DRIVEN: 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V on local roads

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 116

This is where we say farewell forever to drab, soft-edged Toyotas. With this new 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis, Japan’s biggest automaker has completed their personality transplant – started by the XV50 Camry and continued with the 2013 Vios – and aim for the sort of style-friendly high ground that Mazda and the Koreans have called home.

Toyota’s reinvention of itself in the sedan game has been widely successful, not least with the B-segment Vios. UMW Toyota says that it has received over 20,000 bookings, merely two months from the Vios’ local launch here. That’s about ten times more than what the similarly priced (but more value-driven) Proton Suprima S has managed in its five-month tour so far.

The birth of the new Corolla Altis brings the death of the second-generation model, which has long lost the class title to the Honda Civic. Can the new Toyota take the now-shrinking but richly-fielded C-segment it once called its own back? Let’s find out.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 119

If not absolutely sleek, this new 2014 model is now proportioned in contemporary fashion, its edges chamfered off for minimal offence, and its aesthetic persona blended in to the general meld of cars. It’s keeping up with the times, some would say.

Not that the latest Altis is without its distinctive elements, that is. Looking nothing like its predecessor, it’s marked out by the unusual sculpting of its headlamps, which flow directly below the chrome grille’s top bar. The secondary lines continue into the light housings, with LED daytime running lights positioned in between the ‘blades’.

It’s perhaps unfortunate that, at a fleeting glance, your modern Toyota sedan is not as instinctively recognisable as it once was. It’s no longer a mini-Camry, nor is a maxi-Vios. It has shed its boring image for some much-needed ‘stand out from the crowd’ quality. In any case, it’s good to see Toyota producing cars that aren’t wilfully forgettable anymore.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 101

In another sense, the Altis is as Toyota as a Toyota can be – straightforward in almost every way. As the brand’s mid-sized sedan, it strays even deeper into territory that most have floundered in – very close into the entry-level D-segment market. In fact, the top 2.0V model with the “Additional Safety Package” goes for RM139,900, RM100 more than the base Honda Accord 2.0 VTi.

Sandwiched between the flourishing B-segment and ever-growing D-segment, the Civic-class, as it once was, now has a very small playing field with little potential to grow. Nevertheless, the Altis is a lot of car for the money, Toyota says, and stands more than a fighting chance against its class.

While still based on the existing tried and tested design, the platform has been stretched by a whole 100 mm to achieve a class-competitive wheelbase of 2,700 mm. That’s the same as the Hyundai Elantra, Kia Cerato and the new Nissan Sylphy, and 30 mm longer than the current Honda Civic.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 102

Thus, it provides at least as much room inside as its rivals, though by retaining its rear torsion beam out back, it still lacks the Honda’s independent rear suspension. Packaged with MacPherson struts up front as before, is has the same suspension layout as the Nissan and the Korean pair.

The engine and gearbox are complete carryovers, which in this case, is not such a bad thing. The 2.0 litre Dual-VVTi 3ZR engine with its 145 PS at 6,200 rpm and 187 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm is still relatively fresh, having only been in service since the second-generation car was given a major facelift in 2010.

The same applies to the CVT transmission with its so-called ‘seven-speed Sports Sequential Shift’. The American market, in particular, has just gained access to this CVT ‘box through its new-generation Toyota Corolla mere months ago, over three years after we did. Don’t say that we always get things late, now.

Expecting a brand new engine and gearbox package merely three and a half years down the road would be unrealistic. A case of the Vios and Camry 2.0’s decade-old engines and four-speed autos, this definitely is not.

Cars like this tend to attract customers as much for their accessories as for their basic mechanical make-up these days, and on this score the new Altis is a step up from its basic predecessor. It’s not quite up to the standards of the Koreans – especially not the feature-rich Kia Cerato – but it at least matches the Honda.

It has, for instance, LED projector headlights, smart keyless entry system (both in this top 2.0V form only) and Bluetooth connectivity. The seven-inch touchscreen head unit you see here is standard on 2.0 litre models, though GPS navigation remains a cost option. On a RM136,000 car, that’s a little steep, don’t you think? Also an option is an Aerokit that looks decent enough though funnily enough it includes a fourth stop light integrated in the rear spoiler. Afterthought, much?

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 164

The extra RM3,900 asked for the “Additional Safety Package” bumps the airbag count to seven (a class-leading figure), but is only available on the 2.0V variant. So yes, those getting lesser models (1.8 E for RM114,000; 2.0G for RM123,000) are stuck with just two airbags.

In a perfect world, the package should be made available across the range. Or better yet, just fit them as standard, as it should be in the first place. This is the first time additional airbags are offered as an option in Malaysia, and it’ll be interesting to see how buyers react to such a choice.

The crucial stability and traction control systems are thankfully not packaged into the bizarre cost option, but again are fitted exclusively to the top-of-the-range 2.0V model. Note to Toyota: you’re already charging premium prices, so don’t skimp on essential safety features, please?

Let’s move on to the more subjective stuff, shall we? Performance wise, the Toyota isn’t half bad. Initially, you don’t feel like you’re getting value on the go front from this 2.0 litre machine. Probe further, however, and it doesn’t take long to discover that it pulls rather hard for its kind.

Its engine serves its peak power late in the day though, so you’ll have to be rather hard on it to get the best results. But in no time does it ever feel sluggish, thanks to the excellent CVT gearbox. Toyota claims that it goes to 100 km/h in 10 seconds flat, on to a top speed of 180 km/h.

Unfortunately, the media drive only included the 2.0V model, so no comments yet on the 1.8 litre variant, which apparently is 0.2 second quicker to 100 km/h and tops out 5 km/h faster.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 114

Back to the transmission, it works terribly well – far better than you’d think a CVT has a right to. The ‘seven-speed’ CVT handles the available power fantastically, fully exploiting the engine’s limited flexibility in a tremor-free way. It barely feels like a CVT unit, in fact, running a well-simulated shift pattern by default.

