2017 Perodua Axia facelift to be launched soon?

Is there a 2017 Perodua Axia facelift coming about soon? Information circling on the Internet and social media platforms suggest that this is very much the case (that’s the current car in the pix above, by the way). New features for the refresh include a new front and rear bumpers as well as a new projector headlamp unit.

The Axia, which was introduced in September 2014, is also set to get a new engine choice, with the 1.0 litre VVT-i unit from the Bezza sedan making its way on to the hatch. Inside, the car will now feature a smart entry system and push start ignition, though these are said to be only available for the SE and Advance variants.

Also finding its way on to the refreshed Axia is a new DVD multimedia navigation system with Mirror Link for Android mobile phones, and the info also suggests that the rear tailgate will feature a new opening mechanism.

Elsewhere, the available exterior colour palette remains unchanged, with the existing shades Lava Red, Midnight Blue, Ebony Black and Glittering Silver (all metallic) as well as Sunflower Yellow and Ivory White (both solid) continuing on. However, two colours available currently for the Standard E and G variants, Cherry Blossom and Lemongrass Green, are said to have been dropped.

No details as to whether there are any revisions to the variant line-up. Currently, the Axia range is made up of the Standard (E and G grades), SE and Advance models. By the looks of it, we’ll find out soon enough.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:01 pm

The Axia has always been a practical town driving car. Easy to manoeuvre, park and good fuel consumption. The addition of VVTi is not going to make a difference to the small 3 cylinder engine. It’s more of business decision to streamline engine choice, it’s used in the Bezza, hence it makes sense to use the same updated engine in the Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Too many sad people trying to impersonate me. I feel like a celebrity.

Anyway, why need facelift Perodua? What people want is ABS and VSC. The Axia does not have both. ABS safety was a legal requirement in Europe in the early 90s. Then, it was compulsory for all cars to have ABS.

This means, the Axia does not even have the basic safety requirement for cars established 20 years ago.

2ndly, no point doing facelift when your car got no VSC. Since 2005, every car in Europe and USA must have VSC compulsorily.

Malaysian Government already said, having VSC in Malaysia can prevent 45% of all deaths and accidents in a given year.

So if there are say 10,000 deaths in a year, if all cars had VSC, we can save 4500 lives

With this in mind, don’t you think it is better to give VSC and ABS to the rakyat then give a facelift?

Fascade / facelift and outer look will not pay my hospital bills if I meet an accident due to lack of VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 74
      • Hate Axia driving slow on fast lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • Good Samaritan on Jan 12, 2017 at 2:43 am

because it feels faster inside axia. car with bad nvh always feel fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • Kunta Kinte on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:50 am

In overseas if got no ABS or VSC, automatically fail NCAP. Terus gagal and kena expel.

But in Asean NCAP, Axia and Myvi still can get high rating.

Wonder whether we can trust Asean Ncap

I wonder why.

• Axia E Spec is the one left out without ABS as the SE and Advance already have ABS since 2014 while the G got ABS since 2016. For VSC, yes, Perodua need to put VSC for all the model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:47 am

yes but majority of the buyers are cost conscious and go for the E spec

It is sad when Malaysians have to beg for the right to have a safe car. After all Perodua is majority owned by crony GLC UMW.

If gomen wants to give VSC and ABS, they can.

• the legend on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:44 am

In Europe, ESC is compulsory for all passenger cars since 2014, while ABS is compulsory for all passenger cars since 2004…again, kunta getting facts straight from his arse…

• The Highlander on Jan 12, 2017 at 4:08 pm

At least kunta fights for cheaper car prices and more safety spec for us Malaysians? You? What do you do? Living of others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • Just to stir things up by giving false statement, that’s all

• Kunta Lipas on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Axia has ABS. Where you got your facts from? No wonder you kutuk all cars. Empty vessel makes the most noise. But I agree with regards to the VSC.

• Kunta CEng on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:44 pm

exact good English of Faiz. Is that you Faiz??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Bugbear1986 on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:46 pm

who tells u vvt-i makes no difference?? go for a test drive n u ll find how sluggish is axia at the lower end power band.. the vvt-i will compensate that!!!!

• Oit oit on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:58 pm

I’m calling all fellow Malaysians to BOYCOTT Perodua cars for now. Until they take SAFETY seriously. Teach them a lesson.

Perodua has been milking on Malaysian ignorance about car’s safety for decades. All these vvt-i jimat minyak thing is to sweeten the deal. Pak Cik and Mak Cik with jimat minyak attitude will love this.

AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:07 pm

facelift 100 times also i won’t plonk my money in a underpowered car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 52
    • Otopkek on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:16 pm

why worry when u kenot afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Din Perodua on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:30 pm

When stupid guy make a comment…. You want power,please look sport car… this car is made for save fuel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Are drive before, this car not underpowered!

• TokGuru on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:08 am

Not everyone here can afford power and luxury, some people live simpler lives. Perodua makes cars that are affordable and reliable. Yes anyone can complain that it lacks in many ways, I have been driving a Perodua for years now and still love it.

