

design lose to new vios,-FALSE
        price also lose to new vios,-TRUE
        resale value lose to new vios,-TRUE
        brand lose to new vios-FALSE
        power lost to vios-FALSE

2 x TRUE = 1 IDIOT(stanley)
        3 x FALSE = 1 IDIOT TOYOTA SA (stanley)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Kapten on Oct 04, 2023 at 8:30 pm

Are you mentally retarded ?

• drBirdie on Sep 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm

would rather get the toyota jazz CKB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Sadly, despite all the safety and performance features and a superior powertrain, the Fiesta will still be unable to outsell the crappy Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 132
  • MHaffiezMNazri on Sep 28, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Value for money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
  • donnckt on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:17 pm

when i saw the price i was hah ,

what a freakin joke .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Henry on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:00 pm

All car prices in Borehland is a freaking joke. Did you just come back from Jupiter?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 8
  • Ranger on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Ford ranger guud

• Proton on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm

CFE more powerful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 112
    • Dude, please, don’t be delusional.

You are making the true & loyal Proton fans look bad.

If you’re trying to joke around or be sarcastic, best to do it off the internet because sarcasm and crude jokes don’t translate well into written text online.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 17
      • policeman on Sep 29, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 247
        • Crappy For Eternity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Yes, of course it is, but the Fiesta is a B-segment car and the Suprima/Prevé are both C-segment.

It’s not fair to compare apples with oranges at face value, even if both cost 50 sen each.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Darth Maul on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:06 am

how bout 200hp 1.6 Ecoboost? shame CFE only got 138 with 1.6 lump compared to 1.6 Ecoboost fiesta ST lump…
          bengong proton supporter….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Criticismacai on Feb 02, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Come on lah… Proton is a failure car makers for last 30+ years, not even has it own engine, don’t mentioned about campro is Proton’s engine as well, if not Dr. M n BN it should shutdown the plants n invites more world branding car makers to assemble locally.

• Still a great car if you do not have a growing family, but apart from the new EATC climate unit, I really struggle to see the significantce of it over the pre-FL. Its down on power that are now place higher in the rev, its not much fantastic over the equivalent Jazz CKD(which is bigger and cheaper) and still not hearing any sweet song about that transmission. Aesthatic looks worse now with that Aston-wannabe-chrome grill but thats urely opiniated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • I agree.. But let’s see how the 1.0 EcoBoost turns out. Hope they dun put some sohai price tag on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Hahaha yeah. Really thought Sime Darby-Ford were doing the ‘right things’ cause ever since 2010, I’ve only heard good news. But… ayam sakit hati today. :(

And that Aston grille…. I think if someone puts the number plate bulat-bulat in the middle, it will look garang a bit. Idk. Just saying. xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Kent Loh on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Sad to see this international car being seriously downgraded after reach our country.The class leading 7 airbags,projector headlamps and LED Running lights is missing in our version.By the way,hope that Sime Darby will introduced these specs in their upcoming Ecoboost version.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Darth Maul on Sep 29, 2013 at 8:06 pm

yeah…where are those projector and LED daylight drive lamp like the european version? plus the price is not even worth it…c’mon la SDAC, this is a bad joke..

• benzs on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Sounds good! Buying Ford is not as preferable, service sucks n parts are damn expensive. From what I have view, interior plastic is not very comfortable for owning it. But exterior looks is very impressive, some more this new face lifted copy paste from Mr Bond, James Bond front end.

• Again why are there male models…
    Pls sack the guy incharge…
    Ford malaysia you r doin it wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Eh, don’t lah like that…. a lot of girls are Fiesta owners too you know. :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Ahmad on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Of course buy Proton Suprima S la~!! SUprima S looks better, bigger, nicer, more airbag than this American junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 64
  • i have to say this car is awfully UGLY.
    the grumpy face plus not-car-washing friendly dated design wheel.
    whats wrong with the ford designer?
    downsize the engine is suicidal.
    less power when head to head with honda city 1.5.
    really a rare occasion facelift version is worse in car industry.
    who want to buy fiesta,buy prefacelift version.
    better resale value i think.
    right sam loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
    • Nissan on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:26 am

saw the car @midvalley roadshow. The rim has a much better looks as compare with image in photo.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Uncle Sam is very busy nowadays. With his narrow time window, he took in my 13 month on Elantra but still had to show me the Hilux.

