Toyota Vios now with 360-degree camera, USB charger

While we await the facelifted Toyota Vios to be launched in Malaysia, UMW Toyota Motor has seen fit to update the current model with a few added features to make the B-segment sedan a more attractive proposition value-wise.

Standard on all variants is a digital video recorder (i.e. dashcam) that has been redesigned for a sleeker look and better navigation through the various features, as well as a USB ports ahead of the gearlever and front cupholders to charge your phone.

Meanwhile, variants from the E grade up get a new panoramic view monitor that shows a 360-degree view of the car on the centre touchscreen, through four exterior cameras. Auto-folding door mirrors are also fitted on the G, GX and TRD Sportivo variants.

What’s more, the base J spec can be specified with the panoramic view monitor as part of the RM4,441.40 DVD-AVX infotainment package, which is fitted as standard on all other variants. Buyers of the Vios 1.5E will also be able to purchase auto-folding door mirrors for RM318.

Prices remain as they were, with the 1.5J manual priced at RM76,500, the 1.5J auto at RM79,800, the 1.5E auto at RM83,900, the 1.5G at RM89,800, the 1.5GX at RM92,800 and the TRD Sportivo at RM96,400. Buyers will also receive a cash rebate of up to RM3,000, from now until April 30.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toyolta on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:22 pm

wow…(slow clap)…. so advance, got reverse camera and a USB charger!! now i can charge my phone whilst reversing!! so thoughtful!! Thanks toyota!!

#gostangotpower

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 6
    • Kinte Kunta on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:03 pm

I can selfie while reversing with 360 camera ;-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Apr 13, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Yes! This year Toyota will bounce back on top in Malaysia and worldwide.Even God can’t deny this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 55
        • Raja Bomoh on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Whether Toyota will be the top no one knows but one thing for sure: Proton will beg billions more from the Gov or else close down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • Agree. It’s better to buy from a company that improves that the one sucking the rakyat’s money and are going to close down

• Even Godcar can be dethroned! So… oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Ibnu bakrin on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:18 pm

Haha, thanks to people who boikot and bash Vios everyday. Thanks to whoever purchase H-city rather than Vios.
        UMW have no choice but have to throw new accessories, gadget etc.

I am still waiting another airbags (for all variants) and 16 inch sport rim (for G spec and above).

• Albert on Apr 14, 2017 at 9:17 am

Toyota is a worldwide giant,but not here.
          U still dont get it straight.Each year UMW has a “target” profit to send back to PNB cos of the need to give maximum dividends.
          It cant be bothered if u get tulang specs.
          Why? It can rely on 38 percent owned Perodua profits to send back to PNB.
          So,u see.Those dudes r playing politics.
          As long as UMW is the Toyota local distributor…the premium pricing continues n u get TULANG SPECS.Faham?

• Toyota salesman now desperado… gud, gud. Let them feel it

• Ibnu bakrin on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Or maybe sun roof, who knows? Hahaha

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Something is wrong with Malaysia when a small B segment car can cost up to RM96,400. Tak masuk akal. No logic.

UMW thinks by giving USB charger they can wipe out the sins of the past? Until 2016, all their cars had no VSC. Whilst Toyota cars had VSC in all their cars globally 15 years ago, in Malaysia, UMW took 15 years to include VSC in all their cars.

According to our own Government statistics, VSC can prevent 45% of all accidents and deaths in a given year. So if there was 10,000 deaths, if all cars had VSC, we could have saved 4500 people in that given year.

And mind you, 10 years ago, Toyota was top non national car seller. Imagine how many lives we could have saved if UMW was not greedy for money and given people VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 19
    • Not only reverse cam but 360 reverse cam. I’m not sure if any Proton models have it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Hayenadeblue on Apr 13, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Sibuk nk compare dgn Proton. Why not compare Vios 2015 (top spec) dgn Iriz 2015 (top spec) (maybe someone can add a few other non-malaysian car model). Which one with the higher airbag count? With VSC? With USB charger? DRL? Keyless entry? Typical Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
        • Comparo on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Why compare hatch with sedan? If want to compare, compare hatch with hatch i.e. Iriz with Prius C. Which one with higher airbags count?

