Abdul Rashid Musa appointed as Proton Edar CEO

Proton has formally announced the appointment of Abdul Rashid Musa as the CEO of Proton Edar, effective February 1. Rashid replaces Rohime Shafie, who has been reassigned to DRB-Hicom as the head of automotive in the automotive distribution and manufacturing & engineering division. Rohime was appointed as Proton Edar CEO in April last year.

Prior to this appointment, Rashid was the chief technical officer at Proton, where he held several portfolios and was instrumental in the development of the four new models (Perdana, Persona, Saga and Ertiga) released by the carmaker in 2016. He sits on the board of several Proton subsidiaries and was previously the head of several companies within the DRB-Hicom group.

The automaker said it is confident that Rashid, leveraging on his technical background, will be able to drive further improvements in the Proton Edar network improvement plan, especially in enhancing the division’s after-sales service.

The announcement follows on the news earlier today that there had been a high profile reshuffle at the automaker. Proton is aiming to announce its new foreign partner in April, and a news report indicates that Groupe PSA of France and Geely are in the final running to be the eventual suitor, with the Chinese owner of Volvo reportedly leading the race.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I think M’sian are more interested in who will be taking over P1 than who is the new CEO of P1 Edar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:15 am

Why you so anti Proton one? May be Proton Feng Shui starts to turn around after Chinamen take over.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Bang, how many Ertiga you guys sold already? I don’t see any. Epik fail!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • Buying proton is like getting a dinasour. Driving on road, everyone looking at you ” crazy ah this fella!”.like buying a korean car 20 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • nojaps on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:13 am

Obviously you never been there

• Leonardo on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:59 am

Can you be specific on which showrooms and on what date you visited the showrooms? Else you are just making baseless accusations.

• Off topic. PT shud post article wrt the driver caught insulting JPJ officers cuz fail to deadak them. Let this be a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Redson on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Another mud….Still never wake up… Good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • charismatic guy who will boost up P1 sales. all the best sir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Best for Proton on Feb 02, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Hopefully he’s not having any political post in any party

• Aero (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 6:27 pm

This is a good call. I like En. Rashid Musa, like D.S. Syed Zainal Abidin, he is very committed and passionate about Proton. En. Musa knows Proton in and out. Sometimes, it takes an engineer to pull it off, and En. Musa is the best man for the job ! 10,000 monthly sales is quite feasible (currently, around 7,500). I wish him all the best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • Hazzif on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Its Rashid..Musa is his father dude..anyway I used to work for him..nice person but sometimes like to suck up the big bosses..hope he stops doing it…and a dato’ title coming soon..

• Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:39 pm

I see, my bad man ! Thanks for correcting me, I’ll keep it in mind from now onward.

Dato’ title coming soon eh ? Glad to hear… but I’m surprised En. Rashid didn’t get it sooner, he has definitely earned it ! Proton needs more passionate, hardworking men & women like him.

• Wah …pakat pakat compliment kaw kaw. He has been a CTO in proton for decade. Proton wont end up in this mess if he was really good.

• Letstorque on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:44 pm

I knew him personally when he was CEO of Pekan Plant a.k.a. HAMM.
      Unlike what many morons here said, he is very hardworking. In fact, he is the most workaholic person I ever met.

I left meeting at 12am. And he continue discussion with guys from DRB HQ. When I reached factory next morning at 7:30am, he scold me for being late.
      He already completed walkabout around factory at 7:20am.

I’ve learnt a lot from him. Although I am not particularly agree with his type of management.
      When he was in Japan, his staff were like headless chicken. Not knowing what to do.

He worked in Pekan, then, with only 1 day off every week to see his family in KL.
      6 days a week he work 14-18 hours a day.

But he is an engineer. Proton Edar is a marketing company.
      It will be really hard for him.
      Marketing definitely not his forte.
      Hopefully this appointment will not spell the end of his career.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • common sensor on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:00 am

IMHO .. When you have to work 14-18 hours a day; it is just a sign that either you are inefficient or your staffs are useless ..

• tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:14 am

I met him at COE during first weekend after the new saga launched.

I didn’t know who he was at first, I thought he was a salesman, but a pretty enthusiastic one, and a knowledgeable one too… Until he passed me his card, only then i realise he’s the CTO! He seems a nice guy who’s passionate about his job, rather than a typical brainless crony who’s handed a directorship position as political bargaining chip. I like him actually.

As an engineer, he could probably improve proton edar’s logistics, inventory management, and warranty claim. They’re a disaster, when i bought iriz a year ago, it took a month to deliver my ready stock unit (I bought 2015 unit in Jan 2016). I ordered red, yet had to change to another colour halfway becuz red isn’t available.

That alone is enough to tell me they’re chaotic and so disorganized, they can’t deliver on time and don’t even know what stock they have (first said got red, then don’t have). And it’s for Iriz, supposedly low volume car that failed to meet sales target, I’d have expected it could be a breeze.

Perodua delivered my other family member’s alza and myvi within 2 and 1 week, what stark contrast. The Japanese won’t let perodua fool around so much.

And proton wondered why nobody wants to buy from them, they can’t even handle 70k sales, now they wanna aim sell 10k/month? Ptuik.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Hi tokmoh, hope you’re well. My bad for not replying many of your previous comments.

Agree with you, En. Rashid knows the technicalities of Proton’s cars very well. He has made efforts to solve the Prevé OCH problem and other issues. Right now, Proton Edar is the biggest weak link in the greater Proton company (even Lotus is doing well now), so the next best move is to revamp Proton Edar aftersales quality. Anyway, we’ll see what happens …

I’m aware of all those Iriz problems (personally, I don’t own one, but know family who do), and some owners have it worse than others. Sorry to hear about your issue. Hopefully the problems get sorted one by one. But definitely, compared to the Prevé, the Iriz has far fewer problems overall, from what I’ve gathered. So Proton need only solve the few ones they have currently, especially the push button starting/ brake switch one you pointed out.

The other problem is the painfully slow delivery times… it’s like a chicken and egg thing. :/ Slow delivery with better QC, or fast delivery with slack QC ? That must be Proton’s dilemma right now, with the new Persona. I think 1 month waiting is acceptable, but 2 months + is too much.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts btw.

• tokmoh. on Feb 04, 2017 at 8:04 am

Yea, he was around to give tour to university students. So nice of him to give personal tour to students.

1 month waiting is only acceptable if they’re new stock, but I bought last year’s stock that’s already finished, lying around just awaiting to get transported.

Without red, there goes my wish of naming it Sazabi (see if you catch why hoho). Or Shana-chan <3

As someone who prioritise safety, I'd normally can close one eye on some matters, but proton really tested it to the limit. I have no heart to recommend a proton to anyone after what i went through, it's just something normal people can't tahan. Nak safety, takyah pening, just get Bezza advance with VSC, the end. Fc is way lower too.

• tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:32 am

Oh, as for warranty claim, it’s been over a month I’m waiting my iriz’s brake switch and pedal replacement.

This problem happens a lot with iriz, causing the 1.6 premium with push button to not able to start engine at all.

For 1.3 like mine that uses key instead of push start button, at startup, it causes the engine to go into safe mode and disable cvt to be engaged. I’ve seen a few other iriz owners on fb shared this issue too, they were puzzled, but shrugged it off as cannot really replicate.

The SC i went said it happened due to brake pedal design, causing brake switch to be damaged, so need to change both brake switch and pedal together. It happens intermittently, so no issue to continue driving, and if happened again, i just need to restart the engine.

It sounded pretty serious enough, yet i never read any recall about this. Maybe defect rate too low for them to bother, but it’s still a PITA, especially for those with push button, they’re completely screwed, and I remember many suffered initially. At least those using key just need to restart engine only. What a stark contrast to Samsung’s culture, seeing how quickly they handled Note7’s recall while still having way under 1% defect rate.