Whatever you choose, avoid a new kimchi.

I am now the proud owner of a used Vios.

No more Hailat in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 22
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 166
  • Bryant on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Much better looking rear design for the sedan version compare to the last generation, but the six air bags should not be taken away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Vincz on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:44 pm

more expensive, less safe.
    Good job guys.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • John Tan on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Last gen sedan is a much better buy than this sedan. 1.6L with only 82k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Wait wait wait….. did I just read 2 airbags ? …. Somebody please tell me that’s a typo….. please ?…. grrrr…… like WTF Ford ?!? What happened to 7 airbags in the pre-facelift ?

Faith in Sime Darby completely destroyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:51 pm

So, there are 11 Ford salesmen here.
      7 – 5 = 2 + 5000(RM).

• Jimmy on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:55 pm

There are so many blind Malaysians, choosing auto-this-that sporty face etc instead of 7 airbags.

• Yeah man. I totally feel your pain.

A have a few college buds who bought the pre-facelift Fiesta hatch cause it was the best in its class for safety. Now I think the younger generation will go for Naza-Kia instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:56 pm

It’s Sime Darby, what can you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • neutral on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:56 pm

i like ford fiesta, but i think it’s expensive.
    my ideal price range is <RM 75k. so i would not buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • autodriver on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Most automaker facelift come with cosmetic change but Ford did changed the engine. We support it is a good sign but unfortunately it is downgrade of engine from 1.6l to 1.5l and engine output is going well as well.

Btw I hope this new engine is aiming on fuel saving because my colleague’s wift own a Fiesta 1.6 hatchback and he claim the fuel consumption is higher than his 2010 Honda City.

• The reason for 1.6 to 1.5 is because some tax reduction stuff in thailand.

• Ridi Culous on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:32 pm

as usual, the price is ridiculous thanks to our government… ='(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Makuperak on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Why the article did not highlight the drop of 4 airbags ! it used to have class leading safety spec with 6 airbags now drop to the usual 2 airbag but the article just wrote glowing reports and casually mention it comes equip with 2 airbags …. paid article I presume ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:51 pm

My dear man, I covered this point in the preview drive report that ran on Monday, in far more detail than you will read anywhere else locally. That 2,500+ word article, if you bothered to read it, will be the most comprehensive and detailed report on the differences between the 2010 pre-facelift and facelifted B299 sixth-gen Fiesta you will get to read about in this country – I am willing to put money down on this.

In case you missed the preview report, which can be found here (http://paultan.org/2013/09/23/driven-ford-fiesta-1-5-sport-facelift-sampled/) and which is residing on one of the six feature tabs on the top of the main page, here is the mention of the omission of the Safety Pack from the car, in its sedan form, in my earlier story.

“Safety kit, by and large, continues as before, and on the list are Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), traction control, ABS with EBD, emergency brake assist, rear Isofix mounts and hill launch assist (which Ford says has been refined) as seen in the outgoing model. By and large, because as airbags go, the facelift features two, and it doesn’t matter which body-style you choose.

The omission of the Safety Pack and its seven airbags is surely to be a source of contention, especially since the outgoing Fiesta LX sedan introduced it in 2011, and the limited-run Beta and XTR hatches as well as the last run of 1.4 LX manuals had it too.

In ticking the boxes with a view of working to a price point, the inclusion of auto AC, auto headlamps/wipers, keyless entry and push-button start as a package (the entire kit is bagged as an optional Sport Executive Pack for the Australian market) looks like it has been chosen ahead of the Safety Pack. Then again, the best-selling version of the pre-facelift Fiesta was the Sport hatch, and that had two bags, so maybe the marketers know what they’re doing.”

