Toyota C-HR – production HR-V rival officially unveiled

2016-GMS_Toyota-C-HR_07

Leaked over the weekend, the Toyota C-HR has finally been unveiled at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show today. This is the world’s largest carmaker’s entry into the burgeoning B-segment crossover market, designed to take the reigning Honda HR-V head-on for class honours.

As astonishing as it is, the C-HR – for Coupe High Rider – looks very similar to the striking concepts shown at Paris 2014 and Frankfurt 2015, albeit slightly toned down. The slim grille blending into the large headlight clusters (full-LED units with light guides and sequential indicators), strong haunches, tiny side windows and C-shaped tail lights (LED lighting optional) are all present and accounted for.

As hinted by the Frankfurt concept, the C-HR is a five-door vehicle, although it doesn’t look it from some angles – like the HR-V, the C-HR has hidden rear door handles, mounted high up on the trailing edges of the doors. Designed at the Calty design studio in California, the car is built on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the second vehicle to be built on the platform after the new Prius.

Measuring 4,350 mm long, 1,795 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,640 mm, the C-HR is 56 mm longer, 23 mm wider and 55 mm lower than the HR-V; its wheelbase is also 30 mm longer than its rival. Vis-à-vis the Mazda CX-3, the Toyota is 75 mm longer, 30 mm wider and 15 mm taller, with a wheelbase some 70 mm longer.

2016-GMS_Toyota-C-HR_08

The driving dynamics are said to be a match for the precision and control of a modern C-segment hatch thanks to the new platform’s refinement and low centre of gravity, allowing the C-HR to “carry its speed through corners with excellent body control and steering fluidity.”

Three powertrains will be available for the C-HR, including a hybrid version likely derived from the new Prius – it delivers 122 PS and incorporates a 1.8 litre engine with a record maximum thermal efficiency of 40%, the same claimed for the Prius. Carbon dioxide emissions is quoted at under 90 grams per kilometre.

Also available is the 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo four-pot introduced on the facelifted Auris, delivering 115 PS from 5,200 to 5,600rpm and 185Nm between 1,500 and 4,000rpm. It is mated to either a six-speed manual transmission or a CVT, the latter offered with either two- or four-wheel drive.

A 2.0 litre CVT variant, possibly fitted with the same 147 PS/187 Nm 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i four-pot as the Corolla Altis, will also be available in certain markets – will this be what we are getting, to take on the 1.8 litre HR-V and the 2.0 litre CX-3?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments show strong admiration for the Toyota C-HR's stylish and modern design, with many users noting it is more attractive and futuristic than the Honda HR-V. Some express excitement about its potential performance and appearance, mentioning the Lexus-inspired look and bold exterior. Price expectations hover around RM120k to RM200k, with concerns about pricing and features in Malaysia. A few comments compare it favorably to other crossovers like the Mazda CX-3, Nissan Juke, and Subaru XV, emphasizing its unique design and potential sales appeal. There are also some doubts about interior details and availability, but overall, the sentiment is positive, viewing the C-HR as a significant and appealing addition to the compact SUV segment.

• 40% thermal efficiency..

Yeah, at idle, or coasting so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
    • I have to admit this car is nicer than the HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 02, 2016 at 1:42 pm

At idle you are looking on 0% thermal efficiency since you are NOT moving.

If the CHR too expensive here, say thanks to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • simple on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:41 pm

If is too expensive then continue buying HRV lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Same lorr bought saga for son on Mar 02, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Thanks to u too! Why the heck u bought saga for your son? If the purchase not happen p1 lost 1unit saga back then n surely not enough rm500 to running the production line,hence close shop already!Thanks to u same lorr!! Becoz of u proton still alive! U make msian buy expensive car by your mistake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Yap i oso admit n admire it very nice. Hehe. Looks like Coupe yah cos back door kind a hidden n very fit.

• karam singh on Mar 02, 2016 at 9:34 am

this is the reason toyota is no 1 in the world. and honda is only no 1 in malaysia. that also after 20 years being second to Toyota.

this car is superb and brilliant. i like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
      • Price Matters on Mar 02, 2016 at 4:37 pm

You won’t say that if they sell this at 200K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Stylesurfer on Mar 02, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Bear in mind that the Honda C-RV is the no. 1 selling Crossover in the United States. On the other hand Toyota is well known for the Prius.

• Got knowledge or not? on Mar 12, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Wow really dumb.The Asia’s Detroit made Honda no1 one year earlier ko.Then Malaysia follow suits as most Honda model lineups currently sell like hot fried banana esp city,accord,hrv,jazz,crv

• carazy on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:42 am

Sam Loo will be rich. You got my deposit.

