Proton Compact Car: stability control, traction control, hill hold assist, Isofix standard across the range

Proton_Compact_Car_PCC_Iriz_006

Among the raft of information we managed to gather today at the Proton Compact Car media preview event, one thing really stood out – safety.

The Proton Compact Car will come with stability control as standard on all variants, and the top 1.6 Premium model will feature six airbags. All five seat belts are of the three-point variety.

Apart from the use of Hot Press-Formed (HPF) parts and Ultra High-Strength Steel (UHSS) in its construction, the baby Proton will also have ABS with EBD, TCS, Hill Hold Assist (including for manual-gearbox variants) and rear-seat Isofix with top tether as standard across the range.

Seat belt reminders are present for all seats, and the front seat belts are height-adjustable. Both of these are also standard across the range. Airbag count is six on the 1.6 Premium and two on all the rest. The braking system features 14-inch discs at the front and eight-inch drums at the rear.

A presentation slide (we weren’t allowed to take photographs) claimed that the Proton Compact Car’s stopping distance from 100 km/h to zero was 39.51 metres, shorter than the Honda Brio‘s 43.5 metres, Hyundai i10‘s 42.36 metres and Mitsubishi Mirage‘s 40.54 metres.

With all of that, the Proton Compact Car is expecting five-star safety ratings from both ASEAN NCAP and ANCAP (Australian NCAP), and, we’re told, the reality of that is not very far away.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Kek Lapis on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Very good indeed.
    Well done proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Sounds quite good. It remind me of our Toyota Prius C it used to be cheap.

7 airbags, TR, VSC, ABS, EBD, BA, hill assist, regenerative brake, HSD, cruise control, IIHS top safety rating…

Why so expensive now? You know I know everyone know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
      • BadBET on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:29 pm

vios? dont forget your best seller

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Look at Proton best seller then: Saga
          Comfort – No
          Fuel saving – No
          Quiet – No
          Power – No
          Handling – No
          Space – No
          Reliability – No
          RV- Low

When you talk about junk car, this is the typical one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 70
          • ononimos on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:08 am

Sam Loo’s butthurt level is too damn high. Be extra.carefull if you don’t want the butthurtness to penetrate vios zinc roof. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:36 am

When you can’t deny the fact Saga sucks, you talk nonsense. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
          • BadBET on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:49 pm

haha, butthurt
            “7 airbags, TR, VSC, ABS, EBD, BA, hill assist, regenerative brake, HSD, cruise control, IIHS top safety rating… bla bla bla” – talk about prius but than sell people vios by making them believe the spec is on par.

• Saga ok what on Sep 09, 2014 at 5:27 pm

from my own experience of my almost 4years old Saga FL.. not FLX..
            Comfort: 7/10 (ok la for that price)
            Fuel Saving: 6/10 (no speeding lorr)
            Quiet: 5/10 (adoi)
            Power: 7/10 (sufficient enough)
            Handling: 7/10 (superb at cornering)
            Space: 8/10 (i’m ok with the space)
            Reliability: 7/10 (i’m serious)
            RV: 5/10 (bcoz FLX sudah ada maa)

• Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Now they need to replace the satria and saga. Hurry!!

• IRIZLOOKS GOOD on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:44 pm

fantastic. Stablity Control standard across the range and even hill hold for manual. Look like Proton has finally arrived, and in style too. Kudos Proton, you dont know how much the Stability Control being standard even on the cheapest variant means. That plus the airbags and ABS directly translates to many many saved lives. Kudos again!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
    • This is a very good step up for Proton.
      I fear this does not automatically put Proton into the winning circle.
      The Great Wall M4 is already here. About the same price. looks better and have all the safety features too and Six speed auto (instead of rubberband CVT).
      I went to China recently, I can tell you GreatWall M4 isn’t really their top dog car either. More will come once the free-trade agreement is in effect.

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:44 pm

If this true Myvi is going to be so dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
    • jacksonljs on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:22 pm

unless P2 bring back Myvi 1.0SR at price RM35k and below (1.5SE and Extreme were in high danger of eroding sales, even 1.3 might face the same fate unless safety spec upgraded to on par with this PCC). With that kind of handling and chassis, 1 liter engine is enough already for Myvi (1.5 and even 1.3 were deemed too powerful to cope with not so sturdy chassis right now).