• Err… thats the point. He comparing a hatch with more gadgets then the sedan that are crap.

• logitech on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:41 am

Ali, that does not make sense. Comparing Apple and Orange is not logical.

• Betui betui betui. Typical bashers takde modal nak bash. Why not compare safety features 1st then tok. Lagi ni org takde bolas nak guna nick sendri, main hijek org pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Still better than the 16 teh tarik hooks in a Proton.

• pxp154 on Apr 14, 2017 at 8:08 pm

LOL revolutionary add-on for vios.
      WAHAHAH… this news made my day…

• USB charger???
    U mean there’s no such thing in vios previously?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • There is but it has been relocated ahead of the gear lever

• So they din add another usb, they just shifted that one!? Sack the designer! oh wait… celup jepunis overlord…

• Honda on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Good gradual improvements. Please keep up with the good work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
  • I have to give it to them, the updates UMW have been throwing to the Vios is certainly making it look enticing. I mean the next car you can get a 360deg is the XTrail and that’s nearly twice the price (and twice the car) of the E grade Vios not to mention the XTrail infotainment screen is pethatic to say the least. The next sedan with 360deg camera I believe is some condo-priced continental car.

So yes with VSC, updated drivetrain and one of the better NVH in the segment added to perhaps the best after sales support in the region and The Vios looks to be one impressive car…………but none of you wants to hear that, so Haha! Nah tengok!! UMW starting loose their shieet after the new City begin to kill of greedy UMW and their ugly and outdated Vios!! Who will buy this over the God city !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:43 pm

But J spec still cannot fold rear seats, ptuik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • thepolygonal on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Sorry brother but the Haval M4 (now H1) have the 360 all round view camera juga. https://paultan.org/2016/02/26/haval-m4-elite-launched-in-malaysia-priced-at-rm73k-great-wall-motors-now-officially-rebranded-as-haval/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • inb4 customers of vios facelift 5A rage at facelift 5B while seething at upcoming facelift 5C (aka ultraman keli)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Haters gonna hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • holofanboi on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Wow. Not a bad move from UMW lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • applegreen on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:55 pm

What?! auto folding door mirrors at RM318?

Aaaa..aa..(sound of crows and flying away)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Lol customers have to buy the auto folding door mirrors??? Aiyo just add it as standard kit la and while the surround view camera is nice (Altis and Camry owners confirm butt hurt over this) they should have gone and increase the airbag count to match the City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • John is otak batu on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:15 am

I am driving a 1993 proton iswara. No need to fold mirrors. And the car is all fine. Auto folding is just for feel good inside.

• thepolygonal on Apr 13, 2017 at 4:56 pm

The god car has been updated with more features than before. And this time, at least the features are useful… one more thing if UMW or any other brands would like to consider… Rear Mirror with integrated Smart Tag like the ones in Haval H1… how hard can it be? Aku sudah muak tukar bateri smarttag baru ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Nice one, but two airbags is very unacceptable. It is 2017 and 1987. Hello?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • KIALaJunk on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:07 pm

GX & TRD model should equipped with 7 Air Bags, while E & G should have 5 airbags, J can keep to 3 air bags like now.

The current Vios has 3 air bags actually (additional driver knee airbag).

• Welcome to the 21st century people

• Sign of x laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • timbuktu on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:09 pm

this is akin to spraying perfume in a waste septic tank.

• Malaysia Boleh on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:09 pm

I don’t get the point? Upgrade those so call better features then can compete with other B-segment like City? Are UMW out of their mind?

• Thanks to Vios rival honda city…if the honda city not outsold Vios we couldnt get this kind of features…

• Flyguy 70 on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:15 pm

My wife’s vios just clocked 22,000km (normally used by my wife to fetch children to school) and just passed 3 years warranty by one month, when car driving about more than 50km/h, got noise from front engine part. SA found out that front left wheel bearing spoiled, need to be changed. SA advised to change both wheel bearing to avoid alignment out in the future. Cost me RM2,200!! What’s the point having all this little new camera, etc while so low quality from UMW Toyota nowadays….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Go and change outside, cost you quater of it

• Ex-VGM staff on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:18 am

Toyota will attend to your claim, if you appeal. Provided you service your vios with Toyota. That’s how things go.