And for your information, the Safety Pack has seven airbags, including a knee unit, not six.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
      • Gary Yap on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Mr Lim, out of curiosity, what is your feeling as a pre-facelift owner that Ford now offers a manual mode for the Fiesta’s dual clutch gearbox, albeit one that has endured serious reliability issues here in Malaysia and abroad, especially in the US?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Gary, I expounded my feelings about the matter in the preview too – I’ve always felt a manual override function was more than a “gimmick,” and something I felt should have been there from the get-go for the B299. I guess I would say “I told you so” to the Ford boffins now. The Getrag 6DCT250 box without manual shift certainly has low-speed take-up issues – I know mine has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Gary Yap on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:35 am

Seems like dual-clutch dry sump gearboxes are problematic. VW Malaysia has issued a recall. Do you think Ford should do the same? Gearboxes being so costly, surely they must drag down the resale values of these models, and there are many, especially VW.

• Sam Loo on Sep 29, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Ford uses wet clutch instead of the dry system used by VW

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:44 pm

While the Powershift family has both, the Getrag 6DCT250 found in the Fiesta is a dual dry-clutch SAG. It also equips the 3rd-gen C346 Focus 2.0 sold here.

The 6DCT450 dual-clutch transmission incorporating wet clutches is used by the 2nd-gen C307 Focus TDCi that was sold here, paired with the DW10-based BTED4 Duratorq 2.0 oil burner. There is also a 6DCT470 variant of the type. Likewise, VW uses both dry (DQ200 DCT seven-speed) and submerged (DQ250 six-speed) units in its applications.

The one to watch out for will be the 6DCT150 six-speed wet unit that is destined for Asia, the last I read; while the last three figures for the Getrag-Ford assemblies denote the torque rating for the unit (up to 250 Nm, up to 450 Nm), the nested wet-clutch 6DCT150 is supposedly rated for installations up to 170 Nm.

• So, it’s not 100% Sime Darby- Ford’s fault after all ?

So sad to see Malaysian new car buyers choosing superficial aesthetic features like push-start ignition over objective gains like safety equipment.

When will these Malaysians learn to value the importance of life and safety on the road ? Is it worth risking life itself by buying an unsafe (and yet expensive) new car for the sake of brand image and ego ? I guess some will only learn the hard way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 29, 2013 at 2:00 am

Aero, in response to your opening line, I never implied that in my observations, and you know precisely what I mean.

I asked the question about the omission of the Safety Pack at the Q&A session during the preview drive, because I felt that the omission was questionable (for the sedan, in particular, since it appeared midway in the pre-facelift’s cycle). I brought the matter up in the preview report because it needed to be mentioned aside from just merely stating the number of bags and leaving the matter at that (other publications, to my knowledge, haven’t really taken up this point in detail, and most likely won’t in the end), because I do feel very strongly about both passive and active safety.

The people who are in charge of specifying the car must surely believe it will work (in terms of sales), and if it doesn’t, then they’re the ones who have to answer for it if sales don’t happen and if the main reasoning for the non-purchase is because there are only two airbags instead of four or six or seven. Somehow though, I doubt this this will be the case.

Conversely, there’s that argument that active safety is an equally pertinent – and perhaps more pressing – issue that should be addressed, with electronic stability control and the attendant traction control being at the heart of it. But even that ‘feature’ hasn’t been – and won’t be – paramount in many buyers’ eyes. Sometimes, it doesn’t matter if you have ESP, seven airbags and six-speeds; you could have none, two and four and be miles ahead in volume sales.

You are right about the point that most new car buyers place an importance on other aspects/features ahead of safety kit, but until public awareness becomes high and this translates into an impact in consumer buying patterns, we’re left with what we have right now.

