Honda Jazz facelift previewed in Malaysia – new 1.5L hybrid with 7-speed dual clutch available from August

Spied early this week in the country, and just announced in Japan on Thursday, the Honda Jazz facelift has been previewed in Malaysia. It’s effectively the first public showing of the car in the world.

The car being shown in the country is a Jazz Hybrid, which is one of the two versions of the facelift that will be sold here, the other being a petrol version. Malaysia will be the first country outside Japan to introduce the Hybrid, with deliveries here set to begin from August.

Incidentally, the Malaysian display car features a differently styled front bumper to the Japanese version, and is also dressed in a different wheel design.

We’re told that Malaysia has actively been one of the research and development areas for the hybrid – the system has been undergoing evaluation here for the past two years, but tucked away under an existing Jazz bodyshell, much like when first seen at the Earth Dreams 2012 event in Japan.

The Hybrid utilises the automaker’s Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) system, which is led by a 110 PS and 134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine. The mill is paired with a seven-speed dual clutch transmission featuring a built-in motor offering 29.5 PS and 160 Nm and a lithium-ion battery. Total system output is rated at 137 PS.

The electric motor features a wide ratio range and electric servo brakes in its design. The clutch is engaged to the engine during acceleration and high-speed cruising, and disengaged during startup and low- to medium-speed cruising. The transmission is also disconnected from the engine during deceleration to aid energy regeneration.

The petrol variant, which will go on sale ahead of the Hybrid sometime in the present quarter, will likely soldier on with the same 1.5 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine that produces 120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm, mated to an Earth Dreams continuously variable transmission (CVT).

In terms of equipment levels, LED DRLs and keyless entry/push start will now be standard across the board. Part-leather seats, a multi-angle reverse camera, ABS/BA/VSA/HSA and six airbags will also available, but likely not at the entry level variant. Order books have opened for both petrol and hybrid versions of the Jazz facelift.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• apala, you know we all interested to know the buntut pic, how come never show ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 13, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Hopefully we get the Hybrid pricing and not get cheated again. Just like Mercedes C350e in UK is 29,000 pounds (RM165k)

But MBM sell the C350e at RM300k. How is this possible when the locally assembled CKD C350e is tax exempt?

The same with Honda Jazz Hybrid and Civic Hybrid (if it comes) It should follow global pricing as it should benefit from tax exempt pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 44
    • loldreamer on May 13, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Unfortunately, gomen dgaf about hybrids. We cri e’eryday. Or we can vote to remove the people in power and choose those who support alternative energies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 39
      • So can u tell which other side sapots alternative energies, cuz the only other side i heard wanted nuke powah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Dumbass, the eev incentive and tax-exempted ckd hybrid policy are already in place ok. Where were u?

• Stop complaining here. Go hentam ur jepunis overlord when wanna bring in hybrid yaris instead. And better dun priced it like shiet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • KotakSuSu on May 14, 2017 at 5:59 pm

U talk cock la.. The brand new C350e is at least £38000 excluding insurance. Thats for the base spec some more. You put in the rest, u end up to £45000 excluding insurance and delivery. Thats RM250k without insurance and delivery.

• Sammy Loo on May 14, 2017 at 7:17 pm

C350e in UK cost 40k for the AMG line which does not include all the list of equipment we get over here. If you add on all the optional equipment to be the same spec like here, the price is about the same.

• komarad on May 15, 2017 at 11:13 am

meanwhile in UK….
      Model: Mercedes C 350e
      Price: £36,400 (after gov. grant)
      Engine: 2.0-litre 4cyl turbo petrol & electric motor
      Transmission: Seven-speed auto, rear-wheel drive
      Power/torque: 275bhp/600Nm
      0-62mph: 5.9 seconds
      Top speed: 155mph (electronically limited)
      Economy/CO2: 134.5mpg/48g/km
      On sale: Now

• kzm (Member) on May 15, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Can u get those price in other ASEAN country?

• Is the hybrid version will include honda sensing?

• Hayenadeblue on May 15, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Good question. With 7 speed (not cvt), 6 airbags and adaptive cruise control, that would be a dream car for my wife.

• ChTeoh on May 13, 2017 at 5:05 pm

The look is much better than the predecessor.