The rubber-band effect expected from a CVT is non-existent here, replaced with a feel that’s no less direct than that of a traditional torque convertor-type automatic transmission. It has a sophisticated working pattern too, with a dynamic shift programme that deduces from your driving style when you want to stay in lower gears for longer.

If you’re in the mood, it can be fun. That’s more than what you can level at, say, the Mitsubishi Lancer’s highly restrictive and noisy transmission. The engine is wonderfully smooth and quiet too, whatever the pace, in a way that the Honda Civic never is.

This car can be hustled through corners at a pace that is quite remarkable given its obvious comfort-biased approach. Fat, low-profile (215/45 R17) Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres certainly help, but the well engineered chassis is the key here.

Don’t get excited just yet, as it’s not quite as appealing as the Ford Focus in the handling department. While its steering may feel overlight (typical of Toyotas), the rim is communicative enough when you corner hard, and that’s something the well-balanced chassis does not discourage, to a point.

Of course, the suspension’s task is eased by the comparatively smaller output it has to handle, but it’s clear that it is fundamentally well behaved. The car is obedient, unbothered by bumps and, unlike the Altis of old, does not pitch back and forth like a trawler heading out to sea. It is surprisingly entertaining and feels very securely planted on highways, even when you zone in on its top speed.

When the going gets tough, however, you do start to realise that there a slightly mushy feel to its low-geared and slow steering, which makes it seem less well connected through fast corners. Not that it doesn’t corner well. There’s bags of grip, but you’d wish the steering is quicker and more precise.

No, then, this isn’t the most sporting of drives: there’s a bit too much roll in the faster stuff, and the power steering is fazed by a numbness in the tactile connection the car makes with its driver. Still, it remains capable through the twisty stuff if you’re smooth enough, and with judicious use of the quick-reacting paddle shifters, rather fast too.

But like its smaller brother, the Vios, there’s something unexciting about its progress, leaving you with the feeling that, really, you oughtn’t to be going this fast after all. And it’s hard not to get to the impression that, in its heart of hearts, no matter how aggressive it looks, that’s what Toyota wants, too.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 097

What isn’t surprising is that the Altis is a very comfortable car to be in. It manages to serve up a decent drive with the most pillowy ride of its class – its wheels surmounting bumps, humps, ripples and lumps with the cossetting serenity no other C-segment sedan can offer.

The Cerato’s comfort levels are close to a match of the Toyota’s but the Kia’s handling characteristics are much worse off because of it. Despite its ageing platform, the Corolla Altis strikes a much better compromise between taut body control and all-cushioning comfort.

Speaking of comfort, the new car scores big with particularly comfortable seats – both front and back. You always feel cushioned in here, and it is quiet on all fronts. It’s the best in class in terms of cabin comfort and refinement, Toyota claims, and it’s hard say otherwise.

The rear seats are wide and comfy, though not quite as supportive as the ones up front. It can be reclined slightly too, which is great. It’s a very accommodating and inviting cabin, this, even next to its rapidly improving rivals. The Ford Focus’ rear quarters for instance, feels far more restricted in comparison.

Another remarkable aspect is the cabin quality, which is, believe it or not, almost European in feel. The main touch points are all covered in quality soft-touch materials, including the tops of the rear door cards. These are hard even in the Volkswagen Golf and Ford Focus, let alone the Honda Civic which is hard everywhere.

It’s not all good, though. The steering wheel is covered in “leather” that both looks and feels cheap, and the dashboard is full of blank plates. There are three blank buttons next to the power socket, and two more by the front cup holders. Most of these buttons would be completely useless in our markets (think seats heaters), but it would have been nice if they were hidden rather than being left out as they are.

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Driven_ 120

There’s no questioning that the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis is a good car. It’s a good step forward for the brand, and with its newfound aggressive looks, it should no longer be thought of as an old man’s transport. It’s also well thought-out, would doubtless prove convenient and satisfying to own, and offers the reassurance of the trusted brand.

For enthusiastic paultan.org readers, its fashionable and moderns clothes would prove rather pleasing too, while its silky mechanical package is still as good as ever. That it is as capable to drive as it is comfortable and refined seals it – objectively, then, it’s the one to have in this segment.

Not if you value, well, value over anything else, though. It’s not great in that respect, let’s not devalue that fact. It’s the Toyota’s major downfall, next to the alarming safety-at-a-price quagmire. But remember, this is the priciest Altis – lesser versions may fare better against the opposition. Either way, don’t be surprised to see plenty of these of the road soon enough.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Good car, but not my taste! I still prefer a Honda over Toyota anytime.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 156 Thumb down 155
    • Civic FB model has lost some of its identity and characters. Some of the potential buyers has flown to the hug of Focus, not to mention of new threat from Mazda 3.
      I believe the new Altis will somehow deepen the dilemma of Civic further bcos of its look. Unless Civic could act fast bringing in the facelift model else I foresee this yr is going to be the tough yr for Civic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 19
      • C S, you are right. I am one of the one you said switch to Ford Focus after seeing Honda Civic & Toyota Altis – I just don’t feel right to pay more money but get limited features car. Cheers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 17
        • Yup, if u prefer driving dynamic…the focus is the best (honda used to be the default for dynamic)….anyway, a golf/jetta is another option…prev year stock can be had at almost this high spec Altis price. (more powerful/frugal/cheaper roadtax 1.4 liter)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
          • Ford SUCKER on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 151
          • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:53 pm

The extra RM3,900 asked for the “Additional Safety Package” bumps the airbag count to seven (a class-leading figure), but is only available on the 2.0V variant. So yes, those getting lesser models (1.8 E for RM114,000; 2.0G for RM123,000) are stuck with just two airbags.

“In a perfect world, the package should be made available across the range. Or better yet, just fit them as standard, as it should be in the first place. This is the first time additional airbags are offered as an option in Malaysia, and it’ll be interesting to see how buyers react to such a choice.”

Die lah haha UMW prepare to accept the facts that 90% of the potential buyers will cancel their order and go for Kia Cerato which ofers 6 airbags all over the range.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 13
          • no need last year model. same year model also can get discount and make the price same as this bullshit 2.0V altis.

