Perodua Axia facelift teased – new 1.0L VVT-i engine!

Perodua has released an official teaser of the facelifted Perodua Axia, now open for booking – the city car, launched in 2014, will soon get a series of aesthetic tweaks, a new engine and added kit.

We only get to see a small part of the front end, but it’s clear that the company will ditch the full-length grille on the SE and Advance variants for a more conventional upper grille. The bumper has also been redesigned with aggressive triple air intakes and chrome trim around the fog lights, while the projector headlights have also been revised. On a whole, the changes grant a rather Honda Jazz-like look.

The company has also confirmed that the Axia will come with new features such as keyless entry, push-button start and a new DVD multimedia navigation system with MirrorLink connectivity, items taken from the Bezza sedan. Unfortunately, there’s no stability control available, as Perodua confirmed last year that none of the current models will be able to be fitted with the safety net, unlike the Bezza.

Under the bonnet, the 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine now gets VVT-i variable valve timing, meaning it now has the same 1KR-VE mill as the base Bezza Standard G. Outputs are up 1 hp and 1 Nm to 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm, sent to the front wheels via the same five-speed manual and four-speed automatic gearbox options as before.

Perodua claims a fuel consumption figure of up to 22.5 km per litre with the manual, up from the current car’s 21.6 km/l and just a hair under the Bezza with the 1.0 litre engine and manual gearbox.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Concern Intensifies on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:09 am

Better be good ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Global Small Car Failure on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Another big huge discounts for Proton Iriz again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • perodua kaki on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Iriz this time can put at the proton backyard as besi buruk already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • Building Cars, People's SAFETY First on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:40 pm

I really hope you are just another P2 salesman. If not, then all these campaigns on car’s safety in Malaysia are in vain.

• Still no ESC. Let’s see which one goes to the scrapyard faster after a total loss crash

• Camrysai on Jan 14, 2017 at 10:42 am

Iriz is toast with butter, Axia is roti kosong without curry.
        Even though is same price but different category. U know how differentiate or not?
        Toast with butter got discount better than roti kosong without curry naik harga. Choose wisely

• Imran on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:13 am

When is the new Myvi and Alza coming? Can Perodua launch more Daihutsu or Toyota models? A mini SUV will be great to fit the missing segment. A B or C segment sedan will be perfect too with 1.5 VVTi engine. This is what majority of Malaysians wants. A good sized family sedan or mpv or SUV with good power and efficient engines and Japanese quality and reliability and after sales service. I’m sure Perodua can easily accomplish this for the good of all Malaysians. I’m certain this is what the government wants too from Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Bezza replaced the Myvi line. PAerodua also testing the new generation Daihatsu Move.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Previously the Nautica failed big time, so I guess they wouldn’t bothered to enter the small SUV segment again, for the time being.

• Meh…cheap car…i rather spend more on kia which produces more high quality and affordable cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Yeah, bashers wun say that all the previous axia customers got cheated for having their DVVT wrenched out and now they putting it back in.

And they wun say that this is still a vehicle for earlyafterlife.

And they wun admit that this facelift is just change colour scheme with some accessory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Lockhart on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:26 am

Lol the fact that this brochure has been going around for a while now but Paultan needs permission from Perodua to post it up. What happen to the olden days where you just post spy shots of local cars up close + posting up leaked brochures? :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:16 pm

We have a strict policy against posting photos of internal leaks (it’s technically illegal) and/or leaks/photos from unverified sources, especially when it comes to our local car makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Previously PT is small, so car brands dun gip F to sue. Now PT is big alredi, senang disaman. But spyshots bought from other sauce is another matter…

• Next 10 years will also still be doing facelift

• Mikey on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:31 am

If the Basic Axia come with new features like keyless entry, push-button start & new DVD multimedia navigation system with MirrorLink connectivity & at 24k, i will personally buy one & am sure it will be another top seller for P2.

I will use it for supermarket shopping as it will be very useful & cheap to maintain never mind if it got NO VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:36 pm

in ur dream RM24k got that. current variant don have radio. u don read fine print at the brochure.. SE n Advance variant oni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:57 pm

And U did NOT read/understand my post by simply blasting me. My first word say “IF”. If i say U failed in comprehension, U might be upset/not like it. So I’ll just let U be la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • come on shud just put 1.3l better power 1.0l really underpower for naik bukit with 4 passenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Prabanathan Loo on Jan 14, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Whr got underpower, poodua cars are ‘overpowered’, put this 1.0L NA engine in ‘bigger’ Myvee also it’s got good accelerative power (even naik genting with 4 passenger)

• Unker Safety on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:40 am

Perodua, u add this and that, more gadgets to pancing people to buy your car, but u never mention to add the most important feature to the car…which is traction and stability control (ESC)…having four or more airbags is a plus too..

