Toyota C-HR compact crossover launched in Japan – 1.2L Turbo 4WD, 1.8L Hybrid 2WD, from RM97k

Toyota has launched the C-HR in Japan, where the compact crossover will be available at all Toyota, Toyopet, Toyota Corolla and Nets dealerships. Toyota hopes to sell 6,000 units of the “Coupe-High Rider” per month in its homeland.

The C-HR is the second vehicle to sit on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) platform after the current Prius. However, Toyota is promising “responsive driving performance” courtesy of global testing and suspension tuning (front MacPherson struts, rear double wishbones) conducted on European roads. The platform is said to be 65% stiffer than Toyota’s previous C-segment base.

The big T even highlighted the C-HR’s participation and completion of the 44th 24 Hours of Nürburgring endurance race under Toyota Gazoo Racing in May to prop up the crossover’s credentials.

Two engines will be available in Japan, a downsized turbo engine and a hybrid powerplant. The 1.2L turbocharged four-pot is the 8NR-FTS with 115 PS and 185 Nm of torque. The JDM car is paired to a Super CVT-i transmission with a seven-speed “sequential shiftmatic” mode, and 4WD.

The hybrid option will prove popular in Japan, thanks to its 30.2 km/l fuel economy in the Japanese cycle (15.4 km/l for the 1.2L). The main actors are a 1.8 litre VVT-i Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine, a pair of electric motors and a CVT gearbox, the same combo powering the Prius. The hybrid is 2WD-only.

Toyota says that both the hybrid and 1.2L turbo versions have been certified with exhaust emission levels that are 75% lower than Japan’s “2005 Exhaust Emissions Standards” and both are enjoy tax breaks for environmentally-friendly vehicles. The Toyota Safety Sense P collision avoidance assist package is offered as standard across the board.

Also standard for all (S-T, G-T, S and G; T for turbo) are an electric parking brake, three-spoke leather steering wheel and keyless entry/push start. G and G-T cars get 18-inch wheels, LED front fog lamps, blind spot monitor, front and rear parking assist sonar, and fabric-leather combination seat covers. Prices in Japan start from 2,516,400 yen (RM97,359) for the 1.2L S-T to 2,905,200 yen (RM112,027) for the Hybrid G.

It’s been a long time since a production Toyota’s design captured the imagination of so many, and ASEAN will be eager to welcome the C-HR. In the meantime, early bird Honda is happily raking in the sales with the HR-V. Like what you see?

GALLERY: JDM Toyota C-HR

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mikey on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Of all the Hybrid cars in the Toyota/Honda lineup, this C-HR is the best looking vehicle from the land of the rising sun. This will give HR-V & CX-3 a run for their $$$. Only time will tell if it outsell the dominant HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Sama L00 on Dec 14, 2016 at 11:44 pm

Simple Maths:
      Prius C Japan RM60k, Malaysia RM150k (2.5 times)
      CHR Japan RM100k, Malaysia sure RM250k++
      Somemore MYR drop like hell…

Why so expensive? Ask your beloved government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:54 am

Ha Ha Ha. What a joke RM97k. That will never happen.

Remember, UMW is Gomen owned. For 20 years, our Gomen never even gave any VSC in all their Vios, Altis and Camry cars whilst the global versions had VSC and 6 airbags. (We had only 2 until last month)

Our Gomen more interested in giving us low spec cars and high prices. Be prepared for this car to be sold at exorbitant prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • karam singh on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:30 am

you are an idiot. and a joker. tell me what car 20 years ago has VSC? the answer is none. except perhaps, merc S class and bmw 7 series.

wait, first generation corolla altis 1.8 and camry 2.4 did have VSC as standard. dont you know? market leader lah toyota. that was 2001 (altis) and 2002 (camry)

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:47 pm

2001 Altis got VSC? That was 15 yrs ago. What is the difference between 15 and 20 yrs? Just of it is that over 15 yrs we are being ripped off

• Mohammad on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Thanks to who? You must thank that Proton creator who started all these mess

• Mah Bow San on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:47 am

Good design overall but in term of power,quite disappointing.Produce only 115ps for turbo version? Same weight as Honda city.How bout fuel efficiency vs weight ratio? Not that good,coz this one surely heavier.And the 1.8NA obviously carry over altis power which is not not impressive.The Japan price for this turtle already started at 97k ringgit,expect bolehland price around 130k.Yes design is nice but lack of power,typical Toyota.Coz people people die die will buy.Late comer in SUV,so we have many other proven options to compare.Not the best for sure.
      On the other hand i can give u typical comments here..to say, Toyota is the best coz reliable and good RV.That’s why Toyota is no 1 in the world.Who need a fast car coz Malaysia road every where jammed.U see me i see u each other.Bycle faster than all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • karam singh on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:06 am

Toyota got overtaken by VW broooo.
        RV in Malaysia not so good, prefer buying new Toyota or older ones (without Stability Control).
        People now smart, Toyota RV going down for older model coz dont have that kind of safety, admit that

• It’s a 1.8L NA hybrid, you idiot. Ever heard of Toyota Prius?

