GALLERY: 2014 Toyota Corolla face-off: ASEAN vs US

We now have complete galleries and details on both the European 2014 Toyota Corolla (which will most likely be our ASEAN Corolla Altis next year) and the sportier looking US-specific model. Given a choice, which one would you prefer? We’ve put them side-by-side to help you make your decision.

From the front, the only thing these two models have in common is the Toyota badge. The Euro/ASEAN model on the left takes a more traditional route and is instantly recognisable as a Corolla while the American version is significantly more modern but at the cost of originality and character.

It’s so anonymous and generic in fact, that it could easily be mistaken for a car from a different brand. One of a Korean origin particularly comes to mind. Sleeker, sportier and more fashionable it may be over the white car on the left, yet it’s not what comes to mind when you think of a Corolla, is it?

Most would agree though, that the nameplate is in dire need of an image rebuild and this Corolla re-imagination could well be the change it’s been asking for. Traditionalists however may prefer the bolder look of the ASEAN-bound car with its larger, chromed and more prominent grille.

It’s a similar story round the back. One is a safer take of a modern Corolla; the other a wildly abstract design that puts style over heritage. Is it class or crass? You decide.

Put yourself in the shoes of a typical Toyota Corolla buyer for a minute. Which look would you prefer? Vote in the poll below and drop us a comment with your thoughts!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• zachryamir on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:43 am

i prefer the U.S version. its time for Toyota to move forward with the design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 49
    • y all people who like us version get more thumb down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • fellas on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Both suck. US version too ah beng, sporty wannabe but the curves are too simple like 90’s car. The Euro version is camry wannabe. Camry is fugly and so its wannabe – fugly!

Verdict : Both phailed big time, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • unforgiven on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:09 pm

US targeted for small boys and girls, entry level, cheapest car. Asian targeted for middle income uncles, Expensive C seg car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • reader on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:12 pm

US version reminds me a fiesta at front and almera at rear. Asean version surely like a camry.

• from the front, north american looks a bit better,
      but from the back..asean wins it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • sam lol wokshop on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:11 am

wait for the half cut. then glue it together, you’ll get the mix version. come to my shop i’ll do it for you then.

• NAder on Jan 06, 2017 at 11:20 pm

Thats exactly what I think too. Though the US version is not that bad, the asian back makes the car look bigger so I prefer that. The “T” hump on the front of the asian corolla is super ugly and I prefer the US version

• Don ever care about the looks coz it’s just a Corolla! interior,performance and Safety r important coz the current Altis interior is terrible, performance is just ok, safety no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • dodgeviper88 on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Best would be US front, ASEAN rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • for myself the US version looks more good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
  • jimi choi on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:47 am

I’ve already book a flight to us next year. Us version will be mine ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
    • unforgiven on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Good for you as it’s the entry level in US, for small boys or gals, LOL

• OMG..definately the Euro version is nicer than the US version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 24
  • Jaybond on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:54 am

The US version is definitely better looking than the European version, but the family look of the European Corolla is more in line with the current Asean Camry, with its chromed and prominent grille.This could be a decisive factor, especially from marketing point of view.As for the US Corolla the dynamic front-end design is more attractive but could be mistaken for a Ford car.But personally speaking, the European Corolla is a bit on the ugly side..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
  • roll la on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:55 am

If i were to get a corolla…i wouldnt mind any of the design both are reasonable n fresh…the fact boils down to engine gearbox safety specs and options available that comes to malaysia market…what’s the point of having the best design but lack in others…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • altis will get dual vvti and cvt 6 speed while there are 2 airbags n traction control for sure. but i think d rest of the gadjets u nid to pay premium price to get it

• encik boss on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:55 am

I prefer US version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
  • US Version. Time for a change to look young toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 29
  • Vanquish on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:56 am

I prefer the US version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • nabill on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:59 am

the US version has that VW jetta look…more aggressive…Asian version has too much chrome going on…..like those rebadged cars from china!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
  • goshh on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:01 pm

The grill isn’t my taste. US version looks better, classier (maybe due to color?), sportier.

