Commuters happier with public transport now – SPAD

MRT_Sg_Buloh

Public satisfaction over public transport services is on the uptrend, as indicated by the rise in the yearly Customer Satisfaction Survey (CSS) index from 48% in 2010 to 74% in 2015, Bernama reports.

According to the just released National Transformation Programme 2015 Annual Report, the survey conducted by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) in 2015 found that the commuters were most satisfied with rail services such as the LRT, KTM Komuter and ERL.

“The feedback shows that rail services becoming more reliable and efficient is appreciated on the ground. Rail services today are the cheaper alternative to private transportation as well as offer enhanced safety and comfort. Another major contributing factor to commuter satisfaction is the convenient interchange and interconnecting system between different rail services, incorporating a standardised ticketing system,” the report said.

LRV-1

The report added that with the Urban Public Transportation National Key Results Area’s (UPT NKRA) aim to drive up the modal share of public transportation within Greater Kuala Lumpur or Klang Valley to 40% of all commuters by 2030, it is necessary that the public transport network is integrated, convenient, accessible, easy to use and affordable.

It said that throughout 2015, the UPT NKRA has seen both the addition of much-needed capacity to existing rail services as well as the construction of large-scale rail infrastructural projects. “These are starting to come online, with the first Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) line scheduled to begin operations by the end of this year and full LRT Line Extension Project to begin in the middle of this year,” the report mentioned.

The MRT is described as a ‘game changer’ and Klang Valley commuters can look forward to a clean, modern, fast and comfortable transportation system that allows them to travel from Sungai Buloh to Kajang in 88 minutes, the report said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SPAD in lalaland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2016 at 11:52 am

The recent Komuter breakdown they forgotten edi.

People left uninformed, girl cried for being late to exam, this kinda service given to justify their 100% increase in fare last year?

Entire SPAD no longer work for commuters’ interest, but to line up their pocket. Poi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • SMRT breakdowns even more epic. Just that PAP dun allow this kinda news to get out. Hidup PAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Now can compare with Singapore? Usually don’t want compare, cuz they small, easy to manage la.

They can’t stop its people to complaint on internet. So? They gotta respond, by improving maintenance.

Here? Jangan persoal, tak suka keluar. Or come out syok sendiri survey. Kek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Really? Not stopping SG pipu commenting on the nets? Have u heard of Amos Yee? Or Roy Ngerng?

• Same L00 on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Again Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. So many ppl learn the Proton attitude.

• tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:41 pm

@john : So long they don’t criticise supreme leader, they’re fairly safe.

Else, Stomp website and others already closed down and writers all jailed for not portraying SG as perfect country.

• gorengbanana on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Bring back Bas Mini Wilayah.
        Commuters will be happier :D

• Donkey J on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:50 pm

semua tidur..je

• Yeah MY pipu will not be satisfied until theres public transport thats as convenient at their door step yet far away from eyes, ears & feeling. MY pipu more hi keras & demanding than SG pipu. Hidup MY pipu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • Amriji on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:54 pm

No need at doorstep. Just follow Japanese, Singapore and German system. Tak payah pecah otak cari sistem baru. Yang baik jadikan tauladan, yg tak elok jadikan sempadan.

• Kat jepun pun tak dekat jugak, bro. ada kena jalan 20 minit sampai stesen. Di MY, mintak orang jalan 5 minit pun dah komplen macam giler. Apa boleh buat?

Lagipun disana, stesen dan landasan bersebelahan rumah org, takde pulak komplen macam sini.

Kalau bawak org jepunis planning disini pun diorang akan pening kepala mau balik jepun kalau tidak terus harakiri disini kerana stress

• malaysian view on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:06 am

The problen is not walk. The problem is safety.

Most ppl dare not walk to lrt station fr home even 15 mins walk.

Who knows snatch thief waiting around.

Improve safety will improve more user of public transport.

Providing better light up walkway or better light up street lamp with Cctv, then user will start walking.

• BolehDriver on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Bolehland’s capital have good metro services but Bolehland drivers will continue to comment and lament of lack of this and that and keep falling in love with their cars, that include me even though the roads in KL is no more “boleh” widen. We are still like Tokyo 30 years ago when “the have’s” still loves their cars.

• MY pipu hi keras alredi, only think Banglas & labourers use public transport. They rather prefer to jam than shame being seen coming out from train

• Jeffrey Chew on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:06 pm

syok-sendiri

• sendiri cakap sendiri siok

• ben2x on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:23 pm

siok sendiri sahaja

• In Your Dreams on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Try making CSS for KTM Komuter alone and see what kind of result we get.. wake up la..

• zainal abidin othman on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Who did the interview and who were interviewed?

• It will be lucky to have met a public bus in jb, and SPAD has called this “…happier on public transport…”. I think public are happier with THEIR OWN transport.

• Andrekua on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:51 pm

I guess more than half are Uber commuters.

• Naik Keta Syok Complain on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:40 pm

I guess car owner drivers no need to talk shit.Keep driving on the road stay away from public transportation services

• Amriji on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Eh, Kawan…Car owners cannot be commuters, meh. Is it mutually exclusive?

• Another Failed Bongok on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Frequent/daily commuters? Or only when your car breakdown? Share your car with bangla’s if your car so inclusive..

• policeman on Apr 27, 2016 at 12:51 pm

True. I’m satisfied as well.