• pak atan on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Ayuh undilah….
    Like P2 Axia, Thumb down P1 Iriz rebate $9,300.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 64
  • Perodua has been domination the supermini segment here ever since the Kancil. The only local competitor was the Savvy and that didn’t go very well and the two foreign competitors based on segment is the i10 & Picanto.

People in Europe have the 108/Aygo/C1, Fiat panda, Vauxhall Adam, Viva & Corsa, VW Up! & Ford Ka

• asien en kept on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:37 pm

No VSC? No buy. Put VSC, 45% accident reduce this year. Simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:38 pm

If I’m being honest with myself, I’ll say the Axia base model is the BEST $$$ can buy in M’sia. At 24k, U get a basic car that can take U anywhere & anytime.

The 5 speed transmission is a joy 2 play with & the fuel consumption is 2nd 2 none. It is cheaper 2 maintain, it’s not under-power & a cool air-con.

Of course many commentators will comment that it does not have VSC & Airbags. 2 me, I’ve been driving my 1999 Wira 4 more than 10 years also nothing happen.

My point is drive slowly, within the speed limit & practice defensive driving. VSC & Airbags will NOT save U if U drive recklessly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 17
    • So why do u have insurance if u dun plan to use it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
      • Mikey on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:41 pm

john, Your car insurance is like your spare Tyre. U do not look forward to using it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Same goes for VSC & more airbags. Just like insurance, u dun plan to use ’em, but u be glad u have ’em when u need ’em.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Batman on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:13 am

You might say that to airbag but not VSC. VSC will be use everytime your car are out of control, BEFORE the accident happened. But airbag is something like the spare tyre.. you probably don’t want to use it.

• Yes, but normally u wun drive to the limit until need purposely activate VSC. However it will help during conditions like slippery road (sand/oil/slick) or rain.

• Mikey on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:04 am

john, B4 U go further, it is wiser 2 change the Botak tires otherwise all the Airbags & VSC won’t save U.

I remember U never fail 2 appear whenever there are complaints of Airbag malfunction.

• You telling us insurance for new cars in malaysia is optional? Go buy your proton now without insurance lah, see the salesman laugh at you.

Dont make us smack you in the face john.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Car insurance is NOT 4 u! Its 4 ur car dumbo! Im talkin about life or medical insurance. Or u too YOLO, u dun need either? Congrats to u, but sori to ur famili!

• azhar on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:12 pm

U drive slow others drive like crazy how???

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:51 pm

I absolutely agree with you. Same here. My mom gave me her car when she bought a new car in 2014. My mom bought the Perodua Kelisa SE 2005 model year(which if I’m not mistaken were more or less RM50k at that time) never had Airbags, VSC, EBD, ABS or even a full powered windows!(only for front doors only.) Yet the vehicle serves me and my family throughout these years without major problem.

Living in Sarawak is like hell for motorists that are from Peninsula. Sarawakian highways are literally your people type of country roads. From Bintulu to Miri(2 hours drive), Bintulu to Mukah(3 hours drive), Bintulu to Kuching(10 hours drive) which is driving on a rough roads with potholes or unlevel terrain with minor and some major differences in road altitude, never broke the Kelisa. Only on the tenth year of service which is in 2015, it had a shock replacement and full engine overhaul(engine is fine and reused) to refresh the car.

Defensive driving is one of the key point in keeping my car well alive. Never fear old cars technologies, but fear your own driving skills. Know your car’s limits, know your car’s behaviour under any road condition. Technology is just to assist us, we ourselves need to know how to drive neatly. Keep you and your family in du’a and trust Allah in protecting you. In shaa Allah if I have rezki will probably upgrade the engine to 1.3L turbo from a YRV. Upgrade the car? No thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Oit oit on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Yes of course. 10 years of God-blessed protection. It just takes ONE accident that will change everything. And that ONE accident will be about life or death.

Remember, most accidents occurred not because your faults. It was someone else’s. Without strong chassis to protect the occupants, you are out of luck.

Anyway, that 5 speed manual is lousy to drive. Even Harvinder said it’s a CHORE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Basherlogic on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:58 pm

It is popular bcoz it is cheap, not bcoz it is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Salmonella on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:20 am

come on la brader…think outside the box la…if u drive slowly like turtle, do u think others drive like u?…do u think u the only one driving on the road?..what will happen when others suddenly swerve right in front of u?…with no abs n vsc surely u will drive straight to it laa…abs n vsc are meant to reduce chances of accident not prevent accident from happening la…

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:18 pm

That’s why he said learn defensive driving. People could still avoid accidents even if their car doesn’t have safety features.
        No ABS and EBD – Learn how to brake pumping to simulate an electronic ABS to gain traction and control.
        No VSC – Learn how to maintain the gas, brakes and steering rotation to reduce the momentum of losing control.
        Car have VSC said mahal lah tak kena harga lah. Car don’t have VSC bising pulak said car is cheap but lack features.
        Hey earn more money laa if you want toptier spec. If not you have to come up with other plans, not just bising here and bashing people around. Berfikir lah diluar kotak minda anda.

