2017 Toyota Vios enhanced with kit – 360-degree parking camera, dashcam, new DVD-AVN head unit

The current Toyota Vios may be due a facelift, but UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has seen fit to apply running updates to the current car. That’s a good thing if you’re not into the Vios’ big mouthed facelift, which is a love or hate affair. Here’s a live gallery of the updated 2017 Toyota Vios that was announced last month.

The updated Vios sports a digital video recorder a.k.a. dashcam that has been redesigned to both look and work better. This is standard across the board, as are USB charging ports ahead of the gearlever and front cupholders.

Variants from the E onwards get a new 360-degree parking camera system with lenses on the front, rear and wing mirrors. Previously found on luxury cars, this feature assists parking by stitching together a bird’s eye view of the car with guide lines on the touchscreen of the head unit, which has been updated.

The G, GX and TRD Sportivo variants add on auto-folding door mirrors. It’s possible to have a base J spec with the panoramic view monitor, just upgrade to the DVD-AVX infotainment package for RM4,441.40. Similarly, E spec buyers can add on auto-folding door mirrors for RM318.

No change in base prices – the entry 1.5J manual is priced at RM76,500, the 1.5J auto RM79,800, the 1.5E auto RM83,900, the 1.5G RM89,800 (as pictured here), the 1.5GX RM92,800 and the range topping TRD Sportivo is yours for RM96,400. UMWT is currently running a promo offering up to RM3,000 cash rebate, plus RM500 duit raya and free accessories worth up to RM4,000.

GALLERY: 2017 Toyota Vios 1.5G

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Good value. UMW is improving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 38
    • Last chance mikeyboy. Next facelift is fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 36
    • Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 13, 2017 at 8:56 pm

How many time UMW going to upgrade? How about those bought few weeks ago? Every month different car.If like that better wait few more weeks sure another upgrade.Coz if still tak laku UMW will upgrade more and more.See how stingy this UMW? Don’t want to give all at one time,just little by little.Horrible! Better get City coz they made their mind to give all on the right time.But better hold your money,next year new model come out.I bet City will launch new one too.. You think Honda so stupid to sacrifice their bread and butter model to flip flop model like Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
      • Worse of all the next facelift is even uglier that current look. Totally ultraman! But im sure them salesmen here will spin it like the front is inspired by Darth Vader or something. And when pipu r not inhaling what they smokin, they start to bash other brands that will threaten their plummeting sales.

Toyota just dunno what customers wants, or their consumer study was done by their basher salesmen. This is what happens when an arrogant brand is brought down to pitiful levels and yet their sapoters/salesmen just dun see it and get off their high horses.

Expect more bashings incoming from their bored & desperate salemen here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 47
        • Pea Brain on May 17, 2017 at 12:01 am

Tokok pandai only lah u. If P1 knows what pipu want, why is it still demanding billions more?

U are the best example of hypocrisy at the highest level

• Sad to say but i envy this Vios. VW Tiguan RM150K still no reverse camera but Vios at half the price got 360 camera? That is definitely good value to me

• Toyota is giving free accessories of RM4K while TuneD requires us to pay them RM5K? Big difference in marketing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 13, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Meaning Toyota purposely sell their car expensive for the past years.Now they are at rock bottom losing out to little brother Honda,giving out everything they can to save face.Desperate move.You still talking about Proton? Wake up! Proton is dead.History and forgotten..Move in la john.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Proton still our national car, still relevant right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • I Sokong You Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 15, 2017 at 5:22 pm

A car company that failed to make the citizen proud is not a national car.A car company that failed to prosper and return back the generosity of its citizen is not a national car.A car company keep wasting time and money is making its citizen look like an idiot domestically and internationally.Close down failed company.Make a right decision to keep Malaysia free of stupidity.

• Take that Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Your move, Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • tokmoh. on May 13, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Upgrading J spec with DVD-AVX will make it more expensive than G spec. Kek, might as well skip and get the G spec if eant that feature.

• J Lcians on May 13, 2017 at 1:20 pm

better buy kia which is 1000 times better than this overrated junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • dangdu on May 13, 2017 at 8:16 pm

kia is rubish… ther salesman is trash and the service is just horrible… i found this out when my kia overheat and gearbox stall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on May 13, 2017 at 1:27 pm

oh my god! this model want to update how many hundred times?

it’s not about the accesorries, it’s about the features of the car…. add in VSC, autonomous braking and 6 airbags as standard to compete with the City.

upgrade the power output to at about 125hp.

reduce your freaking high price by RM5,000 across the board.

than u can start to sell very well…. and UMW can start to thank me later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Yup fully agree. They oso can tell their salesmen stop posting nonstop nonsense here, instead work harder and dun be lazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Pak karut on May 15, 2017 at 9:29 am

Vios already has VSC
      City doesnt have autonomous braking, nor other b-segment models

The magic of online comments. Everyone can rant. With or without facts.