• Finally they ditch the wooden interior. Aunties don’t like this because they cannot touchwood anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 5
  • how much price difference between a cvt gearbox and autobox?
    cvt reliability? durability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • I ask this because will it be the transmission made honda accord possible to be priced at 139k by offering autobox and not cvt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • qwerty on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:52 am

In terms of fuel consumption, CVT has the upper hand as they don’t run on fixed ratios. The ratios are continuously changing to get the best power output and also lowest fuel consumption.

As for reliability, it should win, too, as it contains much fewer parts, given the same amount of gear. For instance, a 7-speed automatic gearbox would be huge in size and also accommodating much more parts than a CVT.

Also, CVT gearboxes are smaller in size compared to a conventional auto gearbox, given they have the same amount of gears. And a car manufacturer can basically get as many virtual gear as they want from a CVT.

So, CVT should be the “future-proof” gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • Sungear on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Cvt implementation are not all the same, the one from city is not that good considering the fact the if you do not change your engine oil on time, you will feel jerky. So more in depth studies before jumping in

• since toyota altis powertrain was brought over from last generation. Any issue so far on CVT? It seems to perform better than nissan cvt although nissan has longer history.

• weirdo on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:24 am

That is provided you do not change the oil on time mah. Conventional auto gearbox also faces the same problem if you do not change the transmission oil regularly.

It is true that not all CVT work the same way, but you can’t deny the fact that good ones work really well, and what qwerty said was right.

Given the direction of development of gearbox now is to get as many gears as possible, CVT do tick the box, while having a small size.

• The dashboard really look like “sampan”…Everything look nice accept the dashboard.aircond vent also so small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 19
    • JeremyNg on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:30 am

Is it me or what I think the dashboard look like GT 86 especially the air cond vent …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • They should have get Proton to design the dashboard. After all Mitsu stole their design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • JohnDi on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:54 am

The rear view resemblance like Almera, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 57
  • How can the 1.8 beat the 2.0 in performance?? its only 10% diff in displacement so engine weight only changes a little. This doesn’t make sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • mystvearn on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:19 am

Those additional airbags and TC/VSC must weigh a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • toyota on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:54 am

TAKE A LOOK AT GEAR RATIO LA!!!! yOH!!

• qwerty on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:56 am

The 2.0 has bigger rims and fatter tires too. These two things affect the sprint time a lot.

Also, more airbags, the leather used, bodykit etc add weight to the car.

• dino years on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:15 am

that steering wheel is just ugly! but goo dto know its not as sampanish in handling as it was.

but 140k for this…no no that’s really too much money. 140k buys CX-5s, the darling of malaysian SUVs, it buys peugeot 408s, base honda accords, VW jettas.

and mortals should not even consider the versions without additional safety, that’s just ridiculous to have two airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
  • Gentleman on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:23 am

ok, made decision.
    Buying it with additional safety package.

I impressed with the 7 Sports CVT that feel like Great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 94
    • Congrats! on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:49 am

Congrats! U just added to the statistic that made Malaysians look like rich milking cows who dunno how to think.
      See u 1 year later with free vsc added into the package ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 24
      • carlies on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Please respect people’s choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
        • dino years on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:53 pm

we respect but still can comment right? if toyota sales went down like hell, we would get airbags and safety features galore, no? can’t blame us for wanting more bang for buck. kangkung anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • To be honest the headlamp looks like the eyes of a lady with overdone eye makeup.
    Anyway I’m waiting for Sam Loo’s comment. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Mr. Hafriz Shah,

I think all the readers here acknowledge your superb writing skills. But dear sir, tolonglah…you’re writing in such a convoluted manner that it has become utterly difficult to read and enjoy a car review.

Fancy writing don’t help us understand your car review. This is not a poetry contest.

Simple and reader friendly English la bro…please.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 56
    • seriously, wats with the fancy writting? this is just a car review, pls don make things complicated, simple and reader friendly english pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
    • __0__ on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:36 am

Whats your problem ? Are your English level still stuck at primary school ? I enjoy Hafiz’s work due to his good English , if he wrote in “simple” and “reader friendly” English people are gonna compliant about his poor English. You’re the only idiot I saw that complaints about a writer’s good command of english

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 58
    • improve_Eng on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:00 am

I think what I am about to say next is what the writer thinks but feels bad telling it to you on your face; so yeah, let me do it.

“Go brush up your English instead of asking me to write less-well!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
    • Danny on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:01 am

Indeed, just reading the review made me feel a bit sea sick. By the time I reach halfway, I m already skipping through the contents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
      • johnjjj on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:46 am

i also read halfway then just skip and look at the picture only.. not that i hate his writing.. maybe i just dont fancy the car. anyway, i think that his writing is as wow as the car..just imagine if he write as in a so-so english.. then u complain the article is boring? feel sleepy reading it? or, what if he write it in malaysian english, but readers are also from foreign countries, how would they understand? as in your case, u need to read more english articles

• yup,same goes to me

• Nothing wrong with his writing/narrative skills. The saying “The pen is mightier than a sword”. Look elsewhere if you can’t appreciate his work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • Most Pro Here You All Diam on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:33 am

I commented the same thing and he never approve my comment. butthurt kot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • How about if we could improve our English language comprehension instead ?

The reviewer should not drop his standards to fit our admittedly low Malaysian standards in English communication. A lot of non-Malaysians visit this website too, this is not a jaguh kampung website like some others, which I don’t wish to name.

I think the review was well written, one does not simply write a review about the world’s second best selling car, give or take, in layman standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
      • dino years on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:55 pm

malaysians complain about anything. i used to believe singaporeans were the complaints king. i guess too many of us have been spending time down south (myself included and guilty)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • amirad on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

OK what. No too salty not too sweet. Just the right balance. I mean the review and …. the car too. But the price esp 2.0V, not right.

• sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Nothing wrong with the review.

Reading is supposed to improve your vocabulary. If you don’t understand the word, look it up on dictionary.com.

