SPAD in discussions with Uber to find appropriate measures in ensuring the safety of passengers

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is in discussions with transportation network company (TNC) Uber to find the best measures to ensure the safety and comfort of the ride-hailing service’s users, Bernama reports.

According to minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri, the department had taken note of the recent robbery case involving an Uber driver although it is classified as a criminal case by the police.

“We are not washing it off our hands as SPAD is acting on the issue. Today, they (SPAD) have a meeting with Uber and I will meet with the Uber representatives tomorrow to discuss what more can be done,” she said.

“Presently, Uber has not been licensed or regulated, therefore we are unable to take legal action. Action can only be taken by the police as it is a criminal case and also because we and Uber currently have no links,” she added.

Nancy said this to reporters in response questions regarding the case of an Uber driver robbing a woman passenger in Puchong on May 21. She said that the government will fine-tune what needs to be done to ensure the safety and comfort of users.

She explained that when the ride-hailing regulations are passed by Parliament (expected at the next sitting in July), all TNCs will have to be responsible for practising a high level of safety and service standards. All ride-hailing operators must register with SPAD under the proposed amendments to the Land Public Transport Act 2010.

“A robbery happened despite the driver having his details recorded, so we want to take into account that when the bill is approved what safety features need to be tightened with the service operator,” she said.

Earlier, SPAD said via a statement that it will not hesitate to impose punitive measures against ride-hailing service operators or their drivers besides seizing their vehicles if they are to violate the law.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 29, 2017 at 6:28 pm

SPAD talk big about Uber drivers. The past 20 years, with the old dirty teksis, everyday some girl kena raba or molested from the dirty teksi drivers….that they don’t do anything. Nationwide, everyday got at least 1 case of molest. Spad just diam

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • John is otak batu on May 29, 2017 at 8:59 pm

The lady victim should have not taken that uber and immediately report to uber that the driver was having an occupant inside the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 11:36 am

Typical retard company, wanna make money but don’t wanna bear responsibility.

• Abdul on May 30, 2017 at 11:54 am

Apa dah jadi pemuda zaman sekarang nie. Dapat kerja Uber, buat part time penyamun pulak lagi2 bulan mulia nie.

• John is otak udang on May 30, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Can someone explain to me how being frighten or traumatized can cause miscarriage.
        And what proof does she has that the miscarriage was linked to the robbery? Don’t get me wrong but in general, pregnant lady suffers stress most of the time, and it could be from anything.
        As far as I know from the news, the robber did not harm her physically but emotionally, yes. But according to the news articles no qualified doctors are mentioned to validate that the miscarriage was cause by the stress.
        Can emotional distress really cause miscarriage? Can’t seem to find any valid claims on google and google scholar.
        Please enlighten me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 29, 2017 at 6:33 pm

SPAD talk big about this crime. But when the teksi drivers do road blocks and blocks the whole nation from going home from work. The road blocks cost millions in productivity lost as people went to work late or returned home 4 to 5 hours later. This is a crime

SPAD also talk big but when all the abang abangs from teksi go and harrass and threaten the Uber driver, SPAD keep quiet. So many Uber drivers paste on facebook their ordeal being whacked up by teksi teksi drivers. Got even the faces and number plates of the assailants. Until today, none arrested.

Pity the Uber driver, just trying to earn a living

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 151
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 29, 2017 at 8:41 pm

Learn English first before opening your mouth. The jist of my writings and the spirit of what I wrote above was to point out that SPAD is lembap and have a tidak apa attitude.

Try to learn English first bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 9
        • woo i ni on May 29, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Gli have landon taxi u see la uber. Spad allready kautim with proton. Grab and uber like grAbube. Pay tax first if u wan make bisnesss.

• drMpower on May 29, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Why is spad lembap and tak apa attitude if they got it from the very government who tak apa with uber even its not licensed? We have so many other cases which people dont bother to write about but then this misscarrisge is a weight too much. One personal case is uber driver doesnt know where he is going. Spad has no hold on to uber because some shitload dickies decided to invest in uber and therefore it must be ON although it neither licensed nor regulated. From day 1 i was adamant that uber must be controlled so that the safety of passenger can be guaranteed. All about raba molesting peeking into passengers by taxi drivers no interest to me afterall spad existed some years back probably u can ask nazri aziz because he owned quite much permit those years

• Learn Ingland abah ko. Sendri pls read the article lah. Nothing to do with teksi, or roadblock, or abangs, or SPAD guilty of anything. Bodo tu simpan skit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
          • Wahab on May 29, 2017 at 11:10 pm

john, nobody interested in anything you say. If “England” you cannot spell, it is true, you really need to learn English!

• 'Nasser on May 30, 2017 at 9:07 am

diam la john. Pakai otak sikit. Pergi belajar dulu

• Dun need to bother with dupes. Pls go back to cave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on May 30, 2017 at 12:14 pm

u sure like to up vote ur own comment rite.. I wonder if paultan use Discuss for comment how many like u can actually get? Can u make comment on car site that use Discuss eg Autofreak

• Thats the problem bro. And it only needs to take one sicko to create multiple accounts and create the illusion that hes right.

Perhaps PT shud enforce only registered users can comment and ip lock the like/dislike feature.

• john is a gud example of a hypo that says one thing and do another

Look back at previous articles where he up votes himself

• And wud like to add. PT is an automotive blog, and I belip its in their best interest to keep it purely as that. Otherwise when politiks creeps in more & more, then its no diff than mkini & those sewaktu dengannya.

