MITI reveals all six members of Proton loan task force

Profile-01

As reported earlier, the Malaysian government’s approval of Proton’s application for a soft loan of RM1.5 billion will include several conditions, including the creation of a task force to oversee the national carmaker’s turnaround plan. The International Trade and Industry Ministry (MITI) has now shed more light on said task force.

The task force, led by Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) CEO Datuk Seri Idris Jala, will be responsible in monitoring the implementation of Proton’s plans to revive its business, which in turn will make the company more competitive, said MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed in a report by The Star.

Additionally, it will also be responsible to monitor a strategic plan for Proton to increase its share of the domestic market, as well as to penetrate into international markets. “The task force will also identify strategic partners from abroad in the near future to assist Proton in achieving its goal of improving competitiveness.

Perdana-Brochure-4

“However, the task force will not be involved in Proton’s day-to-day operations as that will be the full responsibility of Proton’s management and board of directors,” Mustapa said.

There will be six people in the task force, three of which are from the private sectors, while the remainder are from the public sectors. The former includes Symphony House Bhd executive chairman and Group chief executive officer (CEO) Tan Sri Azman Yahya, Celcom-Axiata Berhad chief executive director Datuk Sri Shazalli Ramly and Maybank Community Financial Services head Datuk Hamirullah Boorhan.

As for the latter, MITI deputy secretary-general Datuk Nik Rahmat Nik Taib, Finance Ministry Strategic Investment Division secretary Dr Yusof Ismail and Economic Planning Unit (EPU) deputy director-general Datuk Yogeesvaran Kumaraguru will represent the public sector.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Joining $4 billion to “Aabar”. Another 1.5b washing down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 21
    • Sack designer on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Good move new team.

But first, sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • Jimmy on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Maybe they are really good, have real power and have enough personal time to be dedicated and professional.

Let us wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:49 am

Disgrace of a company. And worse still, Government also pretending to do wayang for the rakyat. Come on la, we rakyat know already, the RM1.5B for sure Government give to Proton with no conditions attached. Wait 2 years, again, Proton will ask RM1.5 bil, but this time quietly and in secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Low Budget on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:18 am

One of them fire sale MAS fixed assets and claimed MAS make profit that year and then quit MAS only to let the Mat Salleh now tryig to do the real rescue work, can he bring P1 to live again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Redidiot on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:10 am

I don’t think the problem are the designers. Its the guy(s) who okays things thats the problem.

• More Tubro CumPro Swiching to follow soon.

• what is your problem with the designers ?

• OMG…U dont always say sack the designer…Just sack the top management better lah, they r the 1 decision maker…SH lah u. puihhhh

• ProtonGSC on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:22 pm

New AP system owners gets more and more shares, Rakyat that pampered them congratulations to you… P1 Supporters get any shares beside paying more taxes???

• Boring Samy on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:40 pm

This is like another goreng by our Government. The six is not that honest also. Go and see into these 6 heroes, the all got big contracts under their wife’s sister’s name, kakak ipar’s name, abang kepada kakak ipar, bapa saudara, emak saudara, nenen etc.

Infact, Idris Jala is a big failure. Even MAS he could not sort the mess out and MAs lost billions and went into bankruptcy. So, if MAS Idris Jala cannot even sort out, and billions disappeared, how is he going to monitor this RM1.5 billion?

MAS alone disappeared billions, macam mana Idris Jala and gang mahu jaga Rm1.5 billion?
      Anyway, this 6 clowns is just to drama with the rakyat and fool the rakyat that the RM1.5 billion will be monitored. Proton has taken many occassions of billions. Infact, Proton has taken over Rm100 billion quietly and most of the money was taken by our hero Tun M from Petronas coffers direct into Proton coffers.

• Muniandy burung samy on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Now the political Muniandy change his identity to give fake and copy and paste political comment. Shame, no life you ?

• Albert Yong @ Albert @ George Abdul @ RBA john latest dupe was permabanned for being an idiot

• durex on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:27 pm

John, not enough lube for your afterlife kah?