If not, kids in school who don’t understand 2 x 2 will scold the teacher for teaching them something they don’t understand, instead of finding a way to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Jijoe on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:57 am

Eewww..korean design exterior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Steve Jobs on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:04 am

With this kind of price.. better opt with recond Wish….Valvematic summore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • Maserati on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:11 am

Had a go in this car recently. And boy does it feel so nice to drive!!

And u guys are saying cars like cerato n elantra are good? To be honest, the koreans dont even come close to the Japs at all.

This altis is so easy to drive. Thats why it will wipe out whatever is left of The Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 56
    • dino years on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Easy to drive….??

Sorry I beg your pardon, I haven’t tried this altis but I had a go in the old one, owned a camry 2.4 and PURLEASE LAH, its like guiding a drunk horse with a thin string. the steering is so light it gives me no confidence AT ALL past 100kmph.

So… disagree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • 20000 over 2 months vs 2000 over 4 months?

That 20000 must be stupid. The 2000…. Hafriz, you sure it’s 2000? or 200?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • walaweh on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:22 am

ioma@amoi, r u saying that the 2000 vs 20000, the 2000 r stupid? how about if the 2000 have 80 grand,they can buy vios,city etc at price range,but opt to buy suprima due to safety aspects n space,then shud we said those who opt for vios less safety n space as stupid?

nope, its just based of priority n preference. eventhough ignorance is a bliss. i never disrespect those buying vios,its their choice n preference.

but trust me,if publicly made in tv where showing suprima vs vios,head to head comparison in all aspect of crashtest,not only frontal odb, frontal rigid,side impact,pole test,rear impact,rear underrun,rolling test, i believe the numbers will be diff. but then,no tv show or ncap or governbody will do that in asean.

nevertheless, if u said other people stupid,than u r the dumbest person on earth. why not compare saga n vios in malaysia? the figure will show another way around. then do vios owners are stupid?

have respect on people. im not owning suprima by the way,just dont like those disrespect others. this attitude ruin the nation coz nation built by the people. no wonder our country run by incapable people cuz people like u run the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • walaweh on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:31 am

i rather blame the manufacturer rather than the people that buying the car coz its up to them to fully equip or minimum equip cars build by them. many not really know bout safety aspect,n not many a paultan reader. atleast,prtn nowadays trying to improve its safetyness eventhough they r lacking of other aspects which need to futher improve. but toyota do it for option. do life need an option? if the car breakdown,u still can send it for repair,foc if under waranty,at cost if not n still can opt buying others. but if people breakdown,there is no warranty, the cost is ur life n u cant buy a new life.

• Kuinosan on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:16 am

Place this new Altis next to the Kia Forte and you will see many resemblance, especially when both cars are in white. But gees… The Altis 2.0V is a massive 40k plus more in the pricing department and it is not hard to see who is copying who in the styling department. Toyota is still taking consumers for a ride I see. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
  • Sparcov on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:17 am

Full spec for Altis price almost the same for the basic spec of Accord.

For me, I will choose Accord over the altis eventhough is just a basic spec. It is still a Accord a class higher than altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • carlies on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

You’ll find a different driving experience. Like riding Honda 70 with a fat woman sitting behind, or a car carrying a young slim lady. Safety features and accessories are much more different as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • nabill on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:24 am

Makes da noisy civic soooooo yesterday…its greedy of umw jus giving da 2.0 for test drive where its obvious thy r trying to puah da hardest(maximum margin)…we all kno da 1.8 is gonna be da top seller in da range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Krasher on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:24 am

I’ll see this flooded Thailand in pink, blue, yellow and green.

• A Car For Everyone? With such steep pricing…

• shawal.ali on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:41 am

You want value , get a cerato,
    You want fun , get a 2nd hand 3 series,
    You want a corolla, get a corolla
    ( the old altis shiny perforated leather steering wheel looks n feels expensive)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:35 am

Yeap, a 1 year old Celaka is great value for money, going for around RM30k trade in price if they are lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
      • brainless sam loo and his resell value. old ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
        • Vager on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Brainless Sam family members. A person has no respect to others. Shame to this guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
          • Das Auto on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:34 am

Ignore this scamming troll. I advertise want to buy 1 yr old cerato cash 60k also nobody interested to sell to me. And this junior salesman can talk kok somemore 30k.

• Henry on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:52 am

Ill pay u rm40k cash, u get me a 1 year old kia cerato, come come.

• Henry on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:48 am

LOL, i love the new altis’s smart key design so MUCH~~~

• Henry on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:09 am

Well designed smart key “LIKE”

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:19 am

Actually not too bad. If only all the safety features were standard on all cars, or at least an option. RM 3900 isn’t much, why do they have to leave it out for all the cars?

If it weren’t for the price… But compared to the Camry the highest spec Altis is the better car, and it is more affordable.

Btw. Mr. Hafriz, the Fiesta used to have 7 airbags too. One segment lower. And if I’m not wrong the Prius C should also be around 7? The Volvo V40 has 8. Etc. Class leader? Not so much I suppose.

• Aerro on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:02 am

You can always buy Preve. Two of them. For hardcore Proton macai only aren’t you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • 1.8 model much better for value on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:21 am

The1.8 model is worth the buy compared to this 2.0, a new gearbox is given for the 1.8 giving it better performance & fuel effeciency.

The only difference is a lower spec cluster meter & fabric seats, which the sales guy mention RM2.5k to change to full leather & another RM2990 to add the 7inch screen with gps & reverse camera.

Both the above can be much less with aftermarket parts outside I stead of getting rip by umw…even the headlights can be upgraded to the 2.0v with the drl led lights. Only the add safety package is only available for the top 2.0v model but for that price, not worth it.

The news 1.8 model is above rm1k more than the previous gen 1.8 making it a worth buy for those who waited…hopefully with the nap announcement today, we might see some price drop…pray hard people.

• sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:22 am

“In a perfect world, the package should be made available across the range. Or better yet, just fit them as standard, as it should be in the first place. This is the first time additional airbags are offered as an option in Malaysia, and it’ll be interesting to see how buyers react to such a choice.