• Major Safety Issue on PCC !!! on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 166
    • Lolzer on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:06 pm

You jealous is it? Don’t be sad, your Myvi had its time (not sure about RV though). Like every other things, it must come to an end.
      As for the delay, they could be analysing their 100,000km test run cars for faulty parts. And if they really found something, at least they delayed the launching date instead of selling faulty parts to customers, or else people like you is going to rant about how poor the QC of Proton. Grow a brain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
    • Brake drum not an issue bro ,
      Vios all disc brake = City front disc rear drum
      inch difference in stopping distance.
      All about technology, efficiency,
      Talk to an engineer, u will understand how and why.
      **this car are light,never need all around disc brake.
      It also stops better than Honda Brio,Hyundai I10 and Mitsubishi Mirage ,, so whats your problem ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
    • soya cincau (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Vios also got 2 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Rashuk Khan on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:42 pm

5star ancap (Australiasian NCAP) for premium 1.6 only because equipped with 6 air bag and seat belt reminder for back passanger (New requirement)
      5star Asian NCAP for all variant….don’t misjudge…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Kazanixm on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Nice2…

Now hoping it is not only on the paper

Good job proton!

• hasif on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Wow…it sounds like overkill…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • brazbuz on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:46 pm

VDC standard across the range. I really dont expect that. Kudos proton. Now improve ur after sales please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Folks, this is it, shit just got real.

To Perodua, quoting the TV series Breaking Bad… “All BAD things must come to the end.”

ESC as STANDARD. That is like taking a fish and slapping UMW Toyota for the Vios, VW MY for the Polo 1.6, and most importantly, the Myvi.

You just got my attention Proton. Get the quality right, and the aftersales, and it is almost the end of the Myvi. I’d even bet that tomorrow morning, there is going to be an emergency meeting in Perodua, and a round of discounts are gonna be thrown out for the Myvi. They did that with the S series when the Picanto was about to be launched.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Can use the fish to slap Camry 2.0G owners too. And laugh at their stupidity

• IrizAkuPasti on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:28 am

Third year with my Exora CFE Bold. Been up and down Alor Star to JB many times, stuck at Causeway and Klang Valley jams a lot more times. So far only regular servicing needed, everything working just fine. No regrets and giving me confidence to get another Proton.

Thumbs up for stability control for all PCC. Paul Tan himself wrote a piece about how very important the stability control feature is.

Iriz. Aku pasti, seyakinnya pasti, kaulah satu untuk kuuuu….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Annoynimouse on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Sounds good. I wonder when they started development on the engine. Is it the family-Y? I heard Ricardo did some consultancy work on that. Just curious.
    Also, the stopping performance and the standard safety features sounds good. If only they’d had disc brakes at the rear as well just for aesthetic appeal… I wouldn’t mind adding a few hundred RMs as it will be paid thorough instalments anyway.
    Pity my Savvy is too cheap to trade in.

• Whatt the hell proton this show your car is not safe ler see perodua making really safe car no need vdc(vsc,abs,ebd,hill start) like yours.haih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 72
  • Shut up and take my money!!!

• Veneno on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:54 pm

yes.. good news.. there is no comprimises on safety features for even the basic variant.. Myvi, bye2.. hahahahha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • so who wants to be the early tester?

• zamzama on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:05 pm

a good progress indeed compared to previous models.
    Now, let’s see how it fair on the road….

• nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Wow…game changer this!
    Take a bow son!

• Confirm going to book this car! Can’t wait..

• Oww, i am disappointed. Not because Proton is offering top-notch safety for their smallest car, which is very good news indeed.

I am disappointed because Same Lor haven’t try to twist this positive development about Iriz, yet. His comments always manage to make me laugh so hard, even when i am not in the mood.

• So, you are saying Volvo with all those tech is not safe. Yeah right, only your Myvi is the safest car.