Can we have both cars with the same color?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • Asean version without LED headlamp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • azrul on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:20 pm

What im seeing..Us version more agresive and asian version more executive..im prefe agresive one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • jawabandar on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Prefer the US version.More aggressive and sportier.It’s time for toyota to move to better design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • sepul on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm

As if I were a Toyota owner, while the US version look more aggressive, I would choose the European/ASEAN wersion as it is more streamlined with the current Toyota design language which is in a good direction, although personally I find both to be rather safe and inoffensive. But interior, I prefer the US version, particularly the positioning of the digital clock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • tycoon88 on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Juz luv d funky looking dashboard. Really different from any toyota I’ve seen b4.

I do hope the Malaysian Version steering has all the complete dials like the euro version. u noe lar, UMW toyota will cut this and that for their newly launch model so that they can make more $ coz they know those corolla fansi will still buy it.

Juz look at the earlier batches of toyota camry 2.0G & 2.5V. Don cum with VSC & TRC as standard but after 10 months later, they have it as standard & oso add better trims with minimal cost.

Juz b prepared they will give u the “tin kosong” altis when they launch it this year end or early next year in Malaysia.

• i want the front Us model and back one asean model..

• azhar on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:38 pm

prefer the ASEAN..that big gaping mouth in front is a big turn off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • ahmad on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:49 pm

US version is better, just like what happened to the current and previous generation Camry.. Asian versions always look like uncle’s car. US version is thousand times better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Grandma Police on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Not thrilled about the use of that shade of blue backlighting on the meter panel. Blue is really hard to read in the dark and looks fuzzy no matter what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • RyanS on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:52 pm

US:
    Look nice from side view but so so from front view.

ASEAN:
    Look so so from side view but nice from front view.

Conclusion:
    Combine US front lamp + ASEAN body = best for me LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • rao2100 on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:54 pm

I prefer the US version except for the grill which looks like copying Lancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • I want them to be in same color to make a clearer comparo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • meng meng on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:56 pm

I choose Asean front but US rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • tonny on Jun 11, 2013 at 12:57 pm

front Us model and back one asean model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Asean version without LED headlamp and no sunroof.

• carlies on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Both looks great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • darren on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:05 pm

front US, back EUROPE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • rakyat on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

The Asean version looks like the Cissy (bapuk) version of the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:15 pm

This is something to be expected.

If we try to break down the demographics these 2 cars are targeted at, its easy to see why both these are designed this way.

In North America, Toyota faces a spiral in popularity as the younger generation shun the conservative looks of the Corolla (and Toyota for that matter). This car comes in at slightly over 17-20k and is targeted at being the first car for many people… Little wonder why the US version is more sporty looking. The Scion brand is just expensive marketing redundancy.

In Asia, or specifically in Malaysia, given its (absurdly high) price points it comes in at, the Corolla is being sold at the more premium market so logic suggest it would also look a little bit more premium perhaps even aping some Lexus cues. My guess that the interior finish is also slightly better as is typical of our local market cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • good review
      but i would venture to think that the US version must have better interior knick-knacks given the freedom of choice to the potential customers

in asia, and definitely malaysia, the specs are locked according to the whims of the brand consultant hired by the carmaker notwithstanding the marques hence we pay the premium for somewhat higher-grade looks but shabby or most of the time cheap interiors.

if u ask around, they would rather pay the premium for better specs than premium for tax but this debate is a never ending one…

• 4g63t dsm on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:58 pm

In actuality our local specs and finish quality is better. Most cars will have leather, nice chrome or metal bits and accessories like tint, reverse sensors, etc. our local trim levels for most japs come in at midrange to high trim.

Local Marques just cheap out on the stuff you don’t see. Like airbags, other safety gear like VSM, ABS, TC’S etc….and some go as far as omitting isofic/Latch points and missing bumper reinforcement bars (I’m looking at u Mr.Accord)

On the flip side, cars in US will have your full complement of safety gear and bigger engines as standard but base models (even mid sizes like the Camry 2.4 and accord 2.4) come sparsely fitted…. Sme models have a/c and carpets as optional items. But even if you add these options ..the cars are still cheap.

Priorities are different here I suppose.

Design here speak for its buyers. We want more bling in our rides.

• mooncake on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:18 pm

anything that resembles the current camry looks shitty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • alex458 on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:21 pm

I like the European 2014 Toyota Corolla rear side but i prefer front ASEAN 2014 Corolla~ If they can make to this, I’m surely love it so much~

• TRD version of the asean will probably look something like the US version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Zeeshan on Jun 11, 2013 at 1:33 pm

US version is way better than the euro ugly duck.

