Proton to receive RM1.1 billion as R&D reimbursement

During a Q&A session after the signing of the Geely-Proton deal, second finance minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani has said the government will reimburse Proton RM1.1 billion for the amount it has spent on research and development (R&D) to produce new cars.

The amount will be given after the definitive agreement has been finalised, which is set to happen before the end of July. Johari also noted that Proton had spent RM3.5 billion in the past on R&D, and quashed rumours that Proton will be receiving a further RM1.7 billion.

As for the previous RM1.5 billion soft loan, it was revealed that Geely will repay the amount in full. The loan was approved by the Malaysian government back in April 2016, with Proton agreeing to several terms, including identifying a foreign strategic partner.

In a previous report back in July 2014, then Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had requested the government to reimburse some of the money the company invested on R&D projects. Proton’s then chief technical officer (now Proton Edar CEO) Abdul Rashid Musa revealed later in October 2015 that the company has invested over RM18 billion in R&D since the firm’s establishment in 1983.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Konga89 on May 25, 2017 at 11:12 am

Guinese book of world record for feeding white elephant via sucking rakyat blood.speechless whole rakyat and hi hopes some1 competent pple will run govt

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
    • John Boros on May 25, 2017 at 11:41 am

Wah…Banyak cantik you Proton.

Already lelong but still taking more money duit rakyat.

Dewan Rakyat never debate or approve it before paying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • Cukurlah ada duit rakyat, Proton boleh berkembang maju

Be more patriotic lah, Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
        • Ubahma on May 25, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Pay GST, sapott Proton. Sigh..

• Lu tak suka boleh pergi Singapore

Dun question something that even our Dewan Rakyat never question

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
          • But SG has highest car price in universe.
            And highest cost of living.
            And highest stress.
            And highest chance of 14th floor.
            And highest chance of losing job to FTs.
            And highest chance of being 3rd class citizen.
            And highest chance of being sneered cuz money rulez.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
        • Keymark on May 25, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Apa lagi Proton mahu?!!

• john otak udang on May 26, 2017 at 4:20 pm

proof to your statement on Singapore please

• MY have alwiz prioritise R&D activities and alwiz allocate funds, incentives, & relieves for it. This has alwiz been debated but only by 1 side cuz the opposite prefers to talk and talk and talk but dun listen. Deswai never came out in ceramahs that u get ur news from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Optimus on May 25, 2017 at 11:43 am

Pls define “competent”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • John Lingkup on May 25, 2017 at 11:58 am

Competent = Not making loss of RM4 million/day.

• Proton is ‘competent’ to take money from the Gov, ok? P2 jangan haraplah

• Konga89 on May 25, 2017 at 12:14 pm

U still need the definition of competent then look it the economic situation of the country n inflation n how normal person is suffering bez of poor goverence but actually the lists is exhaustive

• Proton work smart, not hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Konga89 on May 25, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Must b mature n have sense to feel it the definition of requested word

• CarBuyer on May 25, 2017 at 12:36 pm

I really hope the “high profile-ness” of the Geely investment powers it through, as I’m sure the rakyat is tired of so much of their money ending up in Proton, which many were already fooled to be not dependent on the government since its takeover by DRB.

My skepticism about deal completion is fueled by events like “deadline-meeting” debt-reduction successes that eventually never complete, and corruption arrests that never seem to convert to successful prosecutions. It seems so many things are done “for show” only.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 25, 2017 at 1:02 pm

32 year old, sudah tua still need the government and rakyat to breastfeed. Proton you should know why we rakyat despise and do not want to support you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • They why 100yearold company like Ford, Chrysler, GM needed bailout?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Kopi O Kosong satu on May 25, 2017 at 11:18 am

That is the R&D bill for Inspira, Ertiga, Accordana, Iriz facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Celup on May 25, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Kerja rebadge pun dapat berbillion billion lemon.

• Proton is a deathtrap for Malaysians’ money since 1985 and will continue to be in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • GomenBodoh on May 25, 2017 at 11:20 am

Why must the gomen pay for Proton’s R&D cost? Whatever that comes out from the R&D doesn’t go to the gomen at all. Like why would I pay my neighbor for his house renovation cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • Kelab Sokong john on May 25, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Why work hard when the rakyat want to gips u money? That’s called working smart like Proton

• Bash Basher on May 26, 2017 at 4:29 pm

In other words, that is called “LAZY”
        Don’t PT readers realize this? Tun M calls P1 his “child”. As everybody knows, a child needs to be taken care of and spoon fed. P1 is 30 plus years old and he still calls it a “child”. How many more year Malaysians must suffer to spoon feed this Lazy ass child who doesn’t want to grow up or do not know how to grow up?
        Hopefully the recent FSP will help this lazy child.