Jonathan’s rear seat belt story had me being more observant about the issue, and yesterday, on the way to the launch, and in the jam on the LDP, I saw the height of it all – a car (which has six airbags and ESC) with all its occupants not wearing their seatbelts; not just the two kids at the back jumping about, but the driver and front passenger too. So much for safety, hey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
          • nahhh on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:32 am

Readers here you have mention to them repeatedly of what is missing and not. I think that’s applicable to other sites too. And make sure it’s been highlighted not just in a normal statement.

Same with safety awareness, the thing has to be repeated again and again. Is it a success or failure is different story. If you think that’s important and it’s good for people just repeat it IMHO.

• Hi Anthony,

Thanks for responding, that’s very nice and humble of you. :]

Well, I didn’t mean to put it that way, I catch your drift. I just really thought Sime Darby got greedy and decided to cut some corners, but that’s not the case of course. Still, in my honest opinion, a distributor who really values their customers will give above average safety equipment, if not the best, even if they’re not forced to. Our JPJ demands ABS and 2 airbags, but we all know that’s not enough. And yep, your statement on the relationship between sales and safety kit is memang true. All those established distributors like UMW, ETCM and Honda MY can get away with low safety equipment because they know Malaysians will buy their cars either way because of subjective things like brand image. The less successful brands in Msia like Kia, Hyundai and even Proton must give more standard kit and safety tech in their cars to win over potential customers, so I’m really surprised Sime-Darby- Ford made this sudden U-turn in policy. Granted, the new Fiesta has pretty good active safety standards, as you’ve mentioned, but I’ve always believed that passive safety comes first…. I mean, C-segment cars had side airbags as standard long before the standardisation of ESC and TRC. Well, maybe I’m wrong in saying passive safety is more important than active safety, maybe Sime-Darby- Ford are on to something here !

I guess only time will tell. In the mean time, I’m looking forward to the EcoBoost 1.0. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • Jimmy on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:42 am

Nahhh.
            That’s what I repetitively do all this while, in articles of vehicles that I am not the target customer.
            Safety comes first!

People who are interested in Vios will not listen to us. No point asking for 6 airbags + ESP in Vios pages.

• Why u so EGO. 7 airbag is the king??

Most people doest demand for 7 airbag.
          Let the Marketing Department do their job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
          • thrft on Sep 29, 2013 at 7:56 pm

aiya you don’t get it. this is not about EGO or which car is king. this is about safety. for how long malaysia consumers will be used by those greedy stingy manufacturers?

see those cars in USA an Europe, their specs are far more advanced than what we get here. duty aside we still pay the money and they get it. so where the money all gone since we pay for cars with crappy specs?

it’s supposed to be consumers who are the king. we demand them not they command us to get what they want. don’t tell me they are small player like proton, they are established long before and have huge market in ASEAN. so what’s the problem?

• honda autobox got problem..bro.

• Keris Jawa on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Went to see the car at Ford Ampang at MRR2. Not bad in real life. But the downgrades of what you don’t see makes it less attractive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

personally overall both model is good enough, except for front grille a little awkward. everyday can see ford fiesta on the road, i believe it is attractive and value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Gary Yap on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Huh? How many times does Ford want to remind us they got the facelift styling all wrong?? And what’s with the lcly Caucasian models? I rather prefer those used in the grand livina launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
  • Airbags from 7 to 2, and still priced at so high? Suprima S does somehow dictates this price with gov help…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • jeremy on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:35 am

Yes, all blame goes to Proton and the government as always…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Yes, blame everything towards government. Maybe I should blame the government because you were born in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • powershot on Sep 29, 2013 at 2:20 am

those wheels…. urghh

• William on Sep 29, 2013 at 3:32 am

You still don’t get it? Pre-facelift standard fiesta s comes with two airbag too. Only the limited unit xtr and beta sold at 90k+ comes with seven. And it’s just the sedan being reduce from 7 airbags to 2. Still a good car nevertheless, of course it’s still a downgrade if you compare with overseas version.

• Green on Sep 29, 2013 at 3:45 am

Toyota PRius C:
    RM90k up down.