• Sgt Scoop on May 13, 2017 at 5:46 pm

What’s the estimated priced of the hybrid?

• With all the kit & usual positioning of hybrid as premium spec, shud be about city E/V spec price. If priced at S spec, u will see toyota salesmen rant even more here.

• MARIA on May 13, 2017 at 7:02 pm

I just hope that this just the preview unit and not for public..We want JDM hybrid face for malaysia n honda sensing full stop

• Henry on May 13, 2017 at 8:44 pm

With the tax reduction and EEV incentive here, hybrid cars are getting a second wind in the local market. This is good.

• lolfc on May 13, 2017 at 8:49 pm

JPN spec i-DCD, users report avg City drive w/ AC: 16-18 km/l. Mixed (Hwy,City) summer AC: ~17 km/l. Winter(no AC/but heater): ~22-25 km/l. Some report 30~37 km/l Hwy but probably no AC, no heater, no passenger, no load. e-nenpi_com.

• myotism on May 13, 2017 at 9:31 pm

really interested in this model, hope they spec it out adequately

• Aero (Member) on May 13, 2017 at 9:47 pm

It’s not everyday that a major car company debuts a new model here. It might not look it, but Honda is making a strong statement.

But it’s not surprising, since Malaysia’s is now Honda’s best market in terms of market share (although, local sales volume is still FAR smaller than say China or America).

The other thing to note is the Hybrid model. It could very well become the cheapest Hybrid car on the market after all the tax rebates.

The Hyundai Ioniq at around RM100k is currently the cheapest Hybrid, but it’s one segment larger than the Jazz, and is a ‘purpose built’ Hybrid (this Jazz Hybrid is more ‘conventional’, like the Camry Hybrid, 330e, XC90 etc..).

• Thrill seeker Kunta Albert on May 13, 2017 at 10:26 pm

If you want dual clutch, nothing comes close to a Volkswagen dual clutch, honestly, you can only experience the thrill of driving dual clutch with a Volkswagen and a TSI engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • william on May 13, 2017 at 10:48 pm

another dull car from HONDA, but we Malaysian love to spend our money unwisely on it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 14, 2017 at 2:31 am

Why no rear disc brakes? Rear drum brakes for a RM90k car? Big joke!

• heybadigol (Member) on May 14, 2017 at 10:14 am

I should think that this will eventually be the top spec Jazz here. So the actual model for sale should get nicer looking rims, cos these dont look very nice. And pls give the Jazz cruise control.

• proton oh proton on May 14, 2017 at 6:03 pm

still bore to me

• I guess pricing will be the 1st question on affordability of the Jazz hybrid. Can’t wait man

• Unless it’s around 80K, no one will buy.

• nastyjibb on May 15, 2017 at 1:31 pm

dear Antony,
    Any estimated price given by Honda personals?

• Next gen Kunta Naik on May 15, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Dude, if you want to exeperience the excitement of dual clutch, just get the original, from Volkswagen. Let me tell you this, nothing and I really mean nothing comes close to Volkswagen dual clutch gearbox. Just get the real thing. Just test drive and decide for yourself.

• Kunta Alberto Naik on May 15, 2017 at 8:59 pm

The DSG is really a technology marvel, no one does it best than its inventor, Volkswagen.

• Guanyinmaaa on May 16, 2017 at 10:54 am

Try the DCT from Nissan GTR. The best ever.

• aww, no LED tail lights…sad…

• lolsports on May 16, 2017 at 1:31 pm

0-100 <7.9 seconds. About same time like 1.0L stock ecoboost. Can be racy and save petrol (hybrid) depending on your mood. All in the she car. No wonder market as "Sports hybrid". Doesn't look like one though. Oh and it's spacious. Handling may be good cause low center of gravity from batteries but we shall see. Scoring: speed+ hybrid+ looks- space+ practical+ handling~

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 12:08 am

apa price…? that is the question

• LifeIsHot on May 26, 2017 at 6:15 am

The rim so lao beh(Meaning “Old-Fashioned” in hokkien), not Qioh (Meaning “Sporty” in hokkien) at all.

And from the back view, looks like Perodua viva.

Hahahahahah!!!