New Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tested in Thailand

Having done my fair share of tyre test events over the years, I can tell you that they’re the most tiring and wearing trips. Morning till evening, lots of waiting between sessions, and always accompanied by blazing heat, but we still enjoy them nonetheless. Why? Unless you’ve got good connections with the Sepang International Circuit boss, it’s not always that one gets to test the absolute limits of grip in a controlled environment without the risk of breaking car and bones.

So we jumped at the chance to test Michelin’s latest – the Pilot Sport 3 – in Thailand. Making it more intresting was the unheard of track in the middle of nowhere – Kaeng Krachan Circuit near Hua Hin. We also hoped to find out if the PS3 is the new benchmark for performance tyres, as claimed by its maker.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

The Pilot Sport 3 is described by Michelin as a “natural evolution” of the PS2, but it’s also meant to replace the Pilot Preceda 2 (PP2) which is positioned lower than the PS2 (PS3 also replaces Pilot Exalto 2, which is not sold here).

Michelin is therefore replacing two tyres with the PS3, and the new model has an enlarged brief reflected by the variety and range of sizes. Both the PS2 and PP2 are still available at the shops for now, but will eventually be phased out.

Unusual for a high performance tyre, the PS3 size chart starts at 15 inches (RRP: RM 228) all the way to 19. There are a total of 26 sizes with speed rating from V to Y, 55 to 35 series and 185 to 285 section width. This means that anything from a Mazda 2 to the Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG is covered; a good thing for most of us who don’t own performance machines but enjoy enthusiastic driving and want to have the best in tyre technology. Michelin’s latest is already the factory fit tyre for new cars such as the Audi A1 to the abovementioned AMG, and the list of European manufacturers joining the bandwagon is growing.

The PS3s sold here are either Thai or European made; the smaller sizes come from our Northern neighbour but Michelin says that standards are the same, regardless of which plant the tyres roll out from.

After a slow bus ride from Hua Hin, this still groggy writer arrived at Kaeng Krachan Circuit, which is said to be a private track of a rich local designed by himself. It’s a fascinating little place; although the narrow 2.9 km circuit occupies a relatively small footprint, there’s a big variety of corners and gradients. Forget sand traps and run off areas, make a mistake here and you’re in the drain! Along with the achingly cute event assistants, the Thai sun also came out to greet us with full force.

After a brief briefing, first stop for us was the wet braking station. Now, the PS2’s dry handling and braking levels were considered good enough to maintain, but Michelin felt that it needed to catch up on wet performance, which is the single biggest improvement over the PS2, still considered by many as a benchmark performance tyre.

The PS3 debuts Michelin’s Sport Power Compound, one of two main factors responsible for the improved wet performance. SPC is a unique formula that combines three ingredients for the first time: Wet Grip Elastomer, a dense flexible polymer that “cuts through” the water surface to “find” dry ground to stick on; Long Lasting Elastomer that benefits mileage; and Silica for better fuel consumption. The first of that three works hand-in-hand with Anti Surf System, which concerns the tyre’s shape.

Anti Surf basically rounds off the square edges of the tyre when viewed from the front. Michelin says that by better keeping the tyre’s shoulders off the water, the risk of hydroplaning is lower, and water evacuation becomes more effective. With all these improvements, the French tyre maker says that its latest UHP tyre stops three metres shorter than its PS2 predecessor, as tested by independent firm TUV (using 245/40 ZR 18 samples). Three metres is a big difference, and the PS2 isn’t exactly poor in this respect.

For the event, the control tyre used as a yardstick was the Yokohama S-Drive. Personally, I would have liked to see the PS3 fared up against the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric, which in my opinion is the best UHP on sale today. But the Yoko was picked as it wasn’t easy to find a control tyre that was relevant to each and every country represented at the event, Michelin explained, and the S-Drive is one tyre that was sold in all countries. The event had media members from across Asia including India, Korea and ASEAN countries.

We accelerated to 80 km/h in Corollas before standing on the brakes, and the distance needed for the Altis to come to a complete halt was recorded. This was done twice on both PS3 and S-Drive tyres (225/45 R17), and as you can see from the scoreboard, it was an easy win for Michelin (yours truly is No. 11). Would it have been closer if say, the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 Adrenalin was used? Pierre Azemat, Michelin Asia Pacific Product Manager said that the Bridgestone was used in a similar media event in Australia, and the gap was bigger. Michelin’s internal testing data also says that the PS3 stops 9% shorter than Goodyear’s Eagle F1 Assymetric – very impressive if it’s true.

