Perodua Bezza tops Trending Car Models list in Google’s “Year in Search” 2016 – four Protons in list

It’s that time of the year again for lists, and with that, we take a look at what Malaysians have been searching for via Google in 2016. Every year, the search engine compiles these searches and comes up with an annual ‘Zeitgeist’ for Malaysia, with a number of trending categories to be found.

Donald Trump and the US elections topped the People and News categories, and Pokemon GO featured strongly as a recurring topic in a number of areas (Searches, How to, Games), but as usual, our interest lies with Car Models.

As before, a note about trending. This doesn’t actually mean “most searched for,” but rather about items that saw the largest increase in the amount of searches over the past year. As such, trending lists are likely to be dominated by newly-launched cars or cars that have suddenly generated high interest. Here’s the Top 10 for 2016:

1. Perodua Bezza
  2. Proton Persona
  3. Proton Saga
  4. Honda Civic
  5. Proton Perdana
  6. Nissan Note Nismo
  7. Toyota Sienta
  8. Toyota C-HR
  9. Proton Ertiga
  10. Audi A4

This was the year of the big two national carmakers making a big go of it with model introductions, with Perodua launching one and Proton, four. All five are in the top 10, with the Perodua Bezza topping the list. Of Proton’s quartet, no surprise to see the Persona and Saga – as well as the Perdana – right up there in the mix.

The slew of national car models meant that the new FC Honda Civic, which would undoubtedly have placed high any other time, had to settle for fourth. Likewise to a degree, the Toyota C-HR, but it and the Sienta proved popular enough.

The surprise in the top 10 is the Nissan Note Nismo – it’s not exactly a new car, and it isn’t available here, but that didn’t stop a renewed interest in it, with the search surge enough to propel it to sixth in the 2016 list. Finally, the Audi A4 rounds off the 2016 list, helped by the much-awaited arrival of the B9.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Probably ppl search that rubbish bezza how many breakdown at roadside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
    • Today at Tesco I saw a brand new JRV plate black proton saga with the right side of the front bumper detached with no obvious collision marks. Good job to proton for living up to your past legacy.

• pak atan on Dec 23, 2016 at 9:33 am

No wonder Proton sales so mantap. Awesome!!

• Twenty two bezza owners disliked your comment

• nabill (Member) on Dec 22, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Bezza no1? Its like msian consumers really no eyes to see…. Ugly design is the new trend i guess… Seriously no hope…. Let me guess, next year’s no1 is myvi facelift no 27… With redesigned reflectors and different color options…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 16
    • I believe on Dec 22, 2016 at 11:09 pm

People don’t believe their initial search… So the search repeat and repeat to confirm what they see…

• Camrysai on Dec 23, 2016 at 1:04 am

The international research said that Malaysia are most ignorant

• karam singh on Dec 22, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Is it true ?
    I thought Mercedes/VW should be in top spot too
    Note Nismo ? Really ? its not that popular
    ask your friend if they knew it

• Silthice on Dec 22, 2016 at 11:08 pm

They don’t know about it that’s why they Google it. I Google it for my friend as well.

• jamarikepalabuto on Dec 22, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Cause bezza buat curi lembu….hahahah

• Albert on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Protong…makes no difference even if ALL your ENTIRE PRODUCT range make it to the list.
    You are bleeding RAKYAT.Protong….the MARKET LEADER in receiving BAILOUTS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
  • turns out , bezza looks much more better than new saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • ETCM will continue to turn a blind eye to a market potential of a hot hatch which is not offered by any other japanese/korean/malaysian carmaker and instead chose to dumbly Nismo-dize a Teana. Basically they bastardised a comfortable and refined D-segment sedan. How do these clowns sleep at night I wonder.

• Ex perodua on Dec 23, 2016 at 8:40 am

Banyak google search utk tengok maksud kereta tonggek, curi lembu, mati enjin time parking, nipis tayar, tidak stabil, milo tin, cara pasang gear up utk lindung buntut tonggek et…

• Mikey on Dec 23, 2016 at 9:49 am

As the writer suggested, top trending does NOT mean “most searched for”. Given that Bezza launched earlier than Saga & Persona, do we think Saga/Persona will trend more than Bezza meh.

Lets not kid our-self, M’sia are a developing country hence M’sian will definitely search for a car that they can afford. Do we expect M’sian to look 4 Merc/BMW/Audi ?

• Ben Yap on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:02 am

People are searching how much higher the Bezza butt tongek vs the new saga.

• musalmahendut on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:25 am

Eventhough Nissan Note Nismo is in top Google search, It still don’t tickle Tan Chong’s nerve to bring it to Malaysia. How ignorance and stupid Tan Chong!!

keep auntie’s and uncle’s car coming.

• palehotak on Dec 23, 2016 at 11:42 am

people search bezza to see how ugly the bontot is