• aquila on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:30 am

I doubt it from price POV

• ben yap on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm

if it’s in Malaysia, UMW will start the price from RM120K.

• xem6861 on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:56 am

Or worse, recond?

• Low2215 on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:45 am

I think it will be more , vellfire in japan cost 4 millon yen . this one cost 2.5 millon , you can more or less make your own price prediction .

• 1.2 turbo should qualify as EEV right..?

• Kuntaw on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:49 am

What u think UMW will give u EEV incentive? They eat themselves loh.Look at Vios price.What different?

• aquila on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:32 am

They’ll only give EEV if it’s assembled here in Msia

• Toyolta on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Sampai malaya harga confirm > rm150k..

• Aragon on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Cheapest HRV is selling under 100k here. Doubt this one will be cheaper since already 97k in Japan.

• Hanam on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:52 am

HRV going to teach a facelift version,so expect many safety and others equipments Honda will slot in

• kanazai2001 on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:57 pm

pls bring in da hybrid…
    below 2L hybrid, should b lower tax structure… ^_^

• thepolygonal on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Very nice looking… just a bit concern about it’s actual size.

• Umw hopefully dont bring this in if u were to strip out the specs.. fortuner diesel specs got stripped off, i cancelled my purchase for that..

• Any sifu here can estimate how much will it be in Malaysia after the excise tax, GST and import duty?

• Take HRV jepunis price compare and see the difference here. Add this to CHR jepunis price.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 14, 2016 at 6:24 pm

It is even cheaper in Australia and in the United States. Good luck Malaysia

• Not yet available in US or Aussie, so how to gudluck?

• Bunga on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:57 am

Bcoz we Malaysian are rich and generous,so what! You not afford is it? So poor? Drive proton lah!

• Fuuuu, so cheap.

• Leafable on Dec 14, 2016 at 6:52 pm

RM200k when they reach here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Jeffrey Chew on Dec 14, 2016 at 7:19 pm

You will see this model in Singapore probably late Feb next year. The grey importers has already started to collect deposit from the interested buyers

• Mohd Faiz on Dec 14, 2016 at 7:22 pm

if my GEN2 rear jack up one foot will look like this one here. also blue color. thumb me up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Bernard on Dec 14, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Toyota is the best. If only its pricing can be adjusted 50% lower here…

• when its coming to malaysia

• i like this chr more than honda’s hrv. should be perfect for city driving

• Andrekua on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:09 am

Another B segment hitting 6 figures… please…

• Kodeng on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:21 am

112000 for top spec CHR still considered cheaper than 122000 HRV spec V

• IAMNIKON on Dec 15, 2016 at 8:19 am

Design wise looks very bold compare to the rest in the segment, and if it is to compete with HRV then the price should be within RM90K to RM130K. Fare enough.

• guys don’t compare it with HRV, this one for sure gone be more expensive.. as long Malaya got UMW, u won’t get a reasonable price. Their know nor matter how cheap material their put on and sale it with higher price, compare it with others brand and for sure still got people gone buy on it. cause Toyota is a world brand. so how? u know I know….burn the AP!

• zaam zaam ala kazaamm on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:23 am

Mazda CX3 2017 much more better than this low power Toyolta…

• Dont think it will be priced anywhere near the HRV. The UK and japan prices shows its selling at a higher premium compared to even the Mazda 3

• Seems to priced above the Prius in Japan

• Doubt UMW will bring in Hybrid variant, unless they able to nego with Toyota Japan to have CKD or SKD for hybrid variant in order to enjoy EEV incentive, if they willing to pass the EEV incentive to consumers la…

Good example on hybrid is Hyundai IonIQ. Prices here are cheaper than UK IonIQ prices.

• Levin on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:01 am

Good that it’s finally launched in Japan. However, I will take half a year or one year by the time UMW decides to bring downgraded spec CHR to our country and sell it at a premium for a quick profit. No, you wont see 18″ wheels fitted nor you’ll get the Toyota Safety Sense collision mitigating system as standard (or even optional) when this car goes on sale here. The only way this is gonna sell well if UMW assembles this locally, which is very likely to happen. UMW will play it safe by just bringing in one spec, which could be the 1.8L model because majority of Malaysian mindset looks down on tiny 1.2L engines. Just like the HRV where in Japan, you get to choose between 1.5 Hybrid and even a AWD system but locally you only get 1.8 with plus/minus accessories added between the low-mid-full spec HRV.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:53 am

Only if Toyota ckd the hybrid here like the Camry else it will have same fate as Prius which is super overprice.

• Toyota 86 in japan around 2,600,000 yen.. come to malaysia and its RM250,000..

Toyota C-HR 2,500,000 and come to malaysia? u figure
    RM200,000..? remember RAV-4..?

• wow rm97k, might as well go for new mazda cx 5 at rm94k

• nighttrain on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:42 pm

How much is a H-RV in Japan? Is it the same price as the C-HR? If same, then you’d expect the same price here lah, regardless of it’s pricing in Japan, am I right or am I right?

• abualiahmad on Jul 10, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Got vios look in it. Malaysian hate vios right?