The crucial stability and traction control systems are thankfully not packaged into the bizarre cost option, but again are fitted exclusively to the top-of-the-range 2.0V model. Note to Toyota: you’re already charging premium prices, so don’t skimp on essential safety features, please?”

Spot on.

You cannot deny, this car does look aesthetically good. The back is OK but the front is good. Not like the catfish Vios.

It has to be comfy. Toyotas are generally like that.

But where it falls flat is safety and value. At 140k its just too steep.

The CX5 2WD mid spec is 137k, and it is a really good thing. Yes it has no leather, no nav and no keyless entry. But it has everything else.

Once again, its such a pity, UMW sacrificed their chance to win us all back with such sky-high price and lack of value. On that basis I would give it a big pass.

Such a waste.

Oh, and the top of the line Focus, with BLIS and City Safety is cheaper by 10k FYI. And the base one at 116k has a more powerful engine than the 1.8 Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Head Hunter on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:31 am

Honestly, this is a looker, but boy it is expensive.. I remembered back in the 90s my dad’s corolla was only RM36K for the 1.6. Not sure whether it was a used one as it was really new looking back then. Now it is just too expensive. That’s why we have since move on to Mitsubishi and Mazda.

• tommyyeoh on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:42 am

People who buys toyota are not looking for hp and torque instead they are looking for brand reliability and ease of mind. People who drive toyota are not speed bums all they want is comfort and roadholding and knowing that this car will not give them trouble after few years of usage. Just look at the sales results compared to suprima vios comes with old technology but still sells like hotcakes. This shows the brand supremacy people associate toyota as a reliable and good resale value availability of spare parts and almost trouble free. Altis is also gonna do well, watch the sales results. Take a look at their MPV veilfire and estima even it is grey imported people still buy this shows how reliable toyota is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Fazenne on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Man, you are spot on. I kept reading people here bashing T as uncle’s car bla bla bla. But the many reasons why T is again the top selling car manufacturer in the world is due to RELIABILITY. I don’t care much for the looks, I will be inside driving the car and holding the steering, and maintaining it for years. If I wanna look at fancy cars, I will just look outside the window… Not everybody goes for sportiness and sportiness and sportiness and then makan maggi at the of the month.

If I really want a sports car, I’ll go for those Ferrari and Lambo…

But, no matter how much I like the reliability… I will never buy a car from UMW the Ripper. I will either go for a 2nd hand… or I will just continue buying recond T or conti… the differences are……..

• Das Auto on Feb 20, 2014 at 12:37 am

Bcos there are plenty of car noobs around. How many ppl actually read about cars and test drive to compare? most uncles got no time for this shit.

• Jebonr on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:47 am

It’s a good car. But then again, I don’t trust Toyota (M).

• I am very disappointed with UMW Toyota. The so called “Additional Safety Option” should not be an option at the first place! All 7 air-bags, ESC, Traction Control, ABS and EBD should be included as a standard safety features for all variant. I would rather place a RM4K option for styling (eg bigger alloy rims), Sat Nav and other bells and whistles. Clearly, we Malaysians really like shinny alloy rims, Sat Nav, keyless entry system etc. It would be a fool to pay for passive safety option where countries such as Australia placed options or ranges for alloy rims, Smart Keyless Entry System for a premium price rather than the basic passive safety features.

http://www.toyota.com.au/corolla/range

• LIM KC on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

UMW Toyota only care for the safety of the RICH. Why not the 1.8 model have only 2 airbags and cannot upgrade? >>The extra RM3,900 asked for the “Additional Safety Package” bumps the airbag count to seven (a class-leading figure), but is only available on the 2.0V variant. So yes, those getting lesser models (1.8 E for RM114,000; 2.0G for RM123,000) are stuck with just two airbags.

• amirad on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:01 am

The only thing that’s holding me back from getting this new altis is I still love my pristine condition 2006 altis 1.8g. But if Sam Loo is willing to give me a good trade in price, I will get this new altis. What do you say Sam?

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:39 am

My boss Sam says you can get 12k for that old junk if lucky.

• barry on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:11 am

I think this is the best Altis seen in many years. look sleek,sporty and also more futuristic vs previous model.

On the features side and price, i would like to believe that its over price. maybe Japanese style of branding, selling high so that customers have a perception that its good and worth to buy.

As for me, looking at the premium model and price, i would go for other brand. perhaps a little top up of 10-15 k, i will be able to get better than Altis.

Wonder why Malaysian in particular only choose Altis? Anyone care to share? :-)

• H > T on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:25 am

Toyota’s reinvention of itself in the sedan game has been widely successful, not least with the B-segment Vios. UMW Toyota says that it has received over 20,000 bookings, merely two months from the Vios’ local launch here. That’s about ten times more than what the similarly priced (but more value-driven) Proton Suprima S has managed in its five-month tour so far.

20,000 bookings will reduce dramatically because 2014 non all new city discount RM 7888.

• Meltsh on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:27 am

Get a life, get a Mazda3! Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • mythbuster on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:37 am

Eventhough im a Vios owner,but i think this new Altis price is ridiculous. The specs, even spec with additional safety package still inferior to some of the car like Ford focus titanium +, mazda 3 and so on. pls save your money buy better specs D-segment car.

Those who keen to buy this Altis, pls check this link before buy .This altis earned only a ‘Marginal’ rating (the second lowest) in the latest Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) small overlap front crash test.The IIHS noted significant intrusion by the door hinge pillar and instrument panel into the cabin, indicating that survival space was not well maintained.IHS’ report said “Structural performance was poor and the driver’s space was seriously compromised by intruding structure. Measures from the dummy indicate that injuries to the left lower leg would be possible in a real-world crash of this severity. The dummy’s head contacted the front airbag but rolled to the left as the steering wheel moved 4 inches to the right. That left the head vulnerable to contact with forward structures like the windshield pillar and dashboard. The side curtain airbag deployed and had sufficient forward coverage to protect the head from contact with forward side structure, such as the roof rail and interior door panel, and outside objects.”