• Zen 8 on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:32 pm

The new Proton will target Myvi owners whose cars are more than 5 years old especially with the withdrawal of the 3 year free service. With more colours choices, right pricing and right specs, it would not be difficult to achieve unless Myvi fights back with more features and better rebates.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:34 pm

It’s too bad that 6 airbags are not standard across the range…. but for a car which costs RM45k or so, there’s only so much we can ask. The fact that all of the electronic systems are standard across the range is incredibly generous of Proton. Well done guys, you have not just set yourself up nicely against Perodua’s Myvi, but more importantly, Proton has the MORAL high ground now as well. If God were watching, he’d give Proton a thumbs up too, no doubt.

The only two things that are still bugging me right now are; 1. whether or not it will really be 5 STAR ANCAP rated and 2. whether it will be called Proton Iriz or Proton Aero. Can’t sleep properly until Proton gives conformation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Good job proton ! Hope the price can is not too expensive.

• Konchi on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Kudus proton. Have never owned a proton before but already put booking for premium model at Taman Tun branch on 6/9/14. Hope I will not b disappointed.

• RoKie on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Kudos Proton. The car looks great in all aspects. I’m happy to see that we are setting the standards in safety, so as to “force” other manufacturers to comply, through competitive offerings.

Wish you all the luck in the world, and let us Malaysians start by supporting them for this great looking and safe car.

• alàhai on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Hope this car is good and have good acceleration. I bought a saga last year and for 20 months this car serve me well. Now clock nearly 80,000 km. Service every 10,000km. The only problem i’m facing is the lack of actuator on passengers side. The drumbrake is still noisy as ever.

• well done proton… however, i still not confident with the engine.. still using CFE? engine bising? engine mgaum turun bukit?

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:19 pm

“Apart from the use of Hot Press-Formed (HPF) parts and Ultra High-Strength Steel (UHSS) in its construction”.

Omg, is this true? It is absolutely costly by using hot press formed parts and ultra high-strength steel. This kind of method mostly found on Continental-car. Hot Press-Formed require heat up the UHSS up to 900 C degrees to stamp the shape and immediately cooling afterward. This kind of steel is hard to bend and it provide high level of safeness to the passenger.

Compare to normal Asian car using the normal steel, it use hydraulic machine to stamp the shape of the part (without heating and cooling process). This kind of part generally light weight and less strength, and most importantly is “save cost”.

It is really well done Proton on this PCC. Now I understand why Proton dare to call this PCC as Global Small Car. Can’t wait to see the real car to provide all the gadgets are true. Hehe!

• Sam Loo Sucks on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Can see the sincerity of proton. By having full safety spec across all models they start to really care about customers. Unlike perutdua which only loves your money. Don’t give a shit if you skid n crash. I surely choose this over greedy perutdua even if its priced 10% more than myvi.

• mystvearn on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:21 pm

I like those seat belt adjuster and reminder thingy :D
    Not present on the Suprima S. This is shaping like the car to buy from Proton

• Proton is the best.Plus,the Iriz is the Global Small Car.They are tested on ice.To Same Lorr,if you dont like Proton,please get out of Malaysia.You are doing rubbish speaking right here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • victor tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:08 am

I wonder why he needs to get out from Malaysia?
      Seriously, your comments make us(local automotive supporters) looks stupid.

• 8sg9ft on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:17 am

Have to give credit to Proton for putting safety as one of the top priorities when a lot of other foreign car manufacturers don’t really emphasize it on their Malaysian models. The Premium variant for this new car offers a whole lot more than the Myvi Extreme. It’s a better-looking car from the front as well. The back though is so-so for me. But it is feature-loaded, so I expect it to be giving the Myvi a very good run for its money. Job well done for Proton. Hopefully reliability of their cars isn’t so much of an issue anymore too nowadays.

• Using high tensile steel is good for safety just like Preve, Suprima and Exora. If you overturn the roof won’t crush. Some parts of Saga FLX and BLM also have high tensile steel. With ESP/VSP you will not skid even when one wheel kena kelopak air/ water. With traction control, the car is so stable/has grip when in the rain. Formula one cars have traction control, if not melayang/terbabas when taking corners.