Only in Malaya… More Money = More Safety

#safetyfirst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Put lah 1.2/1.3L engine, will sell like hot cakes.

• SadekSegaraga on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:51 am

Still no ESC what are you thinking P2?

• Jony Ives on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:51 am

Until the P2 improve thier car safety, superior handling and brand new design for MyVi instead of facelift. I will stay with my 1st gen Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Matchy on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:56 am

No wonder they offer discount last for the Axia! (IIRC, there are no discount for Axia since launch until last year)

• Low Budget on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Stock clearance before the new facelift come in mah,
      just like extra cheap sale on the Viva before the new Axia was introduced.
      If you try to buy an old Axia in a week’s time, they will tell you ‘sudah habis stock lah’

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:03 pm

No VSC? No problem. We’ll wait for 2018

• Ugliest rubbish no face lift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • citizen on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:51 pm

Friend, the ugliest car in Malaysia is the “new” Proton Saga. ugliest and most horrible looking car I have ever seen. Iriz and Persona also not nice nut far more pretty than Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • The current ugliest car in Malaysia
        Top 1 Bezza
        Top 2 Axia
        Top 3 Saga
        Top 4 Myvi

• correction on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:48 pm

The current ugliest car in Malaysia
          Top 1 sienta
          Top 2 Nissan Almari
          Top 3 Mirage
          Top 4 Attrage
          Top 5 Axia
          Top 6 Bezza Tonggek

• Kicap Popo on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:45 pm

Sir, you have bad taste… u not included bezza and almera

• I think the ugliest car is Sienta and Bezza. The Sienta looks like it is crying with eyeshadows melting at its face. Probably the designer was breaking up with her boyfriend? That explains the eyeshadow

• Just wait for 3rd gen Myvi coming this year (Q3/Q4). confirmed got ESC and Dual VVTi 1.3 & 1.5 engines.

• axia is getting facelift, so when is Proton iriz’s turn?…

• No ESC??? Perodua should really change its slogan to Building Car Profit First. Adiós Axia.

• Silthice on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Will all variants get the VVTi engine from BeZZa?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:44 pm

1KR-VE not even new engine.. try google 1KR-VE @ 1KR-KE before u thumb down me. First gen Toyota Passo already used that engine in 2004.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Why their not mention it’s otr price ?

• Ben Yap on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:39 pm

for heaven’s sake, why don’t just for once perodua comes out with a 1.0 turbo charged. just look at the fiesta 1.0 turbo, it’s a car that has the urge to go and yet fuel efficient.

move forward, don’t always come out with underpowered small cc cars. as tech evolve, cars are now more powerful and yet fuel efficient.

damn, if i’m the CEO of perodua, i can bring the brand to greater heights.

• transformer on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Everyone knew Perodua model originates from Daihatsu. Fyi, Daihatsu been force-inductioned their Mira(660cc) and Charades(1.0L & 1.3L) since 80’s.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daihatsu_Mira
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daihatsu_Charade

• J. Welinkar on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:50 pm

In order to remain competitive, Perodua must launch an SUV to replace the KEMBARA and a larger SUV. If I’m not mistaken they use to sell the NAUTICA which was a rebadged Toyota Rush, but for some bizarre reason, it was discontinued………I suspect Proton put a spoke in the wheel !?!? No level playing field ! If Proton were smart, they should launch a rebadged Suzuki Jimny naming it Proton Mamak ?

• Businessman on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Really dude? Do u really need to put the blame on proton? Its because there are no market share for the nautica really in Malaysia. Plus, the price is super expensive and not worth it with toyota also selling the car “Rush” with the almost same price.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 14, 2017 at 12:30 am

instead u blame p1 why don’t u browse the price for Nautica.

• Juan MotoSpot_MY on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:34 pm

In Perodua logic..they can add up all the unnecessary gadgets to impress youngsters (push button? Keyless entry? Whats wrong with normal key!?) Yet willing to sacrifice buyers’ safety with only 2 airbags and (still!) no ESC or EBD. Thumbs down, u not getting my money, Perodua!

• I banned this brand when i drive Kancil during sekolah memandu.
      Never ever buy this lousy brand…

• Bernard on Jan 15, 2017 at 8:49 am

Bezza is one ugly car. At least Axia looks presentable .