Hyundai Elantra facelift makes its debut in Korea

hyundai elantra fl front
Click to enlarge the image.

It was teased online last week, and now the wraps have come off the fifth-generation Hyundai Elantra facelift. The revised MD, badged as the Avante in the Korean market, has made its domestic debut. It’s a minor facelift job, incorporating a few exterior revisions and improved product features.

External changes include redesigned front and rear bumpers – which now extend five millimetres and 15 mm compared to pre-facelift – as well as a new fog lamp design and the adoption of projector headlamps and a LED light guide. The Elantra facelift also features redesigned 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels, a new chrome belt line moulding and LED rear combination lamps.

hyundai elantra fl rear

The interior, meanwhile, features design elements that have been modified with the aim of improving usability, reflecting feedback from customers. The centre air vent position has been moved upward on the dash, while the front centre armrest position has also been raised. Introduced on the facelift are a rear AC vent, a 3.5 inch OLED display and ventilation seats.

The same powertrains and drivetrains continue on, with a 126 hp and 279 Nm 1.6 litre diesel joining the Korean market lineup – the automatic transmission diesel variant is equipped with an ISG (Idle Stop & Go) system. Other gear finding their way on to the facelift are the three-mode Flex Steer system as well as Advanced SPAS (Smart Parking Assist System).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thanks KIA on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 232
    • If you compare this to Saga or Persona of course Proton looks underspecced. Compare this to the same segment Preve in terms of safety, equipments, interior space, ride and handling is the Elantra worth 30k more?
      In terms of advancement, P2 is doing worse than P1 because they don’t have own R & D and essentially only doing reskin of Daihatsu products.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 32
      • no matter how, P2 still sell better than P1.
        R n D proton all the while sleeping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
        • agree, they don’t sell any cars or make any engines right now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
          • rebadge on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:05 pm

ya lo. they don’t make any engines. the campro buy from giant punya

• meanwhile on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:58 am

yes, preve is not from proton but VW, issit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
          • got r&D or not also no difference cause people want a cheap toyota

• toyoto on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:50 pm

yeah 4 gears and old engine, that what Malaysians want!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
      • Compare to the so call “Global Car” Preve in terms all those conditions lagi? LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
        • Oh, then please enlighten me on why you think its so funny to compare this to Preve. Last time i checked both are in the same segment, both offered auto and manual transmissions and both built in this country.

• globalcar on Aug 14, 2013 at 1:04 pm

of course la compare to the equivalent. ok la you know what the elantra sucks shit compared to the m3.

• Dickson Liew on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:19 am

If Proton really doing well, they would be competitive enough compare with korea car in terms of world’s market share. You ought to know that korea & Malaysia start manufacture automobile at the same time. Look at what proton is doing now? How many ppl around the world willing to buy proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
        • Korea and Malaysia start making cars at the same time?!! Where did you read that?!!

Hyundai, the largest car maker in Korea, is older than you and me added together!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • buttrd on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:05 pm

butthurt salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Stuart on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Thanks Korean for bringing the same old face lifted Frog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
    • Sometime i think P1 & P2 should not exit so we can enjoy better cars! sadly only can put the fake Mitsubishi or Toyota badge on the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Whatever it is,still drive like crap. Lousy car.

Stop bringing in Korean junk to Malaysia anymore

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 421 Thumb down 434
    • meng meng on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:21 pm

for you, any car below 300k also is junk.
      or…. you are our national car supporter? are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 85
      • masakroti on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:06 pm

certainly a korean and local car basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Maserati(Official) on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:26 am

I’m not national car supporter, but if you know me well enough I give props to Proton lately for producing some gems.

As for KIA/Hyundai, less said the better cause these are junks!!!

My choice of car below 300k? Mazda of course. Wait for the new Mazda3, it will eat She-rat-to for breakfast, 3 series for lunch and A4 for dinner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 91
        • Lim Guan Eng on Oct 27, 2013 at 8:02 am

Such a childish comment. Eat this car smoke that car. What are u, 18?

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:23 am

Nope,the Honda Civic 2.0 drives so much better than this piece of crap. And how much does a Civic 2.0 costs? RM 130k++

Japanese cars are still so much more superior compared to Koreans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 59
        • Hadi75 on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Bashers will keep on bashing…junk this…junk that but hyundai already the 5th biggest car manufacturer in the world…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • Sam Looser on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 139
          • samololok on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm

yes very butthut one coz he had to throw his bike into mine but the car only scratched a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • 666devil on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:08 am

I dunno how to take this maserati comment seriously. He sound like a toyota salesman which normally is old age, but so childish mind. How I know? Bcoz when I was halfway posting, he can keep refreshing and thumbs up his comment until exactly 100 likes and stop there. I didn’t know there are ppl here that’s childish enough to do this here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 18
  • enrique on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:07 pm

beautifull ! sexy !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 11
  • John Tan on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:12 pm

“126 hp and 279 Nm 1.6 litre diesel” Well, the drivetrain wont come here anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • junaidi on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:38 am

Thats a sad fact. malaysian mentality:
      Diesel = bus = lorry kelapa sawit.
      I think its time the car companies rename their diesel engine line up without the word diesel on it.