Besides wet braking, the PS3 also trumped over the S-Drive in wet handling. We guided the Altis through a drenched haripin bend without brakes at about 70 km/h, and it was very apparent that the Yokohamas broke away earlier, and felt more nervous throughout. At that speed, the PS3’s just found enough grip to complete the bend.

Michelin PS3 on the left, Yokohama S-Drive on the right

For the “sport handling” station, both PS3 and S-Drive tyres were fitted on non M-Sport BMW 325i test cars. The loop consists of a hairpin and an S-manouver in the middle of a bend; we were to change direction quickly to duck the cones at about 70 km/h without brakes. It was without surprise that the PS3 outgripped the Yokohama, resisted understeer better, and was easier to guide and control at the limit. In the safe confines of a track, I found the S-drive to be more fun as it enabled the E90’s tail wag around more easily, but you wouldn’t want that kind of fun on a winding road in the real world.

Now, while most won’t put “long lasting” as a top priority when shopping at this segment, a durable performance tyre is still good to have. To ensure the good vibes last longer, Michelin introduces “programmed distortion” for the PS3 (don’t worry, I was initially as clueless at the press briefing). A result of 50,000 hours of simulation and 100,000 km of road testing, this tech works by keeping the rubber tread at optimum temperature at all times – it heats up quickly at low speeds for flexibility needed for good traction and maintains stiffness at high speeds to prevent overheating. This is beneficial to both steering precision and tread life, which are improved over its predecessor.

There was also a “scenic drive” session where we got to try the PS3 on normal roads. The quality of the roads surrounding the circuit wasn’t in tip-top condition; just as well, because only then could we gauge the PS3’s comfort levels. I was given a Mini Cooper, and the Michelins definitely did not add to the Mini’s already lively ride. Cruising at 100km/h, I found the PS3 to be quite silent for a performance tyre as the Mini moved along without roar or any high pitched hum. Steering feel was great and turn in sharp, but that’s mostly down to the car, not the tyre.

So it was a resounding win for the Michelin, but we didn’t expect anything less. While the Yokohama S-Drive is a decent sport tyre, it didn’t offer the stiffest of competition to the PS3, to be frank. Personally, I would have liked to see the Pilot step into the fight club with the Eagle and the Potenza, or even the Continetal SportContact 3, but it’s not easy organising a regional tyre test event to please everyone, and we fully understand Michelin’s constrains.

Let’s not take anything away for the Pilot Sport 3 though. Every new tyre is designed to better current benchmarks, and Michelin aimed at the top when developing the PS3. But what I like the most here is the philosophy behind this product; although it’s built to rival the best UHPs in the market, the PS3 also opens up the benefits of a top sport tyre to the wider public. Thierry Rudloff, Michelin’s regional marketing director sums it up by saying: “You don’t have to be very skilled or have a sophisticated sports car to feel the difference.” This is democracy of technology, and we fully agree!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:30 pm

How much for 195/55-r15?

• i asked a shop and they quote RM233 for 1. so far that’s the lowest i get..

• mr_3m_wancer on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:00 am

I can get it for RM215 :)

Now using 185-55-15 and really loving it :)

• rodimus on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:05 am

I got it RM223 at Seremban Modern tires Shop. Pls go n check!!!

• gooberg on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:02 pm

wats the size of ur tyre? and where’s Seremban Modern tires Shop located which part of sbn?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:54 am

Thanks guys…

• Littlefire on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:41 pm

I have 2 on my Toyota SEG, size 185/55/R15. I might say it worth all the money u spend on it.. Even rainy days, the tire seems to be driving the same during sunny weather.. Thumbs up for PS3!

• How much… y u change 2 only, not 4?

• Littlefire on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:30 pm

RM430 for 2 including alignment.. :P

The other 2 is using PP2 and still got a lot of tread, still consider new as 2008 stock so kept it as rear.

• Kington on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

195/55/15 should be about RM250.

I’m using these on my Vios MK1 of which i was on PP2s previously.

