Chevrolet Colorado Sport Edition launched – RM139k

Chevrolet_Colorado_Sport_Edition_Malaysia  003

As revealed by the official Chevrolet Malaysia Facebook page, the dressed-up Chevrolet Colorado Sport Edition has been unveiled at the ongoing Naza World Auto-Mania 2015 in Petaling Jaya. Looks quite menacing, doesn’t it? This new range-topper is priced at RM138,967.36, on-the-road with insurance.

It’s based on the existing Colorado 2.8 LTZ Muscle Edition (RM113,781.76 with GST), but adds on an aggressive seven-piece bodykit (including wheelarch extensions), 18-inch wheels with performance on-road tyres and sporty rear roll bars. Inside, SE-specific leather upholstery and a reverse camera are included too.

Chevrolet_Colorado_Sport_Edition_Malaysia  004

A sports suspension package is fitted to the Colorado Sport Edition, which Chevrolet Malaysia claims improves the pick-up’s ride comfort and on-road handling. The ride height is slightly lowered too, adding on to the aggressive looks.

On top of the Sport Edition package, buyers can also choose to add on optional LED daytime running lights, a roller cover for the rear deck, as well as a performance pack. The latter boosts the 2.8 litre Duramax tubodiesel’s 193 hp and 500 Nm of torque closer to the 200 hp mark.

So, fancy a sports truck in Malaysia, anyone?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• as if theres no other color then bloody orange.. seen a Wildtrak before no?

at 130k.. I’d be surprised if they can manage to sell more then 10 units..

imho.. this is FAIL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Really on Apr 26, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Actually, it’s nearer to 140k. And you still need to pay extra for DRL, closed rear bed and 7 hp more on top of that. Very bold but very foolish indeed, of Chevrolet’s pricing strategy.

• I’m amazed that nobody did the RM to USD conversion.. It’s roughly a 40k truck in USD.

• 130k for a pick-up! A sport pick-up! …why oh why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:01 am

They should have been removing more stuff, not adding more rubbish on. 130k is a tall order for one of this….considering pickups are not subject to excise duties.

Take off the 4WD, add a limited rear diff…make it a low rider. Now you got a sport truck.

• 130k still optional to buy led DRL?

totally bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Just because it has 14 airbags + 2 x ESP so it can ask for 13 million ringgit. Any vehicle, I mean.

Are pick-ups heavily taxed?

On the other hand, it is good to let pick-up prices go up; up to RM200K by 2028 so that there will be fewer road gangsters who think that their pick-ups are tanks.

Come on lah, you are not rich people okay (if yes, you drive brandnew Range Rover already), many people can buy Hilux with cash every single month if they want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • hadi75 on Apr 26, 2015 at 7:32 am

Pick up drivers are gangster is it? I drive a pick up…use it to make a living so dont generalised as if you “car drivers” are a saint when you are on the road…

• Im not sure whether to laugh or cry.

• Daewoo, pls stop piling rubbish in M’sia!

• 130k \ 2=65k ok to buy then other wise not interested.

• Better than honda.. lousy 4wd.

• Contender on Apr 26, 2015 at 8:55 pm

NAZA is trying to kill Chevy brand in Malaysia …. Terrible after sales service plus real shitty resale value …. what an overpriced pick up 130k !! Better off Ford Ranger Wildtrack or the Isuzu D-Max limited better value

• Samad Jain on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:16 pm

the salesman at chevrolet showroom will have lots of time sipping coffee……becoz there wont be any customers due to the stupid price tag.