• ss427 on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:58 am

Not until Bolehland adopts Euro 5 standard. That oil burner is for Euro 5 markets only.

Singapore may stand a chance though. All new commerical vehicles are required to be Euro 5 compliant by Jan 1 2014. Its Euro 4 now. We already have Euro 5 diesels Optima and i40 as taxis now and they’re one hell of a super taxi. :) Come to SG and take a ride in them and be amazed how far the Koreans have come

• sigh so many news of sub-standard cars recently, waiting for the launch of the V40..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • The Elantra has aged more gracefully than its bigger bro the Sonata, given that it shares the same fluidic design concept that I absolutely loath. It seem it has went for the Honda CRZ route on the facelift, i.e less cosmatic upgrade more internal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • 666devil on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Thanks to Korean cars, new vios FINALLY offering push start for G spec. Pity still no vsc like honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • meng meng on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:05 pm

no worry,next-generation honda city will equip all this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:18 pm

If Honda managed to fully speced like the new Fit.
        City Hybrid and a 7 speed DCT.. Why not?

• 666devil on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Yes I can see honda trying real hard to be competitive again. The jazz ckd aggressive pricing, the city now coming with vsm. Pity umw will never learn, thanks to its way over the top arrogant sales ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • 666devil on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Heck even the well known kedekut mazda also giving out goody specs in maz6. Guess umw will never learn huh?

• John Tan on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:14 am

Harr? Honda City facelift have VSC equipped already. Do some google-ing please. New gen Vios looks great but 80k for a lowest spec is a rip-off. Anyhow it will still be seen all over the road after it launch.

• Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA)or VSC or ESC is already available on the higher spec Grade E and the newly introduce E+ version, but not the base Grade S. Honestly I really don’t get the S; for RM5k more u get waaaay more features in the E than the S, Honda is ripping those off with the S, the E gets way more than what what RM5k actually gives.

• best choice for below rm100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • 666devil on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Unfortunately no longer the case for 1.6 elantra,as cerato 1.6 just launched to claim that category crown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Kuinosan on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Anti Korean car fans out there have another thing coming if they think Hyundai and Kia is going to rest on their laurels and stop their efforts to improve their cars. For your info, Kia and Hyundai have set up their driving dynamics research center in Germany to further improve their new models with better handling and driving dynamics. Their main focus is to produce cars that are both comfy and with high performance handling to boot. Moreover, Hyundai have confirmed their participation in next years WRC rally championship and have prepared an i20 model specially for the said event. So to those who loves bombarding Korean cars, have a great time following the progress of this WRC event! Cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 14
    • SamTheDaiLanNgong on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Good one. I believe most of us have a group of friends who keep on mentioning how bad is a Hyundai/Kia that they design so ugly and dangerous. Next, they will praise the Vios so damn nice and keep mentioning Vios is a 90k+ car. And you cannot deny the fact that, so many Vios driver is hogging the fast lane. Seriously, typical Vios driver should really grow up. AND FYI, i drive BMW 3.

• THOSE RIMS !!! O.O *drools*

So nice to see the standardisation of rear AC vents and park assist. This is a direct response to the new Kia Cerato.

I wonder why Hyundai didn’t go with a black-top like the Kia Optima though…. doesn’t matter, this is still my personal most fav Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • sutheshkumar on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:43 am

that blacktop on the kia optima is the panaromic sunroof, in case you didnt know. Sonata, Tuscon, Santa Fe has them all.

• Your fav Korean car? Give up on Proton already kah? Syukur lah

• carlies on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Not much seen on the road then comes with facelift? Wao, no wonder price drop like hell. Below 60k I also don’t want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • jengga on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:56 am

I don’t earn much so i think if it’s less than 60k, I might just get this. A little luxury compared to my old P1, i think I’ll be happy.

• Sam Looser on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

below 60k oso u can’t afford..stay with ur kapchai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • abahko on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:38 pm

facelift? i dont see any difference besides the rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Kent Chan on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Not sure abt the face lift version. Not a korean car basher. But did drove the elantra for a few days due to work requirement. All the way up to Penang. Not so good. Car steering is a bit shaky when it reach 140km/h +.. Exterior looks cool.. but handling wise not so..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Are you sure, was travelling in the Honda City at 130kph on the NKVE, when an Elantra came behind, tailgatted me and force me to move over and let him throu, I clearly remember it was the 1.8 version, I give an estimate that he was doing 150kph. I thought it was really stable the way I look at it from a third person perspective, maybe you got the 1.6 ver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Vader on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:14 am

When everyone asked to drive safely especially Raya period, u still drive until > 140 kph? Prfff…..

