GALLERY: Toyota C-HR – more images of crossover

2016-toyota-c-hr-hybrid-3

If you ever wanted an in-depth look at the all-new Toyota C-HR, you’ve come to the right place as the company has released some 100 or more images of its compact crossover, which first made its global debut back in March this year.

Built on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the second vehicle to be built on the platform after the fourth-generation Prius, the C-HR measures 4,360 mm long, 1,795 mm wide, 1,555 mm tall and has a wheelbase spanning 2,640 mm.

Depending on the market it will be sold in, there will be three powertrain packages available for the C-HR, including a hybrid option. The first is the 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo four-cylinder (from the facelifted Auris), delivering 115 PS and 185Nm of torque through either a six-speed Intelligent Manual Transmission or a CVT, the latter with a choice of two- or four-wheel drive.

The second is a 2.0 litre CVT variant, which is likely fitted with the same 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine as the Corolla Altis with 147 PS and 187 Nm. Finally, there’s the C-HR’s hybrid powertrain, consisting of a 1.8 litre VVT-i Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine and a pair of electric motors, the same combo found on the new Prius.

2016-toyota-c-hr-hybrid-9

From a design standpoint, the “Coupe-High Rider” is certainly unlike any previous Toyota, with plenty of diamond architectural cues seen throughout its design. As the company plainly puts it, “the C-HR’s combination of facetted gemstone-like shapes with fluid surfaces and elegantly integrated detailing create a delicate balance of precision and sensuality.”

Up front, you’ll find the latest interpretation of Toyota’s Under Priority and Keen Look design identity, featuring a slim upper grille that meet up with the car’s slender headlamp clusters before extending into a pair of character lines that swoop down the sides, ending at the rear taillights.

At the rear, the shapely taillights encroach into the top-hinged tailgate, accompanied by more angular lines. When viewed from the sides, the C-HR’s coupe-like styling becomes even more apparent, with flared wheel arches to enhance the visual impact.

Similarly, the C-HR’s cabin mirrors the exterior’s fresh design, with a driver-centric cockpit, framed by blue accents for the hybrid variant. The main standout item here is the 8-inch colour touchscreen sticking out of the centre stack, providing access to the car’s infotainment system. The car can be equipped with a nine-speaker, 576 watt JBL premium audio system for a better aural experience.

2016-toyota-c-hr-interior-1

According to Toyota, there are three main surface finishes in play here – leather-like for all background surfaces, a smooth Nappa grain for all touching surfaces and technical grain for all functional elements such as switchgear. Also available are three colour schemes – dark grey, black/blue and black/brown.

In terms of safety and driver assist features, the C-HR comes with Toyota Safety Sense as standard for certain markets. The system includes a Pre-Collision System (including Pedestrian Recognition), Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beam and Road Sign Assist. Other additional systems include a Blind Spot Monitor, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and an Intelligent Parking Assist System.

Production of the C-HR has already begun at Toyota Motor Manufacturing Turkey (TMMT) in Sakarya, Turkey, where it will be exported to European markets. This will be followed by markets outside Europe, which include the United States, Canada, Taiwan, Mauritius and South Africa.

Interested? Well, we haven’t gotten any information as to when UMW Toyota Motor plans to bring in the C-HR to the Malaysian market, but it is surely an important product in light of the growing SUV segment. Let us know what you think of the C-HR in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ah Kow on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Great looking car! but the back hmm….. got a taste of civic rear lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • lilytan on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Wont be available here in Msia. Too high end for our third world standard set by T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:26 pm

You are right.
        Low class people think that having sunroofs run the risk of water leakage and it is very hot and bright having sunroofs.
        And low class people tell you that fabric seats are better, they are warmer in cold weather, and cooler under hot sun.
        Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • KLjam on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:52 pm

So where is Traffic Jam Assist?