• camtakpro on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:35 pm

You bearing (and probably absorbers too) already spoiled when still under warranty. The SC just prefer to keep quiet hoping you didn’t notice it and let you know about it when warranty over.

I got similar issue as well, I complaint about absorber leak, and the shitty SC show me a file with color printed pictures of absorber having ‘moist’ which is simply just leak – and told me is ok. On the service that just right after warranty over and the SC says my absorber leaking ask me want to change or not?

UMW should be in an United Airlines flight.

• Oh, another “facelift”. Just like small bro Biza. If it was that other brand, sure kena bash 9999. But since this is jepunis overlord & celup overlord…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • sakai on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwww………….

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Competing with Honda City V, but late as usual.

• Cost increase but still a rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • IrizX on Apr 13, 2017 at 7:00 pm

You are the rubbish, just like to bash, don’t read:

“Prices remain as they were”

and price reduction as well:

“Buyers will also receive a cash rebate of up to RM3,000, from now until April 30”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • mrhukaka on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:03 pm

huoaaa……
    this 360 view camera should offer for hilux,fortuner and UMW vellfire 2.5 too.

• UMW TOYOYA on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm

coming soon… all car from UMW sure got update for 360 and autofold

• boooooo on Apr 13, 2017 at 10:33 pm

Can buy it cheap from kedai ah beng, 530 degree also got
        Nothing special

• Ah Beng on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:50 am

Jangan cakap besar. Pls show me a 530 degree camera. I never seen one

• Toyota nonsense on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Vios J 79K +4k add the screen, become E spec price, why buy J in the first place??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • MANUAL GUY on Apr 13, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Bro J spec only got manual option

• J spec got manual and auto lah. Yes, J spec auto + DVDAVX is indeed more expensive than E spec auto. E spec got standard front fog lights and folding rear seat over J spec some more.

• AASderd on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Not bad of an update. Better this than nothing i guess. You never know what might entice buyers. But the VIOS does have better creature comfort and NVH compared to the City which is sleeker

• Better this than nothing? How about 4 airbags in cityE compared to just 2?

• Say no to SOHC on Apr 14, 2017 at 6:42 am

How about DOHC Dual Vvti vs SOHC engine? The H is giving u better accessories but main engine is old tech?

• And yet the old tech sohc can perform better than godengine DOHC Dual vvti with more economical FC. What sorcery is this!?

More importantly, can the dual vvti save ur life compared to 2 extra airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • No to Basher on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:03 am

Pls provide proof that the SOHC engine can provide better FC than the DOHC engine. Else this is just bashing

• Check Fuelly and majority of City and Vios owners post an average consumption of 13km/L so their fuel consumption is similar.
            However SOHC got 118hp/145nm vs DOHC 106hp/140nm
            So if fuel consumption is same i would prefer the SOHC with better hp and torque

• Stranger on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:14 pm

That 13km/l Vios lapuk for VVT 4spd. This VVTi CVT much better than ancient SOHC.Can even get 15km/l city driving. Highway?18km/l no sweat.

• U are right. Not to mention Toyota’s Dual Vvti vs Proton’s VVT engine, Proton’s engine is old tech repackage by copying the name of Jepunis. Ptuih!

• Camtakpro on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:11 am

Proton also DOHC engine. No wonder the FC suffer. Hahaha

• Sudah basi story, nowadays campro is more frugal than Vios

• UMW TOYOYA on Apr 13, 2017 at 6:28 pm

3rd party autofold buzzer tilt not more than rm300 ..

• Probably sales drop so much due to Honda City. Desperate measures…

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:05 pm

As much as I like to label UMW as irresponsible car distributor, I think they have insaf with the current crops of cheaper and safer equipped line ups. I think Honda is getting more and more greedy, and it is good to have Toyota to give them a fight since Nissan Tan Chong is still asleep and Mazda decided to raise their car prices and blaming on forex.