• Pondan sepi on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:53 am

I think the tail lamp looks more interesthig

• Its’ handsomeness fades very rapidly. Sorry to say that 2 yrs from now it would rather look odd just like the Sonata.

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:44 am

Korean good looks with gadgets out of this world and wonderful eye popping specs but in real world hmmm still 2 steps behind Japs in term of reliability and handling..True enough the current Elantra show sign of inferior when travel 150 beyond,Handling is not as good although engine spec is marvelous.If you’re looking for looks,Gadgets and comfort then this is for you..But petrol saving,Maintenance and handling plus long term usage I don’t guarantee that.True enough my wide 2012 Elantra 1.6 handling and engine noise is noted at around 140-150kmh.I still can say its quite average with decent engine and good specs but to put this as Japs killer its a no.Pricing wise and looks can score over Japs/Continental

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • K-POP on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:52 am

It’s true, nearly all Korean things appear to looks good on paper, but can’t work in real life situation.
      New Cerato has 6 airbags and stuff, but recent test in America showed that the bad structure of the car might killed the passenger and the airbags do nothing. Hyundai/Kia were reported for advertising fake mileage and real life driving can’t even come close to it. Not only cars, but also the infamous Samsung Galaxy series. Their phone were programmed to run faster in benchmark apps to appear their phone is faster. Galaxy Series has tons of features such s smart scroll and stuff, which is useless to user, but their phone has very bad build quality compared to it’s Taiwanese, Japanese and American competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • 666devil on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:05 am

If u have not driven the current Altis b4,pls ask show room let u test drive to 140kmh. U will hear all the ocheestra symphony come out. Also, try test drive during raining. I guarantee u it will be louder than in house zinc roof. These are the things salesman won’t tell u or let u test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Developing Stupid Gearbox (DSG) on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:38 am

I drove one before. 150KPH and still steady. And btw how many of us going to drive more than 120KPH in Malaysia?

• BLT CLUB on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:05 am

Believe me, Swift if way louder. I know, I own one!

• ViosTRD on Aug 14, 2013 at 12:11 pm

My Vios can go 140km/h very stable and not noisy. K-pop car like Forte or Elantra no fight at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
        • trd-suk on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:59 pm

ok I know when you press it till 160km/h it will transform into flying car and fly, haha!

• Nah…ive tapau all vios on hway with forte 1.6..truely small dugong..

• Rizal on Aug 18, 2013 at 8:02 am

140km/hr, is that all, Most sedan cars still stable at 160 km/hr. My old proton wira 1.5 (sold in 2001) still stable at 160 km/hr, just with 15 inch rims with 195-50 series tyres and the engine noise is still acceptable. No mods to the suspension.

• RedCRZ on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:15 am

Seriously, is the elantra is in the niche market or what?
    Its a rare car here in kuching. Even the CR-Z sell better here than this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • kadajawa on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:51 am

We can only dream when will Proton ever learn from Hyundai global success and world-class design….

• Proton has a decent R&D department. The problem is that the company is at the mercy of vendors who control what parts can be manufactured. Proton does not have 100% flexibility to engage foreign vendors. When VW explored a potential JV with Proton last time, only 2 vendors passed their quality test n those were foreign companies.

• BusinessPleasure on Aug 14, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Without denying there are sincere working people inside, P1 wont go anywhere if key people keep making decisions on golf courses, karaoke rooms or lux spas, while some other are continue raking pays in their secret accounts. Take eg from Samsung, even a personal meal with a friend of a vendor is prohibited. Bribes in whatever form would lead to all compromises! And Protons are products of compromises!

• Still no electronically retractable side mirrors? What a car…..

• chikaro on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Now I can see the air cond vent is already in the rite place..

• Tobe owner on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Hi, anyone know when the facelift come to Malaysia? I book an Elantra but if it come very soon , I can hold it

• It’s 2014 now, anyone have any idea when is the release date for this facelift model in Malaysia?

I wonder if the 2.0 spec going to be release in Malaysia? I read the review somewhere, 2.0 variant have 173HP and decent acceleration at 0-100 within 8 seconds

• Any idea how i can purchase hyundai elantra sport from other country and ship to malaysia?

• Elantra sport is introduced in Malaysia already. well sort of changes for bodykits and rims package. Not the turbo kind of upgrade.

http://paultan.org/2014/03/27/hyundai-elantra-sport-tucson-sport/