• If it goes to Taiwan, it will go to Thailand and comes to Malaysia… just wait-lah :)

• Alex259 on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:47 am

Hi end?? haha
        Which part of Toyota ever been Hi end,my friend!!
        Toyota and other Japs makes can only impress you by it”s LOOK!! Never bother about safety,insulation, engine performance, handling, …..etcs!
        Anyway, This is just another Toyota”s crap!!

• Drillero on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:18 pm

High End for Toyo is not CHR or whatever but Lexus. Big puzzle, since when toyo or Sirion are high end? LOL

• Alfie on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Nuff said.. Desirable Toyota

• bereader on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Front – copy P1 Emas, back copy civic
        Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • In other words, crab pincers rear lights.

• Levin on Nov 17, 2016 at 2:33 pm

The rear lamps actually copied over from Civic Type R FK2R.
      http://images.car.bauercdn.com/pagefiles/10481/1752×1168/4hondacivictyper.jpg

• AL Law on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Very interesting vehicle at what price???

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:51 pm

WAKE UP PEOPLE!
    Why do we have to pay 30% more for new cars?
    If no car tax, our cars will be affordable Langkawi car prices!

ALTIS 2.0V CKD
    RM138,900 Peninsula price
    RM90,405 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM48,495 or 34.91% more

ALTIS 1.8G CKD
    RM123,900 Peninsula price
    RM83,595 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM40,305 or 32.53% more

ALTIS 1.8E CKD
    RM120,900 Peninsula price
    RM80,591 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM40,309 or 33.34% more

VIOS 1.5J (AT) CKD
    RM79,800 Peninsula price
    RM63,710 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM16,090 or 20.16% more

CAMRY 2.0E CKD
    RM154,900 Peninsula price
    RM104,448 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM50,452 or 32.57% more

SIENTA 1.5V A/T CBU
    RM99,900 Peninsula price
    RM66,224 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM33,676 or 33.71% more

HILUX DOUBLE CAB 2.4G (AT) 4X4 CKD
    RM121,900 Peninsula price
    RM115,696 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM6,204 or 5.09% more

FORTUNER 2.7 SRZ AT 4X4
    RM199,900 Peninsula price
    RM124,400 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM75,500 or 37.77% more

Just look at the margins the government and car companies made!
    Are we being overcharged by car manufacturers?
    That is why I do not want to support the government and their local car industry!
    Wake up people!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 14
    • tan sari on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:17 pm

your % of paying more is all wrong, it should be more like 75,500 over 124,400 = 60% that we are paying more compare to Langkawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:05 pm

YES YOU ARE CORRECT
        Here are the revisions…

ALTIS 2.0V CKD
        RM138,900 Peninsula price
        RM90,405 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM48,495 or 53.64% more

ALTIS 1.8G CKD
        RM123,900 Peninsula price
        RM83,595 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM40,305 or 48.21% more

ALTIS 1.8E CKD
        RM120,900 Peninsula price
        RM80,591 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM40,309 or 50.02% more

VIOS 1.5J (AT) CKD
        RM79,800 Peninsula price
        RM63,710 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM16,090 or 25.26% more

CAMRY 2.0E CKD
        RM154,900 Peninsula price
        RM104,448 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM50,452 or 48.30% more

SIENTA 1.5V A/T CBU
        RM99,900 Peninsula price
        RM66,224 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM33,676 or 50.85% more

HILUX DOUBLE CAB 2.4G (AT) 4X4 CKD
        RM121,900 Peninsula price
        RM115,696 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM6,204 or 5.36% more

FORTUNER 2.7 SRZ AT 4X4
        RM199,900 Peninsula price
        RM124,400 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM75,500 or 60.69% more

LEXUS IS200t
        RM297,800 Peninsula price
        RM183,627 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM114,173 or 62.18% more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Wait..why does langkawi has lower prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Ah Kow on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Duty free mah

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:09 pm

You guys ready for this?

LEXUS LX570
        RM923,960 Peninsula price
        RM524,057 Langkawi price
        You are paying RM399,903 or 76.31% more

YES! 76.3% MORE!!

