DRIVEN: Infiniti Q60 Coupe – standing out in the crowd

Appearances can be deceiving, as they say. One may be dressed to the nines with everything that Cristiano Ronaldo has, but could be a total disaster on the pitch. Another may have the same basketball shoes as LeBron James, but can’t dribble to save his life.

This can be applied to cars as well, as some may look like menacing track day monsters, but end up disappointing in the area of performance. It’s all a matter of perception, and in a world where looking at something results in instant judgement, can good looks alone be trusted?

This brings us neatly to the newly-launched Infiniti Q60, the rival to German offerings such as the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe, BMW 4 Series and the Audi A5 Coupe. It certainly looks the part, but does the Japanese coupe have the function to follow its form? Well, let’s find out.

Visually, the Q60 is essentially a tweaked version of the stunning concept that Infiniti first introduced during the 2015 Detroit Motor Show. The front face carries the brand’s defining double-arch grille design, where the top span represents the profile of a typical Japanese bridge, while the lower span its reflection in the water.

The former meets up with the coupe’s “human eye-influenced” LED headlights – with its signature DRLs – as well as a little raised bump that ends just before the bonnet. According to company officials, this is meant to represent a continuation of the Infiniti logo’s “never-ending road” philosophy.

Progressing towards the rear, the Q60’s subtly flared wheel arches are contained by a crease line that runs through the door handles. Other highlights include the crescent shape design on the C-pillar – which is even more pronounced than what you’d find on the Q50 – and 19-inch dual-tone alloy wheels shod with sizeable 255/40 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx 050 run-flat tyres.

Tilt your vision lower, and you’ll notice a line that flows from the front fenders, through the non-functional air breather vents, down the sides before meeting up with the rear fog lamp enclosure.

There, you’ll notice the only use of gloss black trim to draw attention to the dual exhaust setup. The two-piece taillights are shaped in the same respect to the front lighting units, with part of it being fitted on the boot.

Due to the ducktail-esque spoiler integrated to the cargo space cover, the entire boot lid is a hybrid combination of a resin skin on a steel frame. Why? This allowed Infiniti designers more freedom to create this desired shape. All this effort to get the look just right is certainly something worth admiring, at least for this writer.

It is a very pretty car, this, and when parked next to its German rivals at any swanky part of the city, it’ll blend in just fine. The more organic-looking design and curvier approach is a welcome breath of fresh air from what is presented by its rivals.

Yes, the exterior is no doubt eye-catching, but the interior speaks a different tale. Similar to how Germany’s coupes are derived from their sedan counterparts, the Q60 is closely related to the Q50.

As a result, the layout is nigh identical between both vehicles, but that shouldn’t be a bother because commonality across models within a brand’s line-up is common practice. To make the coupe feel extra special compared to the sedan, the Q60 does get a few model-specific items.

This includes a different design for the steering wheel and gear selector knob, as well as a leather covered dash with visible stitching (no fancy wood, like in most other Infiniti models). You get a choice of two leather upholstery packages (Graphite in this case), paired with brushed aluminium trim.

In the equipment package, a 13-speaker Bose Performance Series sound system is standard as well as Infiniti’s ‘spinal support’ powered seats, which offer 14-way adjustability with memory function for the driver.

Everything else, however, is almost exactly the same as what you would find on a base Q50 2.0t, including dual-zone climate control, InTuition dual touchscreen displays (eight-inch upper and seven-inch lower) and InTouch infotainment system. Look closely and you’ll also notice other items taken from the Nissan parts bin, like the start button and even the key fob.

The latter is enhanced in the Q60 with the addition of a navigation function, but the overall system isn’t the most intuitive at first use, so there’s a bit of a learning curve. Those dual touchscreens are joined by centre console controls that are placed just aft of the Drive Mode Selector (DMS).

So far, the Q60 looks great from the outside but the interior may leave some wanting, especially when its rivals can offer a flashier living space. Now it’s time to find out what the coupe is like on the road, which means firing up the Mercedes-sourced 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine.

Don’t be alarmed as Daimler and Infiniti have been in partnership for some time now, which has resulted in other cars such as the Q30 (developed in parallel with the GLA) being introduced.

Anyway, the mill (also employed by the Q50) serves up 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 3,500 rpm (same tune as the C 250 Coupe on sale here). The direct-injected mill is mated to a seven-speed automatic transmission (Mercedes’ 7G-Tronic) and sends drive to the rear wheels.

This combination is good for a zero to 100 km/h time of 7.3 seconds (the Q60 weighs 1.7 tonnes) and will hit a limited top speed of 235 km/h. By comparison, the C 250 Coupe is a fair bit faster (0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds) because it’s lighter (1,565 kg). The Q60’s muscle does well to get you up to the legal highway speeds although the gearbox isn’t the quickest to respond. Requesting for a burst of speed is met with a slight delay and should you floor the accelerator pedal, it takes a while before downshifts are executed.