I mwould think the current facelifted Vios is a major improvement in many areas, their engine is DOHC with some sophisticated VVT systems (minus the Polo TSI) and way better CVT compared to SOHC Honda City. Even on creature comforts they are reinventing the segment. What it lacks now is having only 3 airbags – that is because underneath it is still based on the old dugong. Lets hope they will improve on the next model because seriously Honda needs some competition, in the end the consumer wins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • aiyaaa…buy brand new mazda 3 at rm99k, C segment at almost B segment price..2.0cc lagi, zoom zoom mazda carnival….i just bought one, ouch

• this is x-trail features, 360 camera

• Bro, ask for second opinions from other workshops. The warranty already expired, so you are free to repair it wherever you want. Vios is a common and mechanically-simple car, any reputable workshop should have no problem doing repairs at lower expense than a dealer.

• No more tears on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Vios is not just milo tin car. it’s now a milo tin car with usb charger!!!!

WoW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • MyHumbleAdvice2U-Malaysian on Apr 13, 2017 at 10:21 pm

Interesting for those said overprice blaa blaa blaa…
    Listen, if nobody buying this car, eventually it will drop price or fit more features to attract buyer.

Now, is this happening? No, because still many people buying it… and for those who complain expensive, ask yourself, why so many out there can buy this car but not you? why even have more people even able to buy Altis and Camry but not you?

Don’t behave like a victim and complain outside the shop while many are driving a brand new toyota cars from the shop. In the end, do you gain anything? If not, stop doing it.

Stop complaining about others, think about what you can improve for yourself… study hard ? learning hard ? Working hard ?

only loser complain, because they wants easy champion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • 1Patriot on Apr 13, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Normally, local car buyers like to complain as they are always in ‘Victim’s Mentality’. They rather have it ‘given’ than work hard for it like in the case of Proton’s RM1.5B. You can’t blame them as they have been given special rights like Protectionism

• Deswai i said buy P1 better than overpriced toyota. Even Honda is still better value. P2 is only for those who want my special package.

• Benjamin Holst on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:15 am

Prrgh.. P1, billion dollar beggar to make recycled rubbish

• azrai on Apr 14, 2017 at 8:29 am

Still Malysian choose City & BRV over this.

• azroiekl on Apr 14, 2017 at 8:51 am

Try to calm malaysian vios fan for not having new model here (i wish I was in thailand)

• U dun have to wait too long for ultraman keli. Meanwhile toyota is pushing panic button to clear of current stock b4 launch lagi lagi facelift. Only if they gip 10k diskaun on all variants, can it sell.

• Toyota sales is bad…
    Time for umw to work harder…a lot harder rather than parang the customers…

Improve sc quality..
    Provide free service for 5 years.

Give base model more safety features…vsc and airbags

Bring in the US 2018 CAMRY

All the above without price increase.

• hafizzai on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:07 pm

to many problem such as engine mounting, front lower arm, roof top noise, dashboard have annoying sound, rear disc (already skim 2 time they don’t want to change it), quality very worse sorry to say this and still cannot solve it. if u complain to SC they will give u to many reason. batter to fine another car manufacture (im use vios 2015). this my bad experience with toyota.

• izzuan on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:49 pm

typical malaysian comments…lol

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 14, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Haval M4 have 360 degree camera view for more than 2 years already. Comes standard in the SUV. Big deal Vios.. ha..ha…

• Flyguy 70 on Apr 14, 2017 at 5:40 pm

SA told me that my wife’s vios front wheel bearing is ‘ABS built-in’. I did asked one outside mechanic, he not very confirm whether his taiwan wheel bearing will interfere the ABS system or not?
    I think “clever” car manufacturer nowadays…’ABS built-in wheel bearing’!!

• Flyguy 70 on Apr 14, 2017 at 5:49 pm

My wife’s vios also changed for right front lower arm after 1 year due to defect (after I complained to SA that there was such front noise…Luckily still under warranty).

However, my 10 years old Innova didn’t caused any problem beside the rear bonnet stick spoiled after 3 1/2 years (manufactured by ori APM Malaysia!).

Again, poor quality from UMW Toyota nowadays…..

• Why not just give the Vios a better engine like the 1.2L turbo from the C-HR in Europe ? Then you can advertise as “small Japanese B segment turbo for the masses” . Then only Honda City got some competition.

• Lawrence Tan on Sep 20, 2017 at 11:59 am

The mid-life facelift has been launched in many SEA countries, except, perhaps, Malaysia. It’s been long overdue as the model is going to be four years old soon.