The PS3 is softer and quieter but dry grip is slightly less than the PP2, or perhaps it may improve further with a lil more mileage.

Great gumballs though the Japs offer more grip, but Michelin gives me that quality assurance you can never get with any other tyres.

• im using it now, 195/55/r15…bought at rm 270 per tyre, loving it, the grip especially while braking is fantastic

• dikuen on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm

cool…i change all 4 tire for my civic 215 45 r17 at bukit kuda, klang..each tyre cost me RM 460

• yet to use PS3 but i bet it will superb. Used pilot preceda 2 before switching to hankook v12 (PS3 not out yet). michelin was definitely better. will change back to mich after this one.

• shoon on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:52 pm

in terms of quietness, which is better – the PS3 or LC?
    I know PS3 is for performance but just want to get a simple gauge.
    thinking of changing to LC in another 5K km. could PS3 be a better buy? I drive around 120-140 easily

• mee too want to know the difference between the two..
      Comfort + Quiet.. but with good aquaplanning & handling.. hehe.. very greedy..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:46 am

The LC is a touring tyre while the PS3 is in the UHP class (think Turanza vs Potenza) so they’re not meant to be compared side by side. The LC should be more comfortable and silent

• shoon on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:24 am

Thanks. I’m using Continental Contact 1 now which came with my car. I think either LC or PS3 will be still be better than it in terms of comfort and silentness right?

Lately can feel my tires start to lose its grip especially cornering when the road is a bit wet. My car even oversteered a little recently. Can’t take corners with confidence :(

• Neutral on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:57 pm

can find this tyre at rawang?how much for R17?

• Initial-J on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Is that any REAL MICHELLIN Dealer in Penang?? Wanna find out wht is the price for 185/55/R15?? Support Michellin PS3~

• Littlefire on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Penang main land, Nibong Tebal have 1.. Nam Huat if not mistaken.. Penang Island not so clear.. I think a lot of them are middle guys..

• shiftSpank on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Shouldn’t it be:

Michelin PS3 on the *left*, Yokohama S-Drive on the *right*?

• anak dato' on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:13 pm

for me the tyre tread pattern is really an art. goodyear eagle f1 is the sexiest

• Danny, there is a typo on the pictures showing PS3 and S-Drive. it should be PS3 on the left, S-Drive on the right

• JasJos on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Paul,

PS3 should is on the left, and S-drive on the right.

Anyway, which sizes are made in Thailand and which are made in europe ( I think Hungary)?

• rodimus on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

I’d used it for two weeks already, the performance of this tires is very good n comfort compare to my old tires Continental Compact-1, especially on rainy day!!! Value for money!!!

• shoon on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:19 am

I’m using Continental Contact 1 too. Is PS3 quieter than CC1?

• estima778 on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:23 am

R17;; SLV RM.190.FLK.rm250.YKHM.rm330. MCL.rm360 PS3.rm450 .

• 195/50/R15, i get it -RM 238. love the feel. cornering & wet, braking better.

• Hi All,

Any idea on the price of 265 x 18 x 35 and 235 x 18 x 40?

Thanks in advance.

Salam.

SBS

• Been using 225/40/R18.. RM700/pc.. .. quite and grippy in wet

• firefox on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:07 am

this tyre..i am not sure, 235/40 R18, never use Michelin before,
      you can consider, ContiSportContact 3 or Potenza RE050 or Toyo, since for performance, silent, don care la, when u use this sizes, ur car sound proff should be good enuf already…

• Joe Goh on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I USE CSC2 AND POTENZA RE050 ON MY BEEMER E46 AND E90 BEFORE. CHANGE TO MICHILIN PS2 225/40/18 (RSC) RM1100 ON THE FRONT AND 255/35/18 (RSC) RM1400 ON THE REAR OF MY BMW E90 ON DEC 2009. ITS VERY GOOD ON ALL WEATHER.

RSC – RUN FLAT TYRE

• jolly_idiot on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

buy tyre free chicks? haha

btw, heard michelin is not so long lasting. any info it compare wif goodbye?

• arturo on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

Danny…whats the treadwear and grip rating?