• Aragon on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Meanwhile Preve still haven’t done facelift after almost 5 year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • P1 shud have just done like glorious P2; just use new paint scheme and call it facelift. KAOTIM!

• Toyota Nirvana on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Yes la VVT yo!
    Hope they’re prepared for 2018 VSC mandatory

• freedom on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:57 pm

1.0 turbo, 7 airbags, blind spot, all standard safety and it price at below Rm80k, I will buy 1. This is the facelift I wish it come true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • sutheshkumar on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:40 pm

typical malaysian. want everything but must price it cheap.

we have such a car for that. Kia Picanto its called.

• Tebutebobo on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Since when got turbo?

• It already exist, its called the Ford Fiesta EcoBoost. Less than 80k after discount

• Farhan on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Perodua should introduce the 1.5L VVTi engine on their Axia line up also. Increase the use of high tensile steel to archeive the 5 stars safety rating and also intro the new Myvi and Alza which are both severely outdated.

• Driver on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:04 pm

facelift what? Steering lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • “Facelift means a new paint scheme lah!” according to P2

• tokmoh. on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Only need to test in VR, betul tak?

Unlike installing VSC, cannot do because edi removed when taking in from Jepunis overlord hewhewhew.

• Diamlah Volvo! Ur overlord from low keras China, meanwhile our glorious P2 overoido fromo nippon. Taboulehi persoaru.

• Michelin on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Alasan nak naikkan harga la tu

• Please come with vsc

• pomen on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:08 pm

they just paint the roof with black color…dont too excited..

• Ah Min on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Perodua should facelift Bezza first instead of this Axia… when people already start buying the Facelift Axia, then you “lenggang kangkong” bring out the facelift Bezza, surely “balik awai” before even have any chance of hope.

• Unknown on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Does this facelift includes VSC? If not, does it mean that come mid-2018 where VSC are made compulsory there will be another facelift or are they gonna introduce all new model completely?

• taksee pesona on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Axia if karam sin want to grab uber uber you better u ran six to six kilometer per hour.

• thomas on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:42 pm

apakah perodua axia tidak akan lebih baik jika diberi mesin 2NR-VE Dual VVT-i saja? Atau bahkan pakai mesin 1NR-VE milik Bezza?

• Oit oit on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:47 pm

oit oit perodua.. where the ESC? remember hah next year oledy compulsory oooo. no nego nego this time aaa. don’t play play.

• Silthice on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:47 pm

I wonder if the Bezza 1.0L VVTi engine is similar to the the one 1⃣ in Viva as ViVa 1.0L VVTi has much better fuel ⛽ efficiency compared to the aXia

• Bernard on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:22 pm

Give it 50hp more, a slick manual transmission and sell it below 50k

• applegreen on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:08 am

Impossible, unless perodua decide to come out new variant Axia GTi

• Heard that perodua service mechanics are going for training for the new Myvi coming later this year.

• Faros on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:11 am

Excellent. Just in time for Proton to rebadge the new Swift 2017 to fight the new Myvi. With competition, Malaysians as consumers benefit in the end.

• camtakpro on Jan 12, 2017 at 6:43 am

So same engine remove VVT-i and sell first. Then later put it back and sell again and claim for improvements.

Why not just sell Axia without seat belts first. Then later facelift say added extra safety?

Please add right lane prevention warning to Axia so that they don’t hog the right lane.

• New facelift rubbish

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:37 am

Many are missing the point with Axia.

I believe Axia is a CSR initiative by Perodua to provide affordable and good quality cars to the masses of Malaysia. The materials are sourced locally to promote the economy, the engineers are trained by professionals in the Perodua academy of excellence, and there you have it, a world class car at an affordable price. The build quality is excellent, yes it may not have all the fancy sensors, touch screen etc, but its a decent solid car with a good foundation.

I’ve test drove it and it was an excellent experience. It’s akin to our nation which is slowly progressing under good governance. You can see the transformation in the quality of PErodua cars over the years just like the economic and social progress of our good government.

Syabas to Perodua and our government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:05 am

no wonder I saw small cars with full black cover..on trailer … at night time … exiting perodua factory area…

• mr1031 on Jan 12, 2017 at 1:59 pm

axia is everywhere and is the top selling model for perodua..

it will share the same fate as myvi..10 generation of facelifted model

• activate VSC on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:47 pm

i want to activate my VSC full time while driving, im working my butt off so i can enjoy the VSC feature

so any expert anyone here can teach me to activate full time VSC??

• J Welinkar on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:55 am

Nice little kereta. Good entry level kereta or a good second car run about. Keep it up Perodua ! You have 2 winners…..AXIA + MYVI…..world class Toyota/Daihatsu engineering. It’s a shame to see how odd ball the BEZZA turned out…..like some one stuck a stick up the backside & backside jacked up in the air…..this is what happens when you convert a 2 box designed car Into a 3 box designed car…just to add a boot !!!! executive or what LAH ?! Laughable styling for BEZZA.