Of course, you can take matters into your own hands by pushing the gear lever to manual mode but the lack of paddle shifters is disheartening, considering the sportier nature the Q60 projects.

The engine note isn’t very encouraging either, lacking the vocals you would hear in V6-powered Infiniti models (like the QX70S for instance). This can be remedied by fiddling with the DMS and putting the car in Sport Mode, whereby the Active Sound Enhancement system comes into play. However, the effect isn’t very dramatic, to say the least.

Nonetheless, the powertrain gets through the miles quickly enough, but this isn’t a barn-storming race car for the road you might expect it to be. The Q60 is more like a GT cruiser, which means it needs to be comfortable and pleasant to take on long journeys.

Thankfully, the Q60 excels here because it comes with Active Noise Cancellation System and acoustic windshield, which keeps engine and wind noise at bay. Within 110 km/h, it’s perfectly civilised in the cabin, and tyre roar isn’t overly intrusive despite the size of the rubbers. You’ll have to be aiming for speeds well above what an AES camera would allow to have your ears disturbed.

Complementing the impressive NVH is a ride that is firm but not uncompromising and would certainly be a step above what the C-Class Coupe can offer (though that has an AMG-tuned suspension). The car’s comfort suspension (without variable dampers) copes well with the delightful potholes around KL, and while smaller imperfections can be felt, it isn’t a jolting experience each time.

The 14-way adjustable driver’s seat also ensures you’re kept in place, with the ability to adjust how much the side bolsters hug you. There are rear seats here as well, although legroom can be pretty limited, more so if you have a tall driver seated in front of you. Those who are vertically gifted will also need to slouch to prevent their heads from contacting the car’s ceiling.

In other areas, the Q60 is a pretty easy car to see out off, with blind spots not being obscured despite the sleek 0.29 Cd shape. A sunroof would have been nice to allow more natural light into the cabin, so things would feel more airy.

Much like the base Q50, the Q60 comes with electro-hydraulic power steering and not the steer-by-wire, second-gen Direct Adaptive Steering (DAS). There’s good weight here, and the feedback is good, even though it doesn’t feel like the most accurate of steering systems.

Through what corners we could enjoy, the coupe remained composed and there was plenty of mechanical grip, likely with extra help from those wide tyres. The lack of accuracy with the steering, however, means you may not know if you’ve put in sufficient steering angle, which inevitably leads to over-correction.

Should things get a little out of hand, the Q60’s Active Trace Control systems kicks in, applying gentle, smooth braking to individual wheels to help bring the vehicle back into the correct cornering line. It works well, and you’ll definitely feel it when the stability feature is in effect.

Going back to an earlier statement that the Q60 is more a GT car to this writer than a time attack machine, the inclusion of DAS would certainly be more welcomed. The system, which is unaffected by the kickback and forced movement of conventional steering, would certainly make the car even more comfortable to drive than it already is.

The Q60 (at least in this guise) is for a different sort of individual, one that isn’t focused purely on just raw performance and instead, just wants to trod along at a leisurely pace in comfort, relishing the fact that the car has the visual presence to track eyeballs to it.

And when he or she finally stops driving and decides to get out, they can treat their occipital lobe as well. In that aspect, the Q60 is certainly a worthwhile purchase at RM308,800, which is well within range of the 420i and C 200 Coupe AMG Line. Lest we forget, there’s even a seven-year warranty, which is more than what BMW Malaysia and Mercedes-Benz Malaysia offers. Did I mention it looks really good?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 7 year warranty without free service is a 7 year trap! But it certainly a nice looking car exteriorly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Proton comes with free service. It is nicer than this car when added with TuneD bodykits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Shankar Narayanan on Jun 29, 2017 at 1:56 am

You can buy a service contract.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 8:28 pm

i still think its a good value buy…unlike c class coupe no value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Zackyrules on May 08, 2017 at 11:28 am

When you’re stuck in traffic, people dont look at the Infiniti driver..

• Taknak glorified Datsun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 10:09 pm

This is like Lexus, you are buying a glorified Toyota. Infiniti is a glorified Nissan

In overseas Lexus and Infiniti not much pricier than their Nissan or Toyota. Hardly 30% more. But in Malaysia, they cost 3x the price of Nissan and Toyota. Infact, Infiniti and Lexus cost more than BMW and Mercedes in Malaysia

See how we are being conned in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
  • A proper take to go up against Sausage Big3, compared to lexus or acura.

• Yang busuk kinte on May 05, 2017 at 10:46 pm

People woulr rather go for C couple even though this car looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Fairly Fast 8 on May 06, 2017 at 2:24 am

Passat 2.0T {6.7s} >> Merc 250C {6.8s} >>> Q60 {7.3s}

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Henry on May 06, 2017 at 5:03 pm

A VW will always be a VW.

