Honda HR-V soon to be updated, facelift coming 2018

The Honda HR-V is set to be refreshed soon in an attempt to fend itself against a growing influx of rivals. CarAdvice reports that the B-segment crossover will gain a few updates in Australia, before a more comprehensive facelift arrives Down Under early next year.

Confirmation of such a move came from Honda Australia director Stephen Collins, although details on what exactly the revisions will bring are unknown at this point in time. The publication suggests that the HR-V could receive a new infotainment system with satellite navigation, replacing the current smartphone-based system – as well as Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity.

But Honda could just as likely make the City-Brake Active System and its Advanced Driver Assist System (ADAS) – which included Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning and High-Beam Support System – as standard across the range, given that all variants of the Toyota C-HR and the Mazda CX-3 sold in Australia now carry similar features.

“HR-V has been very consistent. On average we do about 1,000 [units] per month – sometimes a bit more, sometimes a bit less. [Toyota] C-HR has recently come in, and we’ve still been pretty consistent at that level. So we think it provides a good package.

“We’ve been very happy, despite lots of new entrants coming in. There’s more coming, of course, so we need to keep it fresh and we need to keep working on that,” he said. “We’ve got an upgrade coming in the not-too-distant future, and the normal cycle would be that maybe next year we would have a minor cycle change – styling and so forth, which fits into the normal life-cycle,” Collins said.

Next year’s facelift will likely include the same sort of visual updates introduced on the City and Jazz this year, including full-LED headlights (the current car features optional LEDs only on low beam), a revised grille and reprofiled front and rear bumpers. There could also be minor trim changes on the inside.

As with those cars, however, the range of powertrains and drivetrains should remain identical. Like Malaysia, Australia currently has the HR-V in a sole 1.8 litre i-VTEC form with a CVT and four-wheel drive, although other markets do get options like a smaller 1.5 litre engine, a six-speed manual gearbox and all-wheel drive. Japan also gets a Hybrid version using the i-DCD Sport Hybrid system.

Regarding the manual ‘box, Collins said, “If we had the option we would probably do it. I don’t think it makes an impact on the volume we achieve, but clearly a lot of the competitors have a manual price point, and they sell a small number. If that option was available to us, we would probably take it.

Collins added that Honda sees fit to keep the HR-V lineup as is, given the strength of its offering in Australia. “We’re pretty happy – in fact, we’re more than pretty happy, we’re very happy with HR-V. The vast majority of that segment is two-wheel drive, the vast majority is petrol. The customers – from an engine perspective, we get good feedback. It provides good performance, good economy.

“You can always add heaps of grades and other engines and this type of stuff, but we’re going to stick to what’s core – and what’s core in the segment and is working really well for us is two-wheel drive, petrol engines, with a relatively simple grade line-up. We’ve got no plan to change our strategy on where we place that car,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Blimey on May 15, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Toyota C-HR wins.
    HR-V plastik interior horror

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
  • Henry on May 15, 2017 at 1:34 pm

The full spec’d 1.8L HRV (FWD)is 120k. A brand new 2016 Subaru Forester (AWD) 2.0i-P (full spec but minus bodykit) is now being offered at 130k.

I will buy the Subaru anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
    • IGP mom on May 15, 2017 at 2:57 pm

However, the target group disagree. For each Subaru Forester on the road, there are at least 20 HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Comparing Forester with HRV..? Dude,wrong category lah.If you said CRV I’m more agree with you.But dude it’s now 2017 not 2016.Buying old laying stock can’t compare with new fresh from factory.Further down depreciation is certain for unsold tak laku stock.

• honduh on May 15, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Subaru is for those pimple face beng who still live in the 80s. Subaru interior and exterior is plain ugly when compared to competitors.

Toyota, Honda and Mazda have move forward while subaru is still stuck in his own era.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • Subaru sells to their target market. But, toyotas target market have moved on.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 15, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Can you imagine, already 5th month in 2017, Subaru still selling 2016 stock. I think when 2018 comes, they will still be selling brand new 2016 stock.

All sit in the yard hot sun rotting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • theanswer on May 15, 2017 at 3:23 pm

as a car..u might have a point. as a whole total ownership..honda have more service centre..better after sales support. and hrv is not a true suv..so forester any time better as 4wd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Now at janji ditepati kau kau price of Rm113k, its even more value at full 4WD.

• thepolygonal on May 15, 2017 at 2:04 pm

“Collins added that Honda sees fit to keep the HR-V lineup as is”, “You can always add heaps of grades and other engines and this type of stuff, but we’re going to stick to what’s core – and what’s core in the segment and is working really well for us is two-wheel drive, petrol engines, with a relatively simple grade line-up. We’ve got no plan to change our strategy on where we place that car,” dude that was what happened to Nokia… you need to innovate or be left behind.

• Brazbuz on May 15, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Avg 1000unit sold in Oz whereas in Msia it sold around 1700unit per month. We need some update too…

• Agree, at least put the hybrid version on sale here since CKD hybrids here dont have to pay exise duty. I have seen many units of Honda Vezel Hybrid in Singapore. Why our country volume so much higher also dont want to bring in a better model.

• Tom, for your info, Honda Vezel in Singapore are grey import units directly from Japan.. Honda HRV also sell separately by official Honda Distributor in Singapore.. The Vezel you saw in Sg are mostly the non-hybrid version which is most likely the same as our Honda HRV.. Vezel Hybrid only sold exclusively for Japanese Market..

• Tatsumi on May 15, 2017 at 11:59 pm

When every Malaysian got crazy to CHR, now HRV is coming with facelift. ….. Toyota with quality product but very poor marketing strategies.

• Based on readers opinion over here, do you guys roughly know when will the facelift models coming to Malaysia? Perhaps mid to end of 2018? Or will it be early 2019?

• Socio on May 16, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Here in Europe (Spain) we demand of the HR-V an engine with a more convincing torque delivery like the 1. 0l VTEC TURBO. I think Honda should rush into changing gasoline mechanics if it does not want to lose potential customers. In Europe, since the beginning of its production, it has been commercializing a 1.5l 130ps atmospheric that is a great technological engine, very efficient but with the inconvenience that it has to be stretched in revolutions to obtain its full potential and obviously forces to be constantly pending the change of speeds to prevent the engine from fainting. In my country many people think like me, we talk about a more comfortable and more relaxed driving and only a TURBO engine can guarantee that demand. Greetings from Spain.

• Trudy on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:27 am

Would anyone know if the facelift Honda HRV will reach us by 2018? I am thinking of getting a HRV. Any advice?

• Please bring in the HRV hybrid version, you will have big potential here.

• I am planning to book a HRV. If new model is coming should I wait? roughly which quarter 2018? Hope the gurus here can give some advice? thank you.