• Albert on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:18 pm

100 task force execs also ,of no use.
      Look at Roti jala’s national carrier? In what shape?Until gomen steps in and appoints orang putih to chop 6000 dead wood.
      All bising,bising…vendors hypertension comes down…happy go lucky…then another billion ringgit bailout 3 years later.mark my words.
      familiar storyline?
      Bolehland-the land of multiple bailouts cos of a disease called EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • Trickster on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Sell Proton lands, factory and poof big profits shown like MAS magic. Classic silap mata by Idris Jala.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
        • How Sincere is Proton? on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:58 am

If Proton is sincere about this turnaround, each and every Board of Directors and Management should take a pay cut. After all, you are earning like RM50k per month. You should take a 50% pay cut.

In overseas, if a company is doing badly and they are begging public money, it is a norm to take a pay cut.

Is Proton big shots taking a pay cut? If not, how dare you ask RM1.5 billion of rakyat money?

this is not the first time Proton has taken money. they have taken many times. Whether officially or quietly. Infact, many times Proton has taken quietly and nobody knows about it. This is when Mahathir was PM and he could take any amount of money to pump into Proton.

Even is previous times Proton has taken money, the BOD, Directors, Management all never took pay cut. They lived luxuriously. 5 star hotels all suits, Business Class all over the world, Drivers, Top Audi cars as company cars, unlimted entertainment allowance etc

Time for Proton to show their sincereity. Just cannot take money just like that. Show us you are giving up your luxury Audis, Mercedes Benz and BMWs. All Directors should either use Saga FLX or Wira 2003 model.

Can Proton management give the list of company cars that their staff is using? I think it is high time to give up all those luxury cars cause the luxury cars alone come to about RM50 million to maintain.

Can the CEO, the new Adviser (another Tun), the CFO, Chairman, Directors (executive and non Executive) all use Wira 1.3 GL?

There are many in the 2nd hand market. Buy a good Wira 1.3 GL for Rm6000 for the CEO please

The Chairman, we can be a bit more luxurious and give him a Proton Wira 1.5GL

• You jelly don’t get perlindungan?

• If fail later, all can start to eat roti…..

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:57 am

This Rm1.5 billion is going down the drain. Most commentators here are people borb in year 1995 and above. The don’t know much what really happened in 1983 when the idea of Proton was formed.

You see, Proton is a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure his family, kakis and cronies all got the contract to be vendors and suppliers to Proton. Unfortunately, these suppliers were crooks of the highest degree. They gave the worst lowest quality parts and charged super high to Proton.

So, Proton can talk all they want now ie cakap besar. But until Proton changes every single vendor, Proton will still have parts falling off and things breaking into two and be plagued with non stop quality issues.

But Proton, nor Government will NEVER do this cause most of the Proton vendors are UMNO cronies or members and some of them are even in the cabinet today!
        Let us face facts, nama busuk Proton was because of these vendors. That is why everybody until today complains about the quality of Proton cars. From door handles snapping into two to gearbox juddering and rosak. Let me today tell you, it is 100% the fault of the crony vendors that Proton is in bankruptcy today.

The RM1.5 billion has no meaning. It is just to breathe life into Proton for say 9 months before it runs out.

I dare Proton to list ALL their vendors now, quoting their prices, and where they source their parts for Proton. Government has given RM1.5 billion to Proton this time, it is our rakyat’s money. In other words, we are all now sort of shareholders in Proton and can demand this list.
        You will see, the vendor is always some kakak ipar, emak saudara, abang angkat, abang kepada kakak ipar, kakak saudara, ibu tiri, kakak kepada ibu tiri of some UMNO Minister.

Remember, until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will still have nama busuk and sales will still be in collapse state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Ollie on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:31 pm

agree 100%

• fuyooooo! everyone must trust your stroy lah? give some data and fact la bro. setakat hearsay boleh jalan daaa..

proton vendors? mesti tak pernah datang karnival Proton. lots of vendor participate at the carnival. not all but major vendor is there.