So better think wisely before buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • mythbuster on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Eventhough im a Vios owner,but i think this new Altis price is ridiculous. The specs, even spec with additional safety package still inferior to some of the car like Ford focus titanium +, mazda 3 and so on. pls save your money buy better specs D-segment car.
      Those who keen to buy this Altis, pls check this link before buy .This altis earned only a ‘Marginal’ rating (the second lowest) in the latest Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) small overlap front crash test.The IIHS noted significant intrusion by the door hinge pillar and instrument panel into the cabin, indicating that survival space was not well maintained.IHS’ report said “Structural performance was poor and the driver’s space was seriously compromised by intruding structure. Measures from the dummy indicate that injuries to the left lower leg would be possible in a real-world crash of this severity. The dummy’s head contacted the front airbag but rolled to the left as the steering wheel moved 4 inches to the right. That left the head vulnerable to contact with forward structures like the windshield pillar and dashboard. The side curtain airbag deployed and had sufficient forward coverage to protect the head from contact with forward side structure, such as the roof rail and interior door panel, and outside objects.”
      So better think wisely before buy it.
      http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/toyota/corolla?print-view#inline

• walaweh on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:39 am

the 3900 for safetykits is just mere less than 100 bucks per month. what toyota’s thinking? if they jackup the price by 3900 for every variant,it wont hurt the sale at all,n may raise it up really well. like i said, less than 100 bucks permonth wont hurt buyers who can fork out more than rm100k cars.

this is irresponsible, do toyota think malaysian life is not worth even for rm3900? no toyota for me after this,my life worth more than 3900, its priceless.

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:10 pm

They want to make safety conscious people buy the top of the line variant, even though they’d otherwise be perfectly fine with the baseline model.

Interestingly it was that way with the Preve too, at first. 2 airbags and no ESP, top of the line model got 4 airbags and ESP. Overseas model got 6 airbags and ESP for all models. Now all Preve have 6 airbags and ESP. Who knows, maybe a year down the road all Altis will get the airbags and ESP…

• walaweh on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:53 am

maybe mr kadajawi. just a possibility. if they want it to be as part of awareness,the safety pack shud be available across the range as option,not only to the highest bidder.

u also need to remember,even camry,higher segment,not being equip enough as standard or optional even the most expensive variant,let alone the altis.

its not the first time toyota engineer claim that its not needed as market not demand for it.

people dont care much to pay a higher price for better equip car especially toyota due to its reknown reliability,good fc n rv,but not the case with proton,especially preve. look at suprima, fully loaded,still loose out with a basic vios interm of sales. initially,the need to do something to reduce the price. and luckily drb finally managed to findout the way to maintain the price of preve while upgrading its safety aspect.

while enjoying their status quo as manufacturer,altis is loosing its sales to civic, elantra,focus n cerato. if u notice, only altis get a better engine n trans,even for previous make compare to vios n even the mighty camry. its due to competition. if not,they just enjoying their fat margin.

when they regain altis spot in c segment,u will see they will move backward :-),rather than forward.

many malaysian never question toyota on their safety aspect,popular belief,reliability equal as safety. i believe the whole asean region do so.

thats why,in most toyota post,u will see the word,if aint broken,why fix it. this idealogy of malaysian only apply to toyota.

• don^don on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:47 am

why isn’t there any front view and side view for the aero-kit?

• Credit where it’s due, the new Corolla Altis does not look ”Ah Beng-ish” like the Vios and Camry. I think the interior has a lot of character too, hails back to the old-school Corollas. And since it’s a Toyota, it will probably be alive and kicking long after the owner himself has passed-on due to old age.

But that’s not enough to outweigh its cons. Still, it’s better than the Civic, and that’s all there is to it for greedy and stingy UMW Toyota. Old-school Malaysian uncles will still buy this, even when there are objectively better options like the Mazda3, Ford Focus and Kia Cerato.

• motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:47 pm

2.0 sprint in 10 seconds?.. Haha.. No thx.. Myvi 1.5 (auto) can do that. Hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • NISSpengAN on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:30 pm

still can’t beat mighty 2014 Nissan Sylphy .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

looks this new refresh altis will compete back. i think cvt transmission make it much better performance and smooth. interior also look simple but still attractive.

• toyota-lol on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Seems like toyota is learning from AirAsia pretty fast~hahahaha..for that I meant those airbags, come on! WTF! ala AirAsia style? Seriously?

That 140k that you’re about to dump in to this car just for the majestic brand, think again. That amount of money, you can get a much better car compare to this rubbish.

The chasis is nice but not the interior, not for the price tag, not for the safety, I’m impressed with the looks on the car but sadly interior looks like rubbish.

• I don’t like the feel my car became taxi at other places around the world. No thanks…

• “Note to Toyota: you’re already charging premium prices, so don’t skimp on essential safety features, please?”

This ‘in-your-face’ statement have so much win. Though, UMW is still deaf, like our government.

• kebin on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:52 pm

….this. ..will sell. 1.8 lit pretty reasonably priced. In this segment…looks is important n this looks sporty not modern.

• Kopi O kao Kao on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:44 pm

As Toyota always was, the engine, the transmission and the total harmony of the car, now with look some more. I am driving a 2009 Wish and 4 year now not a single thing broke, that’s the value of Toyota and I believe time will tell if this new Altis is as good. The sad thing is cheap yen does not equal to cheap Japanese car because RM is even cheaper…sob sob..

• Archangel on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Nice review but the price for high variant is too steep.

• roxas on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:07 am

duno should say nice or ugly. or its just fresh nice bcoz its new. would looks old uncle when it floods the road by uncle who bought it. too expensive..unreasonable pricing.

• good car. although it offers less fancy stuff compared to korean cars but i’ll still prefer this car becox of its reliable engine and smooth CVT. :O

• RoKie on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Come on lah ! 2 airbags as standards in C-seg car ?! Honda, Toyota & Mitsubishi are shaming the Japanese for offering expensive and un-safe cars in this segment. Thankful that Mazda doesn’t think of us that way.

