Bangkok 2017: Toyota Vios facelift – love or hate mug

The Toyota C-HR may have been spotted roaming in Thailand, but the 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show came too soon for the funky crossover’s ASEAN debut. Which means that Toyota’s BIMS stand lacked the buzz its neighbours were generating. Still, there’s one relevant fresh model on display, one that’s coming soon to Malaysia.

The 2017 Toyota Vios facelift was launched in Thailand in January, which makes it two months old. This latest update to the B-segment sedan brings an aggressive new face, one that you’ll either love or hate. The polarising big-mouthed mug has a lot in common with the Chinese-market Vios launched at the 2016 Beijing Auto Show, and has hints of the latest US-market 2018 Camry. A big departure from the outgoing Vios.

There are new projector headlamps with integrated LED positioning lights, a prominent T-shaped grille and repositioned LED fog lamps with new LED DRLs beside them. At the back, the taillights have revised graphics, and the chrome bar linking them is slimmer. The bumper has also been restyled to be less busy than before. The 15- and 16-inch alloys sport new designs.

No remake for the cabin, and items such as the double-DIN seven-inch touchscreen head unit, keyless operation, leather/fabric seats, MID and automatic air-con (the latter not available in Malaysia) continue to feature here. The Thai Vios also comes with four different interior themes for each variant – J, E, G and S.

No change under the bonnet, and all variants continue to be powered by the 2NR-FBE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine. Nothing ancient though – this 108 hp/140 Nm unit was part of a 2016 technical update for the Vios (happened in March last year for Thailand, October for Malaysia) that also included a CVT automatic gearbox with seven virtual ratios. No more four-speed auto, but also no more manual option, even for the base J.

Thai customers get to choose from six exterior body colours – Red Mica Metallic, Quartz Brown Metallic, Super White, Silver Metallic, Gray Metallic and Attitude Black Mica. Prices range from 609,000 baht (RM78,158) for the J to 789,000 baht (RM101,237) for the S. Coming to Malaysia this year to provide some challenge to segment leader Honda City facelift.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Most comments are negative towards the Toyota Vios facelift, criticizing its design, minimal upgrades, and high pricing compared to competitors like Honda City and Proton models. Many express disappointment with the car's appearance, interior quality, and lack of significant technological improvements. Some compare it unfavorably to older models and other brands, highlighting safety features and value for money. There are also off-topic remarks, but the majority focus on whether the Vios offers good value, looks, or features. Overall, the sentiment leans heavily towards dislike, viewing the facelift as a repetitive, uninspired update that doesn’t meet consumer expectations or industry standards.

• Susukotak on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Omg is this still relevant?
    Persona FTW !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 46
    • Willie on Mar 29, 2017 at 7:58 am

New Persona is most lousy car. Macam sampan. Rear absorber always kluk kluk. No SC can rectify it. Have to sent back to COE. Previous persona multilink suspension. This new persona is a downgrade torsion beam lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
      • Tuned P1 torsion beam times better than jepunis sampan multi link. *cough* Lotus *cough*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
        • Nasi Lemak Pondan on Mar 30, 2017 at 12:21 am

Ptuih! You think your Proton is Lotus? Your syok sendiri Proton is suitable only for nasi lemak pondan drivers. A real Beemer(Not the Asian variant) is 100x better than it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Never said it is Lotus, but it is learnt from them

• tarakbaca on Apr 03, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Jealousy is high in here, only mentioned one Lotus word ady ptuih ptuih! LOL

You like it or not, ride and handling of P1 is even better than one level of higher segment. Go and read reviews pls.

• Albert on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Willie,
        Why u buy Protong after reviewing tons of garbage comments on P1 quality?
        A City or Almeira second hand will beat P1 cukup cukup.
        P1 is on the verge of bankruptcy,waiting for the white knight.
        I wont be surprised if the vvt engine(Campro) konked out very soon.There is low morale n the staff may even sabotage the car during assembly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • What to do? Their future is uncertain. Can only come to PT to bash other cars

• sedate on Apr 03, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Persona FC and specs better than Almari, City is far more expensive

• Habis tu Vios ni ingat dapat multilink suspension ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • gecka on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Toyota becoming more pondan day by day.All Toyota SA can sell nasi lemak pondan now.Nobody will buy pondan cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • Proton if for people who cant afford japanese car so don’t siao sendiri think proton is lotus mwahaha

• lotusftw on Apr 03, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Reading reviews is enough to see P1 has good ride and handling.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:25 am

Nice…more sporty…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • Ms Luna Phua on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:44 pm

90% love if someone buying this for me or give me free… 10% hate when thinking why someone want to buy or give me free to me this ugly car? But don’t mind give me free,I’ll sell it very cheap at 50k then buy myself a good looking car instead or down payment a new Civic or Accord or BMW 330i for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:31 am