• Albert Too on Apr 15, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Albert…if you are not Malaysian,….I suggest you stop calling my country with names. maybe you should call your mama by that name

get out from this country…THIS IS MALAYSIA!!!!!

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Good luck! But make sure the RM1.5b go to Proton Holdings Bhd., not Proton Holdings BVI.

If Proton Holdings BVI then someone will get donation again without realizing it.

• john is otak batu on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:41 am

Only Dato??!! Where’s engineer/designer?…More talk no innovation.. dead end

• Low Budget on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:15 am

Money also deposited to the wrong Aaabar, Can RM1.5B to revive P1 also deposited to the wrong account number?

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:23 pm

talk cock je lah……result tarak woiiii, gaji lebat……

• English teacher on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Just sack the entire managememt and marketing team inc the designers, copywriters and CEO…cannot even hire better copywriters, resulting in lousy Manglish words like “drive it to believe it, feel it, its in the drive”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
    • Qiren on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:56 pm

What’s wrong with that? How is that “lousy Manglish”?
      Grammatically, everything seems to be correct if you ask me (except for the “its”, but I believe that’s a typo from you because I see “it’s” in all of their promotional materials).
      You can say it’s a stupid or lousy slogan, but it definitely isn’t “manglish”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • morries on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:49 am

which english sentence is wrong, English teacher? you write it down now,. word by word, the words you deem incorrect, and let us see the workings of the construction of the whole sentence or sentences,. let us see your english proficiency,. cakap banyak. u can condemn Proton if you reallly hate the car. but dont be some stupid to call on a broken english when clearly it is not.
        use your brains before condemning

• Student on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Oh my english!

You sir,before you try to straighten out proton “Manglish” , please fix yours first. The word “INC” is not in oxford dictionary. Therefore your sentence above should be invalid.

P/s: Please dont flame me for pointing out your mistake teacher . Am still learning by watching Oh My English!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Yeah right. As if “Building cars, people first” makes any sense. If they din put P2 in front, i wud thought that its a human cloning company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Soft dingdong down there on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Throw all 6 of them in jail if p1 still can’t make it high as promise! It’s 1.5B! A father stealing rm2 food for his kid also got jail! We talking about 1.5B here people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • That only works in China. In land of freedom, democracy & human rights (USA), they just pay big big bonuses for them to leave when underperform.

Shud we be like no-human rights, no-freedom, no-democracy China and execute failures; or very freedom, human rights, & democracy USA and pay big money for failure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:41 pm

This will be Proton’s last chance to turn things around. Whatever happens this year and the next will determine their fate in 2018. There is no clear indication on what the opposition will do to Proton after they win the next election. Will they close down Proton, or will they sell it ? Maybe they won’t do anything ? Who knows… But Proton must be ready to face whatever challenges that lay ahead. Good luck Proton. Don’t disappoint those who have stuck by your side all this while. You have far more bigoted haters than steadfast supporters. We cannot save you, only Proton can save themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • Taskforce lagi on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:20 pm

how many is “last chance” for the last 30 years??

If the company has dignity, there wont be asking last chance, etc. Do, or just close shop, Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
      • Ootai on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Spot on. For a low growth industry & low market share producer, p1 should be sent to the d..s. All the ‘guardians’ are non Carlos Ghosn. Recalcitrant. Wasting rakyat’s tax money. Just do a closing down sale to repay the rakyat’s past wasted support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • ProtonGSC on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:26 pm

When Iriz launch you say “last chance”, Now also said “last chance”. How many more “last chance” Proton are going to make??? Do you understand the word “last chance”???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
      • Sembang kencang on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Aero is still delusional. After skipping from his long essay comments from other critical Proton news, now suddenly pop out to express his futile hope.

Ha ha ha poor Aero. Even comments to Australian car sites like intellectual but made himself like a arrogant joker and laughed off by Australians.