• I suppose it’s 40% at all time, meaning that it uses less fuel.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Wow stunning and beautiful…it makes the HRV looks lame and cheap…only the CX3 comes close…kudos Toyota u nailed it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 13
    • Atilla on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Yeah the HrV was good on paper but got too ubiquitous too fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Jimmy on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:49 pm

To me, the most cantiq one is Countryman followed by CX-3, both sama-sama qecil.
      This Toyota anytime can be the most expensive, with 2 + 0.
      The most value-for-money of course is ASX or CX-5 at this price bracket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Neutral on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Sam Loo is smiling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • bawakereta on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:42 pm

wow! cun wooo! harapnya sampai malaysia this car come in full spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • dr maha on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:42 pm

cun giler!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Very Lexus-ish exterior. Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • mr yun on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 165
  • mr yun on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 173
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:00 pm

If this C-HR is interesting, I can’t wait to see the Lexus UX design…

Ugly Fortuner –> Sharp-edged RX
    So-so Rav4 –> Aggressive NX
    Nicely done C-HR –> Awesome UX…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • kanazai2001 on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:22 am

So-so Rav4 –> Aggressive NX — YEAH!!!
      Nicely done C-HR –> Awesome UX…!!! — rumors… wish it comes true… =P

Ugly Fortuner –> Sharp-edged RX?! @@

fortuner is pickup based SUV: body on frame chassis, with RWD or hardcore 4X4 layout…

RX is FWD sedan based SUV: Monocoque chassis, with FWD or AWD layout…

@@

• cuntoyota on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:16 pm

look at those door handles…anything is possible in the presence of competition

• karam singh on Mar 02, 2016 at 9:52 am

you mean hidden door handles? that original design was on Alfa Romeo 156 in 1998. lucky Alfa Romeo didnt pattent that… they cant anyway because of design variations. but honda not the first.

• arteu32 on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:28 pm

HR-V’s rear door has proved difficult for vertically impaired passengers…wonder this design would include a rear step factory fitted to aid them…

• shawal on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:16 pm

plonk the 2.0 from the camry , not the corolla…
    or the 2.0 from GT86 lol…

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2016 at 3:18 pm

camry is using the 1AZ-FE 2000cc engine, which is already more than a decade old.

while Corolla is using the latest generation 3ZR-FE which features dual VVTI technology.

the engine for GT86 is actually designed and built by Subaru as they are a specialist in boxer engine design. it it not made by Toyota.

• Head Hunter on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:34 pm

A Poor Man’s NX? Sam Loo must be salivating..

• Front looks good but isnt the rear a bit too “futuristic” ? A bit overdone like the new gen of prius

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • zoom zoom on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Very nice! better than HR-V and CX3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
  • cikgu on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:51 pm

this car going to be hits. But if the price very high then honda HR-V for example the Mazda CX-3, it will not going attract a lot of buyer. Buyer buy HR-V because it has great look, low price than other SUV. Also has great concept how small SUV should been make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Jobless on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:23 pm

HRV look actually sucks.only the rear looks ok a bit dunt understand why willing to wait months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • because in malaysia if you want a high-riding car that doesn’t look anywhere as ugly as the Toyota Rush, the HRV is the only choice that could be bought for RM100k. That’s why.

• Henry on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:30 pm

I want to buy this car. Sam Loo, come take my deposit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • TOYONDA on Mar 01, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Vios headlights & Civic taillights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Honda called. They want their civic x rear & hr-v name back. Oh, and ford called to claim back their focus hb roof line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • transformer on Mar 01, 2016 at 10:10 pm

first is Suzuki Vitara then its Toyota RAV4, then Honda CRV, Nissan X-Trail

then came smaller Nissan Juke/Qasqhai, the recent Honda HR-V, Mazda CX-3 and now Toyota C-HR!

• Wow…why everyone overlook subaru xv all wheel drive ? Does crv or hrv or chr or cx5 or çx3 is a all wheel drive ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • helmi on Mar 01, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Personally I like the design. It’s Toyota anyway. But I’m having a nightmare thinking of greedy UMW with ripped off pricing against specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • yup look awesome. but u cant deny, the design cues are all from other car makers. so, copycat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • CARter on Mar 03, 2016 at 11:47 am

yeah,with 4 wheels,engine,cabin and so on…definitely copycat from all car maker.i’m expecting SUV look like fruits.

• applegreen on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Sporty enough. No need TRD bodykit anymore.

• I don’t like Toyota, but this one nice

• Anonymous on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:33 pm

When is it coming to Malaysia. From my opinion its a very cool n futuristic car. Need to wait n see the price. If its about H-RV price then its going to nail the market. Bravo Toyota for the come back.

• ionlaw on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:10 am

Still working on interior?