• albag on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:35 pm

nice exterior… but interior dashboard seems bit flat…

• Daebak on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Toyota kinda “sure win”. It doesnt matter hw exp their cars are, there are still toyota fans who fancy the sexy logo and buy their cars. Tats why no matter hw they price their car, still there will be ppl buying their car. They jux use tis “sure win” as a chance to price their cars high. Hahaha rather go for korean cars lor. Daebak. Kia Cerato or Optima K5 huh? Resale value doesnt matter. U buy a car nt for driving and enjoying purpose but for selling purpose ah? Jeongmal.. Haiz

• Albert Lee on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Why is there no CKD Altis? Why 100 percent CBU ?.Come on UMW.Don’t you have tie ups with others to produce CKD units?Before driving the Altis,the poor buyer has already paid rm 40k plus upfront as taxes and not forgetting the huge bank loan.

• Kanasai on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Toyota boss: Bro, you want good engine, I give you our best dual VVTI engine minus the valvematic. You want more gear, I give 7 in total in our super CVT. You say my previous model ah pek, now I give you Kia like design with Audi like daytime running LED. But I ask you to pay me $140k for these you sakit gigi, you think Made in Thailand is a fluke? Mana boleh macam ini? Go try to own a Kia, I guarantee you come back to Toyota after one year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Kingston on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:44 pm

im driving civic 2007, many people say this car has very nice design since the day i drive, even until today. but technology change very fast, look at hyundai and kia, their car design is superb.
    the kia k5, sportage, hyundai elantra, sonata.
    for my futher new car, i will consider car brand other than honda and toyota. korean car perhaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • breeze on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Korean car chasis still worst if compare Japanese car.

• kia k5 is better compare to this toyota or honda

• 2001 Toyota Altis Driver on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:50 pm

My family has been driving the 2001 Altis for 13 years now. Its the definition of a great car back then. Reliable and safe. Even in 2001, the Altis came standard with 2 air bags, ABS, EBD and most importantly, TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! And it only cost about 120,000. Fast forward to 2014. Absolutely nothing has been improved safety wise. Which to me is the most important aspect of a sedan car in Malaysia. The price for the a decent spec Altis is well over 130,000 almost approaching the 140,000 mark for virtually the same spec car in 2001. I only have 3 letters to UMV, WTF!!! The cronies on top of UMV must be deluded if they think Malaysians will compromise on safety just for the sake of the brand Toyota. Even a Honda city gets Vehicle Stability Assists and it is below 100,000. What i am implying is UMV had forgotten the values that made it so popular. They are making the same mistake Honda did in the 1990’s by ripping off customers. This is not a rant by a honda sales man. This is purely an evaluation out of utter despair by a loyal Toyota supporter throughout the years and will still be a Toyota Supporter for my entire life. Sad to say, just not a UMV supporter. If UMV continues to distribute cars to make a profit by comprimising the safety of the drivers and its passengers, i’m sorry to say u will lose customers. Hopefully, the writer of the article above will condemn the safety issues of the car and not praise it blindly as the writer is putting many unknowing drivers at risk if the opt for the E and G models. Thank you. BTW, i write this on behalf of my family. I am only 19. So hopefully, UMV will know that the younger generation are not darf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Kopi o kosong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Bro, you contradicting yourself, after 13 years it’s only 20k more, with bigger and better engine, how many percent has a Gardenia increased over this period? More airbag doesn’t means its safer, otherwise a car is crash proof by simply putting in 10 air bags, like that you might as buy Kia which give you more in everything. It’s not UMW doesn’t give you, it’s stingy you who refuse to pay, for someone who doesn’t need it, they actually pay less, what’s wrong with that? Just like if I am happy with Ron91, I pay less, I want more power, I go for Ron97, you cannot blame Najib for selling you expensive oil if you insist on using Ron97.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • kangkung naik on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:40 pm

You eat too much of kangkung until you been kangkung by them?

Who imposed high automotive tax? Who buy the expensive sugar contact? Where is the lembu? Cincin? super condo in NY by your idol step son. Who is the crony own Gardenia? Toyota never improved. Torsium beam is a cheap design for cost saving, larger rear room but compromise the handling. The problem is not “2001 Toyota altis driver” cannot afford but it just simply overpriced and no improvement. If this logo is proton, I can see more flame from you.

I have a Altis 2001 too. Honestly I feel no improvement from toyota except modern design. My parent is toyota hardcore fans but they change to proton. Simply we could see the improvement by Proton. It can be any other brands. I am looking for other alternative but I will not choose Toyota again.

bear in mind, bread is regular food for many citizen but not car. You should blame the gov for inability to protect the people. Food is selling expensive, car is selling with more kosong specs.

• PanGi Koh Tua Tay on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

One of the pics shows a speedo reading of 110 km/h at 2,000rpm. That is impressive and should help a lot on long distance FC. Camry 2.0G 2009 4 speeder cruises 110 at 2,700rpm and my old Jazz 1.5l needed close to 3,000rpm

• Somehow i find it funny, there are so many ppl bashing Toyota here and yet the roads are filled with Toyota cars, and I can see it will keep on happening. The such called ‘Korean wave’ i guess is more for those who can’t afford to buy either one and yet busy posting here. Just my 2cents. I have to agree though we can see more Korean, but not as much as the comments here :P

• Charan on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:59 pm

I’m about to buy this car in Thailand. I can’t test drive the “S” model we have here with 17inch rims because of no test car on that model. I just want to know what is the ride quality is like on the 17inch wheels? I had a civic Fd 2.0 with 17inch and i couldn’t tolerate the harshness. Just wondering will i get the same feeling with this toyota using 215/45R17. Thanks

• Ricky on Feb 15, 2014 at 11:32 am

NO air cond vent at rear, waste money polo sedan and kia k3 all got.

• Ugly piece of metal. Neither here nor there. Perhaps Toyota aiming to take over the role of the kimchis of the 90’s.
    Honda, seems to give better package even though their technology may not be as ‘ advanced ‘ as Toyota. 3 generations of Vios sharing the same engine and tranny is a classic exmaple. A real conman job!