Persona? OMG. Buy Persona, within 2 years RV drop from RM60k to RM30k

Vios buy RM78k, 2 years later still RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • Adilu on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Sayya bali itu honda jazz 2014 80k
        Ini tahun renew insuran amoi kasik tahu value 48 sajja.
        Sadihh sayya.
        Sampahh masyrakat sayyai manyak manci

• viosfan on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Wrong, Vios 2015 can get 50k

• Albert on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:25 pm

I m waiting for Mr.Akio Toyoda’s decision to ditch UMW.
        Any Toyota arriving here,will be priced as if it is the only available car.
        You can expect super duper pricing,with some rebates later when sales dip.
        UMW,the car lovers have migrated to Honda.Your competitors now r Nissan and Mazda.

• Ms Luna Phua on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Who drive a car for just 2 years? Any car with just a couple years of driving will depreciate big sum.New buyers prefer buying new car.Kelab Penyayang Kunta really no idea of the auto knowledge and industry

• Car’s nice-looking. An improvement from the present one which still isn’t bad at all in the looks dept. But what the local distributor is going to equip it with or not will decide the uptake ultimately. Scrimping on safety equipment like airbags and VSC is not gonna go down well with folks nowadays – as it should be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • Papli on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:58 pm

That centre console looks like an idea straight out of youtube tutorial with cheap tablets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Times Roman font on Meter cluster? on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:58 am

Times Roman font at the meter cluster?
      Trying to look sporty and classy? You gotta be kidding!

Look so cheap. Dirt cheap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Still two airbags, even Iriz had more. Malu la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Lagi bagus.
    Lagi facelift.
    Lagi takde chassis baru.
    Lagi phail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • What safety? on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:23 pm

The rear is nice. But the front? Hmmm need to see it in front of me first before judging it further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Minimal changes under the bonnet… How to compete with Honda? Go die already laaa

• Bernard on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:26 pm

Ugly as hell but will sell in Bolehland as msians have no choice, we can’t follow our hearts but must use our head…. boring and pathetic but what to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
  • How come Thai more expensive?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:37 pm

This 2nd facelift looks good for me. So as the original and the first facelift.
    I think Toyota have got their priority wrong: The reason the Vios loses out to City has not been because of the way it looks, but the overall package.In fact for me it looks better than the City. But the City is more practical, bigger inside, bigger boot, better equipped, and delivers much better fuel economy at the same time more powerful.
    Yea it’s a Dual VVTi, but it’s hardly significant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • yeah, honda understand the needs of malaysian

• Malaysia Boleh on Mar 29, 2017 at 11:59 am

The look is subjective, I won’t say that which one is look better, but to me the City look maturity inside out compare to Vios, IMO.

• OMG ! Toyota cars becoming more similar in appearance with Proton cars. This facelift Vios looks similar to Proton Persona !

• Hate Toyota brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Looks like those Earth Defence team cars from Ultraman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Vios already dead in Malaysia. Honda City wipe Vios completely.

Also Malaysians cannot forget, for over 10 yrs, Vios had no VSC despite Government confirming that having VSC can save 45% of lives in a given year.

Malaysians remember that UMW is more interested in untung lebih than give VSC to save our lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Ms Luna Phua on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:51 pm

Since when you listen government nonsense? VSC/VSA invented by manufacturers and confirmed to be affective lowering injuries and casualties by automakers bodies,not by government.Government just advise and talk without brain.

• “Nothing ancient though”
    Yeah right. Its just the same 10 yo engine with a new head. The same accusation bashers throws at Campro evolution family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • camtakpro on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Engine aside, what extras are being offered for this ‘new’ Vios?

Rear aircon vent? Leather wrapped door interior panel? Foldable rear even for J? Digital aircon + auto climate control? LED headlamps? Cruise control?

• The myth of high RV due to T badge, just like Kunta said above.

• And also price is even more expensive than MY. Ini mesti salah… oh wait..

• V for Vendetta on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:51 pm

Here comes the red taxi ala mini Altis

• The backside is nicer but interior sucks! I will go for city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Ugly interior for current Vios and Altis on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:43 am

Can’t agree more! The interior design is swaying to ultimate ugliness for this gen’s Vios. Same goes to current Altis.

• Also ugly interior for Proton on Mar 30, 2017 at 12:42 am

Same goes to Proton cars

• camtakpro on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:08 am

By ignoring the quality and reliability

– Proton interior seems better designed here, eg Iriz.

– For the rear, a bit better than before.

– For the front, seems worse than dugong.

• Kelab tak malu kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:10 am

Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
  • Man…This is ugly. The current design way better..

• 7yearsfd1 on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:20 am

New City looking way better.

• applegreen on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:21 am

Judging by exterior and interior design, woman tends to not buy this car. Looks too courageous

• passion on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:22 am

oops weird looking steering and what’s with the skinny gear stick. yuck! the center console is an after thought? cut and paste tablet?