And now still cannot open his eyes to a huge gigantic failure and still hopeful for a support. Just like a sky diver wearing a helmet, if both parachutes failed so it doesn’t matter if the helmet is wearing the sky diver. Both surely crashed down anyway!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:42 pm

If all effort destine to fail, just let p1 died. Nothing can we do. At least they try rite..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Jahanam on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:58 pm

At least a try?

How you feel if your own money billions of ringgit gone down to longkang for fun?

You talk easy lah macai. Not your money to hantam but duit rakyat.

Duit rakyat memang sedap kasi hangus. Lagi banyak lesap lagi bagus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • I wud not wanna be ur kid. Any time just fail a subject, the bapa will holler “Buat pe bayar untuk u gagal ujian? Lebih baik jadi Bangla, kenape tak copy u punya kawan yang bijak dan dapat A”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Jane's addiction on Apr 15, 2016 at 7:41 am

Too bad proton is not a child.

• @Jane
            O_o Neither is pipu in uni, yet they oso take exams and can fail as well.

• Redidiot on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:16 am

If they close shop, money still gone. U marah2 also wont bring back money.

• Cash is king on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Sell it off to China car company!

• We have been hearing “this is the last” too often. Comes next loan, they will change the management again.

• tokmoh. on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:42 am

If they still manage to screw up the GDI/TGDI engines and Jatco CVT/Getrag 6-speeder, they are well and truly hopeless.

Sell to Geely, rebadge Volvo and truly become Volvo of Asia is better.

• Ollie on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Opposition? You think this is a political matter? Absolute rubbish as usual from you

• Najis lul on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Rakyat is sensible now n feel truly financial pinch’.every1 trying bests to find money n this blood sucker took our hard earn money n now classifying this n that n at the end v know v well nothing would happen n this billions would b wasted .thats for sure

• kes RM1.5B kami mau Task force.

tapi kes RM2.6B kami sapu bawah karpet jer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Krana kes 2.6B adalah fitnah saje dan duit memang tak hilang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Taskforce lagi on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:18 pm

please, dont sandiwara here and there, prolong the problem. Just close shop, Proton.

Dont believe me? wait another 5, 10 year…..this whole thing will repeat again.

BTW, I think Malaysia style task-force are a bunch of expensive CON-sultants that demanded expensive salary, does nothing, eat karipap, drink teh during endless meeting and make oversea study trips, etc. Ending up nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Ootai on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Does any of the 6 ever buy a proton from their own pocket money. Talking about turnaround a product when you don’t ever have faith in the product. Lol.

• Tristars on Apr 15, 2016 at 5:28 am

They’re just there to monitor Proton strategic planning & not to run the business. Nothing wrong with not buying the car. They’re not part of Proton anyway.

• tokmoh. on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:40 am

Don’t say outsider like these CON-sultants.

Proton Edar’s own CEO drive (or chauffeured in) Mercedes S-class, you tell me?

Proton sales down, blame Khazanah, not his fault. Kek.

• Cant say for Gov pipu but the 3 industry captains r from various industries, leading multimillion or billion RM entities that affect everyday pipu’s life. The Celcom’s CEO for one, was the catalyst of turn it into a competitive telco player now after years in the doldrums.

So what qualifications do u have to judged them, even before they get to work on turning this around?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • No brainer on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Anybody can become CEO Celcom with monopoly less competitor and make easy profits. Nothing genius about that actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • U seriously think the telco industry is not crowded? with Maxis, digi, umobile, tunetalk, another half dozen small players, & TM making a comeback?
          I mean seriously? Really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • Redidiot on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:26 am

No John, i think no brainer has a point there. Celcom was the exclusive mobile provider for a decade, and by the time maxis came to the picture celcom already had the widest coverage. So they had the first mover advantage. Plus all these smaller player, some of them are piggybacking on celcoms network, so they dont really lose out.

• Are they all use TM/Celcom facilities!