• I cannot afford for 2.0V, only can consider 1.8 model,if compare to Honda Civic, this Toyota Altis no VSA (for safety reason), ugly meter and interior, dashboard too high.

• holofanboi on Feb 18, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Excellent writeup! I personally agree with pretty much everything considering that I actually got a chance to drive it 4 days ago (Don’t mind the details).

Frankly speaking, I wouldn’t have possibly known that it was running on a CVT trans until I was notified. It MIGHT have been obvious if I floored it, but based on my standard driving style the trans exhibited NONE of the typical CVT judder and noise like how the 2011 Teana did.

Generally speaking a great car. The price however… -.-

*Also, im surprised you didn’t block the headlamps with your butt in the pics, WELL DONE!*

• Lostway on Feb 19, 2014 at 8:59 pm

I can’t read thru all comments here, however I knew there is many argument if you are not favorable to T or as supporter H.
    But athere, I wish seek some comments for comparison Altis 1.8 with Civic 1.8 only? Please just stick on both car mentioned as no places for budget increase.
    Many thanks

• Hi Lostway, I just bought a Civic 1.8S after this comparison for Altis 1.8E & Civic 1.8S:
    1) Safety = Altis 1.8 without VSA
    2) Meter = Meter for Altis 1.8E diference from Altis 2.0V, but both Civic 1.8 and 2.0 have the same and nice digital meter display.
    3)Dashboard – Altis dashboard too high, no suitable for small size ppl.
    4) Size – Although the specification showing both Altis and Civic have almost the same size of interior, but once you test drive for both car, you will feel that civic’s interior is significantly bigger than Altis.

• Lost way on Feb 21, 2014 at 1:09 am

Tks…maybe I shud test drive Altis prior decision made.
      Anyway did u notice recent car sterling are feeling lighten?

• Hello man r u talking about proton?!
        i would laugh at u..
        proton’s quality yeah proton’s cars r always unique in its low quality
        n last time proton’s cars handle easily broken like Gen-2 n 1st generation persona …
        what’s more toyota’s design is always the top
        how unique it is don u agree wif me?
        i will be the supporters of toyota always !

• Just dropped by at the nearby Toyota showroom to check out the new Altis. They only had the V spec on display.

Car looks OK, dashboard a little old fashioned for me but specs are decent. The price is quite premium though.

It’s a small gesture from Toyota that they really do want to compete on features instead of merely relying on consumers’ fear and gullibility to do their sales for them.

The really interesting thing is, the salesman seemed only to care about telling me that I lost money in driving a non-Toyota (“your car lost money wohhh”). He told me that very directly FOUR times in the 12 minutes or so that I was looking at andd sitting in the car. He didn’t bother to ask what year, what color, or how many cc. Just straight to “you lost money ohhh”. Also he said absolutely nothing about any of the new Altis’ specs or features, only replying with “yes” each time I asked him directly if the car came with this or that feature.

Well, I just checked and he’s full of bull!!! I would have lost even more money if I had bought the top spec Altis back in 2010. I feel so pissed off.

Ironically, I really was interested in the new Altis.

Too bad about that “senior” salesman.

• 1.honda has 5y unlimited warranty and free 6 service..Toyota?..Sorry tak ada.
    2.The dashboard it too high and the seat is too low..making u unable to see the front.
    3.Did u see that poor quality door plastic chrome handle..hello..really?worst than proton persona.

• UMW sacrifice malaysian life for profit on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:08 am

altis 2.0 less active and passive safety feature.
    selling on high price.

Most ppl will consider cerato, focus.
    Even a D segment honda accord!

• Im driving this new Altis 1.8E for 2 months and have no complaint except lack of VSC & TRC which quite essential these days.. Quite happy as great engine and gear box.. Hopefully in future carmaker wont shortchange buyer safety just for the sake of maximize profit.

• David Chew on Jun 01, 2014 at 2:48 pm

One man’s food is another man’s poison.Can’t have things we wish for.Makes no difference on 2,4 or 6 air bags, to others they need, it is okay.The pricing for the 2.0 is too much to pay for especially for top range which is 139K just like the Mazda 3 2.0. One may as well go for the Camry or Accord 2.0.Whatever, the good resale value for Toyota & Accord is rather safe.One thing Toyota should include is the power seating even if consumer has a pay a little bit more.

• Personal preference on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Although I am very keen on buying the Altis, the spec bias across the range is just too stupid. Sometimes it is not about whether I can afford or not. I can afford the 2.0V premium price, but it doesn’t mean I have to be forced to buy it. I prefer driving a 1.8 car over a 2.0 car. That’s my personal preference. But you are not providing me safety and those extra I want which you only care about your 2.0 version. I like almost everything the 2.0 have for the spec, but I only want a 1.8. Which obviously is not available. Therefore we got no choice but to go for car like Hyundai, Nissan, and others that actually give me things I want. If I ever wanted a 2.0 I would rather get the fully packed focus. More power, more safety package, more accessories and many more. If even the so called “copycat” that produce at low amount not achieving economies of scale are able to give these things, you should consider where your problem lies. We all know about the tax problem. But don’t tell me the Koreans or the Caucasians get less tax than the Japanese.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:18 am

My nick name aside, Altis is a good car. My 1.8G Dual-DVVT has been serving me well. Low maintenance and almost boring as it doesn’t give me any problems what-so-ever. I only wish it comes in a coupe model like the old days that is more suitable for a single guy like me. So Toyota is a reliable and comfortable car but it needs to look into the singles market. If not may have to switch over to Mazda 3 hatchback next year.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 12, 2014 at 1:28 am

What is considered as good resale value? Many kept saying Japanese cars have good RV but i think it is not true. Am trying to trade my 1.8G Altis and the RV so far is at 55 percent only (RM68 K). Is that considered good for a 3 yrs and 7 mnths old car at 70K km? It sure sucks to me.

• portalleasignu.eu on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:36 am

Applicants property or payday mortgage cash advances merely having a poor
    credit as these loans they will afford to safety insurance.