• auto-junkie-but-not-quite on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:11 am

hey dude, saw a mates car with these new ps3

Treadwear : 320 Traction : AA Temperature : A

• arturo on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:43 pm

thanks bro…320 is damn good…previously used RE001 but rated at 220…was gone within a year :( but the best damned tyres i ever used. will give these a try when next i change tyres!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:25 am

Arturo, remember to tell us what you think of the PS3 compared to your current tyres. Happy motoring!

• keluangman on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:35 am

Guys,

Just changed to this tyre. previously was on PP2. Just wanna say this, BEST TYRE ever in terms of grip, comfort and noise.

You won’t regret.

p/s: btw I don’t work for Michelin :p

• kozekx on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:23 am

Sign… no luck for me. I can only take 14″ tyres…

Oh, btw, nice chicks! You took quite a lot of their photos and they are very accomodating, huh? :-)

• Just bought 225/40/R18 last month.. around RM700/pc… silent and grippy in wet

• sadist on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:48 am

I am more interested to see those pretty models upskirt than the boring tyres

• wow… what a cute chick to start my day.

• cordoba1 on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Bought 1 month ago 2 PP2s and now contemplating whether to change the rear 2 with PP2 or go with the new PS3. It is hard to find PP2 now, Guys, any comments whether I shud stick to having 4 PP2s or have 2 PP2s and 2PS3s?? Is limited rotation the only issue? Was using Michelin Energy MXV before but was not totally impressed with it esp in the wet and when the tread had less than 50pct.

• musee on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm

i think you should just rotate it 1st and change 4 at 1 go.. that way you can really tell the differents

• musee on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:41 pm

like to give this a try.. currently using GY Asym and i think is abit expensive. Now i have 1 bubble on my side wall. am i suppose to be angry at the road or tyres? best part is i only used it for less than 10,000 km!! arghhh

• andygwp on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Was using PS2 last time, now changed 2 PS3 tyres at the front (H.City).
    surprised to feel the difference… Much much more quiet, less vibration.
    Really worth the $$$.

• Moses on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:37 pm

My God, the babes are hotter than the sun…..

• wow.
    not the tires, but the CHICKS! =DDDDD

• shukei98 on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Bought 4pcs PS3 195/50R15 @RM230/pc by trading in my NCT 5 on my New Vios 3 weeks ago. Nice handling take 170km/j corner at PLUS highway still feeling firm. Very quite and good tyre on dry. Haven’t tested on Wet though.

• antu raya on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

currentyly use pp2, fell more grip in rainy day.. the end this will try this one

• Ha ha … Shortest brake distance comparing to others…i think test driver cheating the results maa… they can manupulate by how much applying pedal efforts to braking effectiveness. If there any “G” to mesured ??

• Does anybody know the price for 205/50/16 tyres?

• Ultranius (Member) on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:19 am

Dear all bro,

Anyone know the price for 225/45/R17? I stay in subang.

Yours feedback help alot :D

Thanks in advance!

• Joe Goh on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:03 pm

You can call USJ Tyre for Mr. Tay H/p 012-30098999 / 03-56368035. I bought my PS2
      225/40/18 from him
      Bye Kuching

• nanashisan on May 31, 2010 at 11:55 am

bought 225/45/17 at RM470/pc. shop next to kedai papan. klang.

• Ghovin on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Hi nanashisan,
        Do you have the telephone number for the shop

• will2k on Apr 25, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Does anybody know the price of 205/50/R17? I am currently driving mazda 3(2.0)

• szeyun on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:52 am

I just traded in my brand new Toyo Proxes at RM 280/piece the first day I got my mazda 3 2.0 with PS3 205/50/R17 at RM 480/piece. So I paid RM 800 in total.

My comment on the PS3 : SUPERB.
      Maybe it’s also becoz of the car.

• Greetings,

Anyone know the price for 205/40/r17?

Thanks.

