Snapping photos or videos of traffic offenders while driving to channel info still an offence, says JPJ

If you’re looking to catch traffic offenders in the act (abusing emergency lanes, etc.) with photographic or video evidence to submit to the Road Transport Department (JPJ), make sure you’re not taking photos or recording with your mobile phone while driving, warned the department.

In a report by Bernama, Kedah RTD director, Isma Suhaimi Sharif said this was because driving while using a mobile phone was an offence as stipulated under Section 17A of the Road Transport Act, with offenders likely to face a fine of RM300.

“Driving while using the mobile phone is also among the seven main offences which can result in court action and with no offer of compound penalty. We definitely encourage the public to channel information through various applications, but the photo or video should be taken by the passenger and not by the driver as this can be dangerous,” he said.

The department was previously reported to be developing an app for the public to upload photos of errant motorists, making it easier for the public to help the department, which can’t be everywhere, to nab culprits.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• NIckLeow on Jan 27, 2017 at 10:33 am

I wonder if making dash cameras compulsory in all vehicles would be a feasible solution. Traffic disputes and fender benders will then also have video and photographic evidence apart from the offenses mentioned in the article above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 27, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Saya setuju!!! sokong!!!!

• KuntaLieRoaster on Jan 27, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Shall expand the no of lanes. Pay toll but got stuck in the jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • KuntaLieRoaster on Jan 27, 2017 at 1:16 pm

I strongly believe those many of us who posted here have used emergency lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Yes I do it only on federal highway and never block any ambulance while doing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • BOYRACER on Jan 27, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Good idea.No more arguing who’s right who’s wrong..

• I didn’t wait for the govt to suggest it. I already installed one for my own safety and it has proven to be useful a few times now. If I catch any act on the road I should not be penalized for submitting the proof because I didn’t use a phone to record it.

• Ariff on Jan 27, 2017 at 9:53 pm

I find it amusing that some ppl here actually admit to abusing the emergency lane. How can you be irresponsible and selfish by using the emergency lane but say you will give way to ambulance? If there’s no place for you to get out of the way for ambulance, then how??? It’s the thought that counts?

• flubberblast on Jan 28, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Right!!!
        Its like its okay because u need to do it for your own reasons. Its not right for any reason except for emergencies hence the name, emergency lane.

• applegreen on Jan 27, 2017 at 10:53 am

If u still gatal tangan nak snap photo, try snap from
    front passenger seat. JPJ said driver cannot snap photo but co-driver can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Matolol on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:25 am

Statement dari pak kadok jpj. Penumpang yg ambil gambar lah pak kadok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Thinking before bashing on Jan 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Aiyo bang…
      I dont think JPJ was referring to the photo above – JPJ is simply trying to remind people.
      Not only for taking pictures for emergency lane abuse, could be for anything.
      Think: Isn’t it dangerous to use the phone which will of course take your eyes off the road or the car in front and also one hand off the steering wheel?
      IF you or your family member got hit because the guy was trying to take picture of offenders, would u forgive him?

• Uberian on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:27 am

I already got a dashcam installed. Can I get rewarded for reporting traffic offenders? Gimme RM30 of the RM300 summon ammount collected? Ubering is not enough nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:30 am

Snapping videos or photos from a handphone that’s held in a windscreen mounted holder should be OK since it would look somewhat like a passenger-taken footage.

If JPJ wants the app to be successful, there should be some monetary reward for submissions that result in conviction and fines. Even a small amount like RM10 reward would suffice. That way, Malaysians will be tripping over each other to submit entries via the app.

• I agree, so many road users can be part-time enforcement officers by uploading video proof of the infractions of the offending road users. They deserve a % of the summons paid, in the range of RM25%-50%. We did work as well and deserve monetary rewards too.

• James on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:38 am

I just bought a dashcam for my car to report these buggers on my trip back to Penang for CNY. Sure enough, just a small little jam, already caught nearly 10 cars using emergency lane. 3 ambulances pass me on 3 separate occasions. I think RM 300 is just not enough. It should be min RM 500 or 20% of gross income, whichever is higher.

• If both driver & psgr r in the car, who wud know which is which? JPJ wud probably welcome evidence taken from any sides, & kolos one eye if they know it taken from driver side.

• Stevie on Jan 27, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Why la so particular? If someone snap photos of those abusing emergency lane, of course la the driver already stuck in a jam moving at snail’s pace. So, what’s wrong? They won’t get rewarded yet being punished. Don’t bite the hand that helping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Holofanboi on Jan 27, 2017 at 2:25 pm

While I use the incar mount holder to make reports, i wonder if one day JPJ comes after me for reporting hundreds of emergency lane abusers. As you said this is a retarded law. Only in Malaysia where you get punished for following another law.

• Yup, basically RTD is scoring an own goal with their latest statement.

• Thinking before bashing on Jan 27, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Our law says that using mobile phone during driving is flat out wrong, so there really is no discussion.
      Think: any lawyer who has a client on trial for this will simply ask the court to disqualify any photo evidence which was obtained illegally.

We cannot break the law to catch law breakers.

And it’s not like theres no dashcam we can use.
      If u don’t like this law, then talk to our lawmakers to allow using phone to snap photos, dont whine to the agency who has to enforce what the law spell out.
      But bear in mind, this will also create one loop hole: anybody caught using phone can simply say “but i was just trying to snap photo of offenders”

• holofanboi on Jan 28, 2017 at 7:13 am

Huh… nice input from you there, totally didnt come across my mind on how it would be handled in the court!

• Yes please make an app where we can upload photos of errant motorist! Still see people using emergency lanes despite numerous warnings from rtd and trafik

• passion on Jan 27, 2017 at 2:43 pm

its all talk only as usual.

• Mustang Arse on Jan 27, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Be carefully whose car you snap photo, especially if its a BMW, later you may get Letter of demand…oh wai