– 7 airbag.
    – Stabilisation + Traction Control.
    – 21.5km/L average city fuel consumption.
    – Powerful, as it’s hybrid car. Combo Electric + petrol. 0rpm high Torque performance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Sep 29, 2013 at 7:07 pm

And most of all, if its a sushi, you will have good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • policeman on Sep 29, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 226
      • powershot on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:54 am

well, that escalated quickly

• Keris Jawa on Sep 30, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Wow! There’s so much despair from you. Never imagined I can read such a comment in an auto blog… Only in Malaysia. Dang! I love Paultan!

• depressed on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm

“take 6 months maternity leave right after joining a new company”

LOL Male workers work harder and longer in a year than female counterparts. I hope they understand that male workers sometimes want to have longer holidays like what women have now. Only sometimes, please.

• well said bro!
        but i really pity you have such a wife.
        (just assumption,if not,how you know so much about women….or you are women too?!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • representwoman on May 24, 2015 at 5:44 pm

shame on you & sad for your mother. You think all woman same like what you said? what a lame man

• norman on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:01 am

Some countries like Thailand and Indonesia road tax and insurance price gap is widely difference between 1.5 @ 1.6

• Colin Wong on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:05 am

I am a Ford customer but deeply disappointed with the downgrade of safety features. Shame on you SDAC. Your decision is a step backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Many people here love to act like a boss..

think their money is very big… can buy everything with the cash.

demand for a car worth RM100k at RM85k.

Your money on car is so small if GOV never reduce tax as Janji 20-30%!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
    • freaker on Sep 30, 2013 at 5:12 pm

oh really? they somehow ditched the airbags from 7 to 2. now they put it before, now why they can’t? don’t tell me it cannot be done.

people get money through hard work. for sure they have right to get the best from their money.

• Nissan on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:22 am

with refer to the rim picture, i saw a rusted nut. Good QC? em…..

• _xXx_ on Sep 29, 2013 at 1:08 pm

dun think it’s rusty. Should be paint-marked to indicate that the bolt is correctly torque’ed/fully fastened…

• Gary Yap on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:03 pm

The high ground taken by these proponents of 6-7 airbags are blind to the fact that any modern vehicle that passes UNECE regulations already has a lot of inherent safety built in, particularly the crash structure. Airbags are supplementary to seat belts, crash structure, if idiots don’t buckle up, the airbags probably won’t save them either. I think Sime have a lot to learn before merrily ticking away at the spec list next time, as Mr Lim mentioned, the best selling hatch never had 7 airbags yet people lapped it up, it was available on a slow selling sedan variant which nobody wanted, hence only a few really benefited from the added safety anyway (if they crashed heavily). My question to Sime and Ford is that, can you still advertise 5 star Euro NCAP rating for the Fiesta? Be careful now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Just realised that this engine less powerful than the one before. Wow. I hope they’ll launch the EcoBoost soon and I wanna see where it stands.

Besides that, the rims are ugly. Bring back the 5 spoke stock wheels on the hatchback please ! This one looks a bit ‘old’

• motorhead on Sep 29, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Engine downgrade.. Harga mahai.. I don’t see anything making sense here.. Except paying more for Aston’s grille.. That’s it. Nothing more. With expensive spare parts.. Good luck ford.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 1
  • zolar on Sep 29, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Great but why use foreign model ? Malaysia don’t have any model ?

• disappointing for the price & downgrade…. good in a way that I can just cross it out from my candidate list…. less headache…. :)

Price is too expensive with less airbags…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • yoolang on Sep 30, 2013 at 8:34 am

ford service so bad. they got last time promise one to open for another service center, until now don’t have.

and the sells person have bad attitude. so sad because they got good car.

• ford-fan on Sep 30, 2013 at 8:36 am

I was keen on Fiesta Sedan. But now no more. SDAC must not compare with T or H. Locals buy T & H without looking at the details spec, more specifically the safety spec.
    Conti cars is famous for performance and safety superiority over Japs. But this new FL Fiesta has lost both over the previous Fiesta.
    I guess the booking numbers in coming months will tell the truth!
    Good luck SDAC Marketing/Sales team!!
    I am definitely looking else where. May me a kimchi-brand that still roll-out top notch safety spec in MY market.
    Just like life insurance, you dun know when you will need the 7-airbags. But once it did, it worth the price of buying the car!