• Mikey on May 06, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Most people buy a coupe do NOT base on 0 to 100. Most coupe are sold base on Badge, some on Looks, others base on built quality & more go for safety.

Each individual have a certain taste &/or preference. U have 2 personally drive the car 2 see if it FEELS right for U/character/personality.

All the coupe have their own good points hence picking anyone will be quite difficult BUT enjoyable as these cars comes with prestige, pedigree & top safety features in mind.

BTW, the New Passat is Not a coupe. It is a Good, value for $$$ sedan & it is also much cheaper compare to any of the coupe. Shalom & Cheers.

• BMW 330e 248k {6.3s} beat all the above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Beemer is just pretender to richman car. Get a proper richman car: a Mesidis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Mesidis is an Ah Pek car or the money game scammer car.

• Not as much as Proton

• thepolygonal on May 08, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Almost 80% you look into a Merc you see and apek. 80% time you look into beemer you see slighly younger apek. What do you see when you look into Myvi with Hello Kitty stickers? So which car grab your attention more?

• LimPek on May 07, 2017 at 2:21 pm

VW’s engine n gearbox are so fragile, always will premature failure before waranty expire

• centurion on May 06, 2017 at 9:05 am

vertically gifted, you think you are an english literature teacher ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • KhoDennis on May 06, 2017 at 9:48 am

It is just…..so beautiful. Infiniti should really have performed much better in Malaysian market. The cars look great IMO, should be more reliable than the Germans. I think it is the masses mentality that “it is just a glorified Nissan”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Hang Tuah Pek Kong on May 06, 2017 at 11:24 am

Descendant of Nissan Skyline

• What a beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • aaron on May 06, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Driver assistance features all excluded…….at this price…… all thanks to ETCM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Neil Solomon on May 06, 2017 at 5:12 pm

It hurts me to see fellow Asians bashing Japanese cars. Japanese cars are brilliantly engineered and quite literally last forever. Besides being an Asian I only support Japanese industry. If your brother was a plumber would you support any other plumber ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • ToomanyidiotsonPT on May 07, 2017 at 12:09 am

Wtf did i just read??

• If he does a bad job, then off course i will get another plumber.if he charges too much with an attitude problem. Sure i will get another guy to do it. So while i know what u want to say, your plumber example is not without its flaws.

Having said that. This infiniti is a good looking car that i will consider if im 20 yrs younger with decent disposable income at my disposal. Cruiser.

• Pierre on May 07, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Yes I would if my brother sucks at his job. If all being equal, I would give the job to my brother. The problem is it equal?

• kiasu on May 07, 2017 at 9:32 am

I love the symmetrical of the dashboard. Wish more cars hv it. Hate ‘driver facing’ design.

• that’s the problem when spending too much resources on exterior, pls do better in the following gen

• Holofanboi on May 07, 2017 at 10:44 am

Huh… halfway through the article I scrolled up to see who the author was and was pleasantly surprised that is Gerard Lye. I honestly thought this article was cooked up either by Anthony or Hafriz but im glad im wrong. Similar taste in the mouth, with minor differences. Looking forward to the next tasty article!

• Zakar Naik Bin Kunta Kinte on May 07, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Even the japanese have to use a German sourced engine. What does this say? When it comes to turbocharging , the Germans are the best. Volkswagen, Merceds, Audi and BMW produce some of the best turbocharged engines in the world.

• Even British like Lotus use Toyota engine rather than their owner’s engine. What does this say?

• Even Lotus uses P1 wing mirrors instead of toyota. What does this say?

• john bangau on May 08, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Of course Lotus use P1 parts lah since Proton, not Toyota owns Lotus. Why ask stupid questions?

• Then why u bangau ask stupid question if know the answser?
            Obviously in a globalised world, everybody shares resources one way or another. So its not strange for lotus to use toyota engine.

• Simple. Lotus use P1 parts bcoz of vendors connection while Lotus use Toyota engine bcoz Proton engine is lousy

• Bernard on May 07, 2017 at 3:31 pm

But isn’t it ridiculously expensive to buy this in Bolehland?

• BetterBuyBoy on May 08, 2017 at 7:17 am

All I am saying is….with the same amount of money, I could buy better performance and looking car than this Infiniti…..

• Lao Yee on May 08, 2017 at 8:09 am

It’s like a young man wearing branded clothes outside but no money inside their bank account. Beautiful in appearance, but boring inside.

• Mixiao on May 08, 2017 at 8:57 am

I would love to have Q60 exterior, c class coupe interior and BMW ride and handling/performance in one package…

• JB_KIA on May 08, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Cheap, only USD39k but in the US. LOL.