• haudli on Mar 02, 2016 at 1:04 am

gonna book this car

• TheDean on Mar 02, 2016 at 8:33 am

Impressive design. Makes the hrv look very old. If only toyota makes its other models similarly impressive, people would be proud to own the badge. Unfortunately, someone who’d you just impressed with this suv would also say ‘…but have you seen the new Alphard?’ Night and day difference coming from the same brand.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Mar 02, 2016 at 9:07 am

Finally HR-V has ultimate rival, his own brother Toyota. Interior still black out, unfortunately. The exterior look many samurai sword cut, and this is not close to production unit yet, so we might forseen further sharpen the exterior look. More SUV on the road, mean sedan or saloon will soon replace.

• hopefully it doesn’t share the same fate as Nissan Juke in Malaysia. MIA…

• This is the nicest car design from toyota for past 10years… but the rear door handle got same issue like honda hrv… not a kids friendly…

• john is batu on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:47 pm

that one is for girlfriends lah. if u have a family, you dont want to buy such small SUV. u need to have some brain to process this – its either a CRV, X-Trail or Mazda CX5. and the likes.

• How much on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:01 am

If it ever arrive here, how much will it cost?
    Below rm100k or similar to price mazda cx3?

For asian (smaller physical size), this could be a huge hit.

• thepolygonal on Mar 02, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Probably RM200k + per the hybrid version and RM150k + for the 2.0 version.

• shawal on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:11 am

UMW is reapplying for hybrid tax breaks,
    Hopefully it’ll goes thru…
    C-HR hybrid 1.8 e-four, rm130-140k, then it’ll blow the hr-v out of the water and sell like hot cakes….

• miak kuching on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:18 am

rear door handle too high, overlooked children reach?

• kanazai2001 on Mar 02, 2016 at 10:24 am

pls… AWD version!!! <3

• It’s better than HRV in most aspects except price, confirm more than 120k

• With a mixture of Lexus design, Wala you got a freshly bake Lexyota’s pie where everyone can have a slice. Hopefully~

Yummy ~!

• The rear side window is it too small for the passenger?

• IMO, the C-HR’s front looks horrible, but the side and the rear looks fantastic. But I have a feeling that when it arrives in Malaysia, spec will be minimum.

• Already decided to buy hrv, guess chr complicates things. If price & interior space can match, then its good to go. But wary of bare bones toyota features.

• Lai Quo Jenn on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Sam Loo win this time. *thumbup*

• P2, pls rebadge this hahahaha

• Best looking modern Toyota so far and changed my perception on the brand as boring looking uncle car, and this came from a Honda fan. If the radical exterior looks were brought unto the interior, people that have already bought HRV might regret their decision.

Still, on the side profile it looks like a raised Hyundai Veloster, which is already a bad ass by itself.

• Bontot berasap on Mar 02, 2016 at 4:27 pm

People’s hard work… other people easy critic…

But i like the bold move of putting the C before the HR.. making c better than V

C-HR-V

• it is kinda crossover of prius 2 with all wheel drive perhaps.

• Honda Fan on Mar 02, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Very nice SUV indeed, good design. However from a family man perspective, the interior space for the rear will definitely suffer and can never match that of the HRV.

• sepul on Mar 02, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Need to see this in the metal. Look very busy with all the curves. At present still love the CX-3.

• when can get test drive n booking????

• when launching in malaysia n start booking tis car?? pls reply …

• Exterior looks cool. How about interior? Where are the photos? I hope the interior in not crappy uncle style

• J Welinkar on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:37 am

What a joke from the Toyota stables ! This looks like some Japanese Sc-Fi toy from the ’60’s era. I’m sure the interior will be nice, but the fact of the matter is the Honda HR-V has hit the Jack pot, it’s a sure winner and challenging to emulate. Other auto companies may try, but they attract a high risk of failure.

• Shakirah on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:04 pm

When exactly is this toyota CHR will be available in Malaysia? I’m getting confuse as there is a website that I’ve visited said that it will not be available until the first quater of 2017.By the way I think it is a beautiful car. I like the luxury look of it. Honestly it does look better than the HRV. I wonder how much will it cost?

• Syifa on May 08, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Around October this year as per info given by Toyota Sales Executive.

• Andrekua on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:10 pm

I find it strange that people are actually pushing the price of vehicle upwards. 140K for a B segment, damn, Malaysians are either freaking rich or trying to make themselves exclusive with a ridiculously priced Japanese B segment car.

• based on 2016 Toyota Malaysia OTR price, Altis 2.0 RM138 900, Camry 2.0 G RM164 900…..so CHR 2.0 will not be less than that

• Jemey on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:05 pm

When it’s under Toyota Malaysia, it surely lack of those specs, as always. Shame…

• eMa Mislal on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:21 pm

I do not like Toyota at all but this is so sexy!!

• Kgomotso on Mar 20, 2017 at 4:00 am

I have fallen in love with the car