Nissan Note Nismo – full JDM specifications revealed

E12-141010-15

Nismo is slowly being assimilated into parent company Nissan as a bone fide in-house tuner, and as such is on a mission to soup up every Nissan model on sale. So naturally, there now exists a counterpoint to the 600 hp GT-R Nismo – the Nissan Note Nismo, a warmed-over version of the second-generation mini-MPV.

The transformation starts on the outside, where you’ll find Nismo’s signature embellishments. There’s a new mesh grille, aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts, a sportier exhaust system, gunmetal 16-inch wheels wrapped in Bridgestone Potenza RE080 rubber and a larger tailgate spoiler.

Inside, there’s a Nismo three-spoke Alcantara steering wheel with red centre marking, Tricot fabric upholstery on the regular seats (Nismo sports seats are available as an optional extra) and doors, as well as darker metallic interior trim. Copious flashes of red both inside and out complete the makeover.

E12-141010-16

Now, we’ve seen all this before, but what we didn’t know was the engine hiding under the bonnet. As standard, the Note Nismo comes with the same 1.2 litre supercharged direct-injected three-pot and Xtronic CVT found elsewhere in the Japanese range, but benefits from a tweaked ECU and the aforementioned exhaust. Outputs, however, remain the same as before – 98 PS at 5,600 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

If that’s not enough, there’s an S model that features Nissan’s familiar 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated MPI four-cylinder engine, but with higher compression to boost power to 140 PS at 6,400 rpm and torque to 163 Nm at 4,800 rpm. This mill comes with a five-speed manual transmission only.

Both variants feature Nismo suspension and structural reinforcements amounting to front and rear tunnel stays, but only the S gets additional front and rear suspension member stays, rear cross bar and rear underfloor V-bar. Rear disc brakes too, as opposed to the drums on the regular Nismo.

That’s not all – the S is also the only one with 17-inch wheels shod in wider Bridgestone Potenza S007 tyres, a Nismo-branded instrument cluster (with a speedometer that reaches all the way to 260 km/h), aluminium pedals and those sports seats as standard. You can also specify a pair of delicious red leather Nismo-branded Recaro bucket seats as optional extras.

The Nismo models are now on sale in Japan – the standard model is priced at 1.95 million yen (RM59,400), while the higher-performing S variant comes in at 2.2 million yen (RM68,300). Four colour options are available – Brilliant White Pearl, Dark Metallic Grey, Super Black and Brilliant Silver.

These performance models have been announced alongside a minor facelift for the Note range as a whole, which includes new LED headlights, a revised grille, a new steering wheel design and the addition of a new V Selection + Safety trim level that brings automated emergency braking and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) as standard.

2015 Nissan Note

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:07 am

Same price with Iriz, if you live in Japan… Oh Proton you’re the bane of Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 10
    • so i guess if this do come to our shores…it cost RM90-110k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • ahleeahtan on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:24 am

Yeah cost more to park n fuel

• kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:15 pm

don’t u think Note is overprice by Japan standard?..suppose RM20-30k oni coz jap no excise tax..more than that in US H.Accord 2.0 oni $20k aka ~RM60k

• kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Boleh people can accept Japan car maker price its people RM60k. But boleh people can’t accept p1/p2 price RM60k for similar engine n class car

..plez don’t talk bout salary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:19 pm

but is it similar quality?

• BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Don’t talk about salary? So talk about what? Patriotism? Supporting local product? Dollar for dollar you’re getting 140 PS at 6,400 rpm and torque to 163 Nm at 4,800 rpm compared to 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. And it’s a Nissan compared to a Proton. Give me the Nissan anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:02 pm

i oni tok bout price wise in native where they were sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • MugenRR on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:18 am

Nice exterior, can’t say the same on the interior.

• kapchai on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:51 am

Cars are cheap to buy in Japan but expensive to drive and park. That’s why everyone takes the train to work !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kacimara on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:38 am

Agree with you.
      But if we had bullet train from Perlis to Johor I will stop Using PLUS.
      Did use the different Japan and Malaysian Public transportation?
      Our Car are our main public transportation not bus or train than how can you live with lack public transportation service (rural area) and expensive car price.
      Did you have any option?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • frenzyaustin on Oct 14, 2014 at 11:31 am

Don’t forget our shitty bus system. LRT still acceptable, but KTM is totally crap with 15-30 minutes intervals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • kapchai on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Imagine you work in Japan and own a nice Toyota. But you cannot drive it to work, so you take the train. But its peak hour in the Tokyo subway and the trains are cramped like sardines. On top of that its winter, very cold and it is raining. You put on all your winter clothing and carry your umbrella plus notebook with you. At that time I am sure you wish you were living somewhere else.
        No country is perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • posmen on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:09 am

their public transport is top notch.. and even if you don’t own a car you can pretty much travel around reliably using public transportation alone.. can’t compare with that here.. and their trains would arrive mostly on time.. by the second.. if it’s even only about a minute late they would feel like they have disappointed the whole nation of japan for being late.. do you see the same thing with KTM..?

• isengard12 on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

not bad.. better if there is six-speed manual instead of 5.. LOL

• ong chin aun on Oct 14, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Well, note S variant 1.6 manual, front n rear drum brake . Best !!! Only if the price is affordable. Around 80 k is acceptable. More than 90 k then govt. suck.;Car price should bring down , as open market. If govt. always protect Proton, how a child to grow ?? ?. SEE, how many years give incentives,does it good ?? A spoilt child if parents too give too much protection. Like put a plant cover with shield,does it grow fast ??? science knowledge ??/. keras kepala .

• Bret Skipper on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Im agree with u..so many years malaysian supporting proton but after 30 years goverment still give us a low quality car..if u wanted to have a quality proton car u have to pay like u own an imported car..so what is an advantage for malaysian to have a good car with a cheaper price from our own local car?

• daniel on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm

the speedometer goes all the way up to 260 km/h, do you mean happy-o meter???

• If tan cong could bring this model,,i can happily buy this car without doubt..cost around 60k

• Adam Alexander on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Haiya why everytime they want to compare with proton… simple if you can afford it buy imports if cannot buy proton la Perodua la… sakit otak… nice car if i can afford it…

• Adliz hashim on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Nissan NOTe new terbaik

• Santai501 on May 20, 2016 at 1:02 am

Hi . . . Saya nak keluarkan nissan note nismo . . . So apa keperluan yang saya di perlukan . . . Can help me