• This is government incentive to promote r&d. Other company can get the grant if they did in house r&d.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 143 Thumb down 146
      • MooJib on May 25, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Seems like proton definition of R&d is google search and copy paste. Other knowledge even Ah Tan repair shop knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
        • Really? Can Ah Tan build own engine from scratch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • Mirage on May 25, 2017 at 10:01 pm

If Ah Tan can build own engine, why do u need lousy company like Proton?

• That Campro is not built from scratch. That is a very old Lotus engine design in the 80’s . When Campro first launched in Gen2, it doesn’t even have VVT technology. We called it the Campro kosong in those days. You may recall how that first Campro is so lethargic in lower RPM, only feels torquey at much higher RPM, resulting in pathetic fuel consumption. That is because that engine was meant to be used in a lightweight Lotus platform which does not require loads of low-end torque to move the car. Definitely that engine will suffer in a heavy Gen2/Persona with 1.2 tonnes of weight. Japs already have VVT tech in the 80’s mind you. Gen2 came out in 2004.

• honduh on May 29, 2017 at 11:16 pm

In the first place lotus are never good in engine builds. Reliability is worst than italians. Else why would you think they shaft toyota engine into their lotus chasis.

• U pay for ur neighbours son to learn how to renovate, then come back and renovate free for u. Boleh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 37
  • If feels like the Fast and Furious movie franchise. Dom “keeps saying one last ride” feels like Proton asking for “One last Loan” And every movie/Loan feels like its getting bigger and more over the top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
  • Not Toyota Fan on May 25, 2017 at 11:28 am

So much of rakyat money wasted on this loss making company, all for the sake of jaga muka dan maruah. If this was run as a proper business, they would have been sold off long ago. Imagine the same amount of money that can be used to upgrade & uplift the rural areas in Malaysia, the number of schools & universities it can fund, the number of Doctors & Scientist we can nuture. All this money gone I to cronies pocket.

In anyways, it’s too little too late now. The big picture was to jump start Malaysia into an automotive producing industrialised nation but today, it’s Thailand that is Detroit of ASEAN. They’ve move further forward recently by giving incentives for Hybrid cars manufacturing.

Back in the 90s, Proton bought Lotus with much fanfare, today China bought Proton. How the mighty has fallen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • ??? Tomyam has alwiz been detroit of ASEAN. MY never was. We tried with P1 but then kena bash. So…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Malas bin tidor..ada hati jd Detroit. Kehekekek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
        • Tu hang para bashers nak agungkan kite sepatutnya dh jadik detroit asia tu lebih lebih apesal? Cermikan diri dulu.

• R&D grant must commensurate with achievement. So, what is the achievement?

• SALang on May 25, 2017 at 11:47 am

18B for R&D? What is the outcome of the R&D?

• thepolygonal on May 25, 2017 at 11:54 am

Only makes sense if tax collected from proton is more than this amount… oh wait they have been operating at a lost?

• In another words, those who belip the 1.7B rumours got facepalmed hard. So mana those who defended Edge?

• xoxox on May 25, 2017 at 12:00 pm

18b R&D give this kind of quality/standard?

• Danial on May 25, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Joking right, Dr.M says Proton spent RM18 billion in R&D…How come all that money, the cars still don’t meet quality standards..What a waste if Proton did spend that amount. Gods know if any was truly done on R&D

• evolva on May 25, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Because Proton approach is the another way around, they opt for D&R instead of R&D. So they did DEVELOPMENT first then only Research…then find out not practical, and scrap everything and start from scratch again….

• Danial on May 25, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Our government and its appointed do not know how to manage business. The tax payer’s money is there so they take all the risk with bad planning and strategy. Basically we have an incompetent government and the company that manages Proton. I am not surprise GEELY revise Proton loss into something better and spectacular provided politicians and cronies are not involve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Geely saw something that u pipu din. What a pity; not to P1 of cuz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
      • john malas on May 25, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Yep, Geely saw the laziness in P1’s working culture. The rakyat saw it too. U are the best example of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Really? Then why wud Geely invest into a lazy culture, hmm?
          And yes, i can be lazy cuz i shake leg got pipu come buy my Biza with special package.
          Jelly much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • john malas on May 25, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Geely’s main aim is Lotus, which is a brilliant engineering firm ruined by Proton. Lotus unlike Proton, has lots of development potential. Proton with its lazy workers culture like u can rot itself

• Jayden on May 25, 2017 at 12:19 pm

My company also invested much money into R&D. When can I get back my money? Not a lot, only RM1.2mil.

Kindly tell me when.

• Pls go to MITI and talk to the officer there. Theres a lot of documentation that needed and they will come site visit and of cuz see what contribution does ur R&D do.