• Small car fancy on May 13, 2017 at 1:33 pm

360 dregree cam is just too luxury for this category

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Susukotak on May 13, 2017 at 2:51 pm

really need 360 view for vios size car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • VAPER on May 13, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Thank you to honda city, toyota has to throw in extra items to win back its lost clients. It would be a vicious fight if toyota could throw in 6/7 airbags and rear aircon to the upcoming facelifted version. Until then, honda city will still be the king of B segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 13, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Junk of a car. Malaysians still cannot forget that it was only last year, almighty gomen crony UMW decided to give Malaysians VSC in all their cars.

Before that, the past 15 years, it refused to give VSC. Even in their top RM150k Camry.

Malaysian Gomen themselves said, if all cars had VSC, 45% of all accidents and deaths COULD be prevented in a given year.

This means, if there are 10,000 deaths in a year, if ALL cars had VSC, we could have saved 4500 lives.

Imagine, Toyota was No 1 non nasional seller for over 10 years. How many lives we could have saved if UMW was not greedy and gave VSC in all their cars in Malaysia. Surprisingly, all their cars in overseas had VSC except for Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Karam singh on May 13, 2017 at 4:57 pm

In 5 years time, Vios will be 120k. Well done UMW. We all hate you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Archer May on May 13, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Hah Toyota. Are you getting scared?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • What safety? on May 13, 2017 at 7:29 pm

360 degree camera makes sense in a big car such as SUV or 4×4 truck. But in a small B segment car? Scratching my head thinking about this. Who is so bad at parking that needs assistance from a 360 degree camera just to park a small car? Nevertheless, this is a welcome addition. Maybe somebody out there needs this, who knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Bash Basher on May 13, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Pipu bash BMW for not giving reverse camera, now pipu bash UMW for giving 360 camera. Haiya, Malaysia pipu hard to satisfy lah

• please rearrange the vios dashboard, so weird n messy especially push start button area

• Eternalgl0ry on May 13, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Cheapest car model in Toyota Malaysia have 360 degree camera view while even the fortuner do not have it =.= what logic is this

• Who dafuq need reverse camera? All the BMW owners bitching about no reverse camera are crybabies. If Proton owners no need, other carmakers also no need to put useless stuff like this

• U heard that UMW? U are wasting time putting these ‘useless’ accessories to ur customers cars. Better just change ur car to two tone colour scheme like Proton

• Toyota Vios GTR 2JZ AMG on May 14, 2017 at 6:51 am

Woo 360 dashcam. Vios owners, vios is now faster than ever.

• Vioscondiyos on May 14, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Please just install off switch for rear foglights. That’s the feature everybody wants on a Vios.

• nobody on May 16, 2017 at 5:56 pm

vios has on/off switch for rear foglamp. just some bloody idiots chose to switch it on as they like

• masterpieces on May 22, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Toyota purposely sell their car expensive for the past offer by upgading ‘useless’ accessories? vios just want to charge high price for that? the video recorder and usb cost you more compare to previous one, that we can simply get at outside cheaper, and that really not necessary so why we need to pay for that???

• masterpieces on May 22, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Toyota purposely sell their car expensive for the past offer by upgrading ‘useless’ accessories? vios just want to charge high price for that? the video recorder and usb cost you more compare to previous one, that we can simply get at outside cheaper.

• masterpieces on May 23, 2017 at 10:57 am

force selling better go for honda city more value

• masterpieces on May 23, 2017 at 10:57 am

force selling? better go for honda city

• masterpieces on May 23, 2017 at 10:59 am

forced selling

• Samson Lee on Sep 09, 2017 at 11:17 am

UMW should start to fight back to gain market share. 1st to do is to program all cars ECU with service reminder for engine oil change. If the car is driven in city conditions like in KL whereby stop & go and prolong idling only allowed 9000km of milage by the ECU to next oil change so be it. If l am staying a small town like Segamat is likely be up to 14,000km or 1 year interval before oil change is prompt by the ECU. This will be major benefit for Toyota buyers outside cities ike KL.

Also to offer free labour for alternate servicing like Honda & 5 years of warranty. Look into issue like expensive spare parts like >RM2,000 for change of alternator.