Audi, Porsche to collaborate on new vehicle platform

The last time Audi and Porsche joined forces, the result was the RS2 Avant, the first RS vehicle for the four-ring carmaker. Now, both companies have been given the green light to work on a new, shared vehicle architecture.

Complete details about the project have yet to be provided but it is reported that the collaborative development will also involve electrification, digitisation and autonomous driving.

“The best brains of both companies will together set the technical course for the future. We are united by many shared values, above all, by our pursuit of the best solutions and the best offerings for our customers,” said Rupert Stadler, chairman of the board of management of Audi.

“Together, we will make faster progress in the race for the mobility of the future. We will utilise the expertise of both companies and take advantage of synergies. We will cooperate wherever it makes sense. But we will also be very careful to maintain the differentiation between our brands.

“A Porsche is always a Porsche, and that will remain so in the future,” stated Oliver Blume, chairman of the board of management of Porsche.

The German marques have revealed that the partnership could extend until 2025, focusing on not just vehicle architectures, but also modules and components. Project work will take place in various areas, each of which will be jointly headed by a representative of each brand.

Technology sharing is pretty common within the Volkswagen Group (VW AG), as we’ve seen with the MQB (developed by Volkswagen) and MLB (developed by Audi) platforms used by various brands under the umbrella.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ya dun say, eh? While ur at it, why not include VW, Lembukini, & Bugatti as well…

• Mikey on Apr 11, 2017 at 4:32 pm

With the best brains of both companies(Audi & Porsche), there can only be one outcome, WUNDERBAR.

• Vincent on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Abang Adik…. they should also invite their sister…Lamborghini…

• Quattro on Apr 11, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Marketing cheat….Both are just a VW period..
    You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Apr 12, 2017 at 8:38 am

Looks like they(VW/Audi/Porsche) did not fool U or they DID !!