And over a month of still waiting, again, for a model that’s been around for 2+ years, proton has chaotic inventory management.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:15 pm

I agree, from the few short times I met him, he left a good impression on me too. The first time I met En. Rashid, it was during Alami Proton 2014. His words to me were something like “You know, not many young people have interest in Proton nowadays … Thank you for supporting us.” And that’s very true, unfortunately… teenagers nowadays will laugh at you if you tell them “I like Proton cars”… but that hasn’t stopped me. haha The last time I met En. Rashid was during the Ertiga launch event just some months back. I congratulated him on his new models, and asked “What’s next ? Prevé facelift maybe ” … to which he smiled and said something like “Now you’re thinking what I’m thinking.” haha What a cool guy !

A lot of Malaysians think Proton is run by people who don’t know any better, which is why everyone ‘thinks’ they know what it takes to ‘save’ Proton; that couldn’t be further from the truth. Some of the most talented, passionate, hardworking and committed people I’ve met work in Proton (but I’m an outsider though, I don’t exactly work in Proton). However, because most Malaysians only interact with Proton Edar staff during service checkups, they get the wrong impression of Proton. And as we all know, too many Proton Edar branches are well… you know what I mean.

Thanks for sharing your work experience btw… now I’ve even more respect for En. Rashid. I can’t even wake up for 8am uni class sometimes… o.O But yes, sometimes things don’t work out so well, but the important thing is that we learn from our mistakes and others’ mistakes… Proton has been doing just that lately, except it’s a slow process, because perception takes longer to change. :/

Personally, I think there is no problem with engineers leading marketing divisions. Engineering doesn’t solely emphasise technical skills, but it fosters a technical mindset as well. Quite a few car companies have CEOs who were former engineers too. But anyway, in the real world, things aren’t so straight-forward, so hopefully all will go well for En. Rashid and his new team. All the best to him.

• Jamil on Feb 05, 2017 at 7:52 pm

A very good comment. I bought my first proton (suprima s) in 2015. Notwithstanding a few nitty gritty things (number plate dropping, HU hanged) found it to be a very good car (for the price paid for), and I’ve owned and driven quite a number of cars in my 40 yrs of driving.

• Delloid on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:17 am

Did you complaint about your Iriz power window problem to them?

• Got lifetime warranty, p2 got one ar?

• Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:43 pm

The Iriz power window problem is a very case. Not many owners kena, and I don’t think the newer models are affected. The motor seems to be fine, it’s just the alignment of the window pane, which sometimes slides out of the ‘track’.

But yes, the problem was solved for free under the power window warranty, which I believe is 10 years. I don’t own an Iriz myself, but I know family who do.

• Mambo on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:27 pm

As long as Proton in the hands of poor management,poor sighted leaders who can’t really lead, might as well give the post to someone whom is from other industry that have real track record of achievements in global arena like Carlos Ghosn. Its like digging your own grace. 30 years plus have past, still struggling to come up with good quality and reliable car for the masses.Still relying on government for fund. What a shame,its like 30 plus years old grown up still asking money from parents to support him financially. First please the local market first before even consider exporting abroad. No one wants invest their hard earned money to buy a rubbish car. Proton please grow up! Be an adult, not an adult in baby suit.

• You mean tongkat? It is practiced all over the world, go out from your dark cave.

• Wan Syaifulaizan on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:42 pm

After 8 months problem with my 2015 Iriz 1.6 still not solved. Good work Proton

• QChan on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:45 am

Can you kindly list your unresolved Proton Iriz problems for potential buyers to be aware of ? TQ.

• ToyolPet 2727 on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:11 pm

what did proton service centre said? power window again?

• passion on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:38 am

same old. move here move there! lets see how Geely runs the show hereafter.

• passion on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:38 am

if they are successful in the bid.

• stillInTheRed on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Whoever helms it…it will still be in the Reds.

Who bails them out?…
    Yet, sell all the crap they could ever do to the locals…
    Who gets protected for decades,and reluctantly wish to find good partnerships?…

If it is going to be Geely…you will see that before not long, it’s going to be a racist car remark around town….

Big hat, small head…