• When all the ruler have been taken to perodua so no more ruler for toyota to make a straight line.

• saleontt on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:49 am

When this model launch, I questioned Toyota salesman, why previous model and current model using same engine? Why no improvement?
    The Toyota salesman told me, Vios sales good due to this engine, therefore new model also using the same engine.
    I was #$%^&*(

• kampungEGGpower! on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:59 am

i think this car looks better than existing 3 series, simple elegant yet sporty looking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Why price more expensive than MY when tomyam got no P1tongkat?

• dadas on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:59 am

omg still retain that ugly looking odometer.

It looks like a cheap printed paper.

• Mikey on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:26 pm

At the time of posting, there were 10 comments. Out of 10, 9 does not like the Vios. In fact, I will go further to say most “hate” the Vios one way or another.

Is there any good/positive about this Vios ??! To me, the Vios as a B-segment car is right at the top with the City otherwise they wouldn’t have sold loads of it. It is reliable, have good RV, fuel efficient & look acceptable in this segment.

In the B-segment, the City, Vios, Almera, Bizza & Persona sit in the same category. The City/Vios/Persona use CVT as the choice of transmission while the Almera/Bizza use the conventional 4-speed auto. They all use ICE with Variable Valve Timing(no one use a turbo)

IMO, if this Vios is price the same, spec for spec, who do U think will be the top choice. As a B-segment car, they are an upgrade from people who own/drive the A-segment car.

We must not complaint for the sake of complaining. We should complaint if we are getting less goodies for the same price while others pay less but get the same goodies.

Of course the Bizza & Persona are cheaper due to protection but lets assume these 5 car are the same price & spec wise, who has the better packages ??

Please don’t compare with other segment. IMO, it’s always has been the price of the car. Yes, we are paying higher prices for our foreign car assembled locally. Is the Vios really that Bad that we have to Bash Toyota or UMW who is the assembler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • johnsson on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:42 pm

I don’t know who is bashing but looking at it, it looks like the same people with different username, praising Proton bashing Toyota. IMO, it’s just a simple A to B car. I don’t know what’s there to bash?

• 6 airbags persona better than standard 2 airbags vios

• Apa kau merepek ni? Nak cakap Toyota in Malaysia still bagus ke apa ni? Pusing-pusing macam politician je.

• The only gud thing about Ultraman vios is that its more expensive in tomyam than in MY…

• Bezza A segment bro.. Same as Saga & Attrage.

• What safety? on Mar 29, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Put aside the exterior looks (as looks are subjective, some might like them, some might hate them), and also assuming same price for all these B-segmenters (Persona, City, Vios, Almera etc), I would say Honda City will win due to complete safety features, good fuel consumption, big interior space, the biggest boot space, 8 cup holders (families love this), good infotainment display, 8 speakers (unheard of for a car under RM100k), paddle shifter and cruise control too. Really a good car for family and young people. In reality though, the price for these cars isn’t same. I bought a Persona since it strikes a good balance for the price I pay (also for the free service promotion earlier), though my heart says go for Honda City. Honda showed that they understand what the Malaysian want in a car.

• andrw on Mar 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

ur so called bizza is a-segment.

• Mikey on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Thank U for replying bro. It show U & the rest above U read my posting. It also show most readers here know what they are reading/saying.

Yes, the Bezza is the same as Saga(A-segment). It was inserted for john to bash me so that I can reply back but unfortunately he did not reply.

I notice most readers like to LOOK for the one mistake which can make/turn into a selling/bashing point rightly or wrongly & that will generate more reply/bashing.

IMO, the chap above U(What safety) make the BEST points/arguments which I’m looking for & i think he is RIGHT. There is NO such thing as a Perfect car but there is a car for everyone if that car meet his NEEDS not his WANTS.

Lastly, I do not own any of the 5 car nor I am a Toyota Salesman. Just a Happy reader who like to read comments & reply without Fear or Favor. Cheers

• Didn’t u read my reply?

• Mikey on Mar 30, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Sorry, sometime i can’t tell which john is replying. Now that I’ve read it, I tot Ultraman are for kids. U still using diapers john ?? Shame on U. He he he.

• Haters gonna hate

• Ben Yap on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:35 pm

facelifting the same model over and over again is a bad move.

consumers want something new and not facelifting. at most, a car can only go through facelifting once. more than that, it gets boring as consumers are demanding and they want improvements over the previous models.

• andrw on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:58 pm

i do not understand ppl who think this car looks good! it looks so ugly ! and by adding so much element to the front doesnt actually translate to good design. yuck . yuck.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Why get this underpowered junk. Can’t you even put a proper 6 speed auto . Does this car use direct injection? Of course the answer is no. Toyota is well known for using old technology in their cars. I would rather get a Honda City or VW Vento TSI.