• Hawk5 on May 25, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Reimbursement? Meaning they don’t have to pay back! The rakyat’s money down the drain again! And it’s beyond me why we have to foot the R&D cost…

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Wow. R & D in Billions !! Sound more like Ripoff. I think the R & D stand for Ridiculous & Disastrous payment instead of Research & Development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
    • As compared to ur “R&D” TRD sportivo bodykit & ahbeng bumper DRLs? Oh yes, really ridiculous and disasterous, eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 30
      • Tok Hadi on May 25, 2017 at 4:55 pm

At least the ‘R&D’ is not taken from the rakyat like your beloved Proton. Sudah partnership still want billions of rakyat’s money? ‘R&D’ for Proton is like R3(Rubbish, Reused, Recycle)

• At least R3 has performance parts. What does ur TRD has? Up 5HP stickers ke? Mana lebih Trash, Rubbish, Dump?

• Tok Hadi on May 26, 2017 at 10:39 am

What? 5HP for RM1.5B kah? I rather have stickers for RM5. R3 ada apa performance parts? U mean like your RM1888 Saga bodykit?

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Clap clap clap. Thank Q john 4 replying here. U NEVER disappoint me when come to Bashing Toyo even in a subject regarding P1/R&D. That’s why i like it.

U have the Hallmark of a true champion Basher. Please don’t take it personally bcos it’s a Rare talent which I’m trying very hard 2 do what u do but just cannot come close.

The only one that can give U a run 4 the money is none other than Kunta. Of course it’s only my opinion that U are the champion but I’ll let our readers here determine who is the ultimate champion.

Cheers to john & Kunta bcos without john & Kunta, it will be boring. Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • That’s their logic of business and investment. Untung dia punya, rugi public punya.

• Tok Guru on May 25, 2017 at 12:39 pm

18 million ny wat… thats like a drop in the ocean

• concerned driver on May 25, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Gov just lost millions of potential votes because of this news. all proton staff are opposition supporters including their families, gov is helping opposition???? do they think proton staff care for the gov help? they sold the dead company to Geely which will not last due to terrible record of Proton and DRB supposed to be turn around experts and one day Chese Geelyt will take Proton to court to get their money back. pls gov stop helping these thieves and help the real people who need funds to do a good work in Malaysia.

• Ahmadjr on May 25, 2017 at 1:16 pm

What r&d? Working power window?

• Of cuz R&D for working power windows is of it. What kinda R&D does for fixed windows?

• Wowawowau on May 25, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Wow! 18 Billion in R&D? what sort of tech is proton researching? stealth technology izit?

#duitpunjadistealth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Savvy
      Arena
      Waja
      Gen2
      Satria Neo
      Satria Neo CPS
      Persona1
      Saga2
      Exora
      Iriz
      Perdana2
      Persona2
      Saga3
      Campro
      Campro CPS
      VVT tebo
      VVT standard
      EV drive train
      ESC+TC
      6 airbags
      TDi incoming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Mummy Yummy on May 25, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Billions gone into blackhole…….and never seen again.

P1 must be given the “most rugi company” in the world.

• sudahkawtim on May 25, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Geely, you take Proton and you pay back RM1.5 billion for the soft loan. But don’t worry, you don’t have to pay all. You pay RM400 million only. We deduct RM1.1 billion and tell everyone it’s R&D grant lor!

• Vincent on May 25, 2017 at 2:45 pm

As what I have say more than 5 years ago, proton intension is not making money via selling car! They continue R&D spend even their car won’t sell! they move into develop Perdana, a segment where a form 5 student also know that it won’t sell!

Proton just wanted to cash out billions, via R&D. It will be interested to see who is their R&D partner, who has billed billions on R&D!

Simple Mathematic,P1 sell 300K car in two years and spent all 1.5 Billions in a year! That work out to be 5K R&D for the low end outdated technology car liek Saga and persona, which price at below 40K a piece!

What is the logic behind?

• These sort of tactic is not new and does not apply only to Proton. While in the corporate world, we used to provide engineering services to companies and these includes to government related companies. They would advertise in trade show, website, etc that they are the one who do all the hard work while actually they did nothing, nada. Further down the road, we stopped providing such services as these companies are getting free money through grants from government. In short, there’s a bunch of people getting paid for doing actually nothing. At the rate the Malaysia debt is growing, it wouldn’t be long we’ll be in the same class as Greece or worst.

• Boogie on May 27, 2017 at 10:23 am

Just close shop instead of using people money for their pockets. R&D my xxx…. just take older car models using cheaper parts n rebranded. A moron can do better

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 28, 2017 at 11:34 am

Volvo Malaysia can close shop now

• Jacky on May 29, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Many years ago, I worked for a company that sells paint to Proton R&D. They would ask us to invoice them prices that are 2X or 3x times. And pay them back the difference as commission. They had big budget back then.