VIDEO: Close-up view of the new 2014 Toyota Corolla

This white 2014 Toyota Corolla is currently on the losing side in our ASEAN vs US Corolla face-off poll (submit your vote here if you haven’t already). Looks like most of you readers are in favour of the American model’s sleeker and sportier styling, even if doesn’t necessarily look like a Corolla in the most traditional sense.

Perhaps this video will change your mind. It shows the European/ASEAN Corolla from all angles (which is identical to the renderings we showed earlier, if we may say so), plus detailed close-ups of the light clusters, wheels and interior.

You can see the LED DRLs in action here, and the headlamps appear to be xenon units, even if they are of the reflector, not projector type. The US model does one better with full LED headlights, though it does not have a distinctive DRL pattern during the day. A good trade-off?

You’ve studied the hi-res pictures, now it’s time to see the 2014 Toyota Corolla in video form. Enjoy.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Oblivion52 on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Should also add this us version’s video to have a video comparison..

• bentley on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Interior looks like S klasses, very conti

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
      • namanama on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:33 pm

looks like bentley yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Much more beautiful than that. It’s like dashboard on millionaire private jets

-Sarcasm-

• the aircon vent design looks like it is lifted from the 1982 corolla! Come on Toyota, you can do better!

• Sam Loo on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:01 pm

UMW will take out the VSC to save on cost and get more profit. They don;t mind you die in an accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Hmm i guess those kimchi and the same culture Sushi Civic r starting to worry now… Toyota pls don’t do it again :X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Johnny on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:25 pm

I hope they won’t overprice it here again. Although my hopes would eventually be futile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:13 pm

We Malaysians, not Chinese/Bumiputra/Indian, all deserved safer cars. Nobody is fighting for us, if it is not in Manifesto PR, it is not mentioned by BN, no acuan to tiru? We want compulsory ESP and 6 airbags, if not seven; you can cut cost by omitting alloy rims, skirting this/that, tinting etc all of which can be obtained by slightly ‘richer’ groups.
      We want Toyota Malaysia to be more conscious about the safety features in their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Why Toyota, because he is the big brother in Malaysia. He should become a good example.

• Sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Whichever car manufactures that don’t bother to improve the safety features of their vehicles: we hope your day can be counted, once the nation become more literate and more conscious about safety features.

We want 6 airbags + ESP in all vehicles above RM100K, and 7 airbags + ESP in all vehicles above RM150K and 12 airbags in all vehichles from E-class/equivalent and above, by 2020. We don’t want: you makan 20juta, I makan 20 juta by 2020.

I am not from DAP, do not vote for me for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • aureola on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Toyota know they should raise their game. And sure they did it in style. Kudos to Toyota engineers but now it’s UMW turn to decided whether they still want to rip off the people’s hard earned money or not.

By the way, rear aircond vents please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • BNCronies on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:51 pm

The interior is just fugly……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
  • hmm..still using bulb for the rear light

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • So? What’s your gripe with bulbs. There’s nothing wrong using bulb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Wisdom on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:49 am

LED lit few milliseconds faster than bulb. That few milliseconds might differentiate between life and death..

• saladin on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Now pkai lightbulb. Nanti facelift dia bg la led, adjust bumper sket. Keje senang ma. Tk payah fikir byk2.

• Black Dog on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:52 pm

A word of caution? The profile of Paultan’s readers might not necessary identical to the Toyota Corolla’s targeted buyers?

• Jimmy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I would like to raise the consciousness about safety features in all vehicles in Malaysia.
      BTW I think the interior space of E-class is rather small, and yes you are partly right in your comment.

• Fukuoka on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:11 pm

“Is that Toyota SAI?”, was in my mind when I first saw the picture. SAI is quite popular here in Japan for those who opt for a D-segment hybrid. However, Corolla has a much better rear design.

• Polo Saga on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Nothing special, yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Honda fan on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

My civic can beat this crap anyday, long live the power of vtec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
  • Much better than the crappy Civic. This is pretty good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Chow 1 on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Best car in its class. Must buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Like this one than the US ver.
    ‘Japanese design’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • c14man on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:20 pm

This new Altis has definitely shown design improvements over the previous generation, and i’d say in a positive way (unlike that of camry). Good effort by the design team. While the exterior should attract most of the targeted buyers, the modern looking aircond vent might appeal much to them. Altis in ASEAN was never targeted to young car buyers / first time car buyers (those heavily subsidised by parents are not included). Hence this contemporary+modernistic look should appeal most buyers in the 30-40’s. With its track record of superb reliability, great resale value, low cost of maintenance, this car will definitely sell well. Just one thing though, hope UMW will bring in the car with more specs and more competitive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • i can foresee the price of the full spec ~135k..
    and you can get this tin kosong around 110k

• Razlano on Jun 12, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Feel very sad to outdated Preve now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • roll la on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Toyota just spoilt the interior…it doesnt look luxury and neat…design cues from the gt…well it may blend well with gt its a coupe…this is a sedan more to luxury side…toyota has to do the interior now…come on toyota korean are making better interior

• frenzyaustin on Jun 12, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Exterior is passable, not breathtaking or wow factor, but interior is definitely a big improvement from previous generation, but honestly, Civic’s interior is better to me, very futuristic and sporty. Yes, this car will be boring to drive like other Toyota, but hey, if people want a fun car, they won’t consider Toyota in the 1st place. What I expect from it is FC is improved, ride quality is better and reliability is a must. And to UMW, don’t try to rip us off again. Bermaz is going to sell upcoming Mazda 3 very soon and DRB Hicom’s Polo sales is very high too. Focus are more on the road compare to previous generation and probably Civic facelift soon too.

• Toy Yoda Fan boy on Jun 12, 2013 at 5:55 pm

i dont care they bring in 1 or 2 air bags, vsc or no vsc, toyota still leading in the classes. take my money!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • oldie on Jun 12, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Yes the best car is no airbag at all:

-cheaper to buy,
      -faster to die, haha!

• adam lee on Jun 12, 2013 at 6:09 pm

new honda city?

• Yup this is copied from city. Please sack the lazy designers and hire international level designer

• Wait the new mazda 3 skyactiv launch then decided!

• east-coast on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:14 pm

wondering if they will use current dual vvti engine or they will switch back to vvti,same as current camry 2.0 engine :/ duh…

• Tristan on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Actually, why is the sedan front fascia so different from the Corolla hatchback fascia that is being sold in Australia. They actually share pretty much of the same structure including the front grill. IMHO the Australian version looks even better the US version as it has projector headlamps and chrome surroundings on the lower part of the grill.

• Rulered on Jun 13, 2013 at 9:37 am

No matter how beautiful the car look, it doesn’t mean anything without safety features. Our family safety is top priority. Comfort and reliability comes in close 2nd hand in hand. RV is not top priority. With the high car price in this country, the least that the government can do is to be strict in the minimal safety standards of each vehicle, then you can talk about reducing its price gradually.

• Design was just fine in this latest model, except for its dashboard, which reminds me of the current Prius C, that is not proportionate and this ruins the beauty of this model.

• saladin on Jun 13, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Same design with my toyota wish. Just shorter n the dashboard different.

• Hi Hafriz,
    You mentioned that the US version doesn’t look like a Corolla.
    My question is: just what is Corolla look anyway, especially we,long time Corolla fans, have been snubbed by the “dugong” style. I know it is personal preference, but I personally give that whole “dugong” generation a pass.