What is the duty tax rate?
        Are they overcharging us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:21 am

the prices are all the same.

all cars in malaysia are subjected to minimum 75% of excise duties.

cars imported from ASEAN countries enjoy AFTA tariff – no tax applies. but cars imported from outside ASEAN like europe, japan or USA are subjected to CBU import tax. cars like lexus LX570 has 193% or taxes in it.

example

– car price ex factory – rm140K

– import tax, customs duty = 193% = 270K

– sub total 410k

– insurance, freight, handling charges, storage + profit margin + hidden discounts = 200k

there you go = 610k

• tax the rich. It is ok.

• takNakP1 on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:51 pm

wake up!!!…
      your dream is not going to happen in your life time.

• Ah Kow on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Why ah? because of National Automotive Policy lo. To potek our precious national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Albert on Nov 14, 2016 at 7:40 pm

The only way(hopefully) for lower car prices is regime change.But even if opposition wins,the rm10Billion in car taxes annually is too difficult for any ruling gomen to part.
      CurrENTLY ,Langkawi prices for us here is a MYTH.
      HIGH CAR PRICES will be the norm here in Bolehland for years to come.

• Clarified on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Since Toyota product is not good to you but WHY U keep focusing in TOYOTA car pricing? Why not Honda or Nissan? Are u a salesman which just want to condem Toyota so others will buy your brand?

• tototachr on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:56 pm

nice outlook, nice rims, nice engine..
    futuristic interior..
    if UMV bring in Msia, set the selling price is crucial

• azhar on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:59 pm

much better designed than my HRV…expecting it to be pricier than HRV..they were late to the SUV compact party, but its certainly worth the wait..welcome to the club Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:00 pm

This will not do for a family car…the rear windows are too high up and u will have difficulty looking out from the rear seat. Furthermore the rear seats don’t fold down flat so the lip will get in the way for carrying bulky items and somehow the centre screen is positioned too high up that it will block short drivers from looking forward in some positions.

• lithium on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:26 pm

totally agree. those seating at the back will feel claustrophobic with the high winder and super thick c-pillar. doubt you can see outside the car at all. the rear hatch lip also open quite high making loading a task.

this is basically a looker and target at young single or couples.

• Joshua on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Saw headlines Toyota, then scroll down saw tail lights. looks exactly like honda civic 9th generation. If they changed that logo and put a H in the middle i would believe its a honda car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota is copying Honda design elements, but thats okay cuz we dun persoal jepunis overlords, and just shaddup & buy like zombies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • karam singh on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:25 am

wrong bro. CHR concept car first appeared in 2014. long before civic FC – which looks like crab hand btw. it is honda actually which copied toyota.

• Dugong vios morph into flowerhorn CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • takNakP1 on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:56 pm

i have a C-HR
    i have a HR-V
    Unghh!!!
    i have a C-HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • d hrv is more practical
    But the toyota is more desirable

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 14, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Consider a used Tucson. Great value for money

• Cramped rear on Nov 15, 2016 at 8:56 am

Can average adults seat comfortable in the rear seat

• Henry on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:29 am

I like.

UMWT should assemble the hybrid version here to take advantage of the EEV incentive. This would reverse the company’s fortune and recapture lost market share.

• Mikey on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:45 am

In the looks department, this C-HR beats the H-RV hands down. If/when this crossover were to come to M’sia competing with H-RV, M’sian will have more choices compare with only CX-3 & H-RV currently.

• carazy on Nov 15, 2016 at 3:44 pm

C-HR will triumph if the price is correct. About the same price with H-RV “+” or “-” but not to much, plus with the right features offered, H-RV sale will suffer. But if UMW is greedy, and place the price higher or about the same with CX3, I would say Honda can lean back, lou and watch C-HR small sale.

• Then why not you look at the quality of Honda build HR-V?if price determines all about cars without quality then why but Japanese cars? Just buy P1 or P2…. if u don’t know much about cars then shut up

• Boboy on Nov 25, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Why so many hate for the car?