• cecibo on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm

us version laa, Asean ver. liked by the nyonya & apek only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Garfield on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

As can be seen from the comments, majority of those who would like to UBAH taste to own a Toyota prefer the North American design; while those synonymous with Toyota ownership prefer the more boring European design.

The ball is in Toyota’s court really…..

• North American nose, EU/ASEAN rear. In-between boleh style, lah. Get working UMW…

• sammyloo on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Why cant europe has the us version?

• jilbaber on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I like Asian one, look more uncle, really suite old apek like me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Polo Saga on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Asian models gets too much of chrome, looks cheesy.

• l3ryan on Jun 11, 2013 at 3:32 pm

I like the front end of the US version and the back of the ASEAN version

• from backview we can see Asean will get bigger rearview mirror. This is good for women bcoz they can get make up their face easily while waiting for greenlight.

• Jonathan Lee on Jun 11, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Neither. Auris.

• kenot on Jun 11, 2013 at 4:58 pm

i really hope they can offer better specs. maybe 6 airbags,VSC,TC.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Most of the Toyota engineered to has 6 airbags, 6 speed AT box, but the problem is with UMW! A good car sold by a vampire company.

• Mike Dude on Jun 11, 2013 at 5:30 pm

The US version looks cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Both looks good and even better looking compared to the camry…the interior show improvement than existing
    the asean model seems like the kia / hyundai design trend…

• takNakP1 on Jun 11, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Don’t fight. I say Malaysia version sucks… Price too expensive. Hahaha…

• policeman on Jun 11, 2013 at 7:27 pm

I like the US’s front but the ASEAN’s rear.

• imo i think the front of the Asean version seems better in some way. But the back end of the US version seems better. All in all, both of these is the best from toyota i’ve seen in ages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Kelvin on Jun 11, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Asian version looks and feels more expensive, US version looks cheapo.

• the us version kinda looks like mg6

• Nazmier Amzar Azman on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:26 pm

I would prefer the looks of Northern American Corolla. You can’t deny that it has the character that is much more agile looking and solidly defined body lines rather than the white ASEAN Corolla. Somehow or rather, I would prefer the American one instead of the ASEAN one for the new Corolla.

• inlet on Jun 11, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Nothing special in both versions. Very safe designs. Toyota tried very hard, unfortunately its production output is so-so.

Good luck Toyota.

• Farhat on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Majority of Corolla buyers in the US are Gen Y/Young adults aged between 18-27 thus designs need to relate to what the market wants/needs. The sharper lines, gaping grill are all the bold statements that can make the car ‘sporty’ and with stance.

Majority ASEAN buyers (esp malaysians) tend to relate corolla to middle-aged people, or for most toyota sedans for that matter (except vios). And majority of new-car purchases for Altis are mostly in that age category, and older. Hence the more toned down, elegant, chromed design compared to the US.

Im gen Y, ofcouse i would say the US looks more appealing, but not better than the ASEAN version.

• nighttrain on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:00 am

If B segment is for gen Y, then UMW suck! Vios needs a major redesign to capture this market.. that probably won’t happen because this market is tech savvy and up to date while UMW is run by greedy cheapskates.

• uncle sam on Jun 12, 2013 at 12:15 am

don’t care. will choose k3 instead of this junkbox.

• damn. i’m preparing a lot of thumbs down based on the comments i’ve read so far from above.

Honestly, I prefer the ASEAN/EURO version… and i’m just 27 yrs old! LOL

• totti on Jun 12, 2013 at 11:27 am

The interior suck. The dashboard look is like those 20 years Toyota Corona.

• mazda fan on Jun 12, 2013 at 1:12 pm

if compare this new toyota with the new mazda 3 (previewed by paul-tan last week), i would say mazda 3 has won both the interior and exterior design

• looking from umw point of view, putting the euro version here makes more marketing sense. US version will kill their sales as they are going the design path fighting with all other C-segments for the same group of buyers. might as well just maintain their target group coz no one is go
    oing the uncle look design language currently

• corollageek on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:20 am

Preferably the US version.The embodiment of FT86 is there in the detail.