• edmond on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:18 pm

anyone know whr to find 185/55/15 ps3..? im using pp2 now almost wear off..

thk you

• edmond on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm

anyone know whr to buy 185/55/15 ps3……thk you

• liwyt on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:57 am

I just bought 4 pc of PS3 from Klang , my tyre size 225/40/18, price RM660 per pc.
    A very comfort performance tyre, and when i cruise around 170 km/h it still feels steady and grip on the road. I love it :)

• bugbear1986 on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:12 pm

yipee! juz done my tyre change today @ bkt mertajam
    got it for rm220 each including nitrogen fillin, balacin + align
    r15/50/195… cant wait to test it @ teluk bahang.. XD

• william on May 04, 2010 at 10:59 am

lolz…I also go teluk bahang too…but mine is RM240 ler…in air itam change…

superb handling

my size 195/50/15

• edmond on May 01, 2010 at 10:31 pm

i just change my tyre yesterday 195/50/15 at rm230 superb handling, quite, very comfort eand just came bck frm genting raining very nice safety…….worth of money.cornering steady and grip.

• Vincent on May 05, 2010 at 6:09 pm

hi guys, do you know the price for 205/55/R16 of the PS3???

• thinking to change back to michelin….now using potenza (last time change due to the rolling noise/ but not much diff on both tyre)..i think michelin give more confident when driven past 200km/h…btw im driving a civic 2.0

• I want to change my honda city 2009 model tyres which are originally fitted with the goodyear 185/55 R16 but there are only 2 models that have this size. The other one is the conti. What u guys think if I get the Michelin PS3 195/55 R16 for my car?

• Gary YAP on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm

A friend who is driving the City had this same issue about availability of tyres. He was advised to get 195/50/16. You can check with Honda for advise.

• Joanne on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:52 pm

How much price for PS3 for size 205/50/R16 per pieces?

• DId you get to compare these to the PS2s?

• LONELY DRIVER on Aug 05, 2010 at 6:01 pm

got mine 195/55R15 at RM230/pc at puchong.
    definately the most comfy tyres i ever used.
    heard that it needs a long time to run in, my friend uses it more than a month. he claimed that the grip and performance are far more better than when new.

this tyre soften my hard suspension feel, like it. as long as girls feel lesser vibration.

• hunchgun on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:25 am

Penang price is always higher than KL for any types of tyres .. :S
    I got it at RM480 each, round up price additional 20 bucks discount, many other quote me likr RM495 RM500 … is a good tyre tough compare with PP1, much better grip and quiet’er. My pp1 side wall broken on both of the front tyre after running for 50k/2years … hope that this has stronger side wall …

• I also looking for replace my old wear PP2 tire to PS3, so where I can get the best price for this tire, Klang or Sunway, my tire is 205/45R17???

• Ghovin on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:53 pm

anybody using PS3 on camry 2.4 2010 model, your comments vs bridgestone turanza
    I find camry is not stable and floating…
    Tire problem or the car it self is such…
    Thank you

• ProTip on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:13 pm

PS3 sidewalls are not really stiff. I doubt it will help with your floating feeling.

Might want to check your rear swaybar. Maybe get a slightly stiffer one with stronger endlinks see if it helps.

• Ghovin on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:54 pm

camry 2010 – 215/55/17 any idea on price

• just recently got 4 new PS3 195/55/r15, rm 210/pcs with trade in falken ze-912 at puchong.
    i would say is a superb tires with excellent both dry and wet handling and comfort
    much much quiet than my old falken tires…
    good choice!

• Juz change my Yoko A.Drive to Michelin PS3.
      The PS3 were superb as i can whack roundabout around 50mph but still getting good steer ability and still no tyre screeching sound yet.
      The main concern is that the A.Drive understeer alot during wet road.
      But i stiil didnt try the PS3 on wet road yet…
      I think no point comparing with A.Drive… :D

• Kim Hong on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:23 pm

If you want better cornering stability, go for the latest Goodyear F1 D 5 tyre!

PS 3 is a good tyre and comfortable and quite quiet when new. I travel to Singapore nearly every week to and fro.

After listening to the tyre boss, I replaced my PS3 with F1 D 5. It is every bit as quiet as PS 3 but with very goo cornering grip than the PS 3. No regrets.

• Ahmad on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Hi, Which tyre (Brand and Model) would you recommend for C200 W203 Kompressor for Malaysian weather?

Price no issue, performance, noise and comfort are priority.

• bawang on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:37 am

buy already 17/45/215 coast 420 per each

• pijano on May 19, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Anyone knows how much it is cost for 225/45 size? Is there any BIG difference on a price wise if i buy it in Rawang/Klang? Kindly advise :)

• Does anyone know if Michelin carries 195/55 16 inch? thanks