• panjang on May 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Come on…be an adult, crime is comitted by criminals and criminal comes from all shapes and sizes from normal citizen to minister. Ots a matter of being caught and punish or not.

• Some of the samseng taxi driver might hv jumped to uber. Uber n grabcar pls do ur screening right.

• Ex-VGM staff on May 29, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Grab does is screening tightly, including criminal background with PDRM. And many of the rejected ones will head to uber trying their luck there.

• Ah Kow on May 30, 2017 at 9:38 am

in my opinion, no matter how tight the screening process may be, it can never be 100% safe. GrabUber will never be able to filter NEW criminals. Meaning committing their FIRST crime via GRABUBER. Like this how to screen?

These kind of things do happen, we have to accept it. Shit happens everywhere. They can NOT only point fingers at GRABUBER. Because even our POLICE personnel have cases of committing crime before. How do you explain that huh? What about those ministers, datuks, datos, tan sris who who have committed crimes too? Ring any bells?

• drMpower on May 29, 2017 at 10:28 pm

It is known to all that Uber is not licensed or regulated, hence no action can be taken. Heres Blame Game 101 i can tell you. 1. Blame the government because as the above article said, uber is neither licensed or regulated. 2. Blame government twice because they allowed uber to run without it belonged to any of the existing passenger taking service framework, hence no action can be taken. 3. Blame government thrice because it failed to protect the citizens from ill beings. In this specific case, a citizen was robbed and suffered miscarriage and she cant do anything about it. So what the government is doing to the miss carriage thing? Nothing 4. Blame SPAD for allowing the government to bulldoze you. As your work and organization concerns, SPAD is so powerful that it is higher than the government interms of power – its a Suruhanjaya meaning its authority comes from the King. But SPAD failed to do what it suppose to do – that is to ban Uber until Uber is regulated and belonged to any existing framework for passenger taking etc. 5. Blame government and SPAD, because they allowed Uber to run, despite it is very clear that Uber doesnt adhere to any passenger taking service etc. yes my foot it is vehicle sharing now we are talking about a misscarriage so its no longer grey area. I can go on and on blaming everyone but let me assure you i am no blame and no game. I have millions of ideas to share with you all but first step is to get Uber licensed. Thats the very first thing and do thag and we talk. And get khazanah to come to sense that please invest into some portfolio with regulations and all. Its very normal for uber to be blamed because they are no licensed, and to some, uber is illegal taxi just like what we had in thr 80s and 90s. If illegal taxi was cleaned in total i cant see why uber cant be cleansed as well. Except we have a moronic investments by some dickloads of crapp businessmen

• Oh sure.
      When gov dun allow grabuber, u said gov is not frenly to innovation and what the pipu clamour for.
      When gov allows grabuber, u come out with this wall of shiet.

The only moronic thing i see here is the text above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • drMpower on May 30, 2017 at 5:00 pm

u didnt know who invested in uber that they got it legalised even though there are so many problems?
        dont tell me u didnt know.
        from day 1 i keep saying uber is not safe. now i am proven right. there is no law protecting uber passenger. do u realise that?
        this is why, uber must be made into any existing framework in servicing or taxing

• Do u oso realised that when Gov legalise uber means they oso legalise grab as well? Then who owns grab, hmm?

The thing about these servis, they dun fit into any traditional servicing or taxing catagories. Deswai Gov took time to revamp laws to fit them in, and same time force them comply to regulations. However, its Grabuber responsibility to vet the drivers, cuz they the one providing the servis.

• “If they violate the law” Spad is a joke

• Jimmy on May 29, 2017 at 11:53 pm

When your dog bites other people, it is just like your vehicle knocks at somebody, you need to pay, ideally not just the medical bill but also the penalty for the pain and suffering.

Legal action can be taken against certain parties, for justice sake.

I want to take good care of the name of my company.

Don’t take unnecessary risks, take good care yourselves.

• To ensure safety? Make sure taxi drivers don’t act samseng towards uber drivers la

• U means uber drivers r passengers for teksi? Cuz the article says…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Ah Kow on May 30, 2017 at 8:56 am

Create SOS features within UBER app and UBER emergency response team?

When a passenger senses danger or something fishy during an uber ride~ (eg: driver is not going to the specified destination, or driver showing genitals etc etc)
    1. Activate SOS alert without the driver’s knowledge
    2. Driver’s car will be tracked immediately
    3. UBER Emergency Response team will respond via the app and request for further info regarding the situation.
    4. Emergency response team will alert police after confirming situation
    5. Nearest police patrol car will be send out to track the car and check on the situation regardless if the passenger responds or not.

In case of robbery, Uber should be able to track the driver up until the driver decided to throw the phone away.
    1. Passenger can either activate the mentioned SOS alert or dial 999 immediately.
    2. Uber emergency response team will send out all info on the driver to the police.
    3. Nearest police patrol car will track and chase the suspect. Via phone GPS and car number plate.

• Uber too busy making money to add panic button. Dun like can go pakai teksi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • C. P. MOHAN on May 30, 2017 at 10:05 am

There is a “loophole” that can be exploited by criminal or anyone for that matter. Crimes do occur even if we have laws and protection. My point is that all parties not only SPAD must be forever vigilant or take precautions.

• I am still wondering how she never noticed that there’s another person in the car.

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2017 at 10:56 am

yes, uber is dangerous…. Teksi is even worst. Everyday riders get rob of unfair fares.