• vee-oh on Sep 30, 2013 at 9:11 am

congratulations…now pre-order more gearbox for the coming warranty claims

• benzs on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:18 am

Next movie for 007 agent should use this car for filming. What a suprise coz aston martin copied version. Good luck Mr Bond for ur mission!

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 30, 2013 at 11:29 am

nothing exciting.. i prefer honda jazz.. hv a nice day everyone.

• eastmalaysian on Sep 30, 2013 at 12:18 pm

What a big difference in price between East and West Malaysia(more than 5K)!

• Anonymous on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD – discount RM10k = RM77k.
    I think that is something to consider even if it has 2 airbags. Price makes a big difference to me. But so does safety. Now I’m torn between Jazz Hybrid and Rio :(

• Green on Sep 30, 2013 at 11:51 pm

I bet you havent test drive either Jazz Hybrid or Rio.

Test Drive it and you will know your answer.

• totti on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:38 pm

With a ugly face and higher price and lower horse power.

This car is trying to commit suicide.

I will go for Jazz or Vios with lower price and better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • To tell u the truth SDAC actually can put the price easily at rm70k. But they will slowly reduce the car price in 2-5 years from now. If they put rm70k now then how to reduce 20% price? thats below profit line.

But in reality the 20% reduce is nothing, its actually a gimmick because government dunt want to decrease duty. They force car seller to cut price down so car seller like SDAC have to play with figure.

So dont bash SDAC but bash the government.

• christianchua on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:53 pm

honda city 90k
    vios 87k
    fiesta 86k
    swift 77k
    almera 73k
    preve 72k
    myvi 45k
    saga 43k

• melati ke? on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:21 pm

viva bx?

• Justin on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Almera price is a joke. Can’t compare. For 73k, you get nothing basics. Even the highest end has nothing much at 79k. Overpriced. Add another 15k and still won’t get same spec as Fiesta. Might as well go for the Attrage compared to Almera — same spacious interiors, full spec.

But I’ve test drived the Fiesta. Value for money at 86k compared to the Vios. I even tried the Peugueot 208. Still the Fiesta wins.

7 airbags won’t add much to safety because they are side airbags. Active safety features in the Fiesta is good. But the driver knee airbag, that shouldn’t have been removed.

Blame it on the tax structure. They added keyless entry and full leather seat. Something got to go to keep the price. If the tax not so high, maybe they can keep the 7 airbags and add the other stuff. Govt is killing us with the tax.

• Bobobobob on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Very GOOD looking Giiirrrrrrrlll….

• Criticismacai on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:23 am

Well, tested drive cars in similar variants like Toyota Vios G, Honda City E, KIA Rio SX, Peugeot 208 5 doors n Fiesta 1.5, Price expensive from T, H, P, F, K, smooth driving from F, P,H,T,K, 3 point Turning P, K, F, H, T, Pickup P,F,H,T,K, and Breaking system, P,F,K,T,H, Tech Engine, F,P,H,T,K, KIA under power as 1.4 n Peugeot 1.6 with no free service+parts for 3 ys, Honda option for labour or parts in 2ys, Toyota 2ys with limited time purchase, Ford 3ys labor+parts

• cyuenable on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:30 am

Can anyone tell me more bout the transmission/ gearbox problem? i heard bout the rattling noise. Is it that terrible after all? Do this car worth its price?
    Thankyou so much !

• Realman on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Don’t buy Ford! Ford service sucks! The free service plan provided for ford new car is a crap! They will find excuses to refuse to give you the free service in fact! They have so limited service centres within Malaysia, whenever you call up to make an appointment, they always place your appointment after a month which causes your free service coupon misses the actual service date. This is how your free service coupon becomes a useless paper. Disappointed!!