There was never a problem with the public transport services. It’s the commuters that is the problem. Incapable of queuing and pushing each other.

The same mentality can be seen on the roads. Greed and impatience is their game.

With this attitude along with your tax evasion tactics y’all don’t have the right to demand change in the government. It’s hilarious to see the pots calling the kettle black.

• Amriji on Apr 27, 2016 at 2:58 pm

U are wrong. The rakyat will always have the right to change the government as long we are in a democratic country. Are we not?

• R u sure or not….

• nabill (Member) on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Well,that police said crime was down 70% or sting like that…economy up 5.2%,corruption down 90%,no poverty,car prices down 30%….u get the idea…!

• Chris on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:05 pm

SPAD syiok sendiri ka? How many times the LRT breakdown then don’t bother to give alternative to user? Please improve the reliability first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • komplen je patutla idup x ke mana on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm

It’s 74% not 100% la.. Mean 26% is one of the percentages of the needs to be do n fix

• Syukur Kau Naik Kereta on Apr 27, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Few breakdowns not a full indication on the whole comuter systems.Humans get sick once a while too.Not to mention well developed country mrt system like singapore also having few breakdowns.Recently 2 of their mrt staffs died on mrt line coz of human factor too.Human not perfect.Live your life at the fullest not everything full of complains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Err Am I A Malaysian Then? on Apr 27, 2016 at 5:04 pm

If not complaining, not Malaysian lah brother!

• Failed on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Yesterday (26/04) singapore mrt also got breakdown what!

• Wow! LRT pun belum siap, consumer already happier? Sungai Wang underground work completed?

Which report made this claim? Aiyoh.. no brain one kah?

Hmm… National Transformation Program Annual Report? Ohh.. patut la. Najib knows best what Malaysian want. Not 20+ million Malaysian.

Now it all make sense. #NajibBoleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • First of all, do u even take public transport?

• Walao wei on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Funny la u! Sungai wang lrt? Wei mau bising2 pun must know fact lah before bash! It call mrt lah,still under construction.The one existing now is lrt,comuter,bus.monorail & taxi.. Lrt been here more than 20years oredy.Talk shit is free but zero knowledge is worthless

• When will the Putra LRT extension gonna be completed? Cant wait to use it to work from sbg jaya-KL Sentral’s office….can leave my car at home finally & say bye2 to traffic jam.

• leonardo on Apr 27, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Can SPAD share or publish the full report?

• Could it be that the communters are more happy due to the existance of Uber and Grab?

• The SPAD take their numbers from the National Transformation Programme 2015 Annual Report…when was it compiled? January 2015? Suffice to say that the SPAD ppl must be on some kinda med. damn high…syiok sendiri! The sampling group for the CSS survey must be like their political gerrymendering tactics…all internal staff count as commuters…but no actual commuters response included, otherwise may show a drastic drop on the satisfaction to their service.
    Talking about the LRT, the price increase was so drastic that most of my friends who uses the system are now lamenting that they might want to switch back to driving their cars as its not economical nor convenient anymore…there is a lack of parking space at the station and at some station there are no free parking, so plus the parking charges & LRT trips its more or less their driving cost to work…to aggravate matters is also the incomplete last mile transport for those without vehicles like where is the shuttle buses near the residence’s taman2? Doesn’t the SPAD refer to other similar systems like HK, Singapore or even Tokyo? Our system is so incompetently put together without thinking of what the actual consumers wants, needs and could afford!

• Different circumstances made it easier for each of them.
      For HK, most MTR r underground underneath tower blocks 50~60 stories high. Can we accept living like that?
      Or Tokyo’s case is cuz most of their major cities were leveled in WW2 and the planners can map out carefully during rebuilding. Can we accept leveling KL, Png, Ipoh, JB, KK, Kuching and start over?
      Or SG case, is LKY/PAP do whatever they needed to do to shove public transport down their pipus throats. And that oso have tracks and stations very near to HDB flats. U wun see TTDI stupid protest in SG. Can we accept that kinda iron-fisted democracy?

• Ben yap on Apr 27, 2016 at 6:35 pm

I’m happier riding uber.

• tishaban on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:00 pm

I take the LRT to work almost every day. As a comparison, I drove to work (KLCC area) every day for several years, and I lived in New York for more than a decade and took public transport to work every day there too.

What I like about the LRT service:

– it’s reasonably consistent
    – it saves money for me, several hundred RM per month despite the price increase
    – it saves time on the whole, especially when it rains etc.

What could be better
    – communications when something breaks. As it is, it’s no better than the Singapore MRT or the New York subway where you could be stuck in a train car with no clue what’s holding it up.
    – parking is far too limited at the train stations, especially the extensions where they had all the opportunity to build multi-level parking at each new stop
    – last mile needs improvement. I know Prasarana has GPS on the buses already, why not integrate that info into an app for example.

So yeah I am a satisfied LRT customer and will continue to use it every day. Speaking out my mind against Prasarana/SPAD’s weaknesses doesn’t make me a less satisfied customer.

• Did u just compared our LRT with god-country SMRT, and then said we r on par with them? Uh oh, incoming bashers will cleanse ur heresy of saying anything gud about MY.

• Syed Hamid Albab on Apr 27, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Give SPAD Director the sack already!!!!!!!!!!!! jeeez -_-

• commuter survey? how come i am not involved in the survey?
    another BS statistic
    we are so fond of creating statistic to syok sendiri