• @Redidiot
            Celcom was a pioneer and did came out with aggressive coverage, but u might not have known that since emergence of Maxis & Digi, it was lagging behind and almost got overtaken by digi in subscriptions. Their packages were sh*t and infra was left to rot & used by other telco players.

Sri Shazalli Ramly came in and revamp the sales & marketing strategy, pump more money into network infra and continued expanding into East MY. They went from almost 3rd in market to 1st now.

Can any bashers do that just by being keybod warrior?

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:06 am

GLC goyang kaki lah john. Semua free. Yu should know that. Everything also free for you

• Master Sifu (ori) on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:11 pm

So how much the six “Master” or “Sifu” receives monthly?? Will they end up like the MAI people who only comes out wit syiok sindili statement every few monthss…and the 6 sifus dunt even interfere wit the daily operations, sounds like easy minum teh tarik job?

• shawal on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:14 pm

new engine and gearbox stat to revitalize f existing lineup….

• Wiwiwiw on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Proton, sell lotus la no money

• Piupiupiu on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Too many datuk there..

• ae101 on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Proton is just local manufacturing company. Do they need so many Tan Sri and Latuk in the task force team? I see none of them have experience in car industry before. Will see…will see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Operation Manager on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Only >Datuk-datuk allow to join the task force? Why… Datuk good in magic show isn’t? How much pay spent from 1.5b for the task force?

• Ong Chee Boon on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:48 am

Look at all these members. All with those “Datuk”s and “Tan Sri”s headings. As if they are going to help to turn things around for real.

I bet my ringgit Malaysia on these members, not single one of them knows about cars nor quality based management.

Forgive me if i sound too cynical, but i will be more convinced if this “task force” is headed by someone else with car knowledge. At least not with these headings.

Maybe by someone from Paultan.org website (just a suggestion though)

• silamat miri on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:28 am

An uphill task since no one has an automotive DNA or experience.
    Time for the butcher to wield his sword.
    Good luck for you’re gonna open a can of worms / maggots !!!.

• Just close down proton

• camtakpro on Apr 15, 2016 at 6:50 am

Must be friends and relatives of some UMNO members.

• Official Donation on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:13 am

Appoint donkeykong to eat the fruits.
    Then burn the tree, spend money grow the tree again.

These repeating action can make endless $$ for monkey team.

• Hadi75 on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:24 am

Last time VW want Proton……Proton jual mahal….now they want to find strategic partners to penetrate oversea market……maybe VW is not big enough for Proton…..

• john is otak batu on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:38 am

Seems like the “entainig cast” is getting bigger for Bolehland fans. Sit back, relax & enjoy the show..after all gomet already paid $1.5b

• MITI is saying, not our decision to waste that 1.5 bil. Look for these 6 clowns if you want people to be accountable for it.

• xoxox on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:59 am

this is task force of ‘cuci duit’ saja…..

• Too many heads!

• I do not get the logic, Tax payer monies are used to bail out a privately held Proton, and a ‘task-force’ is set up to oversee the transformation plan of Proton, But said taskforce will be involved in day to day operations of Proton, as that will be handled by Proton themselves. Well in that case, why did you setup this task-force in the first place? What is point of a turnaround plan, when the clowns that planned it, do not have the fortitude to see through the turn-around actions, but more and more ‘over-paid’ postman are thrown to the ‘mess’, expecting a miracle. Reminds me of a definition, Repeating the same action again and again, expecting different results; embodiment of stupidity!!

• “Datuk Sri Shazalli Ramly” in the house..
    still got hope there…

• Curious on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:51 am

Any of the Datuks drive Proton to work?

• Real Kan-i-na.

• Ex VGM staff on Apr 15, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Idris jala? Can’t even turn mas back to profit… Cepat2 cabut lari and ask najib to transfer him into government agencies.

• Hentamajela on Apr 15, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Kalau nak jadi basher tu tak salah tapi jgn terikut dgn basher yg sama tapi komen mcm org bodoh…bagi komen yg membina bahlul….ini lah budaya org malaysia yg tak maju…sorry to say….